Professor Asare has a great message for the government of Ghana. We must take back Ghana; we cannot sit back while our country is destroyed. Mahama, please wake up and save Ghana. How many children have to be born deformed or die at birth before we wake up to the destruction of Ghana by galamsey? We must fight for Ghana; otherwise, our offspring will not have a place to call home. May God Bless Ghana.
OYOKOBA 2 months ago
Kwaku Azar has said it all. The way I see galamsey, it is evidence of absence of true leadership in the country from all angles and a cross section of the people.
Galamsey is on the same scale and level as how slavery robb ... read full comment
Kwaku Azar has said it all. The way I see galamsey, it is evidence of absence of true leadership in the country from all angles and a cross section of the people.
Galamsey is on the same scale and level as how slavery robbed us of our young people and development to go and develop the Americas for the benefit of Europeans, as well as casting an enduring spell of underdevelopment and subservient mindset to the west even as to date. You can add China to that. You only need to go to Anwiakwanta in the Ashanti Region to understand how the Chinese are entrenched in the galamsey business, selling everything that goes to tear off and strip our lands of their resources.
Gold is real cash not paper money. But stupid us, we are raping our land to dig this resource to go and exchange for paper money, the almighty dollar to import goods or invite the dumping of cheap Chinese imports which do nothing than scuttle indigenous growth and development.
We have no elders and leaders in the country. All have failed us. The landscape is littered with joblessness, homelessness, stunted growth, and endless potholes that ruin cars on a daily basis, head carrying porters selling useless goods, and galamsey stained food crops which are already manifesting in strange diseases.
Our streets sides are littered by huge billboards announcing funerals, and crook pastors offering prophetic miracles and crusades.
For the first time in a long time, I am persuaded to think we need a coup d’état to drain the swamps, uproot galamsey, and reset the economy. I am sorry I have given up hope in the civilians at the helm of affairs today. They are clueless and intimidated to take on the plunders destroying our land and future because they draw huge chunks of votes from the young people engaged in galamsey. Yes, we need a Captain Ibrahim Troare in Ghana. We are too stubborn to heed gentle persuasions.
Fatcobra 2 months ago
Massa are you not tired of talking crap? You cowardly achieved your goal of getting the CJ sacked by an idiot of a president. If you have any concerns about the galamsey menace, speak to him directly. After all, he rewards idiots who sing his praise. Who knows, you might get rewarded. Shameful braggart
Nye bro 2 months ago
Maame Abenah, you have really made my day!!!
Meritocracy In NPP Universe 2 months ago
@Nye Bro: How do you punish someone who bought and paid for polluting your water bodies through State Capture and political campaign financing of the NDC?
How do they recoup their investments even if they are polluting you ... read full comment
@Nye Bro: How do you punish someone who bought and paid for polluting your water bodies through State Capture and political campaign financing of the NDC?
How do they recoup their investments even if they are polluting your water bodies, especially when an ounce of gold is $4,031.65?
What's wrong with a few, like Sammy Gyamfi, living large, straight from school to owning properties at the Airport Residential Area, vis-à-vis Unexplained Wealth, while you are left with paying higher or increased water pollution rates?
What's wrong with an enabler President promising that he will give amnesty to all imprisoned illegal miners, and now stating that gold is what's holding the Ghanaian economy, providing employment for the teeming unemployed youth?
Besides, didn't President JM state that it's better for the Ghanaian youth to benefit by destroying their own environment than for economic terrorist foreigners to take away all the profits?
Who doesn't know that the President playing, the God Boss, and as the repository of all wisdom in the country, as well as the Centralization (Not Decentralization) of our political dispensation, is the root of this ongoing ecocide?
What's wrong with the NDC sacrificing Edward Omane Boamah and a few others for people like Dr. Cadman Mills to enjoy $4,031.65 an ounce gold, while importing drinking water, and paying increased water pollution rates or bills?
Nye bro 2 months ago
Sorry, I am referring to Fatcobra but not Maame Abenah. Fatcobra, you have really made my day!!! Take your 2!!!
Joe. Awuah US 2 months ago
You can describe him with all kinds of words, but when the health catastrophe begins you and your family will suffer for it. You don’t know how those chemicals do to humans and everything
Kwasi Agyei 2 months ago
Too many political idiots. He’s offering solutions and a fatcobra like you who offer nothing won’t go and hide somewhere. Useless comment from an anonymous useless man
Johnny 2 months ago
Very good points raised by the Prof.We need a brave and courageous President, with the collaboration between the two main political parties to achieve this.The whole Ghanaian society shd also understand and believe in all these suggestions.
re: 2 months ago
The galamsey financiers are the politicians so I do you face them boot for boot
re: 2 months ago
how do you
how do you
Sam 2 months ago
Talk is cheap,do you even know them
WE NEED MILITARY GOVERNMENT TO DO THIS 2 months ago
These are the best solutions but our democratic governments can never and will never implement them. Many of the financiers are politicians who sponsor political parties so the government both NPP and NDC will never implement such rightful and drastic policies. We need the military to do this. Simone
Boat 2 months ago
The government know who're the benificials behind galamsey but will do nothing about because they're all untouchable political elites from NPP and NDC. Who's protecting them? It's the same incompetent government claming to be fighting galamsey. We can't have our cake and eat it at the same time.
