Ghana to champion motion to recognise slave trade as greatest crime against humanity - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (33)

• DotCom 2 months ago

This is a great step forward. It is not about reparations but a recognition that Africans have suffered and continue to suffer because of slavery. This is great and I believe Mahama will have support from many countries.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 2 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine.....for instance 15 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Kwesi 2 months ago

Why is Ghana Web allowing such wicked posts???

• Hmmm moment 2 months ago

When some fail to see what is right under their noses, they look far, even when they “can’t think far.” The slave trade was one of humanity’s darkest crimes — people packed into ships like sardines, stripped of dign ...

• Asem 2 months ago

@ Hmmm moment. Much as the conditions in our prisons are admittedly appalling, one must be extremely dumb - if not ill-informed or retarded to compare the conditions in our prisons to what some of our ancestors went through d ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

I think Asante people and some other Akan people are very guilty of that trade. They went to war against each other ethnic groups in the region and sold conquered people into slavery. Yes, Asante people’s ancestors were ext ...

• Nana 2 months ago

President John Mahama was given monies and resources, to empower his fellow Northerners thru SAADA but he chopped the money.What is the guarantee that he can make good use of reparation monies?

• Adu Asamoah 2 months ago

GREAT MAN - GREAT SPEECH

• Asem 2 months ago

It appears that Ghana is back on track. President Mahama should immediately reorganize the national security apparatus to forestall any devious moves by the agents, moles and errand boys of global imperialism. That evil cabal ...

• Kwame Angel 2 months ago

Nonsense! That was why you flw to New York with your entourage? Is that the biggest problem in Ghana or the world today? Waste of taxpayers' money on flight, hotel, food, side chicks, shopping etc.

• Asem 2 months ago

You represent a classic example of why Africa continues to be backward and primitive. You can read and write but you are fundamentally ignorant and illiterate in your worldview.

• Patrick 2 months ago

We should also blame some of our ancestors who participated in the slave trade by selling captives to the European slave traders. We are equally guilty of the slave trade.

• Osei 2 months ago

Yes Fante Kings, they chilled with the British to enslave other tribes. Captured Ashanti Warriors were kept in Cape Coast castles and sent as slaves later on in the Americas

• Asem 2 months ago

In the same way that the imperialists tried to blackmail Kwame Nkrumah by refusing to buy Ghanas cocoa in order to sabotage his economy and stop him from further pursuing progressive policies to fast-track the development of ...

• Mr Acheampong 2 months ago

Slavery amongst tribes had existed for hundreds of years before the Atlantic slave trade started. I believe the Arabian slave trade started before that as well. Slavery has been around for thousands of years, it wasn't a new ...

• Asem 2 months ago

@ Mr Acheampong. Here we go again. Another miseducated illiterate who happily sings the cover up songs of those who perpetrated slavery upon Africa. In the distant hope that you and others like you may learn something useful ...

• STOP GALAMSEY NOW 2 months ago

Mr. President, you were at UN General Assembly, asking for reparation for a trade that Africans were not forced to take part in.
    Who forced notable slave raiders such as Samori and Babatu, to hunt for their fellow Ghanaians ...

• Kwamina 2 months ago

@Stop Galamsey Now. My question is do we have leaders in Africa? I can not imagine Galamsey taking place in Europe or America with its effects on the environment and the politicians doing nothing to stop it. What is wrong wit ...

• Osei 2 months ago

Very true, the fight against galamsey is failing and we should focus on that more

• Hmmm moment 2 months ago

Our leader floats like a cork on water — drifting whichever way the wind blows. One day he parrots Kunta Kinte after watching Roots, the next day he forgets what he even said. Leadership is not a movie script; it demands co ...

• CITIZEN 2 months ago

The greatest crime now is bad governance by the African leaders. We should wake up and librate ourselves from mental slavery. The West is truly not our downfall at the moment

• FunnyGhana 2 months ago

The poisoning of the whole population of Ghana with mercury and heavy metals from galamsay and the lack of urgency to start shooting at sight and bombing these murderers is too bad. We are watching this generation and future ...

• JohnBroni 2 months ago

Who actually facilitated this slave trade? Was it not the tribal chiefs who waged tribal wars against themselves to prove their tribes superiority and get more slaves to the White and Arab slave merchants? Africans should o ...

• Koo Boire 2 months ago

Mr President bring Ofori Atta to come and account for our monies and stop wasting time on impossible issues. Those who benefited from slavery are the very people who give you loans.

• FACT 2 months ago

"THE WHITE MAN CAME TO AFRICA BUTCTHE AFRICAN FOREST WAS STRONGER THAN THE WHITE MAN"--by Ward.

Was it not the African who went into the forest and captured his fellow African and sold his fellow African to the White man?

• FACT 2 months ago

"THE WHITE MAN CAME TO AFRICA BUT THE AFRICAN FOREST WAS STRONGER THAN THE WHITE MAN"--by Ward.

Was it not the African who went into the forest and captured his fellow African and sold his fellow African to the White man?

• JULOR CAESAR 2 months ago

In as much as I deplore what the Jewish state of Israel is doing in Gaza with its genocide agenda, I believe the slave trade ranks on the same level as the gassing of six million Jews Jews by Hitler. Yes, African slaves toile ...

• Asem 2 months ago

My friend, JULOR CAESAR, you yourself, in your futile and shocking attempt to equate Hitlers crimes against the Jews on an equal level with that of the slave trade, have asserted in your above post that Christianity colluded ...

• Tom Boy Jones 2 months ago

Mahama and his long English speeches! In the zero! Just loud and incompetent. Meanwhile people are demonstrating

• Kwadwo 2 months ago

@ Tom Boy Jones. Nonsense. You have just proudly exposed yourself as one of the overwhelming numbers of "distilled" illiterates who now control the Nkwasiafuor Peoples Party.

• Mr Acheampong 2 months ago

Will it identify the perpetrators as well?

• Koppong 2 months ago

Mahama, is this what you want to champion, for me is outdated
    See our markets and fire everyday, see our roads with no pavements, see our single line railway, tap can not flowing to upper levels, see our police service shou ...

• Tom Boy Jones 2 months ago

Mahama and his long English speeches! In the zero! Just loud and incompetent. Meanwhile people are demonstrating incompetent Mahama like the duck is still incompetent