Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog and qur'an is toilet paper............Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe............you are not alone.
JESUS IS GOD 3 months ago
Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. Vanity upon vanity—everything in this world is meaningless without Him. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal life! (John 3:16)Nbh.
Capricorn 3 months ago
You're enjoying Ewe korti, but don’t want Ewe signage. What kinda double standard! It's about words that re famous, and not hidden words.
ABOBOYAA 3 months ago
My brother say it again. She sleeps in bed with an ewe man called Ocloo and who has been servicing her regularly for God knows how many years now? All of a sudden she wakes one morning and says she doesn't want to hear the word "woezor" which was on a signage located in the greater accra region because the signage is on ga dangbe land. What has Mr Ocloo done to deserve this? I swear if I was Mr Ocloo I will go on strike and suspend my servicing duties for a long time. What double standards is this!!!!!
FIELD MARSHALL 3 months ago
THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM IS THAT THE TIBONKOR PALIAMENTARIANS SAID THIS GIRL IS DECEASED SO THEY MADE HER DODGE THE INTERVIEW... AHH AH!!, WHAT A MISS... LIKE SHE WONT SAY THIS NONSENSE THERE.... SO WOEZOR IS NOT GHANAIAN???? ABOA LIKE THAT!!!!!
FIELD MARSHALL 3 months ago
THIS GIRL MISSED (DODGED) PARLIAMENTARY VETTING,, AH AHH AHHHHH AAAHHHHHH!!!!
Kwame 3 months ago
If Linda Ocloo's deceased husband were really an Ewe man as being told, then the family of the deceased husband must reopen investigation into the cause of Linda Ocloo's husband. I am beginning to suspect things!
ABIGAIL AMA ADE 3 months ago
Total rubbish. The level of Education and awareness needs to improve in Ghana. You guys are lay back
Lawrence Ekuban 3 months ago
She's right though. Are the signage in GA at Ho Airport. You guys are hypocrites.
Chuck, Virginia 3 months ago
Kotoka International Airport, govenment facilities etc in Greater Accra are all national infrustructures. Signage in any Ghanaian language must be encouraged and welcome
ray 3 months ago
Ok. Fair enough. But why use wezor at the expense of the Ga version.It smacks of disrespect, marginalization and discrimination
Citizen. 3 months ago
Some Ghanaians are wise and some are as dumb as shit.You are going to fight over this language crap remember where the money being used by the government comes from.
The cocoa,gold oil bauxite electricity and many other mine ... read full comment
Some Ghanaians are wise and some are as dumb as shit.You are going to fight over this language crap remember where the money being used by the government comes from.
The cocoa,gold oil bauxite electricity and many other minerals just don’t drop out of the sky you should think very well the reason why the dialect was chosen by the good thinking peaceful politicians.
Observer 3 months ago
Aboa, it is Ghanaian, would you accept it placed at the entrance to the farm cottage where you come from...ofui
Efo Juju 3 months ago
How did woezor find its way to Greater Accra Region?
MOG 3 months ago
How did charliwote, Koko,trotro,akpeteshi etc find its way into all regions in Ghana.
For your information Ewe is an International Language
How did charliwote, Koko,trotro,akpeteshi etc find its way into all regions in Ghana.
Efo Juju 3 months ago
Not in Greater Accra.
Peevednit 3 months ago
The farm village is private property not a state property idiot
Alhaj Baakome 3 months ago
You Ayigbe people will never learn. What is wrong about protecting Ha sovereignty on Ga land. For your information, the Ocloo you are touting died even before Linda became an MP and later a regional minister. I wonder how you would react if a signpost in Ho is in Dagbani language
Natural Mystique 3 months ago
The unfortunate mistake some Ghanaians make is that culture is dynamic and not static. Provide an alternative suggestion instead of harping on tribal sentiments. My view is that, Accra is the capital of Ghana and is no longer the preserve of only Gas. The signage welcoming all can be written in all the major languages spoken in Ghana including English and of course Ga.
Oobake
Akwaaba
Welcome
Woezor
Etc
Etc
Good on you
Good on you
AM 3 months ago
Good suggestion from NM except that it should begin with english since this is our official language for now. Alternatively let us use only english
MASSA ,WELL SAID 3 months ago
You have said it all Massa!
FRANKIE 3 months ago
It's actually disrespectful, extremely disrespectful to have "AKWAABA & WOEZOR & WELCOME" on a significant monument like the Kwame Nkrumah mausoleum and leave out the greetings (OOBAK3) of the indigenous Ga people. No other group or society will accept this. I side with the Regional Minister. OOBAK3 & WELCOME will be most appropriate.
Karikakchar 3 months ago
My views are always confirmed whenever there's tribal disagreement. The way out is to stick with the English language and forget about these poorly developed dialects, I hear we have over 50 dialect in Ghana. We can never synchronise it and the way out is to stick with English and master it well!
The Wiseman 3 months ago
Karikakchar you shocked me to the bone. You are saying we should use a colonial dialect for the signage? Aaaa you missed the point. Better Twi. Any challenges?
Akiti Borgeh 3 months ago
Mr Wiseman, why didn't you write and post your above reaction in Ga or Twi?
FRANKIE 3 months ago
@Karikakcher, I agree with you 110%.
The The 3 months ago
I also agree with Karikakcher 100%. It will be very difficult to write any science literature in any of our dialects, close to impossible.
The The 3 months ago
Can anybody tell me how nano second is said in Twi. Maximum two words.
Akiti borgeh 3 months ago
Hahaha!! You can throw in titanium, lithium and carbon monoxide.
Opoku 3 months ago
Frankie, who cares?
Kwadwo 3 months ago
First of all it must be understood that Accra, like London, like New York, like Paris, like Rome etc, are all known to be of a metropolitan nature or character. This means that, for whatever reasons, be it tourism, trade, science, IT, finance or even culture, they attract multitudes of visitors and immigrants from other parts of their countries and also from around the world. With this comes new ideas, new friendships and of course plenty of good money - that is, if we choose to turn this into an advantage instead of being petty and stupid and exposing our ignorance and inferiority complex about it.
When we all put the signage of "welcome", "akwaaba" or "woezor" or in any other language on the front doors of our homes, we primarily do so not to show our origins or to welcome ourselves back to our homes when we go out but rather, for the benefit of visitors and strangers from other parts of the country and around the world.
Gas - especially their leaders, have been sleeping since the city of Accra was made the capital of the Gold Coast in 1877 and then later on, of Ghana when we became an independent nation. This capital city status presented to the Ga state, massive opportunities and advantages with which they could have bolstered the financial, political and cultural status of the Ga people.
Rather, Ga leaders - from those who have headed the district levels, right through the administrative arms of govt, the traditional authorities to the apex of government, embarked on what appears to be a piecemeal sell-out of the Ga state for their greedy and disgusting selfish personal comforts. In this pursuit, they colluded in the past with the colonial oppressors and they have continued with this bad habit by sleeping with the contemporary dispensation of local neocolonial (western "democratic" ) tyrants to deny the indigenes of Accra and indeed the entire country, not only their heritage but a duly deserving and fitting standard of life in return for their extreme sense of nationalism, modesty and kindness in freely hosting the famous capital city of Ghana for well over a century.
The evident cultural attrition suffered as a result by the Ga state, is glaring for all to see.
However it must also be said that the nation of Ghana does not subsist on a federal system. Ghana is one homogenous unitary state and anybody who qualifies to be a Ghanaian, can go to any part of the country and speak, live, work and put up signages in any language they choose to and that is feasible to them. Having said that, I still sympathize with the said Accra Regional Minister and the pain of the Ga people.
That said, I am also immensely confused about the tribalistic posture of the Minister and her equally misinformed sympathizers. She could have handled this matter in a way that will elicit the deserved public sympathy. Are a couple of public signages in twi and ewe the priority problems of the extremely deprived Ga people living in Jamestown, Chorkor, Mudor, La, Teshie, Korle Gonno, Osu, Gbegbeise etc that should be aired with such an outburst?
Looking at the tangent she is on, will the Regional Minister next decide that all streets and public places named after people from other ethnic groups and countries be reverted to Ga names? Will she follow that to also decide that only the Ga language must be spoken in Accra?
Does this Minister not know that the state of Ghana and the colonial oppressors are liable to the Ga state in several billions of outstanding dollars? Is this not a more worthy cause to pursue than her illegitimate grumbling about petty signages? Hasn't she got properly educated, enlightened and well-informed advisors to guide her to save the Ga people from the egregious level of poverty that has besieged them? Proceeding to lock the farm gates after the horses have bolted is hardly the kind of action that will save the plight of the Ga state.
Frankie is the Satanic Homosexual partner of Sam Fanti Warrior is a SATANIC Homosexual 3 months ago
Frankie is the Satanic Homosexual partner of Sam Fanti Warrior who is a SATANIC Homosexual
Both were created in the image of Satan who are forever, and ever, INFERIOR to Asante Human-Beings whom the Shitholes Sub-Humans ha ... read full comment
Frankie is the Satanic Homosexual partner of Sam Fanti Warrior who is a SATANIC Homosexual
Both were created in the image of Satan who are forever, and ever, INFERIOR to Asante Human-Beings whom the Shitholes Sub-Humans hate
All the 3 languages must be stated
KH 3 months ago
The panacea to Ghana's woes is eradicate the traitor Kotoka 's name from Accra Airport! Only then will Ghana regain her lost eyesight in 1966/7!
Rita Aba Hayworth 3 months ago
I wonder why that filthy environment is even the capital of Ghana Is Kwame Nkrumah an Ewe? Is that Ga language international? Sometimes think out of the box small. Even Accra as capital should be changed. Stop this nonsense
Bons 3 months ago
Ga sovereignty? Really? Can u hear yourself....so what happens if by an act of parliament the nation's capital is moved to Cape coast? Will call out discrination ? Follow what has been going on very closely and you will see all kinds of attempts to cause civil unrest in our country.
Karikakchar 3 months ago
The truth is that the airport is not Ga it's Ghanaian and we should exercise discretion when dealing with such sensitive matters
Ga Kenkey 3 months ago
off to the moon with Ghana's capital if you want! Who cares? Go and put Woezor signs all over Cape Coast and lets hear your thoughts about it. You ask for the Ga's what you wish not for your people.
Accra 3 months ago
Very sensible!
Star Nation 3 months ago
I hope, intelligent Akans will learn their lessons voting NDC out from power coming this election 2028. It is really insane. Looking at where majority of the country's natural resources coming from and used to build Accra. It is about time, we push for clearance. We have to vote again based on tribaline. NDC and especially President is becoming very disappointing. Anytime NPP come to power, we will change the name again and if GA´s wont the fight, national security will meet them. It is a very shameful act against the interest of the majority. You cannot use Akans natural resources to build Accra because it belongs to all of US and come to display your tribalism. We leave to see.
Imani 3 months ago
Dummy and dumb circular racist. Why don't you question "Akwaaba".
Kwame 3 months ago
What values does this Gas have aaaa! Selling their lands so cheap at 'Donkomi" prices and now sleeping on people's corridors is the value? This Linda Ocloo lady is just too shallow. They should go to Ghana Airport also and remove the Akwabaa. Why are these deficient Gas developing so much hatred towards Ewes? Did the Ewes pressure you to sell your lands so cheap ?
Slayer 3 months ago
Bla bla bla. We no get values yet you leave your bush village with 'values' come dey stay single room for Accra. Why? F**k off to where you came from
Accra 3 months ago
Oyiwaladoon!
Kofi, USA 3 months ago
Going on strike is a bad idea. The gate man would be glad to step in.
Kwame 3 months ago
Linda Ocloo was interviewed by a journalist during the Ablekuma North Parliamentary Re run.Question was: People are saying you the Regional Minister and some NDC officials are sharing money to buy the vote what is you Linda Ocloo's response? The answer the very weak and porous minded Linda Ocloo gave was, " If you think we are buying votes, what prevent you also referring to NPP not to mobilise resources and also come buy votes" This is how weak minded this lady Linda Ocloo has been. She talk without having any reasonable introspection. So just forgive her.
