Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal life! (John 3:16).khff
Zanetor 3 months ago
It would have been better. Since Yaa Asantewaa is an NDC woman
KH 3 months ago
It was Nkrumah and his Party, CPP that they didn't like with no tangible reason not NDC!
Benji 3 months ago
UP was a tribal Ashanti party and so is the NPP.
MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 3 months ago
Murutumbafo! Was all Akufo Addo appointees were all Ashantis, is Akufo Addo even Asante? Your stupidity have no boundaries!
Mr no nonsense 3 months ago
Is your mother who was an ndc member, are you that stupid.
MOHD 3 months ago
i'm an onLine Techie/marketer, i can be reached on WhatsApp via +2348080471602, Listed beLow are the services i offer.
(1)i can teach you how to cLone your husband,wife,fiance,girLfriend,boyfriend's WhatsApp & you wiLL ... read full comment
i'm an onLine Techie/marketer, i can be reached on WhatsApp via +2348080471602, Listed beLow are the services i offer.
(1)i can teach you how to cLone your husband,wife,fiance,girLfriend,boyfriend's WhatsApp & you wiLL be getting their chats secretLy on your phone.
(2)i can broadcast your goods,services & offers to miLLions of peopLe via EmaiL/SMS/WhatsApp/Facebook/TikToK & Jiji to enabLe you get cLients & customers faster.
(3)i seLL onLine marketing tooLs Like upgraded GmaiL box,tiktok,facebook,instagram accounts that never gets bLocked,webmaiLs,SMTP's,worLdwide emaiL addresses & phone numbers,buLk SMS senders ETC.
(4)i seLL 85gb data of aLL network @ 100 GHS! the data vaLidity is 3 months, the data can be shared, you can buy the data & reseLL in bits to other peopLe.
(5)i can track your stoLen/Lost phone & teLL you the exact Location it's being used.
Forward this advert to your contacts & earn free 2gb DATA vaLid for 2weeks for each & every customer you refer that pays for any of my service.
GOLDEN 3 months ago
THEY SHOULD HAVE CHOSEN YAA ASANTEWAA,IT IS NOT TOO LATE TO CHANGE IT AS THE TOPIC IS STILL ON DISCUSSION, GHANAIANS SHOULD UNITE AND STOP BEING TRIBALISTIC,AFTER ALL WE HAVE A RICH CULTURAL HERITAGE,PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!
KH 3 months ago
Who was tribalistic in this case?
Abugre 3 months ago
Yes, the Asante Empire resisted the British-led abolition of the slave trade and slavery, viewing it as essential to their economy and society. As a powerful inland state, Asante engaged in the transatlantic slave trade and later domestic slavery, but their economic and political power was built on control of trade routes and captive labor. Asantehene Osei Bonsu articulated their opposition in 1820, citing the slave trade's importance when pressured by British officials to abolish it for humanitarian reasons.
Reasons for Asante Opposition
Economic Importance: The Asante state's wealth and political power were heavily dependent on the domestic slave trade and the export of enslaved people.
Joyfulness 3 months ago
Just name it Accra International Airport
KH 3 months ago
You are justified! In the worst scenario , it should be Yeboah/Arthur International Airport.
K. Opoku-London-UK 3 months ago
==The White man and woman CAME TO AFRICA TO SCAM US, TO STEAL, TO DEPLETE OUR RESOURCES-MINERALS-HENCE GOLD COAST and THE SLAVE TRADE. It was NOT because the whites are superior. In history, there were several Empires-Roman Empire, Ottoman Empire, Ashanti Empire etc etc.
The Whites or England left Ghana with NO EDUCATION FOR OUR MASSES AND MASSES OF OUR PEOPLE. DR Kwame Nkrumah had NO CHOICE but to start building schools and universities, teacher training colleges etc etc to help increase the level of education of our people to form the human resource base for both national economic and social development.
Dr Kwame Nkrumah also started building factories and Akosombo Dam for our self sufficiency and development-energy needs sustainability.
