BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!
PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE( PAC)
Rethinking Political Appointments and Meritocracy in Ghana
I was born and educated in Ghana, but I now live and work in the United Kingdom. Over the years, I have of ... read full comment
BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!
I was born and educated in Ghana, but I now live and work in the United Kingdom. Over the years, I have often compared the political landscape in Ghana with that of the UK. Initially, I believed that Ghanaian politicians lacked the depth of political education and institutional understanding that their UK counterparts demonstrated.
However, my perception began to change after closely following the proceedings of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC). While the live televised sessions were, at times, chaotic and revealing, they also exposed the reality of Ghana’s governance system—why progress has been slow and why accountability remains a challenge.
One critical question continues to trouble me: must everything in Ghana be politicized?
Across the nation, far too many key public positions—District Chief Executives (DCEs), Municipal Chief Executives (MCEs), and even auditors—are filled based on political loyalty rather than competence or qualification. This practice undermines the professionalism of our institutions and erodes public trust. When appointments are driven by partisanship instead of merit, inefficiency becomes inevitable, and development suffers.
Ghana has no shortage of intelligent, capable, and dedicated professionals. Yet, our system often sidelines them in favor of those who are “politically correct.” The result is a governance structure that struggles to deliver—not because we lack talent, but because we fail to use the right people for the right jobs.
If we are truly committed to national development, we must embrace meritocracy, accountability, and integrity as the foundations of public service. Political parties should see competence as an asset—not a threat. Only by valuing skill and experience over party loyalty can Ghana unlock its true potential and move toward the development we all desire.
It is time we put Ghana first, above politics.
Let us demand better leadership, merit-based governance, and a public service that rewards competence—not connections.
AUSTRALIA 2 months ago
AUSTRALIA WORK & PAY
Companies and Factories in Australia need (Factory Workers, Drivers and Forklift Operators) for 2yrs-4yrs contract.
All expenses including Plane tickets,Accommodation are paid, 20% will be deducted ... read full comment
AUSTRALIA WORK & PAY
Companies and Factories in Australia need (Factory Workers, Drivers and Forklift Operators) for 2yrs-4yrs contract.
All expenses including Plane tickets,Accommodation are paid, 20% will be deducted from salary monthly up to 12months. No Deposit.
OPPORTUNITY TO STUDY ON SCHOLARSHIP PART TIME
prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 months ago
Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe................you are not alone.
Rose 2 months ago
CURSE ON YOU THE DAY YOU WERE BORN, THE DAY U DIE AND THE DAY YOU WILL BE RAISED ALIVE
Fear woman and save your life 2 months ago
These days women have become more dangerous than DDT poison. Sometimes you cannot even trust your wife. How can you plan to kill people for a useless thing like being a chief.
Farming 2 months ago
Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
…..~ ... read full comment
Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
…..~~#**•
GOVT. PROVIDE AMPHIBIOUS BUSES FOR THE PEOPLE 2 months ago
Re: Freddy G. Your observations are apt and yet they miss a critical historical nuance that you may not be aware of. This syndrome of over-politicisation of national affairs is not by accident. It is a veiled attempt to indefinitely WEAPONIZE democracy to defraud the people and deprive them of the benefits of same. Those who held power for the last 8 years in the previous administration and their antecedents are only democrats in name but their stated objective is to hold the nation and the our collective destiny ransom for private gain. Surely such an atrocious philosophy will meet with an equal pushback of venomous proportions from all right-thinking citizens. What you have described, while it seems troubling, is a necessary, protective measure to provide sanity and stabilization to build a new foundation for real and measurable national development. When we can assure a ourselves that the evil of the past has been sufficiently cauterized, the structures of state will automatically revert to strict "meritocracy" in acknowledgement of our new maturity. Until then, and in reaction to the destructive baying at the heels of true patriotism by decided anti-republican actors who care nothing for collective progress, you will continue to see this in our body politic. Thank you.