Observer 3 months ago
At least she is not a thief like Cecilia Dapaa
Opoku 3 months ago
Observer,have you not read that the OSP has declared her innocent despite all the investigations carried out including that of the Fbi?Apparently you don't read.
Kwame 3 months ago
This Linda Ocloo woman is a loose talker. She is very weak minded. The first time I heard her speak during the Parliamentary Re run at Ablekuma North, when the Journalist posed a question to her Linada Ocloo " As the Regional Minister, we heard you and your people are sharing money and buying votes on the election day, what is you, Linda Ocloo the Regional Minister's position on this allegation? Linda Ocloo answered the question saying "Yes, it is an election, if they say we are buying vote, they NPP should also go look for money and also come buy the vote. What prevents them NPP also from buying votes" That was Linda Ocloo's response. From that moment, I just shook my
head and said Eeeei, wow! This is a Minister? President Mahama, your Minister did not even know that buying vote is a criminal offence in Ghana. Fr that day, I got to know that, this Linda Ocloo is a very weak minded person, a very loose talker and her reasoning capacity has been the biggest suspect. Mr. President, you have the biggest weakling in Linda Ocloo in government. Rebook at her before problems. She doesn't think deep before she talks
Imani 3 months ago
Scared of confronting Akan "Akwaaba" right?
Star from the North 3 months ago
We cannot allow multiple signages on our national monuments in Accra as the capital. The Akwaaba should remain as it is because it has been widely used for a long time. This must stop, otherwise we will also add our dagarti sign (Waana) to welcome visitors. Akwaaba must remain our collective symbol of welcoming visitors into our country. Stan Dogbe and his colleagues must desist from this nonsense of imposing ewe signage to the national park. These kinds of actions draw the NDC government back and must stop.
Sojourner Truth 3 months ago
For your information her husband is deceased. Has been for a while.
Jayhovah 3 months ago
Haaaaaaa.@Aboboya. I stand 120% with you, my brotha. Lol
Karl Tettenyi. 3 months ago
AI Presentation
+5
Ivorians use the term "Akwaba" to describe their hospitality. Their population is 32 million. Listen to now,
The Akans are a large ethnic group in Côte d'Ivoire, representing the largest ethnic popu ... read full comment
AI Presentation
+5
Ivorians use the term "Akwaba" to describe their hospitality. Their population is 32 million. Listen to now,
The Akans are a large ethnic group in Côte d'Ivoire, representing the largest ethnic population in the country (approximately 32%). They are present throughout Côte d'Ivoire, particularly in the East (Agni, pronounced Anyi), Central (Baoulé), and Northwest (Brong) regions, and also constitute a significant group in Ghana.
EAS 3 months ago
If she has married a man from another cultural place doesn't mean she should forget her roots
Let's be proud of who we are
If she has married a man from another cultural place doesn't mean she should forget her roots
Alfi 3 months ago
I believe that should be her personal life. As an office holder, you don't have e to be selfish hence her stance on according appropriate cultural identities. Yes, Accra is capital of the whole Ghana, but is the Ga language even included in the numerous national signage??? Let's be real here...if not absolute right, at least Ga language should be included in signage, particularly, in the capital. Can you imagine, projecting Ga or Eve language on signage in Ashanti while neglecting the Akwaaba or Ga and Asante on signage in the Volta region without including Woezor? Respectfully, she is spot on.
KOFI 3 months ago
Massa, watch the names of the 3 women very well. Its an irony. Hahahahahahahahahahaha. The woman from GTa also.
Interesting. I don't know what they will feel if they get home to see their children.
You have some valid p ... read full comment
Massa, watch the names of the 3 women very well. Its an irony. Hahahahahahahahahahaha. The woman from GTa also.
Interesting. I don't know what they will feel if they get home to see their children.
You have some valid points and in my view, this shouldn't have been discussed in a full public view. No point.
Ghana is not what we know 15, 20 years ago. Boss, i can never express tribal sentiments because i am mix mix. My wife is mix mix also. Our children are very very mix mix and even also from a neighbouring country.
All my children were born in England and they come home with someone from wherever in the world.
What about if the Greater Accra Regional Minister discussed these issues behind closed doors? Where has decorum gone? Being a Minister of State should come with some maturity. There is no point being abrasive on this issue.
Of course, Ga representation is good but we don't need all this noise.
Thank you.
Alhaji 3 months ago
Leaders in Ghana today lack tact, diplomacy and decorum. And that has been our bane of late. Immature politicians whipping emotions and ethnocentrism.
Osei Kofi 3 months ago
Alfi, Ashantis don't have time for such things, we don't really care about what you think in your small mind, what should be written in Ashanti to welcome people, for you to insinuate "can you imagine projecting Ga or Ewe language on signage in Ashanti while neglecting the Akwaaba. Simple minds and small thoughts, Alfi, Alfi Alfi.
Sappey Agboh 3 months ago
The man Ocloo she was married to died a couple of years ago. He was then the substantive MP for the Constituency. It was his death that actually paved the way for her to contest the primaries and due to sympathy votes, she beat her contestants.
Sappey Agboh 3 months ago
She actually beat Kpessa-Whyte twice to win the primaries
Citizen8 3 months ago
Keep your ignorance to yourself. Who tells you all Ocloos/Oklus are Ewes?
ghana 3 months ago
a very stupid, ignorant foolish woman who couldn’t stand ordinary vetting now has the guts to spew this rubbish. ls Ga the only dialect in Ghana ? ls Accra Ghaba? what did you say all these years when we had Ajwaaba at the airport ? ls akwaaba Ga dialect ? stupid fool
Kwabena Manu 3 months ago
Is the Greater Accra regional Minister really correct ? She sees something wrong with Woezor in ewe on signage in Accra. So what about other inscriptions in English language as well. Is Greater Accra region for English people ? I am very surprised at her attitude
Kwabena Manu? You wish. Use your real Togbe name.
Kwame 3 months ago
If you observe this Gas very well, it looks like they are even developing more hatred towards than even the Ashantis oo. Why at all are all these happening! Do the Gas want to believe it is the Ewes who convinced them to sell all their lands and be sleeping in people's kitchens? Why has the Ewes done to the Gas?
Peter 3 months ago
Capricorn or whatever, did you read through what you typed before posting. SMH
Yaw Amankwaah 3 months ago
Yesterday was an attack on an Asante chief and Asanteman in general, today it's the Gàs, so Ghanaweb, whose turn will it be tomorrow.?
Observer 3 months ago
Some of you speaks like you have saw dust as brains. Does she chopping Eve Dick means she has lost her identity..even you who have undergone a DNA modification through the help of our northern brothers don't claim a missing identity..otwi
Ewe language does not deserved to be posted in public places in Accra, especially when Ga is been sidelined.
Accra 3 months ago
Very sensible. God bless u!
Kwame 3 months ago
Linda Ocloo should bear in mind that, it is the Ghanaian taxpayers money that is being used to develop Accra, not the Ga Adagme Donkomi cheap land selling proceeds. You people are lucky, the Ghana Capital city is in Accra, else if you are fed with grass as food, you would accept it and chop. Lazy people!
You guys should wake up.l was born in Accra although l live abroad.l was duly worried about the erosion of the Ga culture and was happy change s are being made now.We can have all the 3 languages at the airport to reflect the cultural identity nationwide.
Kk 3 months ago
Thanks
Thanks
Ofori 3 months ago
Masa is that necessary? there so much deplorable road and filt in the metropolis.
Mohammed 3 months ago
There is nothing like welcome in Ga. This oobak3 is new and literally translates as you’ve been here for a long time. We have major issues to address. When the stomach is full then stupid things all the way.
MAHAMA must SACK this DIRTY WOMAN 3 months ago
This LINDA OCLOO ASSHOLE remarried, gave birth for the new man, Divorced the man after the death of Mr Ocloo BUT has refused to stop using the name OCLOO because of Ewe Votes in Shai-Osudoku but look at her behaviour. The sudden Death of Mr Ocloo must be Investigated
THE AYIGBE PROBLEM 3 months ago
If Akwaaba were to be on a billboard in Volta we know what could happen. If a Ga man or woman were to be the MCE or Regional Minister in Ayigbe, the Voltarians would never agree. In the Ivory Coast, it’s Akwaaba, despite there being many ethnic groups. Until now, it has always been Akwaaba until Ayigbe skin pain came in. Send Woezor back to Kpando and Sogakope.
Tourism minister is creating tribalism 3 months ago
So Ghana must goes federal state immediately
Kb 3 months ago
Practice your religion and leave Islam alone.
Is it how to preach to non Christians ?
Be a peace maker and stop that nonsense.
Pivot 3 months ago
Is Accra not the Capital of Ghana? Is Accra for Ga people alone? And oo, if representing Ga culture is her paramount objective, why is it that about 98% of welcome bill boards in Accra have inscriptions in English?
Why not f ... read full comment
Is Accra not the Capital of Ghana? Is Accra for Ga people alone? And oo, if representing Ga culture is her paramount objective, why is it that about 98% of welcome bill boards in Accra have inscriptions in English?
Why not fume over those and yet you fu.e over one billboard with an inscription in a Ghanaian language in the Capital of Ghana?
Apology of a minister.
We sit here and cry of racism yet we embrace the white man's language over our own.
Minister of Tribalism. Buulluuu!!!
JACK TORONTO 3 months ago
@kb, how do you know the person posting that message is a Christian?
AKWAABA! IN A DEMOCRATIC GHANA MAJORITY RULES! 3 months ago
THE MINISTER IS WRONG AS WELL AS THE WOEZOR IS ALSO DISRESPECTFUL.YES GA LAND FOR GA PEOPLE BUT AIRPORT IS NOT FOR GAS NOR BUILT BY THE GAS . IT WAS BUILT WITH OUR TAXES.THE WOEZOR PEOPLE MUST ALSO KNOW IN A DEMOCRATIC GHANA MAJORITY RULES AND THERE FORE THE COMMON LANGUAGE OF THE MASSES RULE. AKWABA HAS BEEN USED AT THE AIRPORT SINCE INDEPENDENCE. WHEREEVER OUR PRESIDENT ARIIVES HE IS GREETED WITH AKWAABA BUT NOT WOEZOR.LET THE AKWAABA RULES. AKWAABA IN IVORY COAST,AKWAABA IN JAMAICA. ENGLAND SAYS AKWAABA, USA SAYS AKWAABA, RUSSIA SAYS AKWAABA, FRANCE,ITALY GERMANY, CANADA SWITZERLAND ALL SAY AKWAABA TO GHANAIANS.
JAY 3 months ago
YES I FULLY SUPPORT THE MINISTER ON THIS!!!WILL ASHANTIS LIKE OROW A GA GREETING SIGNS LIKE "OOBAKE"ON ASHANTI LANDS OR EWES LIKE GA GREETING SIGNS ON EWE LANDS???PEOPLE THINK THERE IS NO TRIBALISM IN GHANA,BUT THAT IS A BIG LIE AND FALLACY!!!
TOGBE TSALI 3 months ago
This Foolish and Ungrateful LINDA OCLOO took advantage of the death of her EWE husband to become an MP and Minister but look at her Stupid and Senseless comment. All Ewes will surely remove u from office at the NDC Primaries in the Shai-Osudoku Constituecy. SILLY WOMAN!!
PUT THE AKWAABA THERE IDIOTS! 3 months ago
HOW MANY PEOPLE SPEAK GA OR EWE IN GHANA? PUT THE AKWAABA THERE!
Nepotistic Pantang Party(npp). Thiefs 3 months ago
Min.Ocloo. Don't stray wayward.NDC values cherish all-inclusiveness. Togbewo, Mamawo. Invite Ocloo. After crossing the River, treat her to some dzemkple with aborbi+dzomi and Alontey. Soon, It is Finished
Kk Boston 3 months ago
How many people speak Ga language in Ghana, it’s just below 10% and the tribal bigotry is too bad. Akwaaba is Twi language and not a tribe Asante language. Asante is a tribe and not a language.
