DVLA to introduce new number plates

Read Comments Comments (55)

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL JUST FOR YOU!!! 3 months ago

God helps those who help themselves, so learn this skill in 30 days with beginner-friendly, step-by-step tutorials requiring just 2-3 hours daily. Launch Your Own Business. Start Earning Daily because You EARN from what U LEA ...

• Bug 3 months ago

This is not needed, just link Ghanacard to anyone who who owns a car and comes to do roadworthy and insurance.....the Ghana card is already centralised....so that ur car number if 25, 19, Q ,OR 13 or 14 once it is linked wit ...

• Mark 3 months ago

So those without a Ghana Card can't own cars in Ghana? How about companies with numerous fleet of cars?

• Helen 3 months ago

GR 222 AD and AD is Adenta. What about Adjiringanor and Adabraka? Don't allow any weed smoker to create confusion in 2026. We are already confused.

• Dont Insult Us Weed Smokers! 3 months ago

Stop insulting us wee smokers. The confusion is coming from your own head not the smoke. Go beg the old lady in your village to stop using your head for frontomfrom drums at 3.00o'clock in the norning and you will be fine.

• Erick 3 months ago

That's an intelligent question from you. I owe you a bottled water, okay. WhatsApp me @ 0240203075. And to add to your question. What happens if I stayed in Adenta when I bought the car but now lives at Kronom Afrantso, Kumas ...

• Pouv 3 months ago

Mr Kotey will come over to change the number plate

• Ok 3 months ago

After 9999 cars are registered at Adenta, what happens next?

• Yes 3 months ago

After GR 9999 AD, there's the option of GT 9999 AD, GM 9999 Ad and so forth.

• Isaac Kwamena Hayfron 3 months ago

Maybe they'll change the GR to GA lol

• Demetrius 3 months ago

Mr DVLA Boss you are wrong DVLA don't register vehicle with the year of manufacture but year of registeration. Please come again with with the new registration system the code GR 222 AD doesn't make sense.

• Joe Pap 3 months ago

Very well said. This new registration is just to confuse people the place of registration is not going to help in anyway. The current system is alright. This has been in existence since 2009 and has worked perfectly. Put this ...

• Eugene 3 months ago

learn to embrace new innovations and ideas and stop being stereotype.

• Abi 3 months ago

Mr kotey do u know what u are doing?why are u not adding the yr of registration on a number plate.come to dvla UK for training.

• They had their training in the US 3 months ago

How about that. The UK is not the standard for car numbering. The Ghana DVLA had their training in the US, how about that.

• Excellent 3 months ago

The number plate with the years showing accounts for the rising cost of cars and increasing imports of cars. This great move will crush the car market and bring prices down, as most people will start refurbishing and upgradin ...

• Dzoboku Nunyavi 3 months ago

The dollar can come to 1 ghc,but the Ghana man will still cheat.
    Let's learn from Uganda's system of vehicle registration.

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 3 months ago

Year of registration in Ghana or year of manufacture?

• Kaba 3 months ago

Every new head of DVLA introduces something new that will enable him do procurement/ give contract so he takes his cut. These new initiatives do not necessarily benefit the nation or car owners.

• GH8 3 months ago

@Kaba that is the bottom line. Something new so that the new guys can also line their pockets and also the party gets it share of the contract sum.
    Nothing really innovative about what they intend to bring on board. Just an ...

• Kwasi 3 months ago

Why this idiocy? Should number plates be changed anytime there is a change of government? Always Making life difficult for us? Why not start with new cars? Tired of going to dvla to queue to change our car numbers.

• Seth 3 months ago

Kwasi, i don't thinks the DVLA Boss is saying replacement of existing vehicles number plates in the whole country, reading what i thought i understand from him he says from the beginning of 1st January next year all registere ...

• Mark 3 months ago

Old cars have to be re-registered because the point of the exercise was to make it traceable.

• Isaac Kwamena Hayfron 3 months ago

What happens when I change residence?

• Erick 3 months ago

That's excellent question

• Yaw Atinga 3 months ago

The registration is not your residence but the place the vehicle will be registered. So this question doesn't come in at all.

Its a good system so let us support it.

• Kk 3 months ago

This can also help criminals to easily locate the area where their victims live.

• CB Agyeman 3 months ago

Absolutely so."A man must think before he speak This man is not thinking right.You know why?His personal interest has drawn his thinking cup.If I register my vehicle with my Ghana card,you have all my details in the system an ...

