Mahama can't appoint new Chief Justice - Kofi Bentil claims

Read Comments Comments (137)

• Kay 2 months ago

The Law will permit him to put his own wife Lordina there, if that will satisfy him and Tsatsu Tsikata.

• PMK 2 months ago

Such a stupid comment. So, the law permitted Akuffo Addo to appoint Jean.Mensah, a relative of his wife.

• ghana 2 months ago

don’t mind the idiotic cockroach Kay

• Karikakchar 2 months ago

When can we have some constructive debate devoid of the acrimonious rebuttals that we have here!

• FRANKIE 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil, how about the president appointing a new Chief Justice and disappointing him/her if Gertrude Torkonoo wins her legal battles against her dismissal? How about that! Will that also be unlawful?

• Saul 2 months ago

John Mahama’s plan is deeper than Lordina and Jean Mensah talk. He wants to either win a 3rd term or destroy Ghana for all of us. First he removed all military heads and made his choice commander in chief, then removed Chie ...

• Okyere J. 2 months ago

Saul was probably on Jupiter when Mahama declared his intention publicly that he won't be around after 2028.

• DotCom 2 months ago

These fools don’t read or listen to things that make sense. They are so emotional that they don’t use their rationality. This is why they are dangerous and must be treated so.

• Daniel 2 months ago

It has to be so. He had to remove all the pigs appointed by the pigs. And the thieving pigs are hiding behind the law to draw this country backwards the more. JDM and the NDC must be smart and deal decisively with the pigs! T ...

• Okyere J. 2 months ago

This woman should be prosecuted for misappropriation of public funds to curb her disturbance of our peace. She aided her daughter and husband to dissipate our public funds and in doing so misappropriated funds allocated to th ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Don’t be going there. Big people at High Places always do despicable things. What was done to Efo Jeremiah John Rawlings when he used State Funds to sponsor the Tertiary Education of his son and daughters in UK? Was he able ...

• FRANKIE 2 months ago

Hey agyena Karikari, when will you 'grow' and stop your veiled tribal commentaries against a cadaver which has gained notoriety on this forum? I warned you that if America doesn't change you, no where will. Kpa Buuluu l3 feem ...

• Astoria 2 months ago

That OLUMAN - @Frank Agyena-Karikari is slowly becoming senile, but you people don't realize it. An aimless animal which spends its time fighting a dead body is too senseless to be taken notice of. Thank you Jerry Rawlings fo ...

• Accra is dirty.com 2 months ago

Frank Agyena-Karikari gyimifo

• Kofi Owusu 2 months ago

The most wasted sperm in the world is you

• Collins 2 months ago

You can file a petition to prosecute her. Nobody is standing in your way

• We are NPP 2 months ago

What is this man trying to deceiving himself.
    Ghanaians are wiser this time after all the lies Akufo Addo family and friends did 8 in years to Ghanaians

• ghana 2 months ago

Torkonoo’s removal is sound in law. the courts should dismiss those frivolous writs and award hefty coast to deter like-minded persons such as kofi bentil

• Karikakchar 2 months ago

Well history should teach us that, whatever we do now will set a precedent and those happy today maybe on the sad end tomorrow. We should always consider ourselves on the other side before delivering a verdict!

• Thomas Agyemang 2 months ago

I agree with you. Just like you being happy when Lauretta Lamptey., Charlotte Osei and Dormelevo were removed. When u come to power and remove, NDC will also come again and and also remove. Removal continua! After all, NPP st ...

• Joko 2 months ago

You people should go and park somewhere with this your nonsense precedent, Torkorno was the most senseless chief justice in the history of Ghana . Maintaining her amounted to great insult to Ghanaians. Afenyo Markin made her ...

• Thomas Agyemang 2 months ago

Talking like a fool. He will put your mother there not Lordina. Were we not in Ghana when Charlotte Osei, Ms. Lauretta Lamptey of CHRAG, Dormelevo the Auditor General were all removed? Did the then President's wife replaced ...

