Ga Mantse's Appeal, Role of Accra Mayor and Minister: The inside story of 'Oobake'

Read Comments Comments (147)

• Dr Joojo deHeer 3 months ago

Pls de-escalate this pettiness. There more pertinent and pressing issues to deal with.

• Kojo 3 months ago

It is a good call. At least every Ghanaian language must be preserved. Come to think of it, why Akwaaba in the land of Ga?

• Bono ba 3 months ago

So why are they using cocoa and gold to build Accra?

Kwaisa kwa

@kojo

• islam is a false religion 3 months ago

Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog and qur'an is toilet paper...........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe... ...

• Vornyovie Victory 3 months ago

Accra the capital of GH has not been built by Gas but by Ghanaians so no traditional authority has power over that. Let's be frank and do the right thing the Official language of GH is English and given the myriad of dialect ...

• THERE WAS PEACE UNTIL EWE JEALOUSY ARRIVED 3 months ago

THERE WAS PEACE UNTIL EWE JEALOUSY ARRIVED just now
    THE VERDICT ON AKWAABA, WOEZOR & OBAAK3 10 hours ago
    1/ Central : Akwaaba
    2/ Eastern : Akwaaba
    3/ Western : Akwaaba
    4/ Western North : Akwaaba
    5/ Bono : Akwaaba
    6/ Bo ...

• Nii 3 months ago

So what... every public place in Ghana was built by the Govt. Newsflash the useless Prempeh Airport was not built by Asantes, but the government of Ghana. But you named it Prempeh without input from other Ghanaians.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 3 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine......for instance 15 paracetamol at once..........or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• seth 3 months ago

Why at all do you all keep referring to fully qualified Ghanaian LANGUAGES as dialects? Don't you understand the word?

• Crusader 3 months ago

I just learnt smtg …. Thanks @seth

• ENOUGH IS ENOUGH 3 months ago

That's reasonable

• Nii 3 months ago

@low IQ Bono ba. Cocoa is useless unless it goes through Tema port(on Ga Land) for export. If Accra were a separate country, you will pay for every shipment plus tax. You cannot sell cocoa donkomi from the bush. You are not t ...

• Yoo 3 months ago

Nii, was Tema Harbour built by the people of Ga? Was the monies used for the consrruction of Tema Harbour came from only Gas? Cocoa farmers will be better off if enter the Ivorian market or even Togo. So be informed that coco ...

• Nii 3 months ago

Well, you are fvcked because it is illegal to smuggle cocoa across borders. Ofui ba, will you import all the chemicals equipment's needed for production through neighboring countries too. You will still pay at their ports. T ...

• Snyder 3 months ago

Ofui,we still have Takoradi harbor

Before the Ayigbe Tourism Minister imposed Woezor, nobody complained about the use of Akwaaba. Now you see the confusion she has brought?

THE VERDICT ON AKWAABA, WOEZOR & OBAAK3 10 hours ago
    1/ Central : Akwaaba
    2/ Eastern : Akwaaba
    3/ Western : Akwaaba
    4/ Western North : Akwaaba
    5/ Bono : Akwaaba
    6/ Bono East :Akwaaba
    7/ Ashanti: Akwaaba
    8/ Ahafo: Akwa ...

• Nii 3 months ago

You can use whatever port you want. It will not be free.

• Sam 3 months ago

You are misinformed. Taadi Harbour is still operational

• Nii 3 months ago

Takoradi belongs to Western region. The same shipping rate will apply. It is still Ghana.

• Sam 3 months ago

Don’t forget Tasfi harbour is still operational

• Snyder 3 months ago

Moron, is Takoradi Harbour on GA land?

• James saint patrick 3 months ago

Nii typical ga man with an IQ like a NIGERIAN haha

• Asare Invisible 3 months ago

Did the Gas built the port with their money?

• Nii 3 months ago

Kwasia name anything Asante built with their money. You had to beg the Govt for Prempeh Airport.

• Kwaseato 3 months ago

You are too stupid not to know that cocoa is also shipped at Takoradi port. The Accra land belongs to Akwapim people who granted you Nigerian immigrants a place to settle, and now you want to push other people around. That A ...

