32-year-old sentenced to 35 years’ imprisonment for fraud

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Kweku Mensah 2 months ago

The punishment is too severe. What is the basis for that long sentence?

• Maye 2 months ago

I agree with you

• Game Changer +447935009178 2 months ago

Our justice system is not fit for purpose. How many years are those stealing the future of our country being jailed? They loot millions and billions of cedis and go scot free.

• Ooba k3 2 months ago

Tell that to the person who lost his money. The everage Ghanaian may not make more than $200 a month.. Do the maths on the value. If you can't do the time, don't do the crime. At least the public is 35 years safe from him.

• KOFI 2 months ago

An obnoxious sentence. This is why i hate the judicial system in Ghana.

• islam is a false religion 2 months ago

Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog and qur'an is toilet paper......Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe......... ...

• Akua 2 months ago

Stop doing crime.If it had been your money that was stolen by this vagabond would you have said the same thing?

• KOFI 2 months ago

@Ooba k3, you obviously do not comprehend the criticism of the judgement here.

No one is claiming he should not be punished. There is no sane country that sentence people to 35 year for a $50000 fraud.

It is the compar ...

• Peter Opoku 2 months ago

@Kofi. Massa, you get time ooo, ebe Ghanaweb you want give advice on critical analysis? Have you forgotten many who comment are just zombies with mummified brians? Your logic is like gibberish to them. Don't waste your time b ...

• Koletey Jannie 2 months ago

Such jailterms must be extended to the Ghanaian politicians who are slealing and looting from tha state.

• USA 2 months ago

Our dishonorables destroy state property and go unpunished. Our misleaders steal zillions and are walking free and making noises around. Yes, $50,000 is a lot of money but peanut as compared to what the politicians, CEOs, hea ...

• Sam 2 months ago

I’m thinking same why 35yrs I don’t get it they should appeal

• Sak 2 months ago

Exactly. The sentence makes little sense. What's wrong with some of judicial officers. I hope a Higher court will reduce the sentence upon appeal by the defendant.

• Mr. Smith 2 months ago

The case was reported in July and he's already been sentenced for 35 years! Meaning justice has been delivered in just two months!! What a WOW!! It's been eight solid months and EOCO and NIB are inviting and releasing thieves ...

• Mr Ibu 2 months ago

The person committing the offence is a northerner and the judge an Ashanti. That's the only explanation for this sentence. How many years did Woyome get?

• Felix Kama Batigma 2 months ago

Agradaa’s offence was more than this, yet she was sentenced to 15 years only. Can’t we have a strict sentencing guidelines that will determine such sentences by strict arithmetic calculations?

• Accra is dirty.com 2 months ago

Did you read the offense?Do you think $50,000 is small amount to be messed around with?Don't bring yourself ok, Akronfuo fekuw, the judge has been lenient for sending him to 35 years in jail term, he deserves more than that a ...

• Dzata 2 months ago

35 years for 50,000 Dollars???? Yet our Politicians squander and embezzle far more and do not serve jail terms. Why 35 years??? 5 years is enough. Unbelievable. By this logic, National Service and NSB thieves will get LIFE SE ...

• Benbella 2 months ago

Aba! The judgement is too harsh. How may years do some people get for stealing and causing financial loss to the state? Ah! As for this, the judge got it very very wrong.

• Boahen and Ofori Atta must rot in prison! 2 months ago

Then that Boahen greedy thief should be looking at 700years with hard labour.

• Joe. Awuah US 2 months ago

Hahahaha Ghana, if someone can be sentenced to 35 years for defrauding someone, then what happens to politicians who defrauded the whole country millions of dollars?
    Justice system in Ghana is corrupt.

• Kwam 2 months ago

Hmm not easy ohhh!!! So how many years will the former Finance Minister Hon.Ken Ofori Atta spend in prison, He told the whole country he will not use our money for national cathedral, only for him to make a u turn without par ...

• Kofi Adu 2 months ago

This punishment is not understanding. The complainant also has to be charged for money laundering. Why didn't he went to the bank for exchange?The sentence is unjustified. Both of the victim and culprit are all guilty

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

We need such lengthy Prison Sentences for our corrupt Politicians so that they can die in Prison.

• Nonsense!! 2 months ago

How many years has been given to the politicians!! This can't be Ghana! Punish him but it is ridiculous years!!

• Sak 2 months ago

He should be able to appeal against the length of his sentence at the High Court. This is unfair and unjust and disproportionate.

• Sagacious shaggy 2 months ago

Hajiah for real was jailed 2 yrs for 3 millions dollars fraud , this country the law must be changed he defrauded them for 50,000 dollars and you give 35ys that's nonsense.

• USUS 2 months ago

Muslims. Mohammed was dead wrong. You can breed so many kids successfully. WEst African's woes from all these islamic mis groomed kids.

• Koletey Jannie 2 months ago

The Ghanaian laws are made to be effictive on "ordinary" Ghanaian citizens who breake the law to exclude Ghanaian politicians who are the most offenders to the Ghanaian laws. The reset agenda of President Mahama and his NDC G ...

• Appiah kumi 2 months ago

They should sentences him to death 35yrs koraa is small this people are wicked

• . 2 months ago

Even though the victim did wrong, This Sentence isn't FAIR.
    WHAT A JUDGE

• Donatus 2 months ago

How many years did the capital bank man, Ato Essien get? 15 years or so.

• KWASI IN EUROPE 2 months ago

The story doesn't add up. Why exchange such a huge amount on the street? Why not at the forex bureau?

• asonaba asiedu 2 months ago

this is crazy!! something is wrong with our justice system. it needs urgent review. how can you jail someone for 35 years for fraud of $50,000? how long is the jail term for murder or rape?

• LAW IS LAW 2 months ago

"Ennyer hwee, orberba no na wadi mfrinhyia(aduesiansong 67,)ode be sua nyansa AMEN!

• Thomas pickling 2 months ago

It's not worthy to gain the whole world and lose your life bro , wisdom is better than gold and silver, just imagine 35 good years

• Justice 2 months ago

Interesting, we are only concerned with the number of years. Come to think of it, if an average person make $ 200 a month, meaning $2400 a year, $24,000 in 10 years, $48,000 in 20 years. Why should he be slapped with a paltr ...

• buga 2 months ago

madness called judges. fools

• Kwmae Burnes 2 months ago

35 years our Judges are taking red, wee smokers, and Politicians are walking free