EXPLAINER: Why Ghana's World Cup qualifier against Comoros was not televised on local TV

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Kofi of Africa 2 months ago

Ghana is a sovereign state. It must insist it right to broadcast all football matches happening in it's own.
    FIFA, DSTV, Multi Choice and other transnational corporations must not be allowed to dictate or bully us ...

• Hmmmm 2 months ago

I think you did not understand the article. FIFA sells the live match coverages to some major TV stations around the world to telecast them and they also sell them out so it’s not free and so pay your TV licence to enable t ...

• Simeon London 2 months ago

Nonsense!!! GTV must be shutdown ASAP!

That's 63 peswes from 15 million adult Ghanaian. The last world cup qualifier at home. Meanwhile the Minister was busily trying to closedown DStv our only hope of live telecast.

• TWEAA DC 2 months ago

DO NOT MIND GTV...WHEN TV LICENCE FEES ARE PAID, SOME FEW CROOKS CONSPIRE TO SQUANDER THE MONEY THROUGH CORRUPT DEALS...AND THEY WANT TO CONPARE THEMSELVES TO SOUTH AFRICA....TWEAA.

• DZATA SAM GEORGE THAT CANT BITE 2 months ago

DZATA SAM GEORGE THE TOOTHLES MONGREL HE CAN ONLY MAKE GUA GUA BLA BLA BLA PAA PAA PAA MAA MAA MAA FOR NOTHING HE CANT BITE, HE CANT IMPLEMENT ANY NEW AGENDA. APUUUU SUCH A FOOL IS MINISTER.

• Johnny 2 months ago

@ Kofi of Africa
    You're lagging behind time. You're not abreast with what is going on with FIFA international matches.The huge billions of Dollars they are raising comes from those deals.

• Paa Pee 2 months ago

No All FIFA matrches are shown free on fifa.com or fifa app and all fifa apps works with all smart TVs. Watch Nigeria Game on Fifa.com as well as all Highlights of previous games free online.

• WG 2 months ago

**I am an E-commerce website expert. I will help you setup your online store, integrate various payment systems,list your products on your website, setup your social media platforms and help you with the online advertising pr ...

• Kenneth County 2 months ago

WHAAT? It looks like our beloved country is still "developing" even after almost 70 years of independence. Lord have mercy.

• @linz 2 months ago

Wow …tv license fee can be generated with good policy and management. Citizens will pay when the right measures are implemented

• @RealNapo 2 months ago

Kwasiato, when we pay Tv licence and you used it to attend conferences and seminars, pay yourself huge per diem etc. Actually we are not paying because you misused it as every government agency does. Go and see how state own ...

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 2 months ago

What is the guarantee that if we pay TV licence you will not use the money to buy big cars for yourselves, we don't trust any institution in Ghana, we are fed up, we don't even need to watch the world cup so we will not pay f ...

• Martin Kreisler 2 months ago

You probably mean you don't trust any State Owned Institution?

• Martin Kreisler 2 months ago

The problem with the TV license was not really about paying of a fee for TV viewing. It was about having to pay a fee for owning a TV set, solely to GTV, especially when their services are not subscribed to.
    If GTV decide t ...

• Yaw berkoh 2 months ago

You can't teach stupid. GBC refused televised the March. But they televised themselves. Stupid never get tired GBC

• Star from the North 2 months ago

You can give them $1billion to telecast a match and they will chop it and later give excuses. The Blackman is just too evil to make any meaningful impact on society

• Nana 2 months ago

Where is Sam George, the stupid idiot called Minister. Has he heard this? This is what he suppose to fight for. Ordinary Ghanaian cannot watch a game being played in Ghana, our own soil? How? And instead of this idiot to do s ...

• Asakramitoga 2 months ago

GBC don't fool us. To blackmail Ghanaians to pay for your tv license is a big ruse. Do the needful with the appropriate authorities for assistance instead of your useless explanation

• Kofi Akwetey 2 months ago

GTV should generate funds from advertising revenue and sponsorship. Or they can introduce a pay TV platform like DSTV. They should forget the TV license nonsense.