• Saul 2 months ago

Whenever mightier than thou tsatsu Tsikata loses a case, the judge becomes an enemy.

• KK 2 months ago

We don't care; the most important thing is that Tokornoo, aka The Rude Osono Maame, has been fired.
    We are ok with the acting CJ.

• Tweaa Bawulier 2 months ago

Kofi Bentoa-til, na foolman in creole. Lef am.

• Babbs 2 months ago

Be respectful at least.

• Apo 2 months ago

Even if the legal issues will drag on to 10 years? Doesn't make sense! Wasn't Kwaku Baako in court with Sampson on EC Charlotte case when Jean Adukwei and Co were appointed? He goes to sleep when NPP is in power.

• Osei Bonsu 2 months ago

Politics and underground money from a specific source can pollute the thinking of an individual. That is why the whiteman usually ask for individuals to disclose source of funding, relationship status, working history etc whe ...

• Justrac Africa Ltd 2 months ago

We SELL and INSTALL Top Notch Property Security Systems.
    Our Main Services Includes:
    ELECTRIC FENCE INSTALLATION
    CCTV CAMERAS INSTALLATION
    AUTOMATED GATE INSTALLATION
    VEHICLE TRACKING INSTALLATION
    Secure your home and b ...

• Lezy 2 months ago

Her case is frivolous

• Lord 2 months ago

This stupid lawyer must be arrested., he's an enemy of NDC. Anything he says goes against the NDC and the government has to consider him as such. The NDC must put him on the watch list.

• Truth 2 months ago

Mr Bentil is a sycophant and attention seeker

• ghana 2 months ago

bentil is just stupid idiotic fool and l don’t know the media keeps featuring such an imbecile

• Amonua 2 months ago

Why, because you don't agree with him. When people are fearless and tell the truth to power you brand them as enemies of NDC. Better be an enemy of NDC and a friend of GHANA!

• Francis Mccarthy 2 months ago

HOW MUCH HAVE YOU COLLECTED FROM DR.BAWUMIA? WHY DO YOU HATE JOHN MAHAMA AND THE NDC. CAN YOU MEASURE THE CORRUPTION DURING NPP

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 2 months ago

KOFI BENTIL, ANOTHER FANTI IDIOT WITH NO BRAINS. HE JOINS THESE FANTI FOOLS: KWAKU BAAKO, KWAMENA DUNCAN AND ALLOTEY JACOBS. THEY NEVER MAKE SENSE. ITS ALWAYS ABOUT THEIR BELLY

• Fire for fire 2 months ago

Nana TRUMU TRUMU ADDO
    You always speak the truth: These idiotic law law fools are ruining the forward march of our dear Motherland. They all are about suit and tie followed by big ,big big for nothing big English
    No pro ...

• Araba Asaaba Gertrude Torkono My Sympathy Though! 2 months ago

You see how hypocrites can easily be exposed?
    Your Principles and procedures in this case is misplaced My dear friend Mr Bentil.

• Kofi Manu 2 months ago

Is the former chief Justice challenging her removal as supreme court Justice or removal as Chief Justice of the Supreme court. By the way, how many times have you seen this Kofi Bentil arguing a case in Supreme Court. He is B ...

• Asakramitoga 2 months ago

Kofi you are a big fooland a very useless lawyer. Who said Torkornoo was wrongly dismissed. She sent through the necessary constitutional provisions hence she was not wrongfully dismissed . Now we are knowing some of the stup ...

Did any of those suits seek a temporary or perpetual injunction against Mahama appointing a new chief justice? Such a person says he is a lawyer. When Domelovu was sacked by that lilliput and a case was filled challenging the ...

• Naomi 2 months ago

I have never respected this idiot called Kofi Bentil. Jumping from panel to panel to talk like a fool. No wonder Nana Yaa asked him what he was doing in a women's panel show. Stupid fool. I am sure this dog has been going to ...