Kk Boston 3 months ago
Then the Akan people have to keep their natural resources, gold, diamonds, bauxite, oil and timber, cocoa for themselves to develop their region.
Zach 3 months ago
If they can build their own refineries with their own peopl
Zach 3 months ago
...who are locals in ashanti region why not but if they still rely on ports from other tribes to export thier gold,cocoa and other so called minerals then ofcourse not
Saap3p33p3 3 months ago
All of these people are leaders and ministers! The only thing that was needed was to include the Ga welcome as well—without any disrespectful or dismissive remarks. Let’s not forget that Accra is the capital of Ghana, and as such, it belongs to every ethnic group in the country. If that’s no longer acceptable, then be honest and tell all Ghanaians that you want to change the capital. Otherwise, show the respect that every community deserves.
If so then scarp kotoka name immediately 3 months ago
Then kotoka also is not Ga man so remove his name immediately from the airport
Faris 3 months ago
Thank you very much.
May the Almighty God richly bless you.
We'll appreciate it you kindly enlighten us on the evils of the Quran and Islam with some Bible and Quran quotations.
Thank you very much.
We'll appreciate it you kindly enlighten us on the evils of the Quran and Islam with some Bible and Quran quotations.
Babangida Casagrande 3 months ago
They’ve started that bullshit again, back in the 80s, 90s if your last name is not one of them you’re expected to pay 3X extra duties at the airport and the seaports.
Padi 3 months ago
Africans who betray their people and work for colonialists are called "compradors". Karl Marx
AKWAABA! IN A DEMOCRATIC GHANA MAJORITY RULES! 3 months ago
THE BETRAYAL THAT SENT US INTO SLAVERY AND COLONIALISM STILL EXIST THATS WHY WE ARE ALWAYS AT STAND STILL. WE ALL KNOW AKWAABA HAS BEEN THERE SINCE INDEPENDENCE WHY WASTE OUR PRECIOUS TIME ON THIS AGAIN? NEVER BLAME EUROPEANS FOR SLAVERY OR COLONIALISM BLAME OUR UNNECESSARY HATRED, JEALOUS AND SELFISHNESS THAT LEAD US TO BETRAY OURSELVES TO OUTSIDERS..
Aboagye 3 months ago
This Lynda Ocloo woman is even suffering from self identity. She mentioned several places that she comes from. Her mother from here, father from there, grandma from that place and so on. She is a bigger beneficiary of the Voltarians. Her constituency where i know very well has a lot, I mean, a lot of Ewe people there and these people vote for her always. She needs emotional maturity.
John Afful 3 months ago
Aboagye? Use your Ayigbe name.
Osei 3 months ago
Buulu minister. You are not a minister for Ga people but for all of Ghana. Signage at the airport isn't a representation of Ga people but Ghana international airport. How did this tribalistic fool became a minister. If you were that intelligent, you won't be substituting any language but rather be adding other language versions to the already twi version. Why are Ghanaians getting dumber everyday
Ako Spat 3 months ago
Listen to you raining insults without understanding the substantive issue. Infact, for lack of understanding people display ignorance.
Deep thinker 3 months ago
Lynda ocloo was speaking fluent Ewe during her campaign on Ga Adangbe land and she was OK with that.
A PATHETIC IDIOT. WHY SPEAK ENGLISH IN GHANA OR GREATER ACCRA? IS GREATER ACCRA FOR THE ENGLISH? 3 months ago
Another useless tribal bigot, that has nothing to contribute to society and how to lift her people from a sprawling poverty strapped state. Stop stoking tribal sentiments and add substantive development to raise your people from poverty.
Alley 3 months ago
You speaks from your anus you stinky armpits village idiot. Is greater Accra poor as compared to your farming village region? Ignorant and uninformed village fool transported to Accra by truck. Fool
Kwame 3 months ago
Greater Accra is not poor but you Gas are very poor. Go to Chorkor and Jamestown and you will see it for yourself. In fact if the Capital City were located in other regions, there is no way those natives would be that poor and cheap as you Gas are. You even sold all your lands so cheap and sleeping on your tenants corridors
Who is more a Fool, Mr.(Ms)Alley? ---Buluuuu! 3 months ago
Who is more Foolish? You rent your room. Into a kiosk. With your concubine. Shuttling time&space by midnigh(for apio). To enable sleep for your 'hot-daughter' Only with semen messed up all over ur Vamidzo by dawn. Who is Bulluu?
Senseless Nonsense 3 months ago
Ho la la. Ebei.What a shot! Somebody please help.
Why? Because I can't fit laugh self.
Stanley Chart 3 months ago
, HOTEL NEEDS WORKERS.
Vacancies: WAITER/WAITRESS, ROOM ATTENDANTS, RECEPTIONIST, BAR ATTENDANT, CLEANERS, COOKS AND KITCHEN ASSISTANT.
LOCATIONS: ACHIMOTA AND HAATSO .
☎️☎️ 0533574591 ☎️☎️
Salary rang ... read full comment
, HOTEL NEEDS WORKERS.
Vacancies: WAITER/WAITRESS, ROOM ATTENDANTS, RECEPTIONIST, BAR ATTENDANT, CLEANERS, COOKS AND KITCHEN ASSISTANT.
☎️☎️ 0533574591 ☎️☎️
Salary range : 1,200 - 2,400(Dependent on the position). Free Feeding and Accomodation included . Call the HR directly on☎️☎️ 0533574591☎️☎️
Baba 3 months ago
Minister you are right I support you 100%
Concerned Citizen 3 months ago
Will it be more appropriate to welcome visitors with a billboard with 'ooba kɛ' when they are about to enter Ho, Kpando or Akatsi ?
Ashong Fafa 3 months ago
I support u
I support u
Pivot 3 months ago
Massa stop justifying this bigotry.
Is Accra not the Capital of Ghana? Is Accra for Ga people alone? And oo, if representing Ga culture is her paramount objective, why is it that about 98% of welcome bill boards in Accra hav ... read full comment
Why not fume over those and yet you fu.e over one billboard with an inscription in a Ghanaian language in the Capital of Ghana?
Apology of a minister.
We sit here and cry of racism yet we embrace the white man's language over our own.
Minister of Tribalism. Buulluuu!!!
Aboagye 3 months ago
Yes If our international airport is moved there
Remember, this signage is not to welcome people to Teshie or Ningo.
Ghanabi Kofi 3 months ago
There is no town, no where in Volta that one will
read or see 'akwaaba' upon entering their towns and villages. No where. !!!
But they want to push that agenda in Accra.
Ohene 3 months ago
You need free SHS. Is Akwaaba a g Ga language also? fool
Chris 3 months ago
The wrong must be corrected.
Kpatsa 3 months ago
She is mad.
She is mad.
Abusuapanin 3 months ago
Tribalism is making some people behave like animals in Ghana. Whether you like Akans or you hate them, the fact remains that the Akan language is the most widely spoken in Ghana. How many Ghanaians can speak Ga or Ewe? How can you change 'Akwaaba' at the Kotoka International Airport into another language? That's MADNESS! The Airport is NOT there for the Gas. It's there for the whole Ghana. People should stop that nonsense.
Yaw 3 months ago
Is she gonna change the name Kotoka as well?
Ghanaian 3 months ago
The problem is that some people don't know that there is a difference between GA properties and national monuments or properties. The fact that the GA people host the capital does nor mean they own the capital. If the m minister wants to promote GA culture it cannot be on the back of national monuments. She can build a cultural center at Bukom or James Town and put all GA inscriptions on it. The capital is for all Ghanaians not for Gas alone
Andrew - Nkrumah is Nzema 3 months ago
I don't think she's complaining about Akwaaba. She's complaining about the Ewe. I think she's asking for Akwaaba and Obake instead of Akwaaba and Woezor
Akosua 3 months ago
So she is ok with Akwaba but doesn't want to see Woezor. Ok, that's fine but i know she is very much aware of the Voltarians in her constituency that always vote for her. Even, her name doesn't make her fit to be Greater Accra regional minister.
Road map 3 months ago
Tribalism at it best. Very cynical and foolish on her part forget that they willingly sold all their lands to ewes and ashantis. Which land is she talking about in the first place???? Gyimigyimi baa!
Yaw 3 months ago
Why are all Hotels in Accra not named in Ga?
Now Now 3 months ago
Did the Minister accept Akwa Ba and reject Woe zor
Is the Minister calling for the additional use of Ga
Should the issue be at the press level
To use Twi and Ewe in Accra WITHOUT Ga needs a second thought
Papa 3 months ago
in that same vein we need a Ga adangbe minister not a voltarian
the Villager 3 months ago
I have heard many pepes struggling to express themselves in Twi on national radio and tv, and that’s OK, right? Anything akan is Ok , otherwise NO. No. NO.
Forme, if we accept akwaba, we must accept Woezor, amaraba, chen c ... read full comment
I have heard many pepes struggling to express themselves in Twi on national radio and tv, and that’s OK, right? Anything akan is Ok , otherwise NO. No. NO.
Forme, if we accept akwaba, we must accept Woezor, amaraba, chen chen, sand zoa etc since there is no law about which one should be acceptable.
OZYMANDIAS 3 months ago
Madam Minister, if that is your warped reasoning, then the CMB Scholarships and the free SHS which is funded from the Revenue from oil and gas should not be given to any Ga-Gangbe child. Instead of fighting for proper development for your poverty-stricken indigenes who continue to shit on the beaches and rent their bedrooms to outsiders, you display your stupidity by stocking tribal sentiments. Get educated, Madam.
The truth hurt Canada 3 months ago
Very stupid and annoying. Where were you when even Kotoka International Airport had Akan word to wit AKWABA. DID YOU HAVE ANY VIEW THEN, BUT YOU HAVE ISSUE WITH WOEZOR. I THOUGHT ONLY THE ASHANTI AND AKYEM ARE TRIBAL BIGOTRIES, I WAS SURPRISED TO LEARNED GA' ARE THE Worst
Kofi 3 months ago
Akwaaba is a global brand that enhances Ghana's attractiveness. We should not overlook nation-branding needs, for other important but misplaced tribal concerns.
OZYMANDIAS 3 months ago
Yaw, she is going to change the name KOTOKA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT to KE NTESHI OBAANA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. How can such an infantile-minded person be made a Minister at all? Her husband is an Ewe man, if you care to know.
I pity that poor ewe man. If your wife have an issue with your ewe word WOEZOR, then the man should know, either the woman is already in bed with Ga man, its a matter of time for them to divorce. Mark my word the woman had moved on. Very sad. I don't mind her show casing Ga Language in Ga Land, because you guys doesn't want to showcase it. Be a minister, you are a minister to Greater Accra and all living in Greater Accra Region. And common sense won't lead to speak like that if you have it
Nii Akwei 3 months ago
Kwame Nkrumah Int'l Airport
Obro 3 months ago
I support the minister 100% will the ewes and Ashanti's allow the use of a different language be used on their land you holier than thou bigots give us a break
Pelicles. 3 months ago
Do you see how stupid you are? Baba Yara is not an Ashanti, but his name is on the Kumasi stadium. Did you hear the Ashantis protesting against that?
If the capital is not in Accra, that city or town would have been like a ... read full comment
Do you see how stupid you are? Baba Yara is not an Ashanti, but his name is on the Kumasi stadium. Did you hear the Ashantis protesting against that?
If the capital is not in Accra, that city or town would have been like any Ga town with shit all over it. Kwasea, think because the capital is for the nation and not for the Gas only, buulu.
Kanawu 3 months ago
Baba Yara is an Akan name? Come to Kumasi there is place called Alonga. Full of Ewe people. Akans do not go around hating on other tribes like the rest of Ghanaians do. NDC fans the flames of tribalism
OBK 3 months ago
Ashantis are not tribalistic. Do you know that Baba Yara stadium is in kumasi? Do you know that kumasi has suburbs that are not Akan? Think of Sawaba, Anloga, Aboabo, Alabar, Fante New Town, Moshie Zongo. Do we a town or city in Ghana with these? Ashanti welcome everyone. Currently, there are MCE/DCEs and MPs who are of northern extraction.