To err is human but Dr Kwame Nkrumah saw that we BLACK PEOPLE NEED TO HELP EACH OTHER. As you can see from USA-TRUMP POLICY-AMERICA FIRST. TRUMP has even abandoned NATO-Europe to PAY for themselves. TRUMP has STOPPED USAID etc etc. Africa was in a unique situation. Dr Kwame Nkrumah helped Sekou Toure of Guinea when Guinea refused to kowtow to France imperialist demands. AFRICA MUST UNITE-BOB MARLEY. Dr Nkrumah helped Zimbabwe-Mugabe etc to come and educate themselves in Ghana. But now-Ghana people are also in Zambia, Botswana, South Africa, Egypt, Morrocco, Algeria etc etc. You see-Africa is our DESTINY and HOMELAND. President Kuffour when he came to power- WENT TO NIGERIA TO BEG, President Obasanjo of Nigeria gave Ghana 500 peugeot cars for the Ghana police use-free of charge, President Obasanjo gave Ghana FREE CRUDE OIL-now you see the irony of what Dr Kwame Nkrumah did for Guinea-Nigeria also did it to Ghana in our hour of NEED. NOBODY IS PERFECT.
I do not want to go on and on. STUPID Dr K A Busia BOOTED OUT NIGERIANS FROM Ghana in 1971 SHORTSIGHTEDLY- Nigeria also booted out 3 million Ghanaians in 1981-IS IT NOT REVENGE? LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOUR AS YOURSELF- BECAUSE YOU DO NOT KNOW TOMORROW- NIGERIA IS RICH NOW.
Some of Kwame Nkrumah’s Achievements to Ghana in the space of 6 years Ghana 60's
- University Of Cape Coast (UCC)
- Ghana National College, Cape Coast
- Mfantsiman Girls' SHS
- Winneba secondary school
- Apam Secondary School
- Swedru Secondary School (SWESCO)
- Fosu Training College
- Ofori Panyin Secondary School
- Techiman Secondary School
- Dormaa Secondary School
- Tema Secondary School
- Oda Secondary School
- Labone Secondary School
- Kwadaso College of Education
- Atebubu Training College
- Berekum Training College
- Enchi Training College
- Turned University College of Gold Coast into University of Ghana (He became their first chancellor)
- Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST)
- Institute of African Studies
- Kwame Nkrumah Institute of Economics and Political Science(now south campus of UEW)
- Ajumako School of Languages(now under UEW)
- Kumasi Technical Institute (now a University)
- Accra Polytechnic(now Accra Technical University)
- Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital(previously Kumasi central hospital)
- He made Korle Bu a teaching hospital and expanded its capacity by constructing the Medical, Maternity, Surgical and Child Health blocks
- He established the Ghana Medical School
- He made Medical care free to all citizens
- He established GIHOC pharmaceuticals
- He also built several hospitals and clinics
- Abosso Glass Factory
- Zuarungu Meat Factory
- Wenchi Tomato Factory
- Kade Match Factory
- Akosombo Textiles Limited
- Kumasi Shoe Factory
- Pwalugu Tomato Factory
- Asutuare Sugar Factory
- Komenda Sugar Factory
- Kumasi Jute Factory
-Nsawam Cannery, Brick and Tile Factory
- Tarkwa Bonsa Tyre Factory
- Bolgatanga Meat Processing Factory
- Bolgatanga Rice Mill Factory
- GIHOC Fibre Products Company
- Ghana Black Star Line with almost 15 ships
- Bank of Ghana (BoG)
- Ghana Commercial Bank (GCB)
- Agricultural Development Bank (ADB)
- National Investment Bank (NIB)
- State Insurance Company (SIC)
-Social Security and National Insurance Trust (SSNIT)
- Ghana Oil Company (GOIL)
- Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority (GHAPOHA)
- Tema Oil Refinery (TOR)
- The National Management and Productivity Institute
- Ghana Film Industries, Accra
-Ghana Airways Corporation
- Ghana National Trading Corporation
- Cocoa Marketing Board (COCOBOD)
- Tema Steel Works
- Volta Aluminium Company
- State Housing and Hotel Projects
- Labone Estate
- Kanda Estates
- Osu Ringway Estates
- Airport Residential Area
- Patasi Estate
- Kwadaso Estate
- Buokrom Estates
- North and South Suntreso
- Tema Township(Communities)
- Star Hotel
- Meridian Hotel
- Ambassador Hotel
-Continental Hotel now Golden Tulip Accra
-Atlantic Hotel
- City Hotel Catering Rest Houses now Golden Tulip Kumasi
- Peduase Lodge
- Ghana Film Corporation
- Ghana News Agency
- Ghana Broadcasting Corporation
- Atomic Reactor Station
- Akosombo Dam
- Restructured the British Military base into Accra (now Kotoka) International Airport
- Tema Motorway
- Tema Harbour
- Adomi Bridge
- State Farms and Institutes.
