BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
MAKE MONEY WITH A VIABLE SKILL & CHANGE YOUR LIFE - IT'S THAT SIMPLE, START WITH THIS!!! 2 months ago
These chinkos are everywhere...Where capital for business could stop you, your Skills would elevate you! As the new month kicks in, take stock, how will U invest to earn better? Would you waste another 31days? You EARN from what U LEARN & APPLY to solve problems; and what you earn in just one day with this skilled-service business will far outweigh the token you pay to learn this skill. Remember: The smartphone repairs & accessories business is a daily cash flow hub — a true beehive of opportunity: Fix, Flash, Sell accessories.That's raw cash changing hands every day. With everyone owning a smartphone, and problems always arising, this is a never-ending opportunity stream. Learn This Skill. Launch Your Own Business. Start Earning Daily. Don’t just scroll comment threads— invest in knowledge, and reap financial rewards. Whether you're looking to:* Earn daily cash, *Start a service-based business, *Or even break into high-paying IT careers .Get Chukky Oparandu’s Guidebooks: Perfect for you — or someone close who's just idling around. Join the thousands who’ve transformed their lives by following this proven path. NOW Search "Chukky Oparandu" on Amazon Or visit [selar.co/m/chukky). French Edition Available! "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes". Don’t miss his blockbuster career guide:“IT Career: A Roadmap”. Have you read Bill Gates' AI forecast on future jobs? This is one of the future-proof skills! Jobs would be lost.ACT NOW! #SmartphoneRepair #FlashPhones J,i9
MAHAMAH IS INTOLERANT 2 months ago
Masa declare state of emergency and stop the concert
Kobina Ebo 2 months ago
CLEANINGNESS IS NEXT TO GODLINESS..PLEASE KEEP GHANA CLEAN. MAY OUR NATION GHANA REMAIN BLESSED IN THE MIGHTY NAME OF OUR LORD AND SAVIOR JESUS CHRIST. AMEN
Demetrius 2 months ago
Who are the forest guards preventing the arrest? What do we do to these Chinese duty persons? They can't do that in China but arrogantly conniving with Ghanaian counterparts in destroying our forest with impunity.
In Chin ... read full comment
Who are the forest guards preventing the arrest? What do we do to these Chinese duty persons? They can't do that in China but arrogantly conniving with Ghanaian counterparts in destroying our forest with impunity.
In China, a deputy minister is facing death penality because of corruption. What are we doing to ourselves? When the last river dries up there will be no Ghana.....
Justrac Africa Ltd 2 months ago
We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. fhgfhgfg
Jack 2 months ago
Are you going to deport them?
Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 2 months ago
Bank ... read full comment
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
[1/16, 12:59 AM] Oxford: Pll: Bank wire transfer to all countries
We have a very experience
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
Frank Talk 2 months ago
Arrest them take bribes from them and treat these ENVIROMENTAL TERRORISTS with kid gloves. The NDC government is becoming a disappointment. Why haven't they repealed the infamous LI that made it possible to mine in forest reserves. I wonder which Asian country or western country will tolerate what these ENVIROMENTAL TERORISTS are doing to OUR HERITAGE. You will be shot dead one time. So so talk talk.
Naniema 2 months ago
Roast them like how they ( the Chinese) roast their big cockroaches to eat. Rubbish
Jack 2 months ago
Shoot and kill...
Why 2 months ago
Yes
Yes
Lopez 2 months ago
I think these foreign nationals especially the Chinese should be given the harshest of the punishment since they are the money kingpins who has no respect for our laws and government.
Yabi Yabi 2 months ago
Why mother Ghana? There's no agency of state that has had a passing grade in over 30 years in Ghana.
There are millions of Ghanaians, myself included, who do not know the parts of Ghana -never been there- where the damage ... read full comment
Why mother Ghana? There's no agency of state that has had a passing grade in over 30 years in Ghana.
There are millions of Ghanaians, myself included, who do not know the parts of Ghana -never been there- where the damages caused by galampsey activities persist. Yet we have Chinese, Indians and people from God-knows-where who arrive in Ghana and are led by Ghanaians to those areas to destroy flora and fauna.
In the meantime, Ghana's Immigration agency believes their mandate covers only the validation of entry visas. A thief does not obtain visa at any Ghana mission by telling counselors they intend on stealing upon arrival. What exactly is the ministry of foreign affairs and immigration officials believe Chinese, Indians and etc are coming to Ghana to see or buy?
Are we to believe that Chinese come to Ghana as legitimate tourists? Are Indians and Middle Easterners coming to Ghana because Ghana tourist sites are 1st on their must-visit list? The money we make from tourism will never cover cost to reclaim our lands and rivers, never.
Koti 2 months ago
The harshest punishment Muntaka as Interior Minster recommended for foreigners is DEPORTATION. I hope these Chinese are deported so they can enjoy the wealth they illegally made in Ghana.
Achakanapaya 2 months ago
Kill them immediately.
BB 2 months ago
fools animals kill them all
Capt Adabuga 2 months ago
Just hurry take them both to the airport and deport them
FunnyGhana 2 months ago
Prosecute these Chinese and set high bail conditions for them too. These fools are destroying the country
Kwesi 2 months ago
How do these Chinese and the many many other Chinese get visas to enter Ghana?? Which deeply corrupt Ghana officials are granting visas ti these people.
Jay Swiss 2 months ago
I hope they will not just be deported to china. These guys are worse than Wotumi! I would not be deported as a Ghanaian in china if I damage a street light but rather face the law. The prison is for criminals but not only for Ghanaians. These guys should face the law as well, just like Wotumi and co.
General 2 months ago
The N.D.C. policy is to deport them that's all,so they can go and snake in and do it again or can tell their fellow country men to come and do same after all if you are not caught gold money is a huge capital and if you are caught what do you loose which sensible person will not take this advantage as a foreigner
Dan 2 months ago
And yet still stupid braindead ghanians continue to allow these chines parasites into the country god why have you made my black africans so stupid??? A black african will get the death penalty in china for doing ilegal mining and destroying chines waterways and rivers
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’ ...
These chinkos are everywhere...Where capital for business could stop you, your Skills would elevate you! As the new month kicks in, take stock, how will U invest to earn better? Would you waste another 31days? You EARN from w ...
In Chin ...
We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. fhgfhg ...
Bank ...
Arrest them take bribes from them and treat these ENVIROMENTAL TERRORISTS with kid gloves. The NDC government is becoming a disappointment. Why haven't they repealed the infamous LI that made it possible to mine in forest res ...
Shoot and kill...
Yes
There are millions of Ghanaians, myself included, who do not know the parts of Ghana -never been there- where the damage ...
Kill them immediately.
I hope they will not just be deported to china. These guys are worse than Wotumi! I would not be deported as a Ghanaian in china if I damage a street light but rather face the law. The prison is for criminals but not only for ...
The N.D.C. policy is to deport them that's all,so they can go and snake in and do it again or can tell their fellow country men to come and do same after all if you are not caught gold money is a huge capital and if you are c ...
And yet still stupid braindead ghanians continue to allow these chines parasites into the country god why have you made my black africans so stupid??? A black african will get the death penalty in china for doing ilegal minin ...
Braindead africans