What the Regional Minister has done does not demonstrate the traditional Ghanaian hospitality. At best she could have added the Ga language to the two instead of changing everything.
Boxzy 3 months ago
Let's give all regions independence to be on their own.
Oh Ghanaians! , whats all this tribal things going to lead us to.
Is this an issue a minister should be spearheading instead of seek development for his region
Very ... read full comment
Is this an issue a minister should be spearheading instead of seek development for his region
Very shameful
Atsu 3 months ago
You silly people should learn from the Asantes They have anloga, moshie zongo , Fante Newtown and Baba Yara sports stadium all in Kumasi we are one Ghana . Stop that tribal nonsense
Onipa 3 months ago
Since they’ve shown their true colours, it’s about time that the capital is relocated somewhere inland. Preferably kintampo.
Mr no nonsense 3 months ago
What has Accra got apart from fish ,almost every big building ,companies are all owned by outsiders, so the minister should just fuckoff ,from the akans,now is the ewes,is she mad, these gas are killing themselves becouse of homowo insted see her stupidity
Bans 3 months ago
But the minister can go round and build as many as possible signages in Accra with the Ga language to patronise it. It looks like she has not seen bonjour at the filling stations , Chinese and Twi in Accra.
Nii 3 months ago
This is just the beginning. You have sold all your lands to foreigners even rented your rooms and you sleep outside. Who will respect or take you serious. It is over you lost Greater Accra long ago.
Hahahaha, you said it all. They sleeping by the sea side after renting their room. Sold all your Land. Now Ga's had turn strangers on their own Land and you are angry with AKWABA and WOEZOR.
Hanson Kofi 3 months ago
Lady, just take your time, Position isn't POSSESSION. You tenure of office would soon pass just like a shadow.
Akhosua 3 months ago
She is right. We don't find Ga signage in other regions. Granted, that is in the national capital; any other Ghanaian language on signage should come second to Ga. Let us not bury Ga language/culture. It is part of our heritage.
Eddy 3 months ago
Dear regional minister, I. Am not an Akan but sincerely Akan has dominated in terms of language and so the welcome signage if it's Akwaaba it's reasonable. If not, then the Ga Adangbe should be the alternative not Ewe. Why, the akans forms the majority by language and numbers and the Ga Adangbe have provided us with the land for the Capital and are to be honoured not the Ewes
Ohene 3 months ago
Another fool
Sosoman 3 months ago
Aaaw! Instead of this regional minister thinking of how to make a filty Accra street and gutters clean, look at what she's interested in...
Mj 3 months ago
Rwanda war started like this.street lights are not working language be problem.Yoo
What about Nzemah? Nkrumh is Nzema, they're not even complaining
Kofi 3 months ago
I will advocate that the Ga greeting should be added, may be first, followed by the others. Removing the others entirely amounts to ethnic bigotry
Sounds like she's small minded to me. She could ask for a museum or something that will benefit Gas not fighting over stupid greeting that most people don't even car about.
Dallas1 3 months ago
While the introduction of signage is a positive step, cultural representation involves more than just signs. The key question is whether the local people use the Ga language for communication. In other words, how frequently do they engage with their own language in daily interactions?
Moses 3 months ago
.....are Ghanaians surprised to encounter all these nonsense during ndc era, they are comfortable with street names named after their heroes, ie rawlings park atta mills highway kotoka airport, if that the case then anloga, mossie zongo fante new town and other names on ashanti land must be changed, what a class stupidity.
H Aborbi 3 months ago
At the OR Tambo airport in Johannesburg, the visitors are welcomed in the various local languages, perhaps to inform the traveller of the different ethnic groups in that country. I personally have complained about the "Akwaba" welcome sign at KIA. One day a British person I met sometime ago, on knowing I am Ghanaian welcomed me with "akwaba" and was surprised when I could not reply. To him "akwaba" is how Ghanaians say welcome. I had to educate him that that was not the case. Since KIA is the entry point to Ghana for most foreign visitors, I suggest the welcome signage be in all the major languages, beginning with "Ga".
Pelicles. 3 months ago
If or suppose the capital is not situated in Accra, will the city be like this? Accra would have been like an Ga town with poo all over. Akan is the largest speaking language in Ghana and there is nothing anybody can do about it.
As a minister, this is what concerns you the most right. The airport is a national monument. By the way, Madam minister, did you hear the Ashantis protesting that baba Yara's name should be removed from the stadium in Kumasi?
The kingdom of truth 3 months ago
Ewe vote brought you to power now you don't want ewe signage a yooo yate
Vodushi 3 months ago
Is KOTOKA Ga name???? KOTOKA is an ewe name so if people greeted WOEZOR at KOTOKA airport it is in place. Gyimigyimi ba. Why are you soo foolish like this. In fact your stupidity is very much annoying because if KOTOKA is ga name then we will understand greeting woezor at KOTOKA
Nii Odoi 3 months ago
We need remove the Kotoka from the Airport.
Kk 3 months ago
We won't remove anything. Of you lazy Gas don't stop fooling we will relocate Ghana's capital and start practicing federalism soon. Shut up and be happy foreigners have developed Accra for you lazy Gas.
I read someone comment and I can't stop laughing. The person said GA's sold all their Land to other tribes and foreigners, that even their family homes and they are now living with others tribes and some even raised kiosk to sleep in it, now they had became STRANGER IN THEIR OWN LAND, WHO WILL VALUE AND RESPECT TGEM. Very sad. They are in so much pains and the wanted to use the toothless and no trouble EWES AS A STEPPING STONE TO BLEND AKAN WITH IT. THEY KNEW THEY CAN'T FIGHT WITH AKAN DIRECT SO THEY WANTED TO USE THEIR WEAK VESSELS THE EWE AS A BAIT TO GET AKANS WITH THEIR AKWABA. AKWABA HAS BEEN IN THE AIRPORT AND MOSTLY ALL SPACE IN ACCRA EVEN DURING RAWLINGS TIME, WHEN DO WOEZOR STARTED COMING INTO THE SCENE. WHY CAN'T YOU FACE THE AKAN DIRECTLT AND YOU WANTED TO USE WOEZOR TO SPEAK YOUR MIND. EWES WON'T ALLOW THIS BAIT AT ALL
Nii Odoi 3 months ago
Let's all use the long held word "Akwaaba". It's already international. It is a Ga word. It is an Ewe word. It is a Fante word. It is Dagomba word. It is a Ghanaian word.
Just remove all the other words.
Let's all use the long held word "Akwaaba". It's already international. It is a Ga word. It is an Ewe word. It is a Fante word. It is Dagomba word. It is a Ghanaian word.
Martin Kreisler 3 months ago
Madam Minister, this matter is pettiness as compared to the deadly perennial floods and the sanitation problems facing Accra. More attention should be devoted to such problems to save lives.
Alidu 3 months ago
AKwaaba is Twi language but its not only used in Ghana, if you to some shops and offices in Cote Divoire and Togo you will find Akwaaba even in their airports
NDC is a useless party 3 months ago
Akwaaba is an Akan language. Ivorians are 45% Akan so it makes sense.
Different tribes of Akans speak different versions of twi but they are mutually intelligible except Nzema which branched of a little bit
Kanawu 3 months ago
The seeds of tribalism sown by the NDC is bearing fruit.
It started from Rawlings with his hatred of Akan people.
Ghanas Son 3 months ago
That is why Rawlings married an Akan, right? You fool rough
jesus 3 months ago
You and the bitch are nothing but stale cunts!
Kanawu 3 months ago
Cocoa and Gold revenue should only benefit the Akan people.
We can no longer live as one people. The Ga people are backwards
Kk 3 months ago
I agree with you Kanawha. Gas are very envious and tribalistic people.yet the least resourced. Let Ghana practice federalism with immediate effect and move the capital from here. They are so full of envy yet have nothing to show for their stupor.
TW3DE3 3 months ago
MADAM MINISTER IF THIS IS YOUR STANCE THEN CHANGE KOTOKA"S NAME AND REPLACE IT WITH A GA NAME. COME TO KUMASI AND NOTICE THAT KUMASI SPORTS STADIUM IS NAMED AFTER "BABA YARA", A NORTHENER. USELESS MINISTER! TYWEAAA!!! WHO SAID TWEAAA??? I DID!
Kanawu 3 months ago
The dominance of the Akan dialet of Twi is what drives this hatred. She is just hiding behind Ewes.
They hate the fact that Twi is spoken and understood by over 80% of Ghanaians even more than English. Every where you go i ... read full comment
The dominance of the Akan dialet of Twi is what drives this hatred. She is just hiding behind Ewes.
They hate the fact that Twi is spoken and understood by over 80% of Ghanaians even more than English. Every where you go in Ghana you can find a twi speaker!
Martin Kreisler 3 months ago
Greater Accra, like all other Regions is 'politically' and 'administratively', Ghanaian, and not for any particular tribe or any particular culture. The Region is the 'gateway' to Ghana, so even though the Ga's and Adangbe's are the traditional owners of the land, Ghanaian culture in its entirety should be displayed to 'visitors'.
Os 3 months ago
We use our gold to developing our Ashanti region ofui
Ashanti Nationlist 3 months ago
If the Gas want to behave this way then The gold and cocoa from the Ashanti region should only benefit the Ashanti's.
Why should the sweat of my grandfathers in cocoa farms and mines be used to benefit the nation if backwa ... read full comment
If the Gas want to behave this way then The gold and cocoa from the Ashanti region should only benefit the Ashanti's.
Why should the sweat of my grandfathers in cocoa farms and mines be used to benefit the nation if backwards Ga's want to behave this way?
They are worried about a greeting when the Airport is not even named after a Ga.
Nii Akwei 3 months ago
Are you related Osafo Marfo, the wele lip?
Cc 3 months ago
Ghana ne gyimii de3.
Justice 3 months ago
No! I do not agree with you, Madam. Accra is the capital city of Ghana. All Ghanaian languages are spoken in Accra. So any Ghanaian language can be used for a specific purpose in Accra.
AMARIYA 3 months ago
NATURAL LANGUAGE EVOLUTION
Nobody is enforcing the use any language in Ghana, however, Twi language is coming out strongly in Ghana. In 300 yeas time, a few tongues may not be spoken any longer in Ghana. They should write the word 'WELCOME" in all the languages in Ghana, if authorities would not stick to one local language.
Samurai 3 months ago
Instead of pursuing urgent issues, a renaming agenda seems to be the priority now. I just dont gerrit!!!
Patrick 3 months ago
You sat down and they changed Yoke garish to Kobe, now you where it's going?
SACK LINDA OCLOO NOW!!! 3 months ago
President Mahama must quickly SACK this MAD woman called LINDA OCLOO before she destroys the NDC with her senseless TRIBALISM. She behaves the same way towards EWES in the Shai-Osudoku Constituency. Enough of this BLOCK-HEADED FOOL of a Minister!!
Kyinkyinaatwan 3 months ago
Let all akans sit back and look on how this issue is resolved between these two 'paddies'. These two 'paddies' are always on one side and fight against akans. Akwaaba is an akan word and it has been erased just because Accra land doesn't belong to akan people. Let Gas and ewes do the battle of 'welcome' as akans stand aside and look on.
NANA EFFAH 3 months ago
In spite of all the ethic challenges and civil war in the past, Cote d'voire has only one word welcoming travelers to the country at their international airport in Abidjan and, that is, AKWAABA. All this multiplicity of words was initiated by a particular political party in the recent past for political reasons.
Wise Man. 3 months ago
Foolish woman.What is wrong with her and since she was born that she wants to dictate for the Country Ghana.Idiot.
KB 3 months ago
Let us not stretch this ,it is in order ,I have leaved in Accra peacefully for over 30 years , and I don't know welcome in Ga means Oobake
Kojo 3 months ago
Ekeke vor, Ewes who have sold their birthrights and behaving as if they are Gas. Neglecting their native homes and beautifying Accra with their souls and minds. Edo edzi vor.