• Kojois 2 months ago

This foolish woman called nana yaa what does he know. Hypocrite. I pity Mahama appointees. Is ghana for Mahama. Chief justice and Mahama who deserve to be listern. Only ghana can a history and communication becomes the presid ...

• Adjoa 2 months ago

Yes, only in Ghana that a communicator can be a President and when he speaks you know wisdom. What are your achievements though? I strongly believe if you have His Excellency the President as your father or uncle, everybo ...

• Joko 2 months ago

@Kojois what are you??? Your lawyer president Akufo addo was the worst president in the history of Ghana. A kenkey seller will make a better president than Akufo addo and his vice the kitchen economist Bawumia. Only a fool li ...

• aspelcarson@gmail.com 2 months ago

But Ghana is rather for you.what do you know and what can your pin brain impact any body? your hate and anger will send you to your early grave and mahama will keep going forward.

• Teddy more 2 months ago

Mr bentil the person who can remove chief justice is king or queen. Because we don't those people, therefore is president. Please Google it

• Humanity Must Rethink Abrahamic Faiths - Judaism n Islam 2 months ago

The persistence of violence in the name of a “merciful God” suggests that what people worship may not be God at all, but their own ambitions written in sacred ink.

• Kokofu 2 months ago

Am sorry Kofi, but u sometimes talk as if u control the country

• Amazing Grace 2 months ago

Bentil seems like someone who slept through lessons. What type of thinking is this and you belong to a think tank? Why is he the president, able to sack but can’t appoint? Please go back to law school

• Amina Ambassador 2 months ago

Illiterate commentary. These guys just talk to talk.

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 2 months ago

And you didn't ask for Charlotte Osei to be reinstated? Political or not

• ABREWA 2 months ago

Ose yeeii! Man pass man , woman pass belly.
    Getty will show them . .
    She will put pepper in their eyes before she quits.
    Who born dog.
    Ghana does not belong to the NDC.

• jagadu 2 months ago

Kofi, you are an idiot. Come out boldly and declare that you are an NPP member. You dont make any sense, nobody gives a what you say hiding behind that useless organization. It is about time you shut the up! What did you ...

• Steve Williams 2 months ago

But you Mr Bentil can appoint a Supreme Court judge? Stupid and ignorant talk. People like you are leading Mrs Torkernoo into an abyss which will tarnish her name forever. Now I know that the woman was not qualified or fit t ...

• LUNCH PAD 2 months ago

SO THE LEGAL CASES OF FMR CJ.THE NATION SHOULD STAND STILL. SOME PUPILS DREAMING SMALL

• K.F. 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil is hypothetical. Where was he when the former Chief Justice was misbehaving. . Can Kofi Bentil explain why a birth certificate cannot be used to determine if one is a Ghanaian? When people claim to be Lawyers bu ...

• Phil 2 months ago

Was Domelevo not part of the ORAL Committee?? ORAL WAS N IS POLITICAL HUNTING OF OPPOSITION. SO WHERE'S THE FAIRNESS OF A COMMITTEE INCLUDING DOMELEVO?? WICKEDNESS ON THE ASCENDANCY. JDM N RECORDS!!

• Ghana 2 months ago

This Bentil guy is not serious. Where did he study his law? Mahama will appoint a new CJ.

• SM 2 months ago

Did the petition to Ecowas court prevent the President from sacking the former CJ?. You can petition 100 times but a new CJ will be appointed. Infact those who feel they are entitled than anyone in Ghana, their inner monkeys ...

• Paapa 2 months ago

You don't know anything. Keep your mouth shut

• Donald T 2 months ago

You are a joker !!

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

For my money , all the moves by the former Chief Justice is just MISCHIEF making to disrupt the smooth transition from the 8 Abysmal years of Akufo Addo’s presidency. Trying to make Ghana ungovernable.