• KG 3 months ago

Is it your house that will be registered on the car?

• Yaw 3 months ago

The decision to change or reissue number plates appears unnecessary and may impose undue financial burdens on motorists. Such measures could inadvertently facilitate profiling and increase risks to individuals by making it ea ...

• Killa2 3 months ago

Go to school..you say u won't go.. proof read too..u say u won't do.. did u hear him say he will reissue new number plates? He said new car registrations from January 2026 will have the new number plates... Massa open your ey ...

• King 3 months ago

He was the same person who said he will charge 250 cedis per vehicle offences.

JDM please sack him b4 he makes NDC to lose the next election.

He is not good, his staff are complaining

• DOC 3 months ago

PROCUREMENT TENDERING IS COMING

• Thompson 3 months ago

Renewal of driving licence from B to C is now 1,600 at scc yard very bad

• kk 3 months ago

about time. that stupid practise of putting year on the number plates is why so many people drive around with dv plates anyway. they want to delay substantive registration so that when they are selling the car, they can claim ...

• Kwame 3 months ago

This reason of people delaying to register their car is not worth the new introduction. Please reconsider, Mr DVLA boss.

• Madam dog 3 months ago

You can just tell from the picture he is incompetent...what are you doing about the rickety vehicles....useless initiative,please come again

• jesus 3 months ago

Mahama and the Chief of Staff need to keep their eyes on these so called CEOs. Their offices and establishments are the BREWING PORTS of CORRUPTION. They announce these bogus and fancy ideas not for added VALUES but to sign s ...

• Kwame 3 months ago

We beg ooooo.So if I relocate from Adenta to Somanya will I have to change my number plate. Eiii!

• Kofi Seaman. 3 months ago

I believe the Ghanacard has taken care of whoever owns what. The solution is to strictly enforce registrations with the Ghanacard. The present plate is fine. Do not tamper with it.

• judischrislam 3 months ago

Why don't use Vehicle Identification number also known as the VIN number to register a vehicle to the owner. VIN number also helps in identifying the date it was manufactured, the type of vehicle and its original color.

T ...

• 123 3 months ago

That's not safe. Cars like Hyundai Elantra and Toyota will easily be stolen.

• Efo Kofi 3 months ago

KWAASHIAA as if he is working nonsense

• Kwame panin 3 months ago

chop chop chop chop chop chop

• Kwame Takyi 3 months ago

They should start like GR 14 AA since we hv register number A already, then at start of 2027 GR 44 AB in that order to AZ before we start BA to BZ iand it continues

• Kaba 3 months ago

When the previous DVLA boss assumed office, he announced a compulsory Zoomlion toeing service fee for all cars. When the public rejected the deal he then announced a compulsory supply of number plate, jack and triangle by Zoo ...

• Sasabonsam 3 months ago

What needs to be changed is the practice of associating a number plate permanently with the vehicle. Instead, the number plate should be associated with the registrant. As it’s the practice in Ghana now, for example if I re ...

• Kojo 3 months ago

How was this man appointed at all. He appears to be a walking confusionist. Anytime he opens his mouth it is confusion he brings out.

• kk 3 months ago

The other thing tht needs to be changed is adding the year of registration to the number.That is what is making a lot of people reluctant to register their cars.Association of the number to the year should be something intern ...

• Eric Kodi 3 months ago

Please show courtesy when writing surnames of people you report on. Stop the disregard for surnames which are supposed to start with a CAPITAL LETTER. Dont be lazy!!!!

• Putting a fresh coat of paint on a shack with shaky foundation 3 months ago

The DVLA’s decision to introduce new vehicle number plates in 2026 may look like progress on the surface, but it misses Ghana’s deeper governance and planning challenges.

In countries such as the Netherlands, reforms o ...

• Jack Toronto 3 months ago

The new number plates must be printed by the DVLA only, and not to be handled by individuals in a private shops. In some developed countries, number plates are produced by the authorities unlike in Ghana where ordinary artisa ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

Such a senseless reform , this dvla boss behaves like he knows it all, show me s country that keeps changing its car number plates if its not for corruption reasons. Deal with the real problems on the ground and stop tjis us ...

• Create loot abd share 3 months ago

For what reason? This makes no sense, just anorher create loot and share. A crony is waiting for the contract. Sad mother Ghana

• Analystl 1 month ago

The problem these new vehicle number plates will solve is not visible. What is unique about a vehicle bearing the mark of the region and district it was registered in? The only thing I can see this achieve is an offer to thos ...