BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 months ago
Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper...........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe................you are not alone.
OPPORTUNITY FOR ALL 2 months ago
AUSTRALIA WORK & PAY
Companies and Factories in Australia need (Factory Workers, Drivers and Forklift Operators) for 2yrs-4yrs contract.
All expenses including Plane tickets,Accommodation are paid, 20% will be deducte ... read full comment
AUSTRALIA WORK & PAY
Companies and Factories in Australia need (Factory Workers, Drivers and Forklift Operators) for 2yrs-4yrs contract.
All expenses including Plane tickets,Accommodation are paid, 20% will be deducted from salary monthly up to 12months. No Deposit
Ayigbe, Ayigbe, Ayigbe oooo no, no, no 2 months ago
So they have to buy space to publish these stories to feel important or what? Ooooo Ayigbe, the inferiority complex is too much.
Note 1 2 months ago
That is the only way to feel some confidence in themselves, always challenging or comparing themselves with Ashantis. An Eweman commanded the Golden Stool but he bypassed Sogakope and let it drop in Kumasi. An Eweman was the first to weave Kente but his Village Chief wore calico
Ablekuma Van Damme 2 months ago
Dont mind those Ayigbe people. Check the source of the article one of them looking for recognition. Hahahahahaha Go to the village and investigate and some of them have not even heard this toli story before. Propaganda everywhere
Fuck off 2 months ago
Ur mother
Ur mother
Skin Pain 2 months ago
Inward looking people
Kwame 2 months ago
For your information, people from Amedzofe are not Ewes. They don't even speak Ewe when you visit that community. Though they are from Volta Region, they don't see themselves as Ewes. You as an Ewe person, you may visit that community but you will see your as a total stranger because they have their own language which quite and far different from Ewe okay? It is even said that, most of the people there are even affiliated to NPP tradition more than NDC. Don't come berate anyone this morning because of your discomfort and recklessness in training.
Ghana Has Been Sold To IGBO King. 2 months ago
Ayigbe Are The Most Silence Killers In Ghana. They Look The Same As Mosquito Bites. They Are Afraid Of Each Other, Flee And Left Their Communities Living With The Ashantis. Fighting On Plot Of Land. Apart From Slavery, Women And Child Abused What Else. Ayigbe And Accra Ga Tribe s Are The Two Tribes In Ghana Disturbing The Peace And The Progress Of Ghana. They Are Of No Use In The Country. Only JUJU And Celebrating Of Evil Festivals.
Yaw Wontumi 2 months ago
Unlike your criminal chiefs who go selling water bodies and forests to galamsey the Ewe chiefs are decent and educated. They will never compromise on the future of the environment like your stupid chiefs. Gbemelawo
Blay 2 months ago
Interesting. Both Ga and Ewe have tribal connections with Anago People. All of them don’t have Ghana at heart. They are all parasites.
Fuck off 2 months ago
Ur mother wai
Paul 2 months ago
I dont understand why some of you Guys just stand up and spew only rubbish on this Platform.Go and see whether is Propaganda or not. Am from Amedzofe and is such a nice town, that you dont have to miss it.
Just visit there ... read full comment
I dont understand why some of you Guys just stand up and spew only rubbish on this Platform.Go and see whether is Propaganda or not. Am from Amedzofe and is such a nice town, that you dont have to miss it.
Just visit there and come and say your story
Ozymandias 2 months ago
But how can such places become tourists attractions? I doubt if anyone will pay money just to go and visit a forest that doesn’t produce any economic benefits to the country. If the forests have any economically-viable crops and minerals that will benefit the country, then that should be encouraged. But just a forest or forests? Eish!
Ozymandias 2 months ago
Even Akatamanso/ DODOWA Forest is not a tourist attraction. That was the place where the Ashanti Army suffered its greatest first defeat in the hands of the combined coastal forces.That is the only place in Ghana’s local military defeat history that should be preserved and made a tourist attraction. But, who has heard of Amedzofe Forest? I doubt that the indigenous people themselves would even know about it.
Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago
Protect your home and property with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Nehsbvv
Tsotsoo 2 months ago
Please no galamsey in the Volta Region, otherwise we are finished. Thank you.
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government ...
Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper...........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe..... ...
AUSTRALIA WORK & PAY
All expenses including Plane tickets,Accommodation are paid, 20% will be deducte ...
That is the only way to feel some confidence in themselves, always challenging or comparing themselves with Ashantis. An Eweman commanded the Golden Stool but he bypassed Sogakope and let it drop in Kumasi. An Eweman was the ...
Dont mind those Ayigbe people. Check the source of the article one of them looking for recognition. Hahahahahaha Go to the village and investigate and some of them have not even heard this toli story before. Propaganda everyw ...
Ur mother
Inward looking people
For your information, people from Amedzofe are not Ewes. They don't even speak Ewe when you visit that community. Though they are from Volta Region, they don't see themselves as Ewes. You as an Ewe person, you may visit that ...
Ayigbe Are The Most Silence Killers In Ghana. They Look The Same As Mosquito Bites. They Are Afraid Of Each Other, Flee And Left Their Communities Living With The Ashantis. Fighting On Plot Of Land. Apart From Slavery, Women ...
Ur mother wai
Just visit there ...
But how can such places become tourists attractions? I doubt if anyone will pay money just to go and visit a forest that doesn’t produce any economic benefits to the country. If the forests have any economically-viable crop ...
Even Akatamanso/ DODOWA Forest is not a tourist attraction. That was the place where the Ashanti Army suffered its greatest first defeat in the hands of the combined coastal forces.That is the only place in Ghana’s local m ...