• Nii 3 months ago

Your hatred for Gas is evident in your writing. We gave you an airport in Kumasi so you can put your stupid Akwaaba sign and ugly adowa dancers there. While at it why don't you take your fake Anokye golden stool and sword st ...

• Sam 3 months ago

Some of Ghana’s commodities are exported through Takiradi harbour. Tema harbour is not the only option. Know your landscape.

• Donatus 3 months ago

Who brought cocoa to Ghana in the first place?

• selfmade KING 3 months ago

And what did that helped ga anyway?

Government has taken all ur lands and this is what ur chief is concerned about?

NII DONATUS, ga man, gye3 gyimi na NKRANFOO agyimi akye3 dodo

• Nii 3 months ago

You see, you just exposed your small brain as a typical inept bushman, just thinking of your useless tribe. Tetteh Quarshie's effort was not about Gas, but to the country called Ghana. So, what, Government has taken land in e ...

• Accra 3 months ago

Nii, u are very sensible! They are panicking cos Gás are fighting back. This is Gá awakening!

Panicking because of small, insignificant tribe haha

Ga Man, as usual useless

• Alley 3 months ago

Your Asantehene was train by Ga people. Ga people are unique they are not tribal bigots.
    Don’t involve Gas in your stupidity.

• Alley 3 months ago

@selfmade king you just exhibited your ignorance. Small insignificant tribe? No wonder your armpits stink like rotten eggs. Even your so called king was train by a Ga. Accra is Ghana and Ghana is Accra. You junkie

• Nii 3 months ago

@selfmade IDIOT... mostly Gas gave you your independence. Gas were disproportionately instrumental in Ghana's INDEPENDENCE while you wasting your time fighting useless tribal wars. We have the best food in Ghana, that is why ...

• James saint Patrick 3 months ago

Take ur independence and shovel it in your CHORKOR ass Kwaisa ga man

My armpit stinks like ur ga mothers UNSHAVEN HAIRY lmaoooo

• Zek 3 months ago

John Mahama was right, ga people need just kenkey and fish.

• Alley 3 months ago

Village idiot did you comprehend what the president said? The fact that he made reference to Kenkey doesn’t mean he precisely talked to Gas.

• EMP 3 months ago

Repent and stop your attacks against Islam

• Iddris 3 months ago

Why this if you believe in deferent religion it doesn't mean that you should insult other.this thing is be becoming too much on this page .
    This comment show that you are not a true believer of your religion because no relig ...

• Inusa 3 months ago

Jesus himself was a Muslim, so stop fooling yourself

• Crusader 3 months ago

I’m a Christian, and I’ve constantly noticed how intolerant you are of Islam , your incessant attacks on Islam on this platform shows how much of a coward you are
    If you truly are a man and believe in what you are preac ...

• John Martin 3 months ago

While civilized Africa countries are building new capitals with modern layout and beautiful buildings,we are fighting about languages.
    Oh poor ghana.
    Ns3m hunu saa na ade akye bio.

• Airport Worker 3 months ago

Who told you cocoa and gold monies were used to build Accra. Ask ur people how they spent your money

So tell us how university of Ghana was built?

OFUI, ga man, ur tribe are living in the Accra slums

Nii ga, the ga mashie chief who has no land can tell Ghanaians what to do

How can a chief with no land and no pro ...

• Nii 3 months ago

Gas live everywhere in Accra. Gamashie is an old village. It has tared streets, it is 10 times better than your dust filled, Galamsey pits, unhealthy mercury infested waters, and the Atakwame homes that you come from. Feel fr ...

• Alley 3 months ago

Why do you ask this silly question
    All over the world governments use taxes to build infrastructures. Were the roads in Kumasi constructed with proceeds from gold. 1000 times no it’s taxes collected from the citizens.

• Nii 3 months ago

All across the world. You pay taxes where you live. Greater Accra Generates more taxes than any other region. By Law virgin land are controlled by chiefs, but the mineral rights belong to the Govt. Minerals in all the regions ...