• Simple 2 months ago

E LEVY IS STILL IN COURT BUT IT WAS PASSED AND HAS BEEN SCRAPPED, BUT THE CASE IS STILL IN COURT

• KJV 2 months ago

Dont forget some Judges were dismissed for receiving goat as gift

• Jb 2 months ago

Nonsense

• Lya 2 months ago

Wrong sir. He can appoint and those suits can still continue.

• Dwarf 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil, you can offer free counselling and represent Torkornoo in court since you know all

• The SILLY Children Afenyo Markins and Annor Dompreh 2 months ago

The Osonomaame was not wrongly removed! She was rightfully removed for breaking the law.

• Sense 2 months ago

Senseless Bentil

• Nsoh 2 months ago

Says who? Will you guys spare us this idiocy for Christ sake

• GOAT MEAT 2 months ago

WHY CANT HE ? KWASIAPAYINE SAKAWA NANA ADDO WAS ABLE TO APPOINT AN EC BY BENDING THE LAW UNDER YOUR IDIOTIC KNOWLEDGE WHY NOT MAHAMA KWASIA

• Ghanaba 2 months ago

So if the suit takes 20 years, we should keep waiting. In the face of this mountain corruption charges that are pending. Are you really using your brain. Your brain always stops working when NDC comes to power

• kojo 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil and his warped logic. So if frivolous suits are filed should the hands of the appointing body be tied at the expense of our democracy. Don't we have an end to litigation?.

• Buglisongo 2 months ago

Useless tink tank pple. Mahama shd appoint a cj quickly n we see what they will do.we like talking too much in this country. If de prez appoints a cj,u bentil,what can u do?

• AB 2 months ago

Bentil NPP card bearing member.

• Godwin k 2 months ago

Kofi I agree with you.

• Bentil is bitter Man 2 months ago

Kofi bentil is a bitter Man because his criminal party is out of power.No more petrol money from Gabby octhere Darko. Kofi bentil is one of the NPP Dogs that Akuffo Addo pays him to decieves Ghanaian. This bantil have no int ...

• Analyst 2 months ago

Why talk about a new CJ when there's already an acting CJ? There's really no vacancy for a CJ. The president can either confirm the acting CJ or appoint a new one when he retires.
    As for the sacked CJ, her court case is not ...

• Farakhan 2 months ago

Shallow and lazy thinking. In that case no president even after JM will ever be able to appoint a new CJ because the former one will be filing thousand suites challenging her removal. Is this law?

• Hapalala, 2 months ago

Where from this idiot again? If Mahama can't appoint new CJ, your mother can appoint

• Monie 2 months ago

Mr useless vice president of a useless association, you people are part of the downfall of this country, you’re encouraging this you people have allow politics to enter into your heard too much ofui

• Sam, Bern 2 months ago

Such a stupid talk Kofi Bentil you have toilet in your scalp

• Esi 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil should stop disturbing our ears: there are enough great legal minds in the NDC who are on top of the game and will always do the needful p.
    Kofi Bentil should therefore give us space to breath.
    Bawumia did not ...

• Gbetia 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil a disgrace to IMANI think tanks, so it's said among the wise there's foolishman incureable inbecile noise

• May 2 months ago

This imani NPP man.

• Sam 2 months ago

A joke of a lawyer tweaaa

• Daniel Quame Dzoboku 2 months ago

Very unintelligent comment from Kofi Bentil

• Prof Asmat 2 months ago

See this useless Kofi Bentua. Empty but always parading as an intellectual. Off his!

• Cuntiki 2 months ago

So is this idiot saying that the lady was removed without any violations of the laws?

• Sarpong 2 months ago

As Kofi Bentil, he thinks he knows it all. We that are not legal brains , we can tell you or attest that the vacant seat there as the CJ, the law is being broken. What about people taking the president on hardly that you can ...

• Muha 2 months ago

The law is the law

• Muha 2 months ago

We know Bentil don't like JM before he became president whatsoever good jm does will bad for kofi Bentil

• The wise one 2 months ago

Hypocrite; but the creminal akufu addo can do okay? Dog calling himself a professor.