Small “Woezor and Kotoka” are bothering peop ... read full comment
Ekeke vor, Ewes who have sold their birthrights and behaving as if they are Gas. Neglecting their native homes and beautifying Accra with their souls and minds. Edo edzi vor.
Small “Woezor and Kotoka” are bothering people. What about the great things Ewes and Akans are doing in the Greater Accra Region?
The Animals are at it again 3 months ago
Honourable Minister we love you. The next to be change is the name at the Airport. Animals in human shape, The Airport at Kumasi has been changed to Prempeh Airport. Tamale to Tolon Na or whatever and same with the Ho Airport were they not build with Tax payers money or only Ashante paid for it. BUT when it comes to Accra no it is the capital.
Soon the name Kotoka will be changed to a GaDangme name and that nonsense Akwaaba will be wiped off once and for all. GaDangme will not allow these nonsence to continue. Enough of these nonsense.
Just because the CEO at the Tourist Board is an EWE she is promoting Wuezor over the GaDangme Atuu oe Oobake. Who born dog?
Najeeb 3 months ago
So, why are the newspapers printed in Accra not printed in Ga? Should every radio station based in Accra speak Ga? What about the parliamentary hansard? Also in Ga? After all, this is Ga land.
Ridiculous. Absolutely ridicul ... read full comment
So, why are the newspapers printed in Accra not printed in Ga? Should every radio station based in Accra speak Ga? What about the parliamentary hansard? Also in Ga? After all, this is Ga land.
Ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous.
Najeeb 3 months ago
This behaviour is similar to the agitation by some blacks in South Africa for health care in government hospitals to be denied to other African nationals.
The real bigot is Linda Ocloo.
This behaviour is similar to the agitation by some blacks in South Africa for health care in government hospitals to be denied to other African nationals.
MyBigMouth 3 months ago
Yes, certain things are ridiculous that is why there hadn't been a clamour for the ridiculous things you have stated to be changed.
Others are easily amended and cannot be overlooked anymore such as the inscriptions in ques ... read full comment
Yes, certain things are ridiculous that is why there hadn't been a clamour for the ridiculous things you have stated to be changed.
Others are easily amended and cannot be overlooked anymore such as the inscriptions in question and even more pressing teaching of Gadangme in Accra schools.
James 3 months ago
This woman so call Linda ocloo is stupid woman! She is a loose talker. She will loose osudoku come 2028
Wasteman 3 months ago
ALL LANGUAGES MUST BE CONSIDERED INCLUDING DAGAATE, FRAFRA, NZEMA..AND ROTATE THEM..NO LANGUAGE SHOULD HAVE MONOPOLY!!.
MyBigMouth 3 months ago
This Maame Efua in her warped thinking, presupposes that adoption of the Akan and Ewe greetings is more culturally significant than that of Ga?? Who puts such zealots in these positions? Yesu Christo.
My people, there com ... read full comment
This Maame Efua in her warped thinking, presupposes that adoption of the Akan and Ewe greetings is more culturally significant than that of Ga?? Who puts such zealots in these positions? Yesu Christo.
My people, there comes a time and that time is now.
CHANGE IT IF THAT IS WHAT YOU WANT AND STOP KNOCKING HEADS TOGETHER 3 months ago
We can decide to change the greeting every week to showcase our rich language diversity. But for goodness sake stop the tribal politics.
Najeeb 3 months ago
It was unnecessary to have raised the issue in the way the Minister did.
She could have proposed for the signage to be done in a revolving neon sign, where the major languages could be featured in rotation after every few seconds.
We need a thinking Minister to think this way.
Yao 3 months ago
Is the airport a Ga asset or national asset? This is how division is created.
Torgbe 3 months ago
I feel very sad. Do you have to say this? Don't be stupid. The Ewes and Gas are one people
Babangida Casagrande 3 months ago
@Togbe so the rest of Ghanaians are not one people with ewes n gas?
Charles 3 months ago
ewes are part of ghana madam Linda go get a life loser
Ga chief not minister 3 months ago
This lady should belong at the entrance of a Ga palace. Fighting with people going in and out .
She should rather have said we tolerate all tribes and languages in accra because we are the capital of Ghana.
This lady should belong at the entrance of a Ga palace. Fighting with people going in and out .
She should rather have said we tolerate all tribes and languages in accra because we are the capital of Ghana.
Bazz 3 months ago
The minister is right
ROGUE LAWYER 3 months ago
The Greater Accra Region is not solely Ga , or La,
so Ga adambge people should stop claiming the Region for only their culture
Mental charter 3 months ago
Thank u minister..... technocrats in this country are not serious oooooo
Ask Mahama's boy Stan Dogbe 3 months ago
I suspect Stan Dogbe is behind this ewe reset. What is the sense in having Woezor when the indigenes language i.e., GA is not represented? Akwaaba makes some sense as Twi is probably the most widely spoken language in Ghana and the Akwaaba greeting has become iconic worldwide but what is the excuse for ewe? Why not have Woezor at Ho airport, Dagomba greeting in Tamale etc. And give the Gas something in Accra? Mrs Ocloo has a point but this should have be discussed privately.
Nyameasem Nyasasem 3 months ago
Excellent thought, Kofi.
The Greater Accra minister is becoming too abrasive and more especially, public space. She needs to calm down a little. The issues concerning the absence of the Ga language in signages of publ ... read full comment
Excellent thought, Kofi.
The Greater Accra minister is becoming too abrasive and more especially, public space. She needs to calm down a little. The issues concerning the absence of the Ga language in signages of public institutions could be properly addressed behind the scenes with much understanding to all the parties concerned than going public.
My sister, Hon. Linda, let some these go behind closed doors for amicable solutions so that you don't attract unnecessary backlashes.
R. A .Melseaux 3 months ago
This is the beginning of tribal and political war. NDC
says YEAABAN NE ABA. GA THIS IS OUR LAND..
WHAT AS MEDIOCRE DISPLAY 3 months ago
When others are going to space. Should we abolish churches and mosques in Accra because they are foreign??
This country will never develop. We expect this from ....
When others are going to space. Should we abolish churches and mosques in Accra because they are foreign??
MyBigMouth 3 months ago
I am a Ga.
My closest buddies are Ewe and most of my pals are too.
My most meaningful relationship was with an Ewe woman before I got married to an Akan.
I am not tribalsitic but some things do not make sense and need cor ... read full comment
I am a Ga.
My most meaningful relationship was with an Ewe woman before I got married to an Akan.
I am not tribalsitic but some things do not make sense and need correction.
It's equally important that this gradual erosion of the cultural representation of Accra's indigenous people is halted....once and for all.
kanawu 3 months ago
You cannot stop nature. The children of the gas don't speak the language. They prefer to speak other languages or English
Nana Asante 3 months ago
If she doesn't know, the Gans are Ewes
Atsu 3 months ago
Weak minded ministers only in NDC could this one serve as minister
Boxzy 3 months ago
We will not be thinking about bringing jobs and development to our people.
A whole minister spearheading this shameful issue
Nato 3 months ago
Madam minister, stop these nonsense. Yes Accra is the capital but no one understands ur language. U the Gas dont travel, u dont learn other people culture and language. Looks the Ashantis and Ewes travel a lot. They are everywhere and influencing other people but u people are stack in Accra . All people know is America and London. U dont accept posting to upper east, upper West, tamale, kumasi . So all we know is Akan . So dont blame anyone but yourselves . U call the rest of us villagers . U dont inter- marry with other tribes in other regions and even if u do , you will not move and follow the man. U live and die in Accra. Well u can change it but it won't work. We can't speak ur language. And u people speak English too much .
Viva 3 months ago
If you're protecting Ga Dangme, then u can equally use Mohee. That's the Dangme word for welcome
Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 3 months ago
Chase wasap him 0 04 478530538
T
Bank flashing stays in the account for 28 days before it disappear ... read full comment
T
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
[1/16, 12:59 AM] Oxford: Pll: Bank wire transfer to all countries
The healer sees more, dark moon 3 months ago
I wonder, what are my people really fighting for? Which part of Accra has ever been developed by the Ga people themselves? Almost everything has been done for us. We cannot even come together as one people. Our chiefs are busy fighting each other on social media, even selling our lands to the Akans.
There is no proper development in the true Ga communities. The only places that look developed are those that have been sold to other tribes. Instead of our leaders uniting to bring real development to their people, they are busy arguing about who the legitimate king of the Ga people is. Sometimes, I even feel ashamed of being a Ga. All we seem to think about is taking from outsiders, forgetting that nothing comes for free—because in exchange, they take what is most valuable from us: our land.
Today, about 60% of Ga lands are in the hands of other tribes. They develop those lands, make wealth from them, and then send the profits back to their own villages. Go to Akan lands and see the difference—the development there belongs to their people. But here in Accra, almost everything benefits outsiders, and it all comes down to greed.
Now, we are even fighting over something as small as a welcome sign. Our history is not properly documented or celebrated, yet the Asantes have managed to protect theirs and make it attractive to the world. Public spaces in Accra are national properties, built with the taxes of all Ghanaians—so of course any Ghanaian name can be used there.
But instead of quarreling over these things, we the Ga people should focus on developing our own communities, naming our own projects, and preserving our identity. Even our roads are mostly named in English, which is shameful. Our chiefs need to come together and do what is right. Why should we be fighting over the name of a welcome sign at the airport when there are far greater issues to solve?
Sam 3 months ago
I am a Ga
This is what happens when you Sales your land for money. We can not force them to speak our language
We have to live with it. Very soon our language will vanish
I am a Ga
This is what happens when you Sales your land for money. We can not force them to speak our language
Justrac Africa Ltd 3 months ago
We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. rertw45545
Sammy 3 months ago
If you are a man take care of yourself oh, if not you die early and this women will use your money and your house and start fucking in the same house you built,
Excel 3 months ago
What about akwaaba hmmmm ewe are not loved kraa
Kojo Kankam 3 months ago
What a shame. Instead of getting rid off the filth in the capital, look at the shameful behaviour you are exhibiting. You people don’t learn. The earlier JDM gets rid of you the better. What we need is a clean capital city. Shame on you.
The Great 3 months ago
It's a pity that in the 21st century we're still fighting about what dialet to use on Ghana's signage. When will tribalism end in Ghana? Accra is the capital of Ghana and belongs to All Ghanaians and not Gas alone.
Maybe ... read full comment
It's a pity that in the 21st century we're still fighting about what dialet to use on Ghana's signage. When will tribalism end in Ghana? Accra is the capital of Ghana and belongs to All Ghanaians and not Gas alone.
Maybe we should use all the dialets in Ghana on all of our signage. What is WRONG if the most popular dialet or dialets are used.
There are more important challenges or problems facing Ghana than signage dialets. The economy, housing, unemployment, roads, water, galamsy, education, crime, health care etc. Let's deal with them.
Thanks.
Kojo Kankam 3 months ago
What is in a signage,,,,
Saint Frank 3 months ago
Let me ask Lydia Ocloo, , which tribe or party make her the minister of state?
What you are enjoying now as minister on what party and which tribe is the founder? Ungrateful and ingrate beach stop the tribalism and focus on and be grateful to Rawlings the founder of NDC on whose party you are enjoying as minister .He is real Ewe. Learn that you are just opportunist and parasite from no where..is the Ewe blood that toiled and form Ndc so stop hypocrisy
Efo Kofi 3 months ago
The woman is very right, I’m an ewe and I believe indigenous languages should be promoted locally like we do in Volta region. Anyone who has listened to the full video will attest that she didn’t only mention woezor but akwaaba too
Osei Bonsu 3 months ago
Ghana is one. The akan language is the most dominant one.
Kosi 3 months ago
Is Akwaaba Woevor?
