Meet the Ghanaian who became the first to send a ship to US for Blacks to return to Africa

Read Comments Comments (39)

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 2 months ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper..........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe......... ...

• Nii Bi 2 months ago

Ghana is sick allowing politicians to ruin the future of generations. God bless Ibrahim Traore, the true young African leader. Cecilia has been freed, ofori atta has messed the country and enjoying somewhere, johm mahama is l ...

• THERE CAN BE A FOOLISH MAJORITY IN A COUNTRY 2 months ago

THERE CAN BE A FOOLISH MAJORITY IN A COUNTRY AT CERTAIN TIME JUST LIKE TODAY'S GHANA. WE HAVE EOCO, BNI,NATIONAL PROSECUTOR,CHRAJ BEING PAID TO INVESTIGATE PUBLIC OFFICIALS YET MAHAMA BY PASSED ALL THESE INSTITUTIONS TO CO ...

• Catfish 2 months ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
    —— ...

• Betty 2 months ago

Nii well said, can you recalled since the existence of the above institutions. Can you compared what ORAL did within this few months to that of your affirmed mentioned institutions for years? Is the institutions really workin ...

• Yaaa 2 months ago

MARCUS GARVEY BLACKSTARLINER SHIP WAS A SUCCESS, HIS AIM WAS TO REPATRIATE MILLIONS OF BLACK BROTHERS AND SISTERS TO AFRICA AS PIONEERS , BUILDERS OF THE CONTINENTS. ANYWAY THE C.I .A USED SAME BLACK PEOPLE TO FIGHT AGAINST ...

• Asídu Keta 2 months ago

His Shipping line was called Black star line and that's what Nkrumah borrowed the black star in our flag and named our first shippingline after his own. It was not the lady who invented our flag. She would have been popular d ...

• Nii Bi 2 months ago

Ghana is sick allowing politicians to ruin the future of generations. God bless Ibrahim Traore, the true young African leader. Cecilia has been freed, ofori atta has messed the country and enjoying somewhere, johm mahama is l ...

• ST Ghfuo: CANADIANS ARE BIASED, DISHONEST 2 months ago

IF YOU TRULY WANT TO UNDERSTAND THE NUANCES OF THE SLAVE TRADE AD HOW IT OPERATED. JUST LOOK AT GALAMSAY IN GHANA TODAY...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

I have read much about African American history but this is news to me. Thank you. I still teach and shall research with my students into this and put every information on Ghanaweb.
    Thank you very much.

• Asem 2 months ago

My friend Karikari, your political and social posturing on this platform does not in anyway suggest that you have read anything at all about African-American history as you claim. In the unlikely possibility that you may have ...

• Asem 2 months ago

Will ghanaweb be so kind as to reveal the source or origin of this story?

• Asuo Yaw 2 months ago

Where have you been hiding all these years?

Even the renowned Legon Historian, Dr S K B Asante made a publication about Mr Alfred Sam.

In any case, I believe he was a Fanti but lived in Akyem, most probably his father a ...

• Nana Asare 2 months ago

Another story of an Akyem scam.
    The guy was only interested in securing an investment from the gullible afro community. He had no good intentions for them.

• 3I/Atlas 2 months ago

Another schizophrenic hallucination of the enigmatic fraud Kweku Dee. Instead of putting his skills to use as a fiction writer, he prefers the grand scam of a concocted narrative of fake history.

• Duka daya 2 months ago

Ghanaweb, please we are not illiterates. The man was not a Ghanaian full stop. At best he could be likened to a gold coaster or be described using the ethnic group he belongs to. Please stop misinforming the public.

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 2 months ago

Bank ...

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 2 months ago

And nobody has ever heard about this man. If this is true, why no historian including Prof. Adu Boahene who happened to be an Akim himself didn't write about this man and his noble course?

• Prudhomme - Adu Boahen was never an Akyem native 2 months ago

Please note that Adu Boahen was a native of Asante Juaben. He was born and bred there. Thanks.

• JJ KUFFOUR AKUFO ADDO 2 months ago

Thank you very much for the correction. I appreciate you

• NAMELESS 2 months ago

That is not true. Albert Adu Boahen was a typical Akyem from Osiem, a small town near Akyem Tafo, in the Eastern Region.

The name "Boahen" is Akyem name. The Asante version is "Boahene". Emphasise the final "e" in the A ...

• Kk 2 months ago

Wrong, Adu Boahene was from Juaben. His ancestors migrated to Osiem during the Asante Juaben wars. He was buried at Juaben, his home town.

• be wise 2 months ago

What kind of dummy brains do some of you have... Who told you that the way the name is written is what makes a difference whether you're Asante, Akyem, or what not? What sort dumbness is that?
    Oh, I know why; it is only an i ...

• Ghana 2 months ago

These fake unscrupulous characters found of cooking fake histories must be located and arrested.

• No Nine No Ten 2 months ago

The moment I saw the name kyebi, I realized that this unscrupulous person wanted another trouble for the people of kyebi. If you like you can even write that you founded the world but the truth is only one and it shall stand ...

• Time will tell 2 months ago

Foolish story with no fact,anything then you put it across

• Al. J....A missed target 2 months ago

FAKE SHIT !!

• Al. J....A missed target 2 months ago

FAKE SHIT !! Ghanaweb is just a dick head.

• GOLDEN 2 months ago

INTERESTING TO KNOW THIS AS MOST OF BLACK ACHIEVEMENTS ARE NEGLECTED AS IF ITS NOTHING, SOME PEOPLE TRYING TO MAKE THEMSELVES MORE IMPORTANT THAN THEY REALLY ARE,MONEY TALKS,HYPOCRISY AND DOUBLE MORALS INDEED!!!!!!!!!!!

• Yaw 2 months ago

I dont believe this story. The picture doesn't reflect 19th Century dressing. There were no flying ties then, was all bow tie and tunic shirts. Not that type of shirt. Well the story may be true but the picture is obviously f ...

• Kwantsima 2 months ago

Completely a fake story. We knew those who by the late 19th Century were the merchants. This one is fake creation

• Kwantsima 2 months ago

There were no Ghanaians in 1880

• Nana K 2 months ago

Father of Sakawa!

• Blay 2 months ago

Was Sam, contemporaneous to the great Macus Garvey and therefore a Garveyite who also bought into the " Back to Africa" philosophy and contributed to it ? There was a rich cocoa farmer at Adeso, who was also a Garveyite. I gu ...

• Kpuuu 2 months ago

So 419 didn't start today. Interesting.

• Truthfully 2 months ago

So this one too has turned into politics! When will Ghanaians agree on our history - CPP, NPP & NDC have divergent histories of the same nation. When will Ghanaians appreciate our own heroes/ heroines?
    What a country! Polit ...

• Asonaba asiedu 2 months ago

So this is when Internet fraud started. It's an old profession! Ghana 1st in everything!!

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 2 months ago

FROM WHERE DID HE, SO-CALLED "CHARLES ALFRED SAM" GET ALL THOSE FOREIGN NAMES ? WAS HE A DESCENDANT OF SLAVES ? HOW COULD AN AKAN MAN ACQUIRE SUCH NAMES ? OR WAS IT HIS PARENTS WHO ASSIGNED HIM WITH SUCH NAMES ? IT' ...

• Tim 2 months ago

And it's a mockery to write and communicate in a white man's language.