• emotional blackmail pro max 2 months ago

so u don't pay nti u cant watch. so an Ivorian watched in his country, did he pay you? why do u always think Ghanaians are fools ?

• AMERICA IS NOT SAFE FOR THE WORLD CUP 2 months ago

The harassment of immigrants and the racial bias and the ongoing Rights abuse in the American government and it's communities MAKES AMERICA UNSAFE for the world cup. AFRICA and all non white nations must mount pressure on FIF ...

• Joe 1 month ago

Are you wirking for Putin

• Update1 2 months ago

Tv lincense is a lazy way of raising funds

• Jonas 2 months ago

Why can't GTV borrow money from a bank and go into the pay per view business? They can sign a deal with the English FA for EPL matches and UEFA for champions league. and sell it in Ghana. The English Premier League and champ ...

• Mikki 2 months ago

Look at who is talking
    How did the man talking came to the conclusions that SA citizens pay hat he is saying they pay

• Asida 2 months ago

So what is GTV doing on DSTV channel 278

• An 2 months ago

Unfair! Many,many, many Ghanaians are unemployed!! This may be their only source of Nhappiness and comradeship.

• Abrewatia 2 months ago

What about advertisement revenue?. Confused
    GBC and laziness, ah. Always proving Ghanaians right

• Mafiaa 2 months ago

We did not watch the football on tv

• BEK 2 months ago

The most painful thing paying levy in Ghana is that what you pay for the money will never be used for. Pay street lights levy and you will now see darkest street. Loan for say road will be used different else. Can we have lev ...

• Ghinstigator 2 months ago

To hell with GTV. So if we paid you TV license, what's the guarantee you would actually show us these matches live? GTV is archaic & not innovative. Their old ways naa. How do you expect to get revenue from your archaic way o ...

• Yelfare 2 months ago

GTV will use all the money to increase staff salaries and welfare fees and funeral donations for staff and family members. That is the spirit is Ghana.
    In any what commercial advertising brings in money to the GTV? And other ...

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 2 months ago

Even if all the money in ghana is given to u but u CANNOT still broadcast a live match . Don't we know you ? Scratches nkoaaa we gowitness.GTV has NEVER been able to telecast a live match .

• Paa Pee 2 months ago

All FIFA matrches are shown free on fifa.com or fifa app and all fifa apps works with all smart TVs. Watch Nigeria Game on Fifa.com as well as all Highlights of previous games free online

• Esa 2 months ago

Gtv? Twea Kai, I won't them a pesewa to watch a repeat of past matches and drama. Sell their equipment land. They've outlived their usefulness.

• Charles 2 months ago

GTV is our own. Government should find a way collecting tv license fees through indirect taxes. But for the politics of it, if the 1% covid 19 levy which was scrapped was converted to TV license fees through an act of Parliam ...

• Raphael Abeam US 2 months ago

This is very bad practice of the GTV. Why is it called GTV While matches in Ghana going on they will be showing foreign matches. You consider anything from Ghana or Africa bogus . How many African matches do they show in ...

• Reality 2 months ago

GTV has not fully convincing. Your Union workers have complained about e bleeding of your finances by e DG, who they want sacked for the malfeasance. Why does the state have to appoint a DG with hefty remuneration packages wh ...

• GTV should come back again and convince Ghanaian 2 months ago

Today Black Star is attractive and tomorrow it will be a different story. They have qualify for FIFA world cup and that, Ghanaians should paid for TV licence fee. Other television stations are doing far better without Black S ...

• Martin 1 month ago

The payment of the TV license was mooted and citizens were educated on it's benefits to the State, but I remember some Ghanaians and including now MP A Plus kicked against it and it ended the whole TV license payment scheme. ...