• Bk man 2 months ago

This guy is an idiot
    So you are expecting
    Torkornoo to come
    back for what,you're
    not serious criminal
    like you. FOOL

• Humanity Must Rethink Abrahamic Faiths - Judaism n Islam 2 months ago

The persistence of violence in the name of a “merciful God” suggests that what people worship may not be God at all, but their own ambitions legitimized in so-called holy books.

• Bentum 2 months ago

This at all is he the only one who knows the law in Ghana?hat type of skin pain is this , because his party is more in power

• Let's get to the nitty gritty 2 months ago

John Dramani Mahama should come out and swear by Antoa and Nogbeko dieties if he didn't have a three-some with 2 ladies last year outside his marriage. I watched a You Tube video where a news station in Ghana was interviewing ...

1. These are mere allegations.
    2. No name was mentioned, it could be a top figure in NDC
    3. If the girl's father and mother had not failed their role as parents, she will not go into a hotel room to prostitute herself for ...

• Bibini 2 months ago

So, Kofi, all these legal maneuvers by the ex CJ are to prevent or delay the appointment of a new CJ; abi? Thanks for letting us know.

• Akora 2 months ago

Nonsense

• Agyeman 2 months ago

BECAUSE A SO CALLED RICH MAN LOSES A CASE A CHIEF JUSTICE MUST BE REMOVED. EVEN PERSONS WHO SHORT CHANGED GHANA WHILE ARRANGING PURCHASE OF AIRCRAFT FOR GHANA HAVE FORGOTTEN THEY'RE CRIMINALS. WHAT A COUNTRY?

• Krugger 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil did you forget this fact when Charlotte Osei was ousted? Or that time you were Kofitse.

• Oboss 2 months ago

I wonder if k bentil is truly a lawyer. He's so much embroiled in politics that his submissions defy logic and the law. Vey insincere, self-serving, and dishonest individuals like him shd not be entertained in our media space ...

• Such a hypocrite 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil and his failed Imani stooges of the NPP are hypocrites. He’s a useless tool who parades himself as a lawyer, how studying law has become so cheap in Ghana

• Iddrisu Sandow 2 months ago

IF YOUR FATHER ONLY VOTED HIM WE WILL SEE.GO AWAY THERE

• The bottomless Pit 2 months ago

I've read all the comments of the cult followers of NPP on this platform.
    Can they explain why some of the Akuffo Addo's appointees at the Supreme Court rejected the relief sought by the former CJ????
    Your party is sinking ...

• Bbk 2 months ago

Look at these fools talking nonsense. She go to all the courts in the world the president will do his appointments period.

• PONADA P. ABRAHAM 2 months ago

Quote the very law President John Dramani Mahama will break if he should appoint a new chief justice today.

• TRUST IN THE LORD 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil what you are saying isn’t exactly as you think. The dismissed CJ is now fighting to be made a SCJ. What it invariably means is that even if she succeeds it doesn’t affect the office of a CJ should one be appoi ...

• Dread 2 months ago

Is there a law that prevents him from doing so?

• Gh 2 months ago

I blame John mahama for being lenient, kofi betil or whatever your name is, you are a fool..do u know the number of suits that were filled while ugly akufo ado sacked Charlotte osei and domelovo? U are fool...John mahama is ...

• Nico 2 months ago

Interesting times ahead of us as a country, time will tell

• Rasta 2 months ago

The fact that you have filed a suit doesn't mean the president can't appoint a new CJ. Unless there is a stay of appointment application or injunction application in court. This is a basic procedure and law.

When there is ...

• Niiblue 2 months ago

Such a low voltage ⚡️ minded. We know your political affiliation. All your machinations in the media will not fly in any court.

• Alkabulan 2 months ago

Any time you come across the name kofi Bentua or whatever he called himself, just get rig out of him and move on because he's doesn't make sense and never does he making sense.