But where are we now? Ghana is a FAILED STATE. That was why in 2024 Ghana went to the IMF and the World Bank Cup in hand to beg for a bailout. What did we receive in return for betraying our country. I ask you will the white man and woman accept you black monkey money to betray their country? The ANSWER IS OBVIOUS-NO. We BLACKS people are unpatriotic and very selfish. The WHITEMAN see us as the followers of their STUPID culture. Look at China and India, they stick to their culture and language in their schools and education system and they have made it. African children are dying in their thousands in the Mediterranean sea. Bye bye you BLACK PEOPLE ARE THEIR OWN DOWNFALL-BLACKS HATE EACH OTHER. The white man or woman will NEVER betray thair COUNTRIES to you the BLACK MONEY. But we took their money and AFRICAN CHILDREN ARE DYING IN THEIT THOUSANDS IN THE MEDITERRENEAN SEA TO REACH EUROPE-ITALY AND SPAIN
Some of Kwame Nkrumah’s Achievements to Ghana in the space of 6 years Ghana 60's
- University Of Cape Coast (UCC)
- Ghana National College, Cape Coast
- Mfantsiman Girls' SHS
- Winneba secondary school
- Apam Secondary School
- Swedru Secondary School (SWESCO)
- Fosu Training College
- Ofori Panyin Secondary School
- Techiman Secondary School
- Dormaa Secondary School
- Tema Secondary School
- Oda Secondary School
- Labone Secondary School
- Kwadaso College of Education
- Atebubu Training College
- Berekum Training College
- Enchi Training College
- Turned University College of Gold Coast into University of Ghana (He became their first chancellor)
- Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST)
- Institute of African Studies
- Kwame Nkrumah Institute of Economics and Political Science(now south campus of UEW)
- Ajumako School of Languages(now under UEW)
- Kumasi Technical Institute (now a University)
- Accra Polytechnic(now Accra Technical University)
- Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital(previously Kumasi central hospital)
- He made Korle Bu a teaching hospital and expanded its capacity by constructing the Medical, Maternity, Surgical and Child Health blocks
- He established the Ghana Medical School
- He made Medical care free to all citizens
- He established GIHOC pharmaceuticals
- He also built several hospitals and clinics
- Abosso Glass Factory
- Zuarungu Meat Factory
- Wenchi Tomato Factory
- Kade Match Factory
- Akosombo Textiles Limited
- Kumasi Shoe Factory
- Pwalugu Tomato Factory
- Asutuare Sugar Factory
- Komenda Sugar Factory
- Kumasi Jute Factory
-Nsawam Cannery, Brick and Tile Factory
- Tarkwa Bonsa Tyre Factory
- Bolgatanga Meat Processing Factory
- Bolgatanga Rice Mill Factory
- GIHOC Fibre Products Company
- Ghana Black Star Line with almost 15 ships
- Bank of Ghana (BoG)
- Ghana Commercial Bank (GCB)
- Agricultural Development Bank (ADB)
- National Investment Bank (NIB)
- State Insurance Company (SIC)
-Social Security and National Insurance Trust (SSNIT)
- Ghana Oil Company (GOIL)
- Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority (GHAPOHA)
- Tema Oil Refinery (TOR)
- The National Management and Productivity Institute
- Ghana Film Industries, Accra
-Ghana Airways Corporation
- Ghana National Trading Corporation
- Cocoa Marketing Board (COCOBOD)
- Tema Steel Works
- Volta Aluminium Company
- State Housing and Hotel Projects
- Labone Estate
- Kanda Estates
- Osu Ringway Estates
- Airport Residential Area
- Patasi Estate
- Kwadaso Estate
- Buokrom Estates
- North and South Suntreso
- Tema Township(Communities)
- Star Hotel
- Meridian Hotel
- Ambassador Hotel
-Continental Hotel now Golden Tulip Accra
-Atlantic Hotel
- City Hotel Catering Rest Houses now Golden Tulip Kumasi
- Peduase Lodge
- Ghana Film Corporation
- Ghana News Agency
- Ghana Broadcasting Corporation
- Atomic Reactor Station
- Akosombo Dam
- Restructured the British Military base into Accra (now Kotoka) International Airport
- Tema Motorway
- Tema Harbour
- Adomi Bridge
- State Farms and Institutes.