• Accra 3 months ago

Good show, boy! Thanks

Tell us where the money that was used to build Accra comes from.

• Alley 3 months ago

Simple answer is taxes

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Ghanaweb, pls stop this. It's rather the news paper which is showing hatred among Ghanaians. I haven't heard any Akan or Ewe complaining about the change from Akwaaba or woezor to Obak3.. stop this Ghanaweb. You can do better ...

• Alley 3 months ago

@bono ba what kind of stupid question is this? Do you know much revenue the government rake from the ports in a day? Uneducated idiots

• Zek 3 months ago

Ask that kojo fool again. Some people just don't think. They want welcome but not Akwaaba.

Please, why can't people argue their point without insults?

Please I want to know if of cocoa production areas and gold mining areas benefit from sea fish from Accra region.
    Accra people donated their Land to host the nat ...

• John Martin 3 months ago

Federal system of government will end all this primitive agenda.

The politicians have helped to resurrect this issue

WESTERN TOGOLAND should be ACTIVATED

ASANTES are already in the mood to break away from this CESSPOOL called GHANA

We ll go with our ANGLOGOLD ASANTE!

Lmaoo ...

My Asantes, please don't try breaking away o. It's not easy to be a land locked nation.

• Alley 3 months ago

Tell that uninformed idiot

Lazy, ga bum lmaoo

Switzerland is richer than Ghana but is landlocked

Dumb, lazy ga man haha

• Accra 3 months ago

Very necessary now!

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Someone fanning the tribal fire. Ghanaweb, pls stop this. It's rather the news paper which is showing hatred among Ghanaians. I haven't heard any Akan or Ewe complaining about the change from Akwaaba or woezor to Obak3.. sto ...

• Nana Badu 3 months ago

We are building a TOWER OF BABEL. A nation without TONGUE is “NO NATION “. We can’t build a nation with “BORROWED ENGLISH LANGUAGE”. We better learn from the ASIANS LIKE CHINESE,JAPANESE, ETC. WE BETTER ACCEPT AKAN ...

• Nii 3 months ago

Your reason for not being interested in other languages is the same reason why None Akans are not interested in your language. It is not by-force. People are not interested in abandoning their language/culture in subjugation ...

• Nana Badu 3 months ago

Please don’t confuse yourself with OFFICIAL LANGUAGE & NATIONAL LANGUAGE.

• Snyder 3 months ago

And why weizor in GA land?

You can build some with your own money and name it whatever...This is a national asset.

• Kofi USA 3 months ago

Because 90% of Ghanaians speak Twi and Accra is the capital city of Ghana, it doesn't belong to only Ga people.

Accra has assumed a cosmopolitan status carrying and hosting assets and facilities which are national in character. Akwaaba though Akan, has come to represent a national word for welcome. We should not be petty about this. I ...

That's ur view

• Nii 3 months ago

I personally do not think Akwaaba should be completely abandoned, but the Ga greetings should be featured on Ga soil. The funny part of this conversation is people who oppose this will not accept it if the shoe wan on the oth ...

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Thank you. But I blame Ghanaweb, Ghanaweb, pls stop this. It's rather the news paper which is sowing hatred among Ghanaians. I haven't heard any Akan or Ewe complaining about the change from Akwaaba or woezor to Obak3.. stop ...

• Baba Siaka Stevens 3 months ago

Politicians are destroying our once UNIFIED country which was the dream of Nkrumah, NDC is EVIL politicial party

• But the Gas have sold their almost all their 3 months ago

Lands,now akans and northerns have taking over Accra,your language are more speaking and now almost everyone in GA speaks Twi so what are you people saying

• Alley 3 months ago

The lands were lease to your uncle (Wofa) you ignorant idiot. All Ga lands still for Gas. Learn some sense you village fool

• Kwamz, Kumasi 3 months ago

Don't let these beach shitters anywhere near the airport before they start shitting all over the place.

• Lori 3 months ago

Foolish cowards. Accra land is capital territory. The Gas must go back to Nigeria.