Ghana is on the verge of environmental disaster but yet nothing is been done about it.
Lord Peppers 2 months ago
Mahama does not want to tackle galamsey bcos his gold board is benefiting from it. Fact is fact, we spoke against the past government and we must do same to him
FACT 2 months ago
GALAMSEY ENABLER MUST BE MET BOOT FOR BOOT
During his campaign Mahama promised to set free the illegal miners who the NPP government had imprisoned.
Mahama is an enabler of galamsey.
An enabler of galamsey is as bad a citi ... read full comment
During his campaign Mahama promised to set free the illegal miners who the NPP government had imprisoned.
An enabler of galamsey is as bad a citizen as a financier of galamsey.
President Mahama is the big problem in the fight against illegal mining.
B. ANSAH 2 months ago
This is a very welcoming approach to deal with these greedy dastardly....
One recommendation i endorse 100% is the fact that the military should occupy the galamsey sites so they don't return
Gbetia 2 months ago
Fatcobra when commenting about article don't rush ok you see your foolishness how you go about Maame Abenah's comment? Professor Kwaku Azar's demand better than state of Emergency
Emmanuel opoku 2 months ago
The Mahama NDC government have nothing good to offer Ghanaians. They cannot effectively combat galamsey because NDC supporters are doing it. They’re only good and efficient in dividing Ghanaians along tribal lines and they caused hatred among us. Useless and incompetent political party. Paying people to incite tribal hatred. Stupid senseless people forming a senseless party.
Nii Amarteifio 2 months ago
Galamsey financiers must be arrested, jailed and have their properties and finances blocked and ceased to be used in replanting the forest reserves and cleaning the rivers.
Kwame 2 months ago
Azar is the most impactful public intellectual of the 21st century.
Don King 2 months ago
I AGREE WITH YOU 100%
CRUSADER 2 months ago
MASSA ! ENOUGH! ARE YOU NOW AWAKE? SINCE WHEN?
Asakramitoga 2 months ago
JM, implement Prof's plan immediately
Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago
TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS850. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. Gerhbxx
Jay Swiss 2 months ago
Hey professor! If all these measures mentioned here have to be followed, then expect 98% of the politicians to end up in Nsanwam prisons. Please Prof, come back home and help us with your ideas. Talk, talk brings nothing! Come home and mobilize the youth to go on a serious demonstration against GALAMSEY nationwide. No government can stop GALAMSEY, only we the citizens of Ghana can stop GALAMSEY! We are the government and we can change the rule.
Ogyam 2 months ago
Galamsey financiers and kingpins must be made to foot the reclamation of forests' and rivers' bills.
Kojopee 2 months ago
Prof. Azar, you hit it. Can I add this suggestion in order not to leave anyone to escape the boot.
Every Traditional ruler whose land in being used for galamsey, every DCE and MMCE both past and present, every Regional Mini ... read full comment
Prof. Azar, you hit it. Can I add this suggestion in order not to leave anyone to escape the boot.
Every Traditional ruler whose land in being used for galamsey, every DCE and MMCE both past and present, every Regional Minister both past and present under whose Administration the galamsey is practiced.
I know what I'm saying, it was first in 1979 when I visited Tarkwa and got to know about this menace.
Bravo Prof
The GreatArican 2 months ago
The operations of NAIMOS should also be augmented with a real-time drone surveillance, monitoring and reporting system that offers a nationwide coverage of all our natural resources under the threat of galamsey operations. This will complement and help NAIMOS have an omnipresence around the clock 24/7.
Professor Asare has a great message for the government of Ghana. We must take back Ghana; we cannot sit back while our country is destroyed. Mahama, please wake up and save Ghana. How many children have to be born deformed or ...
Galamsey is on the same scale and level as how slavery robb ...
Massa are you not tired of talking crap? You cowardly achieved your goal of getting the CJ sacked by an idiot of a president. If you have any concerns about the galamsey menace, speak to him directly. After all, he rewards id ...
How do they recoup their investments even if they are polluting you ...
Very good points raised by the Prof.We need a brave and courageous President, with the collaboration between the two main political parties to achieve this.The whole Ghanaian society shd also understand and believe in all the ...
how do you
These are the best solutions but our democratic governments can never and will never implement them. Many of the financiers are politicians who sponsor political parties so the government both NPP and NDC will never impleme ...
The government know who're the benificials behind galamsey but will do nothing about because they're all untouchable political elites from NPP and NDC. Who's protecting them? It's the same incompetent government claming to be ...
An enabler of galamsey is as bad a citi ...
The Mahama NDC government have nothing good to offer Ghanaians. They cannot effectively combat galamsey because NDC supporters are doing it. They’re only good and efficient in dividing Ghanaians along tribal lines and they ...
I AGREE WITH YOU 100%
TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route by your phone etc. PRICE: GHS850. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info ...
Hey professor! If all these measures mentioned here have to be followed, then expect 98% of the politicians to end up in Nsanwam prisons. Please Prof, come back home and help us with your ideas. Talk, talk brings nothing! Com ...
Every Traditional ruler whose land in being used for galamsey, every DCE and MMCE both past and present, every Regional Mini ...
The operations of NAIMOS should also be augmented with a real-time drone surveillance, monitoring and reporting system that offers a nationwide coverage of all our natural resources under the threat of galamsey operations. Th ...