Krachi East yam farmers face crisis as prices plunge

Read Comments Comments (14)

• Abi 4 months ago

Sell it to schools and colleges u can make it.The government will only help when u do that.or make it into powder and sell it to other countries who eat pounded yam.make it into chips and freeze it to sell.

• Kojo Kankam 4 months ago

Excellent idea

• Paa Pee 4 months ago

Yams are highly perishable is grossly over priced so be happy and sell sell sell so that the poor can stop eating too much gari and eat yam too.

• Sister Souljah 4 months ago

Meanwhile a box of yam(about 10 tubers) cost about $170 in NYC.

• Concerned citizen vigilante 4 months ago

False reportage.
    100 tubers of yam as we speak now is averagely Ghc 2,000.

• Concerned citizen vigilante 4 months ago

@Sister Souljah,
    It costs a lot of money to ship yam to north America and Europe.

This is a break down:
    *A 40ft container to NYC takes 1,200 boxes of 25kg packaged yam
    *Each box contains an average of 12 tubers of yam ( ...

• You don't need physical cash tin dollars to import 4 months ago

You nailed it. You're definitely an exporter somewhere in the Bronx. Awesome write up.

• Voice of the people 4 months ago

100 tubers for 4000 is still expensive. It means one tuber is GHC40. At least one tuber should be going for GHC10 to GHC20 so the average Ghanaian can afford

• KB 4 months ago

Massa, the guy says 100 is costing Ghc2000. And you are still saying 100 is Ghc4000. eeebei

• Greed 4 months ago

Go back t0 shool . It is 4 cedis

• Lordma 4 months ago

This a lies why are selling 100 pieces of yams for 400 ghana cedis who does that Massa it not true

• B I P 4 months ago

Na dolla falls abi. so so yam price. De governor stabilises yam price and abokyi de cry. Sorry oooo!

• Big Joe 4 months ago

It's the appreciation of the cedi,when the dollar depreciates the end results,eye-zu

• Abi 4 months ago

Ok if the export will not help why not take them in trucks to hop sell from town to cities then schools to restaurants, canteen, school feeding pls let's look after ourselves before exports.