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 3 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Site geven

• kelewele 3 months ago

Ga people have become too cowardly in my opinion. It's your region and you have the absolute right to add welcome in Ga language to any signboard you deem appropriate. Akan and Ewe people can go to hell.

• Bono ba 3 months ago

Kwasiapanyin, then all regijons in Ghana will used their resources to developed their own region

OFUI bi ba

• Bespoke Africa 3 months ago

They can go ahead and do so. The GA traditional council can go ahead and impose tarrif on any one who is not GA trading in Makola so the council can generate internal funds for its development. Hence forth any student who is ...

Another useless, lazy and good for nothing GA man haha

Go and fight the real GA MANTSE, who’s the IGBO GA MANTSE!

Typical ga man

After Kenkey and KPAKO SHITTO, gyimi saaaa

• Kwaseato 3 months ago

How much money did Gas contribute to build the University of Ghana? The first buildings on that campus were built with Asantehene Prempeh 1st money, but you ungrateful fools have the audacity to hate Asantes.
    As a matter of ...

• Alley 3 months ago

Let me add to your list Gas has a lot to develop Accra. The airport and the harbor and Accra will swiftly develop to become one of the greatest cities in the world

Then u stay there.. Period!!!

• Kofi 3 months ago

@ kelewele. Yours is a typically negative NPP advise which is meant to mislead the authorities to take a wrong perspective of the issue and cause a public crisis only so that they will turn around to accuse the NDC govt of in ...

Accra has assumed a cosmopolitan status carrying and hosting assets and facilities which are national in character. Akwaaba though Akan, has come to represent a national word for welcome. We should not be petty about this. I ...

• Akiti Borgeh 3 months ago

Nice one Joojo. It is interesting to note that Madam Ocloo, the Accra Regional Minister and her supporting bigots are comfortable with Guggisberg Avenue, Christiansburg Castle, Kotoka Airport, George Walker Bush Highway and h ...

• NzemaK 3 months ago

You don't seem to get the issue. I don't blame you. I blame your parents for not sending you to a better school

• Kwame 3 months ago

Are these national monuments for only Gas? Why are they not seeking inclusiveness? What if someone also say Nkrumah museum should not be in Accra because he is not a Ga? Let us seek inclusiveness rather than tribalism

• Bono ba 3 months ago

Ask again

Ga is small, insignificant part of Ghana

All their men are BLEACHING TRUMU and this is what GA MASHIE mantse is interested in tweaaa

• Nii 3 months ago

The Ga---Adangbe land is by far bigger than the country Israel and yet these small nation is stronger than many. countries.

See this stupid, lazy ga man

Comparing Israel to ga hahahaha

Akoa Kwaisa

U want to fight with those TRUMU TRUMU BLEACHING CHORKOR GIRL BOY haha

• Bono ba 3 months ago

Ga manshie MANTSE a chief with no land haha

How can u be a KING and u only owner GA MASHIE?

• Bono ba 3 months ago

Ga mantse have no land!

No porperty

This is according to GBESE MANTSE!

Ga mantse is huge GA MASHIE chief or mantse

U have no land and can’t decided for teshie, osu, la etc

A chief with no lamd haha

• My Take 3 months ago

I do not have reservations about the calls of the Gas. It deem it quite legitimate. I however, have 2 concerns
    1. The King is pronouncing the word as "Obakɛ" and other Ga scholars such as Nyaho Tamakloe says "Oobakɛ" So ...

• Akiti Borgeh 3 months ago

Forget about the oobake word. It is not even user-friendly. 100% of native Ga citizens with a few exceptions, have until this recent brouhaha, never ever heard of the word. Madam Ocloo and her delusional followers have only e ...

• NYEBRO 3 months ago

BEACH SHITTERS LANGUAGE. TWEAAA

Foolish bush shitter

• Mn 3 months ago

Bofro s.hit eater

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Imagine a typical GA man who have stayed in Kumasi for 20yrs contesting to become the MP for Oforikrom, Manhyia, Suame or subin..
    Yet they are allowed to contest and win on Ga lands..