Kofi Mawuli Klu 3 months ago
Ms. Linda Ocloo is absolutely correct on the need to use Ga Language and respect indigenous GaDangme Culture and progressive values in Accra! "Woezor" is not even for all "Voltarians", but only for those who are Gbetowo, speaking our indigenous Gbe Language and who identify as belonging to our indigenous Gbeduko nation and its various ethnic Communities in and beyond Ghana!
Original akan 3 months ago
This is so stupid.
Is the edifice a national asset or a ga asset?
Reason why the development of the country should be diversified so no one would be left out for some clowns would wake up claiming national assets as tri ... read full comment
This is so stupid.
Reason why the development of the country should be diversified so no one would be left out for some clowns would wake up claiming national assets as tribal or ethnic property
felix 3 months ago
It is funny how trivial issues ignite us, but we seem not to care about broader national issues and issues of substance: poor sanitation, erratic water and power supply, and chaos everywhere in the business district of Accra. All these and others go unnoticed, but greetings get attention and make the headline.
Aku 3 months ago
This will not end if they start. Akan is the most widely spoken language in Ghana and stretches to Ivory CoastTribalism is the root of Africa’s issues
NAT 3 months ago
I SUPPORT YOU 1000% IN ENSURING THAT THE VALUES OF GA CULTURE ARE ADHERED TO EVEN THE AKWAABA AT THE AIRPORT SHOULD BE REMOVED.EITHER WELCOME OR THE GA LANGUAGE IS USED.
DR. ANWAH IBRAHIM KWATSON 3 months ago
Can Parliament re-organise and vet this woman well. She is naive and problematic. Ghana is filled with tribal insinuations and considerations.
Ola 3 months ago
All the three welcoming greeting are Yoruba language,
Akwaaba-Aku abo
woezo-eweso greeting by ijebu tribe of Yoruba
Obakie-Oba nkie meaning king is greeting you.so no need to fight over language,one love from Nigeria.
Akwaaba-Aku abo
Obakie-Oba nkie meaning king is greeting you.so no need to fight over language,one love from Nigeria.
DEPORT ALL THOSE STINKING NIGERIANS 3 months ago
TAKE YOUR FOOLISHNESS AWAAY WITH THAT ZOO NONSENSE
Zakarakis 3 months ago
Traditionally and culturally, the Ga people have a good case. Settlers must respect and obey the traditions and customs of the INDIGENES.
Kwame Angel 3 months ago
Complete nonsense! Is Ghana for primitive Gas? "Akwaaba" has been used for ages at KIA; why did this idiot of a minister not complain? I would have thought that this fool suggests addition of Ga instead of replacement because it is Ga land. Nonsense!
KofSam 3 months ago
The greater Accra minister must be applauded for her strong stance on using the ga language as a welcome signage in the Greater Accra region.
Those who chose to use other dialects instead of the ga language have small brain ... read full comment
The greater Accra minister must be applauded for her strong stance on using the ga language as a welcome signage in the Greater Accra region.
Those who chose to use other dialects instead of the ga language have small brains who cannot think. The Ga people have allowed themselves to be trampled on by the other tribes in Ghana especially the Akan tribe.
I am surprised that these so called Ga chiefs including the Ga mantse will sit aloof to permit such rubbish in their backyard. Will the Asantehene permit the use of another dialect besides twi as a signage in the Kumasi metropolis? The Akwabaa signage at the Kotoka airport is an insult to the Ga people . This signage must be changed . Recently the Ga mantse in his wisdom suggested to sleepy Akuffo Addo to change the name of Greater Accra region to Ga-Adangbe region and his response was an insult to the wisdom of the Ga mantse.
The Ga -mantse should re-visit the same idea with President Mahama to change the name of the region to Ga -Adangbe region to reflect the whole ethnicity of the region . Ghanaians with weak minds will see this as tribalism but this is far from it . The Ga -Adangbe people must wake up to be recognized in the country.
Evil widow who despatched her husband 3 months ago
The dumbest minister in Mahama's regime. Had it not been the accidental demise of Joe through accident and the corrupt delegates of Shai Osudoku, incl
uding corrupt Chairman Kodie, this woman is unfit to enter Ghana's Parlia ... read full comment
The dumbest minister in Mahama's regime. Had it not been the accidental demise of Joe through accident and the corrupt delegates of Shai Osudoku, incl
uding corrupt Chairman Kodie, this woman is unfit to enter Ghana's Parliament.
Do you remember how many minutes this ashawo woman spent at the Appointments Committee? Just 10 minutes. Thanks to our corrupt Parliament she had her way.
Dan 3 months ago
Actually, Dangbe ppl also use woezor
What? 3 months ago
Oh regional minister you have shown you deep seated hatred you have for EWES and Voltarians.
By this your position shall be taken from you. You will lose your seat for your discrimination and hatred.
Oh regional minister you have shown you deep seated hatred you have for EWES and Voltarians.
By this your position shall be taken from you. You will lose your seat for your discrimination and hatred.
THIS WOMAN NEEDS TO BE SACKED! 3 months ago
Such idiotic statement from a supposed political leader. She must resign or be sacked. This is Ghana. We can display any authentic Ghanaian language anywhere. She is Ok with English signage isn't she?! ridiculous!! BTW Greater Accra is NOT for Ga people alone. it is a territory of Ghana and every Ghanaian has equal rights therein, as citizens. Such loose talk!
AB 3 months ago
What's wrong with AKWAABA? It is a Ghanaian and the most spoken language in the country.
This an unnecessary debate.!!!!!!
What's wrong with AKWAABA? It is a Ghanaian and the most spoken language in the country.
Nzulu 3 months ago
Seriously the Ivorians are more civilized than us in so many aspects. They also use 'Akwaaba' to welcome visitors at their airports (perhaps because of the majority Akans there) but you rarely hear about such stupid comments.
Nii Fio Shamo 3 months ago
Absolute nonsense ! Why Woezor or Akwaba? The Ga- Adamgbe s must protect their language and cultural heritage. It is long overdue. Also schools in Greater Accra must teach only the Ga language. If you don't want that go back to where you come from and study there. Accra is becoming over populated.
Kk 3 months ago
Which language?? Get away with your nonsense.
First Offer 3 months ago
Use the oobake, but add welcome ( in small typo). I’m of the view that English should be number one but every region must be allowed to promote their culture alongside with the English.
Kwame 3 months ago
We have used Akwaaba all these years and even is internationally accepted. Why all these hullabaloo.
kwame 3 months ago
The must not be one language there. Twi, Ga, Twi, English, French. Puting one language there is not even the right thing. Eg in China they can't just put just put Chinise there because not everybony can ready.
Test2 3 months ago
WELL DONE MADAM OCLOO
BECAUSE OF OUR GOOD HEARTEDLY WELCOMING ALL OF YOU VILLAGERS BUSH AND FOREST PEOPLE TO OUR BEAUTIFUL SHORES OF ACCRA NOW YOU UNCIVILIZED THEIVES WANTS TO KILL OUR CULTURE STEAL OUR LANDS AND BAN OUR GA ... read full comment
WELL DONE MADAM OCLOO
BECAUSE OF OUR GOOD HEARTEDLY WELCOMING ALL OF YOU VILLAGERS BUSH AND FOREST PEOPLE TO OUR BEAUTIFUL SHORES OF ACCRA NOW YOU UNCIVILIZED THEIVES WANTS TO KILL OUR CULTURE STEAL OUR LANDS AND BAN OUR GA LANGUAGE NEVER NEVER ONE DAY WHEN THE GA PEOPLE AND THEIR YOUTH ARISE ALL OF YOU BUSH PROPLE WILL RUN BACK TO THE FORESTS YOU CAME FROM
BUULUI UNGRATEFUL RATS
Kwame 3 months ago
Test 2 You are lucky that Accra is the Capital City of Ghana and so everybody's resources and tax is used to develop the very Accra you have desecrated over the years by selling your lands and houses so cheap and sleeping on people's corridor. If Accra were not the capital city, you Gas would have been chopping grass!!! grass!!! grass!!!. Lazy people who have no direction
Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 3 months ago
Bank ... read full comment
[1/16, 12:59 AM] Oxford: Pll: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bitcoin flashing to all card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
opp 3 months ago
This's how internal tribal conflicts begin. Don't blame northerners
Kk 3 months ago
Remove this useless minister immediately. She is encouraging divisiveness in Ghana.
Sultan 3 months ago
It is disappointing and madness on the side of the minister you ought to know better (Linda Ocloo) by her choice of word in situations like this ,However the words on the sign post were two,she would have done better.....she ride on an ewe lineage to be the persona you are currently....nonsense.
KOJO 3 months ago
GO GET A LIFE WOMEN STOP MESSING WITH EWES YOU FOOL
Betty 3 months ago
we the Ga/Dagbe have to use our welcoming greetings period.
where in Ghana do we used some other tribe language in greeting on their land except the other tribe person meet their own
Tt 3 months ago
We've all seen how the ewes are quite over this issue. Akwaaba has been there since and there was no issue. The moment the woezor was added, look at what is happening. If we don't take care we may be insulting the Ga people but if the authorities can add woezor why not oobake. Some tribe just wants to be recognised kɛkɛ.
DA 3 months ago
Take away that " Akwaba" from the airport. The airport is not on Akan land. We have been sleeping too much and ignoring the hegemony of twi on other language speakers. Respect other languages and cultures. Ga taxi drivers should stop the ridiculous attitude of speaking twi to everyone. It's annoying!
T.J Newtown 3 months ago
Madam is it Ewe alone?
togbe 3 months ago
her death husband was a fool, to marry this pig as a wife material, he died as a useless man,,,,is gah people even a human,,,,,absolutely notkwaaasiaaaa fuo
Patrick 3 months ago
Advice to the Minister: Lead with Unity, Not Exclusivity
Honorable Minister, your commitment to preserving Ga cultural identity is deeply valid. The Ga people deserve recognition, respect, and visibility—especially in their ancestral lands. But cultural pride must never come at the expense of national unity. Ghana is not a mosaic of isolated tribes—it is a tapestry of interconnected languages, histories, and hopes.
The signage at civic landmarks like Kotoka International Airport or the Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park is not just local—it is national. These are spaces that welcome Ghanaians from all regions and visitors from around the world. To reject the Ewe greeting “Woezor” is to risk sending a message that some citizens are less welcome than others. That is not just politically risky—it is morally un-Ghanaian.
Ghana’s Strength Is Its Diversity
Ghana is home to over 80 languages. Each one carries the dignity of a people. To elevate one language while excluding others in public spaces undermines the very democratic and multicultural values our Constitution enshrines. As the Ghana Tourism Authority rightly stated, no single authority should erase culturally significant greetings without broad consultation.
A Constructive Path Forward
Instead of removing Woezor, consider rotational multilingual signage—a civic gesture that honors Ga, Ewe, Akan, Dagbani, and other languages in turn. This affirms cultural equity and educates citizens and visitors alike. You could also champion a National Language Inclusion Charter, developed collaboratively with the Ministry of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, the Ghana Tourism Authority, and the National Commission on Culture.
Leadership That Unites
True leadership is not about defending borders—it’s about expanding belonging. You have the opportunity to turn this moment of tension into a ceremonial turning point. Let Accra be a city that welcomes Akwaaba, Woezor, Oobakɛ, and more—not just in words, but in spirit.
Doug 3 months ago
She has a point.
Pelicles. 3 months ago
Explain the point you are talking about. This "Akwaaba" greeting has been there since when, and why has it become something that "Itch" today? Trust me, if it was written in Hausa, the Ga people would not have protested. They hate the Twi language with passion, but the question is when their forefathers landed at the area from Nigeria, did they come with any land?
Abbey Samuel 3 months ago
Greetings is what we are fighting for? Absolutely mediocre This shouldn't be what must have emanated from a whole minister Ghana has a cultural diversity and mind you the state is govern by a rule of law which frowned the concept of segregation
Do we mined gold in Accra? If not then why do we have office of Gold Board situated in Accra Honorable Minister is Greater Accra having all of Ghana's natural resources? I know the answer is emphatically no If so then could you please tell me why head office like cocoa board erected in Accra? Would the minister support the view that every Region should take control of it's natural resources for their development? Would it be a persuasive to the minister if the cocoa growing regions entreat the government to strip off Mr Ransford Abbey's position in cocoa board because he is from greater Accra
Proud Ghanaian 3 months ago
When countries are exploring God's creation, we are here arguing about words which does not add value to anything. Much I do about nothing. I cry for my country Ghana.