Dr Kwame Nkrumah also did so much for the north as well interms of education:
Ghana College, Tamale, Government secondary school, Tamale, Bawku, Yendi, Lawra, Wa, Nalerigu Damongo secondary schools etc.. You are right Kwame Nkrumah was a visionary leader. He did all this in less than 9years.
What a big loss he has been to the nation!!! His compulsory policy of education for all children gave some of us especially from the north the opportunity to go to school. Otherwise my father had no clue about education and didn’t see the need for his children to go to school.
May GOD ALMIGHTY give him wisdom , anchor and victory to be able to do this again with sustained efforts.
Don't forget Acherensua Secondary School (Achisco) which was the only secondary school in Ahafo until 1970 when Busia converted Hwidiem and Mim Training Colleges to secondary schools. And other schools like Yaa Asantewah Secondary School, Konongo Odumasi Secondary School, and many more. You can easily identify the schools by the similar buildings, which were constructed under the Education Trust Fund. Nkrumah was selfless, and a visioneer. Up to the present, nobody has come out to accuse him of corruption or kalabule. He left no mansion or assets. Akuffo Addo family and the Akyem traitors are thieves, and with fake British vocal accents.
How can foreign agents who helped overthrow the greatest African leader of our time ever be the source of inspiration? Yet today, some of them are celebrated, their names carved into our national story as though they were patriots.
Let us speak plainly: one of these so-called heroes destroyed the foundations of our industries, handing assets to his wife and cronies. Another, J. B. Danquah, betrayed the very cause of independence and sided with those who sought to keep Ghana shackled. And Emmanuel Kotoka, whose coup cut short our march toward true self-determination, is still paraded as though he were a liberator. These are not heroes. They are traitors.
The tragedy is not only in what they did, but in how their legacies have been dressed up for the next generation. If the adults fool themselves, the children are watching — and they will see through the lies. You cannot build a nation on falsehood.
This is why today, the NPP is reaping the fruits of the seeds it sowed. By glorifying betrayal, by distorting history, by venerating those who sold Ghana’s future to foreign hands, they have set themselves on a path where truth and justice catch up.
History has only one verdict: those who sell their people for personal gain are never remembered as heroes, no matter how many statues are built in their name.
KH 3 months ago
The Asantds were intransigent and tried to frustrate or bully Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah with their matemeho unfeasible ideology because they were then subjugating the Bono people and their territory paradoxically because they were united and had the firepower after acquiring guns and ammunition from the Coastal Europeans in exchange of gold and "slaves " The plans of the matemeho Asantes was to have their import and export of goods through seaports of the Ivory Coast. Nevertheless, when one time Samori Toure had sought the Asantehene's help to fight against the French invaders, the former refused to help Samori only for later times the Asantehene to plead Samori Toure to help the Asantes in their war with the British. Does this not tell us of how from time immemorial some people have always preferred to be cunning instead of being pragmatic.
This is the reason why the independence of the Bono Chiefs and their Bono territory should not in any be compromised. Asante must be circumscribed by the other regions for them to forget that they can be the 'Gambia " in Ghana less an outlet to the Atlantic Ocean or Gulf of Guinea.
West African Historian 3 months ago
Just name the airport Sagrenti Airport. To commemorate how Sir Ganett Worsley whipped tha ass of the Asantes, looted their idols, and handcuffed Yaa Asantewaa who was then wearing plantain leaf dross to the Seychelles
Abdullah Jantuah 3 months ago
You love the white foreigner who put you in shackles and sold you off across the Atlantic more than your fellow blackman with whom you live and interact with? Shame. With people like you in our midst the African will ever be under-developed.
Koku kesedovoo 3 months ago
Zanetor, do you know any history? Your father staged a coup d'etat based on the fact many Ghanaians were suffering. He staged the coup to steal. How did he get the money to send you abroad to study? The perception that Ghanaians have is that you have a medical degree. Hom many individuals have you examined and analyzed their health condition? You are a fraud just like your father.
Yaw 3 months ago
Apuutoa yaa asantewaa
Kponvi Gyata 3 months ago
Any government that changes the name Kotoka International Airport will automatically be overthrown by a military coup de tat. Mark my words!
Even, NDC was founded by an Ewe.
The clandestine and subterfuge mission by mis ... read full comment
Any government that changes the name Kotoka International Airport will automatically be overthrown by a military coup de tat. Mark my words!