• Kwaseato 3 months ago

Is Muntaka and a lot of non Asantes not MPs from Ashanti Region? off with your nonsense

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Ah another ignorant fool Here, he doesnt even know his history. Cheers

• Yoo 3 months ago

I strongly suggest that each of the the sixteen regions in Ghana should break away to form their independent states. This nonsense should not be tolerated. Why should Gold,. Diamond, Timber, Cocoa, Manganese, and other min ...

Is on it way boss

Very soon

And we ll see how LAZY tribe like GA ll survive haha

Ga mantse have no land

A chief who have no land want to tell Ghanaians and for that matter, the ALMIGHTY AKANS what to do on our land!?

Ghana BELONGS TO AKANS

God give GHANA TO AKANS

Danquah should’ve been sup ...

Ghanaians like insults.
    Sometimes people think their views are the absoluts.

But broader and deeper thinking end up disgracing us.

Have you taught of OPOKU WARE SHS, PREMPEH SHS, OSEI TUTU II BOYS SHS, AFIA KOBI SHS, ...

I supported ga with this but I hate how they always compared whatever they want to do with Asantes

Asantes this, Asantes that and that’s what I hate my bro

Three Nkwasiafoo GA people

Your small, insignificant tribe have all turned either GAYS or lesbians and instead of working to arrest this issue

See what these three fools are concerned about

The regional minister has turned it into a fight between ga and ewes

She better

She was scared to MENTIONED ALMIGHTY ASANTE in her foolishness

She wldve SMELLED her BE BI

• Prof 3 months ago

This regional minister lacks maturity in public utterances. How can a regional minister talk like that.

Wo gyimi basabasa

This is the hallmark of NDC politicians

This lady and AFRIYIE ANKRH are the two of the most dumbest Ghanaians dead or alive

She was lucky not to mentioned Asantes in this mess otherwise she wld ...

• Nanamaametw3 3 months ago

Jokers

Are we all gas?

• Reformer 3 months ago

Tribalism is a sick disease. How many GA's patronize the Kotoka International Airport? Why don't they change the name KOTOKA to something in GA then? Akwaaba has a historical significance. Oobake, not only sounds interes ...

Nkwaisasem nkoaaaa

Ga is small, insignificant tribe in Ghana

Asantes are almost 17 million of Ghanas population

Akans are about 60% of Ghana population

Ghana belongs to AKANS and ASANTE

The next Akan Presi ...

How can u be this little small and want to tell YOUR BOSSES who owns all the RESOURCES in Ghana what to do

GA MANTSE have no land

Even my hometown village have more lands than HIM

And this man want to tell us what ...

• KoBakor 3 months ago

Unbelievable! You are happy with the name Kotoka airport but against the signage Akwaaba. I guess u are damn afraid of the wrath of the Ewes. You forced Ghana FA to change Ohene Gyan Stadium to Accra Stadium. Kumasi has Baba ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

If we all genuinely consider ourselves as one people, I cannot understand why randomly using any of our various ethnic epithets in public places of the capital city, should raise such a fuss. The Accra Regional Minister who i ...

• Agbeli Kumordziì 3 months ago

I support the people of Accra Ga hundred percent
    The changes is necessary
    From now on all students in Accra has to start leaning Ga language in Accra schools
    The old system is an attempt to dominate the Accra people
    Ga p ...

• Bitter truth 3 months ago

Yes we know you ewes are the envious and bitter about Akans..no Akan has stopped GA’s from teaching their languages in schools and their communities..some of us know where this is coming from..it’s Ndc purely behind these ...

Wake up and do what?

Akoa agyimi papa

Akans are more than GA in Accra

So what can GA people do?

Nothing dude

Go and sleep and continue ur snoring haha

• Bitter truth 3 months ago

Honestly I have something on my mind but it’s too strong and the Bible tell us to be watchful of our words..Ndc as a party is behind all these..they are intentionally using some Ga folks but some of us are intelligent and w ...

• Grandpa 3 months ago

Ga mantse kindly place a call to ministry of education and you will realize that you're the problem not anyone.Your people are not going to school this days and the ministry lack Ga teachers for a very long time now, don't be ...