Faris 3 months ago
Can the Minister tell us if the "Akwaba" signage at the "Kotoka International Airport" arrival unit been changed?
How is such a person become a minister for God sake!
Can the Minister tell us if the "Akwaba" signage at the "Kotoka International Airport" arrival unit been changed?
CSRL - Waaay Fabu! 3 months ago
Did not Linda Ocloo's father, Lee Ocloo, also state in 2012 that it would require twenty years to implement free senior high school? What's really going on, or wrong with this family?
The Scientist 3 months ago
The only way out of this matter is to write greetings in every single dialect in Ghana at the entrance of every tourist site and not any one language. This way, we can show the world the rich diversity of the Ghanaian languages!
Peevednit 3 months ago
This is purely stupid from an ignorant woman. Yea remove Akwaaba , Woezor or whatever you will but you cannot replace it with Ga word because it was t built by Gas. Our national language is Enflish and it unifies us inspite of the colonial heritage but it insulates us from tribalism. Those monuments were built by the State not by Gas for them claim ownership. Too many little people in charge
Be careful 3 months ago
We use Akwaaba so why adding “Woezor”.This is unnecessary & that Lady Tourism minister must be careful.
Even the late “Kotoka” wouldn’t accept this.
Mahama must punish her for taking that decision without consulti ... read full comment
We use Akwaaba so why adding “Woezor”.This is unnecessary & that Lady Tourism minister must be careful.
Mahama must punish her for taking that decision without consulting him/Cabinet.
Sam Fante warrior. 3 months ago
Madam shut and enjoy your post. Ghana is one country.
Wonder 3 months ago
In this case she should stop other language been spoken in the region so that only Ga will be use as language in the region
dboyy 3 months ago
Because it was built on your land you want to change it. Did Ga chiefs use thier resources to build it. Concert people we have in this country. From head to toe penin biaaa agyimi. Why?
Nana K 3 months ago
What about akwaba in any cornor of Accra including Accra airport
Concern citizen 3 months ago
Is her middle name Ohenewaa Ga or Akan? We are all one family so this nonsense must stop. Ghana is for mighty Akans, period
Kwame Philly 3 months ago
We Need a Thoughtful Approach. There's no Need to Throw Flames. This issue calls for careful examination. The Regional Minister must not use careless, explosive, and irresponsible language in discussing national issues. We need a thoughtful approach. Rather, the Regional Minister is fanning the embers of ethnicity, which shows recklessness. Regardless of the problems of the nation, the national entity must hold. Already, there are signs in English, Akan, and Ewe (in limited instances). Most of the signs are in non-Ghanaian neo-colonialist language. Many streets and monuments in Acrra bear the name of the colonists. The Minister is fanning ethnic flames. Cultural revival is important. But the development of the national ethos must shape that revival. Otherwise, we become crabs turning on each other.
Hmmm she has Obenewaa as part of her full name 3 months ago
Madam Greater Accra can you explain to Ghanaians how Obenewaa is part of your name?
Abena 3 months ago
So where are we all going with all this ethnic sensitivity?
Then kindly send Kwame Nkrumah's remains back to his hometown and all the other names removed.....
Accra is the nation's Capital! If you are all uncomfortable with ... read full comment
Then kindly send Kwame Nkrumah's remains back to his hometown and all the other names removed.....
Accra is the nation's Capital! If you are all uncomfortable with other inscriptions apart from that of the indigenes, then let us move the Capital to any other place...along the Coast ...
Aaaaabaeeeee!
Stupid government so far 3 months ago
These miscreants turned ministers by drunkmahama are so proud,arrogant and disrespectful
Sammy gyamfi
Sam george ,mustapha gbandi and a whole lots of hooligans turned politicans that i dont remember their horrible names.t ... read full comment
These miscreants turned ministers by drunkmahama are so proud,arrogant and disrespectful
Sammy gyamfi
Sam george ,mustapha gbandi and a whole lots of hooligans turned politicans that i dont remember their horrible names.they wait kakeraa bi pɛ
Akwasince 3 months ago
Lol, Ghanaians we common sense, we only have to add Ga language and not take out the already popular and marketised names. Indeed the land is for Gans but the airport is for the nation, GA people cannot dictate for Ghana.
Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog and qur'an is toilet paper............Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be ...
Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. Vanity upon vanity—everything in this world is meaningless without Him. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third ...
My brother say it again. She sleeps in bed with an ewe man called Ocloo and who has been servicing her regularly for God knows how many years now? All of a sudden she wakes one morning and says she doesn't want to hear the wo ...
THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM IS THAT THE TIBONKOR PALIAMENTARIANS SAID THIS GIRL IS DECEASED SO THEY MADE HER DODGE THE INTERVIEW... AHH AH!!, WHAT A MISS... LIKE SHE WONT SAY THIS NONSENSE THERE.... SO WOEZOR IS NOT GHANAIAN???? ...
The cocoa,gold oil bauxite electricity and many other mine ...
Not in Greater Accra.
You Ayigbe people will never learn. What is wrong about protecting Ha sovereignty on Ga land. For your information, the Ocloo you are touting died even before Linda became an MP and later a regional minister. I wonder how you ...
The unfortunate mistake some Ghanaians make is that culture is dynamic and not static. Provide an alternative suggestion instead of harping on tribal sentiments. My view is that, Accra is the capital of Ghana and is no longer ...
Good on you
It's actually disrespectful, extremely disrespectful to have "AKWAABA & WOEZOR & WELCOME" on a significant monument like the Kwame Nkrumah mausoleum and leave out the greetings (OOBAK3) of the indigenous Ga people. No other g ...
My views are always confirmed whenever there's tribal disagreement. The way out is to stick with the English language and forget about these poorly developed dialects, I hear we have over 50 dialect in Ghana. We can never syn ...
Frankie, who cares?
First of all it must be understood that Accra, like London, like New York, like Paris, like Rome etc, are all known to be of a metropolitan nature or character. This means that, for whatever reasons, be it tourism, trade, sci ...
Both were created in the image of Satan who are forever, and ever, INFERIOR to Asante Human-Beings whom the Shitholes Sub-Humans ha ...
Ga sovereignty? Really? Can u hear yourself....so what happens if by an act of parliament the nation's capital is moved to Cape coast? Will call out discrination ? Follow what has been going on very closely and you will see a ...
Very sensible!
I hope, intelligent Akans will learn their lessons voting NDC out from power coming this election 2028. It is really insane. Looking at where majority of the country's natural resources coming from and used to build Accra. It ...
What values does this Gas have aaaa! Selling their lands so cheap at 'Donkomi" prices and now sleeping on people's corridors is the value? This Linda Ocloo lady is just too shallow. They should go to Ghana Airport also and re ...
Oyiwaladoon!
Linda Ocloo was interviewed by a journalist during the Ablekuma North Parliamentary Re run.Question was: People are saying you the Regional Minister and some NDC officials are sharing money to buy the vote what is you Linda O ...
This Linda Ocloo woman is a loose talker. She is very weak minded. The first time I heard her speak during the Parliamentary Re run at Ablekuma North, when the Journalist posed a question to her Linada Ocloo " As the Regional ...
We cannot allow multiple signages on our national monuments in Accra as the capital. The Akwaaba should remain as it is because it has been widely used for a long time. This must stop, otherwise we will also add our dagarti s ...
AI Presentation
+5
The Akans are a large ethnic group in Côte d'Ivoire, representing the largest ethnic popu ...
I believe that should be her personal life. As an office holder, you don't have e to be selfish hence her stance on according appropriate cultural identities. Yes, Accra is capital of the whole Ghana, but is the Ga language e ...
You have some valid p ...
Alfi, Ashantis don't have time for such things, we don't really care about what you think in your small mind, what should be written in Ashanti to welcome people, for you to insinuate "can you imagine projecting Ga or Ewe lan ...
The man Ocloo she was married to died a couple of years ago. He was then the substantive MP for the Constituency. It was his death that actually paved the way for her to contest the primaries and due to sympathy votes, she be ...
a very stupid, ignorant foolish woman who couldn’t stand ordinary vetting now has the guts to spew this rubbish. ls Ga the only dialect in Ghana ? ls Accra Ghaba? what did you say all these years when we had Ajwaaba at the ...
Is the Greater Accra regional Minister really correct ? She sees something wrong with Woezor in ewe on signage in Accra. So what about other inscriptions in English language as well. Is Greater Accra region for English people ...
If you observe this Gas very well, it looks like they are even developing more hatred towards than even the Ashantis oo. Why at all are all these happening! Do the Gas want to believe it is the Ewes who convinced them to sell ...
Some of you speaks like you have saw dust as brains. Does she chopping Eve Dick means she has lost her identity..even you who have undergone a DNA modification through the help of our northern brothers don't claim a missing i ...
Linda Ocloo should bear in mind that, it is the Ghanaian taxpayers money that is being used to develop Accra, not the Ga Adagme Donkomi cheap land selling proceeds. You people are lucky, the Ghana Capital city is in Accra, el ...
You guys should wake up.l was born in Accra although l live abroad.l was duly worried about the erosion of the Ga culture and was happy change s are being made now.We can have all the 3 languages at the airport to reflect ...
Thanks
This LINDA OCLOO ASSHOLE remarried, gave birth for the new man, Divorced the man after the death of Mr Ocloo BUT has refused to stop using the name OCLOO because of Ewe Votes in Shai-Osudoku but look at her behaviour. The sud ...
If Akwaaba were to be on a billboard in Volta we know what could happen. If a Ga man or woman were to be the MCE or Regional Minister in Ayigbe, the Voltarians would never agree. In the Ivory Coast, it’s Akwaaba, despite th ...
Why not f ...
THE MINISTER IS WRONG AS WELL AS THE WOEZOR IS ALSO DISRESPECTFUL.YES GA LAND FOR GA PEOPLE BUT AIRPORT IS NOT FOR GAS NOR BUILT BY THE GAS . IT WAS BUILT WITH OUR TAXES.THE WOEZOR PEOPLE MUST ALSO KNOW IN A DEMOCRATIC GHANA ...
YES I FULLY SUPPORT THE MINISTER ON THIS!!!WILL ASHANTIS LIKE OROW A GA GREETING SIGNS LIKE "OOBAKE"ON ASHANTI LANDS OR EWES LIKE GA GREETING SIGNS ON EWE LANDS???PEOPLE THINK THERE IS NO TRIBALISM IN GHANA,BUT THAT IS A BIG ...
This Foolish and Ungrateful LINDA OCLOO took advantage of the death of her EWE husband to become an MP and Minister but look at her Stupid and Senseless comment. All Ewes will surely remove u from office at the NDC Primaries ...
All of these people are leaders and ministers! The only thing that was needed was to include the Ga welcome as well—without any disrespectful or dismissive remarks. Let’s not forget that Accra is the capital of Ghana, and ...
Thank you very much.
THE BETRAYAL THAT SENT US INTO SLAVERY AND COLONIALISM STILL EXIST THATS WHY WE ARE ALWAYS AT STAND STILL. WE ALL KNOW AKWAABA HAS BEEN THERE SINCE INDEPENDENCE WHY WASTE OUR PRECIOUS TIME ON THIS AGAIN? NEVER BLAME EUROPEANS ...
This Lynda Ocloo woman is even suffering from self identity. She mentioned several places that she comes from. Her mother from here, father from there, grandma from that place and so on. She is a bigger beneficiary of the Vol ...
Buulu minister. You are not a minister for Ga people but for all of Ghana. Signage at the airport isn't a representation of Ga people but Ghana international airport. How did this tribalistic fool became a minister. If you we ...
