BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
WG 2 months ago
**With our New E commerce Package...You can now Have your own online store to sell your products online, receive orders, payments and more..It also comes with social media advertising services...just Whatsapp us now...0244289681. You can also visit our Website: www.Webgateconsult.com
Francis Mccarthy 2 months ago
Mr. President, we need ACTION, ACTION ACTION and not TALK TALK TALK. Look at President Donald Trump. You are the COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF for Christ sake. Every year Billions of cedis get missing according to the Auditor General’s report and NOTHING happens.
Pelicles. 2 months ago
Francis MacCarthy, as humans, we learn on daily basis from what we did wrong. In Ghana, we do the same thing but expect different result which is wrong. With the advent of technology, it is about time we switch from the old and archaic method of doing things in Ghana and adopt digitization.
Reason why most people hate digitization is because it reduces stealing to the barest minimum and thieves hates that. I don't know how old you are, but you can see that in Ghana, those who worked for the government since independent are mostly rich and the reason, they stole from the government because there are no proper structures to stop that and should we keep that way forward?
In the advance economies, at times, one does not handle cash but the use of "CARD" as way for to weave through the system, and that system has been established to keep out physical cash which attracts stealing. I am not saying digitization is the end game, but it helps in reducing the rampant stealing to the barest minimum.
Let's keep the old system by just publicly polishing the words that we speak, and in the end, we will come to this site and question the slowness of our actions.
By the way, where do you live and,
Jack 2 months ago
It's long over due....
TSITSURU 2 months ago
Akuffo adui monkey addo has really turned Ghana into a crime scene. They should all be jailed. Until and unless akuffo addo is jailed at all cost Ghana as a country will never see any meaningful development. Gbeha akuffo addo.
Dzimakpla akuffo addo.
Idiot akuffo addo
Nonsense.
Kofi Akwetey 2 months ago
Shameless, bootlicking AG. The President doesn't jail offenders. Courts do. Otherwise, why wouldn't you jail them yourself.
Kojois 2 months ago
Stupid and low iq people. Why afraid to tell the truth. If you appointees are party communicators no experienced frying all over state institutions what do you expect. Mahama has appointed party communicators as deputy CEOs in all state institutions leaving technocrat what do you expect. Political lecturer appointed as CEO of shipping Authority what do you expect. The same fool was complaining misappropriation of state funds. Jokers. Ghana has a long way to go.
Pelicles. 2 months ago
Mr. Auditor-General, Mahama is not a "Military leader" who have the power to jail people through some "Decree" rather he was elected to office and as such, it is the courts, I repeat, it is the courts that has the sole power to jail offenders.
Achakanapaya 2 months ago
I know very well the npp Nation wreckers organization will be against this move.
They might go to court to prevent this move. As Ken Kuranchi is in the supreme court challenging Oral.
I know very well the npp Nation wreckers organization will be against this move.
They might go to court to prevent this move. As Ken Kuranchi is in the supreme court challenging Oral.
Ewvevi 2 months ago
Please remove that attorney general called Akuritinga from the convention. He has turned out to be the most corrupt thief I've ever suspected. Don't include him. He is going around announcing that he is cutting deals with thieves so that they'll pay money and walk free. Such a thing for attorney general. Tweeea.
Pelicles. 2 months ago
Mr. the Attorney General is not cutting any deal if he really has solid case to nail those, he is cutting deals with. He is rather trying to save his despicable face because all the charges he brought against his "perceived thieves" prove to be hallow with no substance.
How can the AG cut deals if he is not fighting a losing battle?
CRUSADER 2 months ago
THEN MASSA! START FROM MAHAMA HIMSELF WHERE HE GOT THAT $1.5 TRILLION! THEN GO TO ATTO AND JAGPA THE LATTER DAY SAINTS THEN THE NDC ITSELF! IF NOT BY THE PATRIOTIC INTEVENTION OF THR FORMER AG MR ODAME THESE rawlings boys COULD HAVE SWINDLED GH $1 TRILLION! DO YOU TALK OF IT?SHAAAAAAAME! AKROMFOO
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’ ...
**With our New E commerce Package...You can now Have your own online store to sell your products online, receive orders, payments and more..It also comes with social media advertising services...just Whatsapp us now...0244289 ...
Mr. President, we need ACTION, ACTION ACTION and not TALK TALK TALK. Look at President Donald Trump. You are the COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF for Christ sake. Every year Billions of cedis get missing according to the Auditor General’ ...
Francis MacCarthy, as humans, we learn on daily basis from what we did wrong. In Ghana, we do the same thing but expect different result which is wrong. With the advent of technology, it is about time we switch from the old a ...
It's long over due....
Akuffo adui monkey addo has really turned Ghana into a crime scene. They should all be jailed. Until and unless akuffo addo is jailed at all cost Ghana as a country will never see any meaningful development. Gbeha akuffo addo ...
Stupid and low iq people. Why afraid to tell the truth. If you appointees are party communicators no experienced frying all over state institutions what do you expect. Mahama has appointed party communicators as deputy CEOs i ...
Mr. Auditor-General, Mahama is not a "Military leader" who have the power to jail people through some "Decree" rather he was elected to office and as such, it is the courts, I repeat, it is the courts that has the sole power ...
Please remove that attorney general called Akuritinga from the convention. He has turned out to be the most corrupt thief I've ever suspected. Don't include him. He is going around announcing that he is cutting deals with thi ...
Mr. the Attorney General is not cutting any deal if he really has solid case to nail those, he is cutting deals with. He is rather trying to save his despicable face because all the charges he brought against his "perceived t ...
THEN MASSA! START FROM MAHAMA HIMSELF WHERE HE GOT THAT $1.5 TRILLION! THEN GO TO ATTO AND JAGPA THE LATTER DAY SAINTS THEN THE NDC ITSELF! IF NOT BY THE PATRIOTIC INTEVENTION OF THR FORMER AG MR ODAME THESE rawlings boys COU ...