• Kwame 2 months ago

So if Torkonoo keeps filing processes till thy kingdom come, the seat should be vacant!

• Nyansa 2 months ago

Mr. Bentil, get your head screwed on properly. The former CJ was not " wrongly " removed. Due process was firmly established. Stop throwing sand into the eyes of the people

• Paa Pee 2 months ago

What are country. Confussion everywhere. Mahama want to put his people in all vantage positions just like Nana Addo. Ghana nedds a military rule like Burkina Faso to whip some values in the country.

• Rio 2 months ago

The president is even wasting time by now he should have confirmed the interim. He has the authority to do that.

• Babbs 2 months ago

Do we remember what Akuffu Addo did to Domelovo.?

• Achakanapaya 2 months ago

This Kofi Bentua guy might be smoking weed seriously. This are the type of idiots calling themselves think tanks while they can't even think gallon.
    Tweeaa.

• KofSam 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil must shut his mouth. Mahama will appoint a new chief justice whether he likes it or not . The chief justice was fired after going through a process outlined in our constitution. Mahama sacked the chief justice bas ...

• Accra is dirty.com 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil is the most inconsistent person i have ever seen in the country, he thinks he knows better than his Boss Franklin Kudjo who talks with sense but not this one,the same mentality with Ben Ephson the Poll Fraudster w ...

• Gh 2 months ago

Mr Bentil you are still in pain for npp lost, mahama will appoint a new CJ soon

• Kofi Owusu 2 months ago

Foolish bentsil

• KK 2 months ago

Did you say this when Domlevo was unjustifiable removed and replaced? Hypocrites

• Louis 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil is now fighting the Torkornoo fight. With regard to the last Parliament and the E-levy brouhaha, the matter went court to injunct the then president from accenting to the Bill. Akufo Addo quickly signed the bill i ...

• Uncle Kofi 2 months ago

You think you are the only learned and smartest person in Ghana
    Sad

• major 2 months ago

Who is or what is termed All citizens? such nonsense. Tell us something better and stop this all-citizens nonsense.

• Fugitive Ken 2 months ago

Kofi, what is good for us about what the dismissed CJ is doing. She only seems to be interested in holding the country to ransom. And you are happy with that, Kofi? Don't let partisansh blur your thinking. Wake up, please.

• Abrewatia 2 months ago

Kofi Brmtil is a liar. Article 146 is the last resort when it comes to removal. There is no appeal.
    The remlval is complete and the process has come to an end. The president can proceed to apoint a new CJ.
    You can not say t ...

• Kofi Akuffo 2 months ago

Kofi Bentil why this rubbish so the position of the chief justice should be vacant when the old lady is been fired

• Owusu Agyei, Suhum 2 months ago

The courts are now working very well and respecting humanity and the constitution of the land. The predictable Era is gone. Those suits will be dealt with according to the law. This woman really caused us a lot of pain and in ...

• FOOLISH BENTIL NPP FOOT-SOLDIER 2 months ago

WHEN IN (8) YEARS THE NPP LEAD AKUFFO-ADDO VIOLATED THE LAWS OF GHANA, HOW MANY OF YOU CAME INTO DEFENCE.

WE THE CITIZENS DONT WANT THE CJ IN ANY OFFICE. AND MOEROVER THE PRESIDENT CAN APPOINT ANYONE REGARDLESS OF ANY MORE ...

• KK 2 months ago

So such opportunists like kofi bentil with mouth smelling like he hasn't brushed his teeth the whole year now has a voice . where was he when akufo addo by-passed the most senior judge(s) and appointed torkornu as cj. He saw ...

• ghanaba 2 months ago

MR BENTEIL YOU ARE IN A DIFFERENT WORLD LISTEN TO YOURSELF, WHAT SORT OF IMPUNITY YOU HAVE TO TELL MAHAMA THAT HE CAN'T APPOINT {CJ} YOUR BOSS NANA ADDO MADE MESS OF THE OF THE WHOLE COUNTRY.