Another useless tribal bigot, that has nothing to contribute to society and how to lift her people from a sprawling poverty strapped state. Stop stoking tribal sentiments and add substantive development to raise your people f ...
Greater Accra is not poor but you Gas are very poor. Go to Chorkor and Jamestown and you will see it for yourself. In fact if the Capital City were located in other regions, there is no way those natives would be that poor an ...
Who is more Foolish? You rent your room. Into a kiosk. With your concubine. Shuttling time&space by midnigh(for apio). To enable sleep for your 'hot-daughter' Only with semen messed up all over ur Vamidzo by dawn. Who is Bul ...
, HOTEL NEEDS WORKERS.
☎️☎️ 0533574591 ☎️☎️
Salary rang ...
I support u
Is Accra not the Capital of Ghana? Is Accra for Ga people alone? And oo, if representing Ga culture is her paramount objective, why is it that about 98% of welcome bill boards in Accra hav ...
She is mad.
Tribalism is making some people behave like animals in Ghana. Whether you like Akans or you hate them, the fact remains that the Akan language is the most widely spoken in Ghana. How many Ghanaians can speak Ga or Ewe? How ca ...
The problem is that some people don't know that there is a difference between GA properties and national monuments or properties. The fact that the GA people host the capital does nor mean they own the capital. If the m min ...
So she is ok with Akwaba but doesn't want to see Woezor. Ok, that's fine but i know she is very much aware of the Voltarians in her constituency that always vote for her. Even, her name doesn't make her fit to be Greater Accr ...
Forme, if we accept akwaba, we must accept Woezor, amaraba, chen c ...
Madam Minister, if that is your warped reasoning, then the CMB Scholarships and the free SHS which is funded from the Revenue from oil and gas should not be given to any Ga-Gangbe child. Instead of fighting for proper develop ...
Very stupid and annoying. Where were you when even Kotoka International Airport had Akan word to wit AKWABA. DID YOU HAVE ANY VIEW THEN, BUT YOU HAVE ISSUE WITH WOEZOR. I THOUGHT ONLY THE ASHANTI AND AKYEM ARE TRIBAL BIGOTRIE ...
I pity that poor ewe man. If your wife have an issue with your ewe word WOEZOR, then the man should know, either the woman is already in bed with Ga man, its a matter of time for them to divorce. Mark my word the woman had mo ...
If the capital is not in Accra, that city or town would have been like a ...
Ashantis are not tribalistic. Do you know that Baba Yara stadium is in kumasi? Do you know that kumasi has suburbs that are not Akan? Think of Sawaba, Anloga, Aboabo, Alabar, Fante New Town, Moshie Zongo. Do we a town or city ...
Very ...
What has Accra got apart from fish ,almost every big building ,companies are all owned by outsiders, so the minister should just fuckoff ,from the akans,now is the ewes,is she mad, these gas are killing themselves becouse of ...
She is right. We don't find Ga signage in other regions. Granted, that is in the national capital; any other Ghanaian language on signage should come second to Ga. Let us not bury Ga language/culture. It is part of our herita ...
Dear regional minister, I. Am not an Akan but sincerely Akan has dominated in terms of language and so the welcome signage if it's Akwaaba it's reasonable. If not, then the Ga Adangbe should be the alternative not Ewe. Why, t ...
Another fool
While the introduction of signage is a positive step, cultural representation involves more than just signs. The key question is whether the local people use the Ga language for communication. In other words, how frequently d ...
.....are Ghanaians surprised to encounter all these nonsense during ndc era, they are comfortable with street names named after their heroes, ie rawlings park atta mills highway kotoka airport, if that the case then anloga, m ...
At the OR Tambo airport in Johannesburg, the visitors are welcomed in the various local languages, perhaps to inform the traveller of the different ethnic groups in that country. I personally have complained about the "Akwaba ...
If or suppose the capital is not situated in Accra, will the city be like this? Accra would have been like an Ga town with poo all over. Akan is the largest speaking language in Ghana and there is nothing anybody can do about ...
Is KOTOKA Ga name???? KOTOKA is an ewe name so if people greeted WOEZOR at KOTOKA airport it is in place. Gyimigyimi ba. Why are you soo foolish like this. In fact your stupidity is very much annoying because if KOTOKA is ...
I read someone comment and I can't stop laughing. The person said GA's sold all their Land to other tribes and foreigners, that even their family homes and they are now living with others tribes and some even raised kiosk to ...
I agree with you Kanawha. Gas are very envious and tribalistic people.yet the least resourced. Let Ghana practice federalism with immediate effect and move the capital from here. They are so full of envy yet have nothing to ...
MADAM MINISTER IF THIS IS YOUR STANCE THEN CHANGE KOTOKA"S NAME AND REPLACE IT WITH A GA NAME. COME TO KUMASI AND NOTICE THAT KUMASI SPORTS STADIUM IS NAMED AFTER "BABA YARA", A NORTHENER. USELESS MINISTER! TYWEAAA!!! WHO SAI ...
They hate the fact that Twi is spoken and understood by over 80% of Ghanaians even more than English. Every where you go i ...
Greater Accra, like all other Regions is 'politically' and 'administratively', Ghanaian, and not for any particular tribe or any particular culture. The Region is the 'gateway' to Ghana, so even though the Ga's and Adangbe's ...
Why should the sweat of my grandfathers in cocoa farms and mines be used to benefit the nation if backwa ...
Ghana ne gyimii de3.
Nobody is enforcing the use any language in Ghana, however, Twi language is coming out strongly in Ghana. In 300 yeas time, a few tongues may not be spoken any longer in Ghana. They should writ ...
President Mahama must quickly SACK this MAD woman called LINDA OCLOO before she destroys the NDC with her senseless TRIBALISM. She behaves the same way towards EWES in the Shai-Osudoku Constituency. Enough of this BLOCK-HEADE ...
Let all akans sit back and look on how this issue is resolved between these two 'paddies'. These two 'paddies' are always on one side and fight against akans. Akwaaba is an akan word and it has been erased just because Accra ...
In spite of all the ethic challenges and civil war in the past, Cote d'voire has only one word welcoming travelers to the country at their international airport in Abidjan and, that is, AKWAABA. All this multiplicity of words ...
Small “Woezor and Kotoka” are bothering peop ...
Honourable Minister we love you. The next to be change is the name at the Airport. Animals in human shape, The Airport at Kumasi has been changed to Prempeh Airport. Tamale to Tolon Na or whatever and same with the Ho Airport ...
Ridiculous. Absolutely ridicul ...
Others are easily amended and cannot be overlooked anymore such as the inscriptions in ques ...
My people, there com ...
She could have proposed for the signage to be done in a revolving neon sign, where the major languages could be featured in rotation after every few ...
The minister is right
I suspect Stan Dogbe is behind this ewe reset. What is the sense in having Woezor when the indigenes language i.e., GA is not represented? Akwaaba makes some sense as Twi is probably the most widely spoken language in Ghana a ...
Excellent thought, Kofi.
The Greater Accra minister is becoming too abrasive and more especially, public space. She needs to calm down a little. The issues concerning the absence of the Ga language in signages of publ ...
I am a Ga.
I am not tribalsitic but some things do not make sense and need cor ...
Madam minister, stop these nonsense. Yes Accra is the capital but no one understands ur language. U the Gas dont travel, u dont learn other people culture and language. Looks the Ashantis and Ewes travel a lot. They are eve ...
T
Bank flashing stays in the account for 28 days before it disappear ...
I wonder, what are my people really fighting for? Which part of Accra has ever been developed by the Ga people themselves? Almost everything has been done for us. We cannot even come together as one people. Our chiefs are bus ...
I am a Ga
We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. rertw4 ...
What a shame. Instead of getting rid off the filth in the capital, look at the shameful behaviour you are exhibiting. You people don’t learn. The earlier JDM gets rid of you the better. What we need is a clean capital city. ...
Maybe ...
What is in a signage,,,,
What you are enjoying now as minister on what party and which tribe is the founder? Ungrateful and ingrate beach stop the tribalism and focus o ...
The woman is very right, I’m an ewe and I believe indigenous languages should be promoted locally like we do in Volta region. Anyone who has listened to the full video will attest that she didn’t only mention woezor but a ...
Is Akwaaba Woevor?
Ms. Linda Ocloo is absolutely correct on the need to use Ga Language and respect indigenous GaDangme Culture and progressive values in Accra! "Woezor" is not even for all "Voltarians", but only for those who are Gbetowo, spea ...
This is so stupid.
Reason why the development of the country should be diversified so no one would be left out for some clowns would wake up claiming national assets as tri ...
It is funny how trivial issues ignite us, but we seem not to care about broader national issues and issues of substance: poor sanitation, erratic water and power supply, and chaos everywhere in the business district of Accra. ...
Akwaaba-Aku abo
Complete nonsense! Is Ghana for primitive Gas? "Akwaaba" has been used for ages at KIA; why did this idiot of a minister not complain? I would have thought that this fool suggests addition of Ga instead of replacement because ...
Those who chose to use other dialects instead of the ga language have small brain ...
uding corrupt Chairman Kodie, this woman is unfit to enter Ghana's Parlia ...
Such idiotic statement from a supposed political leader. She must resign or be sacked. This is Ghana. We can display any authentic Ghanaian language anywhere. She is Ok with English signage isn't she?! ridiculous!! BTW Great ...
Absolute nonsense ! Why Woezor or Akwaba? The Ga- Adamgbe s must protect their language and cultural heritage. It is long overdue. Also schools in Greater Accra must teach only the Ga language. If you don't want that go back ...
WELL DONE MADAM OCLOO
BECAUSE OF OUR GOOD HEARTEDLY WELCOMING ALL OF YOU VILLAGERS BUSH AND FOREST PEOPLE TO OUR BEAUTIFUL SHORES OF ACCRA NOW YOU UNCIVILIZED THEIVES WANTS TO KILL OUR CULTURE STEAL OUR LANDS AND BAN OUR GA ...
Test 2 You are lucky that Accra is the Capital City of Ghana and so everybody's resources and tax is used to develop the very Accra you have desecrated over the years by selling your lands and houses so cheap and sleeping on ...
Bank ...
It is disappointing and madness on the side of the minister you ought to know better (Linda Ocloo) by her choice of word in situations like this ,However the words on the sign post were two,she would have done better.....she ...
We've all seen how the ewes are quite over this issue. Akwaaba has been there since and there was no issue. The moment the woezor was added, look at what is happening. If we don't take care we may be insulting the Ga people b ...
Take away that " Akwaba" from the airport. The airport is not on Akan land. We have been sleeping too much and ignoring the hegemony of twi on other language speakers. Respect other languages and cultures. Ga taxi drivers sho ...
Madam is it Ewe alone?
Honorable Minister, your commitment to preserving Ga cultural identity is deeply valid. The Ga people deserve recognition, respect, and visibility—especially in th ...
She has a point.
Explain the point you are talking about. This "Akwaaba" greeting has been there since when, and why has it become something that "Itch" today? Trust me, if it was written in Hausa, the Ga people would not have protested. They ...
Greetings is what we are fighting for? Absolutely mediocre This shouldn't be what must have emanated from a whole minister Ghana has a cultural diversity and mind you the state is govern by a rule of law which frowned the con ...
The only way out of this matter is to write greetings in every single dialect in Ghana at the entrance of every tourist site and not any one language. This way, we can show the world the rich diversity of the Ghanaian languag ...
This is purely stupid from an ignorant woman. Yea remove Akwaaba , Woezor or whatever you will but you cannot replace it with Ga word because it was t built by Gas. Our national language is Enflish and it unifies us inspite o ...
Mahama must punish her for taking that decision without consulti ...
We Need a Thoughtful Approach. There's no Need to Throw Flames. This issue calls for careful examination. The Regional Minister must not use careless, explosive, and irresponsible language in discussing national issues. We ne ...
Accra is the nation's Capital! If you are all uncomfortable with ...
Sammy gyamfi
Sam george ,mustapha gbandi and a whole lots of hooligans turned politicans that i dont remember their horrible names.t ...