The clandestine and subterfuge mission by misguided anarchists to erase Ewe history and indefeasible contribution to democracy in Ghana willl certainly be met with fire and thunder..
We will fight tooth and nail to protect and preserve our heritage with all our might, won for us, through the blood and toil of our forefathers.
I will say it again; Ghana should prepare for military take over immediately after any attempted name change.
Instead of the government focusing on curbing galamsey, you are discussing change in name of an airport. Where lies our priorities?
Stop playing with fire!
Bakogone Tiblisi Honest VIEWS undualized intercity roads 3 months ago
You are who? From which forest?
You don't comprehend high things of people.
Do you know that your brothers were traitors? Kotoka and Harley saw Kwame Nkrumah off at the Accra airport and a few hours later they overthrew the greatest African statesman that ever lived with the help of the CIA. Ewe people overthrew Kwame Nkrumah setting us more than 60 years back. Ghana has lost everything. 2500 factories Nkrumah built were sold out by another Ewe. The only Factory that survived is GIHOC distilleries because of the love Akan's have for funerals. We shall remove the traitor Kotoka's name . Nothing will happen.
Kofi Ghanaba 3 months ago
Emmanuel Komla Kotoka was a great son of the Volta an a Ewe of Anlo extraction who overthrew my good friend Kwame Ngolomah Nwia Nkrumah.Kotoka was a great man.
Agbeli Kumordziì 3 months ago
Go build airport at kejetia and name it After Yaa Ashatewaa
Kay De 3 months ago
You people and inferiority complex. You portray yourselves as anti up but still want to honour the one that overthrew cpp. What kind of of people are you?
Sam Fante warrior. 3 months ago
Nobody want the name Kotoka but we are just saying go build your own airport in your monkeys garden call it Yaa Asantewaa airport. Monkeys.
Mr no nonsense 3 months ago
Is so good it was not not named after her,God is good,like i don't know the insults some idiots who dont know their roots would have leveled on the Ashantis.already some of Gas,thinks kotoka was an Ashanti, these Nigerians who thinks they are Gas,and who don't own any lands, shot heards
Kwame Nkrumah the selfless nation builder. Those who kicked against the idea of naming Accra Airport after Her Royal Highness Nana Yaa Asantewa were very myiopic. They did a great dis-service to a woman who was prepared to die for future generation to live in freedom. Regret now should be their lot. Had we known should be their cry. The airport has been named after a treacherous traitor who has set Ghana 60 years back by conservative estimates.
akonta 2 months ago
absolutely nonsense, lack of research
Kwaku 1 month ago
Yaa asntewaa my foot , that will be the end of ghana
Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...
(1)i can teach you how to cLone your husband,wife,fiance,girLfriend,boyfriend's WhatsApp & you wiLL ...
Yes, the Asante Empire resisted the British-led abolition of the slave trade and slavery, viewing it as essential to their economy and society. As a powerful inland state, Asante engaged in the transatlantic slave trade and l ...
==The White man and woman CAME TO AFRICA TO SCAM US, TO STEAL, TO DEPLETE OUR RESOURCES-MINERALS-HENCE GOLD COAST and THE SLAVE TRADE. It was NOT because the whites are superior. In history, there were several Empires-Roman E ...
The Asantds were intransigent and tried to frustrate or bully Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah with their matemeho unfeasible ideology because they were then subjugating the Bono people and their territory paradoxically because they w ...
You love the white foreigner who put you in shackles and sold you off across the Atlantic more than your fellow blackman with whom you live and interact with? Shame. With people like you in our midst the African will ever be ...
Zanetor, do you know any history? Your father staged a coup d'etat based on the fact many Ghanaians were suffering. He staged the coup to steal. How did he get the money to send you abroad to study? The perception that Ghanai ...
Apuutoa yaa asantewaa
The clandestine and subterfuge mission by mis ...
Do you know that your brothers were traitors? Kotoka and Harley saw Kwame Nkrumah off at the Accra airport and a few hours later they overthrew the greatest African statesman that ever lived with the help of the CIA. Ewe peop ...
Is so good it was not not named after her,God is good,like i don't know the insults some idiots who dont know their roots would have leveled on the Ashantis.already some of Gas,thinks kotoka was an Ashanti, these Nigerians wh ...
Kwame Nkrumah the selfless nation builder. Those who kicked against the idea of naming Accra Airport after Her Royal Highness Nana Yaa Asantewa were very myiopic. They did a great dis-service to a woman who was prepared to di ...