I support that suggestion. Chiefs and landlords in areas affected by galamsey shd also be invited by NIB for investigation ,their properties and bank accounts shd be scrutinised. If found guilty those properties shd be consficated to the state. How can galamsey be done under railway lines without the knowledge of Police Commander, MCE/DCE or the Chief?
GHANA 2 months ago
BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
Dr Mumbi Seraki 2 months ago
Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine........for instance 15 paracetamol at once. Or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago
Hahahaha. Will you invite the Asantehene and the Kyebi, Oda, Abirem and Offinso hene for investigations? Hahahaha. Try from there too.
Kwaku Tee 2 months ago
@ Frank Agyena-Karikari
We shd use late Prof Mills idea. There are several ways to kill a cat.
@ Frank Agyena-Karikari
You are very right. I really want heinous punishments and lengthy Prison Sentences for all Galamsayers. without the possibility of a parole.
the Villager 2 months ago
Not just SACKED, butprosecuted and if found guilty, face the consequencies including sacking.
Hmmmm. It is easier said than done. We are not in any kind of Military Revolutionary Government. We are in a Western Democratic System where the rule of the law works. How can the Police and the Traditional leaders be held responsible for the Galamsay in Ghana? How did the Galamsay machines get to the Mining Centers from the Harbors or crossed the many Police Road Barriers?
The mining sometimes takes place in the very deep forests very far from town. What can the Village Police and the Traditional Authorities do? Almost nothing. Then we have some townfolks who are in league with the Galamsayers who shall alert the miners by blowing whistles to allow them of any Police movement to their mining areas so that they can run away.
Admittedly, some of the Police and the Traditional Authorities also get their share from the Galamsayers. It is not that easy. What I will suggest is that when Galamsayers are arrested and put to trial, they should be imprisoned for a minimum of 15 years in Hard Labor without any possibility of a parole. Their trials and Sentences and their early Prison lives should be shown live on the National Television.
The Big ones behind the arrested Galamsayers should also not be spared. Fine them heavily and make them do a minimum of 10 years in Prison with Hard Labor. If this is implemented seriously, many of the Galamsayers will just stop that business.
Foley Gbazam 2 months ago
SOLOMON OWUSU GYIMIE NE NSEM KEKA BEKU WO
WHO THE HELL IS THIS NOISEMAKER WHO WANTS TO ALWAYS HEAR HIS OWN VOICE? WHO IS THIS SILLY IDIOT OF A MAN WITH THE BRAIN OF A 3 YEAR OLD? WHO IS THIS SOLOMON OWUSU WHO HAS LEFT HIS BRAIN ON THE GROUND OR TAKEN LEAVE OF HIS SENSES? WHO IS THIS IDIOT WHO HAS REFUSED TO GROW AFTER BIRTH? NO WONDER YOU FOLLOW ALAN CRY BABY KYEREMATEN. I BLAME THOSE WHO GIVE THE LOT OF YOU MEDIA SPACE. NKWASEAFO NE NKWASEASEM. ARE YOU THE APPOINTING AUTHORITY? WO HO FIIIIIIIIIIII
Truth 2 months ago
Agreed!
Agreed!
FACT 2 months ago
What must be done to the NDC President who promised, during his campaign, that he would set free the illegal miners who the NPP government had imprisoned?
AWAL 2 months ago
IDIOT. WHO ARE YOU TO SAY THAT.
Wwwe 2 months ago
Kwasiman come and sack them fool
JOHN K( The people behind galamsey are in Europe and Accra) 2 months ago
Today I sat in a meeting with a galamsey invester. He holds a foreign passport and well connected to top politicians and chiefs in the Ashanti region and Bono. He drinks bottle water from Europe . Each bottle of the water he drinks is 70 Cedis and he served it to all of us from his fridge. He said galamsey will continue to exist for a long time so we should forget about the fight against galamsey
Erik 2 months ago
It's implementation is long overdue. These officials are there to supervise law and order and if these are nolt been enforced what business have they being in office. Boot the bloodsuckers asses out for better personal
Koo 2 months ago
Maximum respect Solomon Owusu.This country must work.These galamsayers do it with the police,the Chiefs and mostly the DCEs.They should all be held responsible.What levels of looting and plundering is this? All those implicated in the auditor general's report must be made to pay back and also be jailed.Check the Controller and Accountant's General's office as well.Most of these dirty corrupt things are hatched from there.
Ujah 2 months ago
Solomon has raised a very serious point, not all but some police commanders in Ghana are problems to the security of Ghana n Ghanaians n is high time the president and IGP with the help of all of us fish out these bad guys and deal with them. The made crim fighting very difficult for everyone. Because they are the crimes themselves.
Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago
Protect your home and property with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Haywgg
Marcus Adepaye 2 months ago
I thought after campaigning for Akomfem Mahama he would solve galamsey in 120 days or appoint you as a galamsey CZAR to stop it in two weeks. Kuraseni............
I support that suggestion. Chiefs and landlords in areas affected by galamsey shd also be invited by NIB for investigation ,their properties and bank accounts shd be scrutinised. If found guilty those properties shd be consfi ...
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’ ...
@ Frank Agyena-Karikari
Hmmmm. It is easier said than done. We are not in any kind of Military Revolutionary Government. We are in a Western Democratic System where the rule of the law works. How can the Police and the Traditional leaders be held re ...
WHO THE HELL IS THIS NOISEMAKER WHO WANTS TO ALWAYS HEAR HIS OWN VOICE? WHO IS THIS SILLY IDIOT OF A MAN WITH THE BRAIN OF A 3 YEAR OLD? WHO IS THIS SOLOMON OWUSU WHO HAS LEFT HIS ...
Agreed!
Today I sat in a meeting with a galamsey invester. He holds a foreign passport and well connected to top politicians and chiefs in the Ashanti region and Bono. He drinks bottle water from Europe . Each bottle of the water he ...
Maximum respect Solomon Owusu.This country must work.These galamsayers do it with the police,the Chiefs and mostly the DCEs.They should all be held responsible.What levels of looting and plundering is this? All those implicat ...
Solomon has raised a very serious point, not all but some police commanders in Ghana are problems to the security of Ghana n Ghanaians n is high time the president and IGP with the help of all of us fish out these bad guys a ...