• Charles oppong 3 months ago

The Ga mantse even speaks in foriegn language "english" when he recieves delegate at his residence.some of this chiefs the lest said about them the better.

Ga mantse owns nothing in Accra haha

No lands

No properties

And he want to show off haha

• Slim 3 months ago

Look, let's be real!
    I'm not a Ga. And I don't reside on Ga land.
    But the move is apt.
    The brain behind it is brilliant!

• Say It As It Is 3 months ago

Whoever and whatever reason the Capital City. Of Ghana formerly, the Gold Coast has been the cause and crises facing we, the people today, because the Fantes are very selfless ethnic group still existing in the country called ...

• Test2 3 months ago

THE SILENCE IS OVER
    THE INVASION OF OUR ACCRA OUR ANCESTRAL BEAUTIFUL SHORES OF GA TRIBE BY THE FORESTERS THE BUSH PEOPLE AND VILLAGERS WITH NO RESPECT MUST END NOW OR ELSE
    BRING BACK OUR GA DIALECT

Ur powerless ga mantse, the ga manshie mantse have no resources and power to fight haha

• kanawu 3 months ago

Twi is the unofficial language of Ghana. The official language of English is only ob paper....this hatred is from the fact that the twi language is dominate in Ghana and western Ivory coast

• Fastook 3 months ago

I’m ok with Akwaaba but what the bell is Woezor. What had Ewes achieved in Ghana ? If you ignore Ghana traditions for Akan tea futons I can deal with that but sideline it further for other groups who only join the nation G ...

• NzemaK 3 months ago

Someone trying hard to start a tribal nonsense Ghanaweb, pls stop this. It's rather the news paper which is showing hatred among Ghanaians. I haven't heard any Akan or Ewe complaining about the change from Akwaaba or woezor t ...

• Kofi Seaman. 3 months ago

I think this is not a big deal. First of all, why did the authorities omit the Ga greeting from the greetings on the signage at the airport? This should have been noticed long ago and corrected by adding it. Just add it.

• Trumutu money 3 months ago

The Gas must understand that the Asante language is widely spoken and understood across every tribe in the country hence it's dominance and considered as a national language and affairs of government. Do we say the presidency ...

• Ashanti Nationlist 3 months ago

The Ga's are more concerned about greetings than name of buildings.
    If that's the case why have they not asked for the name of the airport to be changed?

NDC tribalism showing it's ugly head again. Rawlings installed a ha ...

• Amposah Adai 3 months ago

Ghanaians and foolishness. No wonder your leaders are always fooling you. For Ga'They are have been sleeping for too long.

• Lopez 3 months ago

No sane person can force any language on anybody. Whilst advance countries are finding ways to better the lives of their people, we Ghanaians are only good at whipping tribal sentiments to destroy ourselves and the sad thing ...

• Toale 3 months ago

No wahala. Nkrumah was an Nzema. Send his body back to Nkroful and write Akwaaba on it. Let's look for a great Ga statesman of the calibre of Dr Nkrumah, put him in the mausoleum and maintain oobake. Asɛm asa

• seth 3 months ago

So an appeal court in Kumasi tried to remove the Ga Mantse and he had to be saved by the Supreme Court.
    Now, in revenge, he is attacking the akan language to stick it to the people of Kumasi.
    Someone is certainly having a g ...

• Wagyimi 3 months ago

Do you know National House of Chiefs headquarters is in Kumasi?

• KG 3 months ago

The traditional leaders are right.
    The GA people are being sleeping for too Long. I initially believed the Ga people were manority in the greater Accra especially when non Gas like Adwoa Safo, Urslar Owusu and co were member ...

• Akua 3 months ago

NEXT ALL GHANAIANS LANGUAGES SHOULD BE USED IN GBC NEWS NOT JUST TWI , GA AND DAGBANI . AS FOR HAUSA IT IS FOREIGN.

• KofSam 3 months ago

The Ga mantse should petition President Mahama to change the name of greater Accra region to Ga-Adangbe region to reflect the ethnicity of the region since his proposal to Akuffo Addo was met with insults.
    The Ga people mus ...