Kumah 2 months ago
hi, please send your opinion articles to editor@ghanaweb.com
WG 2 months ago
Need A Digital Marketing company to help Advertise your brands, business, products and services...then talk to us...We have the right skills,team and expertise. www.webgateconsult.com or Whatsapp us: 0244289681
Nana 2 months ago
We the people of Akyem kwabeng are highly behind our chief Dasebere Ayimadu Kantamanto ll.we know him as our only chief and no other ex military recalcitrant useless as a chief.
Ben 2 months ago
You are a fool to think that idiot is a chief. Foolish thinking.
Karma Effect 2 months ago
The 2-Testicles Killer instinct power, is snowballing fast in, within, and around its Epicentre
Senseless Nonsense 2 months ago
Mafia, in ElephantDancing Contest. Dropping cash on godly earth. In nana akyem-mafia show-off, style. Soon, red-earth ants sprang like drones. Into the ears & nostrils of all boogying contestants~What a 'so far-so good' sayooo.
Po 2 months ago
Tweaa
Time will tell
Thanks to okyehene
Kwabeng people know kwabena Boateng is not the right chief of keabeng
Tweaa
Time will tell
Thanks to okyehene
Populist 2 months ago
Well done .
Well done .
Kwmae Burnes 2 months ago
How can some people be so foolish because of chiefstancy issues?
Tsotsoo 2 months ago
Hmmmmmm. Beware that money is not everything, especially blood money.
Justice 2 months ago
I wish to advise Police Service to refrain from giving details of the strategies deployed to arrest these wicked criminals who do not value human life to the public. These criminals are also in the public domain and they could also be reading these stories.
Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago
Website could help you get more customers and look more professional. At Justrac Africa we build clean, quality websites for small businesses like yours. Cost:1,500Gh. Domain, hosting & designing. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 Usygwv
NPP lawyer Enoch Afoakwa 2 months ago
Stop the Social Media trials. Why don't we wait until a court of competent jurisdiction find them guilty. Have they killed anybody?
Nana 2 months ago
Who has judge who?sycophants.no wonder your party is in the gutters
Now Now 2 months ago
Why attempt to eliminate a Chief
Was his ascension politically influenced
Kwame Peter 2 months ago
There appears to be a smell of galamsey in this matter,are the incoming chief and queenmother anti-galamsey? Well.
Ambijoe Kulbogo 2 months ago
This is a fake story, Ghana police must spare us with such stupid news
Desmond 2 months ago
I heard the DCE is also behind this plan work.How did they get this huge amount of money to pay for chiefs life to be cut short
Ghanaian. No Fears! 2 months ago
@Desmond. Are you a stranger in the Land? Have you lost track over the mafia loots, left, right, centre? "As if there is no tomorrow"? Hmm. The chickens are coming home to roost. Police case, period!
K Tsin 2 months ago
I like Freddy G's post. I have nothing more to add.
BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!
I was born and educated in Ghana, but I now live and work in the United Kingdom. Over the years, I have of ...
AUSTRALIA WORK & PAY
All expenses including Plane tickets,Accommodation are paid, 20% will be deducted ...
Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe.......... ...
…..~ ...
https://youtube.com/shorts/LamQHDyjSwo?si=layWmL0p5YVZfLSr
GOOD BLESS YOU FREEDY
Re: Freddy G. Your observations are apt and yet they miss a critical historical nuance that you may not be aware of. This syndrome of over-politicisation of national affairs is not by accident. It is a veiled attempt to indef ...
Mafia, in ElephantDancing Contest. Dropping cash on godly earth. In nana akyem-mafia show-off, style. Soon, red-earth ants sprang like drones. Into the ears & nostrils of all boogying contestants~What a 'so far-so good' say ...
Tweaa
Time will tell
Thanks to okyehene
Well done .
I wish to advise Police Service to refrain from giving details of the strategies deployed to arrest these wicked criminals who do not value human life to the public. These criminals are also in the public domain and they coul ...
Website could help you get more customers and look more professional. At Justrac Africa we build clean, quality websites for small businesses like yours. Cost:1,500Gh. Domain, hosting & designing. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 Us ...