BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
Dr Mumbi Seraki 3 months ago
Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine........for instance 15 paracetamol at once. Or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
Oprege 3 months ago
Don’t understand how GhanaWeb can’t just kick this maniac called Dr Mumbai of this medium . He’s nauseating !!
The Motherland 3 months ago
O say that again!! He is in dire need of prayers
GLOBALIZATION IS A RECIPE FOR MODERN SLAVERY AND DICTATORSHIP 3 months ago
AFRICA HAS INDEED WOKEN UP, BUT IT'S TIME TO GET OFF THE BED FOR ACTION AND DO SOMETHING PROGRESSIVE FOR HER CHILDREN.
AFRICA IS THE ONLY SUPER POWER IN THE WORLD and that is why the corrupt and greedy white man is always ... read full comment
AFRICA HAS INDEED WOKEN UP, BUT IT'S TIME TO GET OFF THE BED FOR ACTION AND DO SOMETHING PROGRESSIVE FOR HER CHILDREN.
AFRICA IS THE ONLY SUPER POWER IN THE WORLD and that is why the corrupt and greedy white man is always insecure and afraid of AFRICAN UNITY. Having advance weapons of mass destruction and technology does not make a country a SUPER POWER, but SELF RELIANCE does! AFRICA HAS ALWAYS BEEN SELF RELIANT, but lacks the educational tactics for mentality change.
Jonas 3 months ago
African unity is a pipe dream. We are not even united in our various countries in Africa let alone the whole continent. Leave the whiteman out of it. We are so bad and corrupt here so let's blame ourselves and stop blaming others for our own failures.
Pelicles. 3 months ago
Thank you. Some people hate the truth. Yes, it is a fact that others are acting as impediments but for how long? We are complicit in anything that is happening in our individual countries so, yes, let's leave the Whiteman out of the equation.
Nyansa 3 months ago
Massa, please use common sense. FIFA hasnt confirmed it because Ghana has NOT qualified yet. No need for all this talk to explain something that does not need to be explained.
Wontumi 3 months ago
And yet some fools are saying Aka 9 pe
KING VASCO 3 months ago
I think you are a confused brain and rather lack common sense.Ghana hasnt qualify yet bcos of the reasons given,and that is cmmon sense,learn from them
Abdul 3 months ago
Interesting but critical analyses there. InshaAllah, I am confident that Ghana would win on Sunday.
BOY KOFI 3 months ago
FIFA doesn’t trust the Black Stars but it’s too early to rule Ghana out.
How many teams has FIFA confirmed their tickets?
Osonoba 3 months ago
Ghanaians and their mathematics. Let's see
Boye/California 3 months ago
Ghana will Win Comoros so people mustn't Worry at all Akwaaba to America
Ojatanaa 3 months ago
I wasn't impressed with the black stars there was no formation all the goals was just lucky goals if we play like this in the tournament we will no progress to the knock out stage
the Villager 3 months ago
Danniama, who does not know Africans? FIFA works with points not goal difference. We all remember when NANIA won by 30-something goals.
KING VASCO 3 months ago
Fifa works with goal difference when teams have the same points in this qualifiers.Ghana would have qualified if it were head to head
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the go ...
AFRICA IS THE ONLY SUPER POWER IN THE WORLD and that is why the corrupt and greedy white man is always ...
African unity is a pipe dream. We are not even united in our various countries in Africa let alone the whole continent. Leave the whiteman out of it. We are so bad and corrupt here so let's blame ourselves and stop blaming ot ...
Thank you. Some people hate the truth. Yes, it is a fact that others are acting as impediments but for how long? We are complicit in anything that is happening in our individual countries so, yes, let's leave the Whiteman out ...