i think the Minister should reach ou to BEIN Sport who offer very cheap subscription to their client. i watch them on a different
platform here in Ghana.
i think the Minister should reach ou to BEIN Sport who offer very cheap subscription to their client. i watch them on a different
platform here in Ghana.
Benji 4 months ago
Hard working Dzata.
jesus 4 months ago
Sorry but we don't live in a dictatorial state! This knuckle head 'Dough Boy' needs to get that into his head. That secondary school military thoughts of my way or 'aluta' only lead to deceit and mass confusion. Negotiations are about working out solutions, not instructing others on 'take it or leave it' episodes. Costs for replacements could be worse. I doubt if 'Dough Boy' is smart enough to think that.
fool 4 months ago
I was looking for a fool like you here with slavery mentality!
Emma Kofi 4 months ago
It means if canal take over are we going to buy a new decorder ?
Nii 4 months ago
Ghana belongs to Ghanaians. If you don't obey the system. Please you better move
Mike Oppong 4 months ago
This is pay per view, if you can't afford don't sign on. Foolishness all the time in Ghana
Benji 4 months ago
When prices come down thanks to the minister, please continue to pay the old price. Ofui.
Eli 4 months ago
@Benji. Thank you. He fool pass
Kobby11_11 4 months ago
Having a dstv product is a privilege, and not a right. If the clients think its too expensive, they can find alternative digital services. Dstv isnt forcing anyone to buy their products. We are not in a price control regime. Its a free market.
Truth Corner 4 months ago
Jesus is the truth.
All should seek Him and live.
Jesus is the truth.
Simeon London 4 months ago
I don't think it would be right to force DSTV out. Allow more competition so the subscribers enjoys. The Minister's argument on population size and appreciation of the cedi isn't enough to ask for a 30% reduction in DSTV package prices.
Why is the government not leading by example and reverse the 14.7% increase of electricity tariffs because the ceid has appreciated? Why is the government not reducing duty and taxes so we can buy cars cheap like they do in Togo and Nigeria?
DSTV earns in cedis but pays for much of its content, satellite capacity, and sports rights in USD.
When the cedi strengthens, the same GHS price yields fewer USD than DSTV’s earlier budgeting assumed.
A 30% cedi price cut on top of the currency effect could seriously shrink their USD income from Ghana.
---
2. Ghana is not DSTV’s biggest market
Nigeria (~9.7M subscribers) and South Africa (~9.3M) are the core.
Ghana’s subscriber base is smaller and less critical to total revenue, so DSTV might be tempted to risk losing Ghanaian customers rather than set a precedent for price cuts elsewhere.
---
3. MultiChoice’s pan-African strategy
DSTV is already facing declining subscribers across Africa (loss of ~3.7M in 2 years).
Management is under pressure to hold ARPU (average revenue per user) steady or grow it — not cut it sharply.
---
4. Possible middle-ground scenario
Instead of an outright 30% cut, DSTV might:
Offer temporary promotional discounts,
Introduce a “Ghana Special” package with fewer channels at lower cost,
Bundle DSTV with Showmax to claim “better value” without cutting core prices.
---
5. The regulatory gamble
If Ghana’s regulator is serious about the 30% mandate and threatens license suspension, DSTV will have to weigh:
Short-term loss of revenue in Ghana vs.
Risk of losing the entire Ghana market (brand damage, rivals moving in).
DSTV historically negotiates hard with governments — they may stall, propose compromises, or threaten to withdraw premium services rather than immediately comply.
--- Bottom line:
DSTV is unlikely to grant a straight 30% cedi price cut across all packages.
More likely, they’ll negotiate a compromise — a smaller cut or targeted reductions — to protect revenue and avoid setting a dangerous precedent for other African regulators
New order 4 months ago
Look at the level of your common sense..why is Nigerian having cheaper rate?
You obviously don't understand what I shared. There are over 9 million subscribers in Nigeria. Their revenue is higher therefore they can reduce prices. Common sense!
Ask Google to explain to you what economiies of scale. ... read full comment
You obviously don't understand what I shared. There are over 9 million subscribers in Nigeria. Their revenue is higher therefore they can reduce prices. Common sense!
Ask Google to explain to you what economiies of scale. .
fool 4 months ago
Some of Ghanaians fool see dis idiot!! are you in Nigeria? why some of us are idiots and I guessed dis fool don't have dstv sef
Emotional Fool!!!!
This is not a war between Ghana and DSTV. This is about a multinational company that operates in a free market system, with it business strategy country by country.NCA is a regulator not an autocratic l ... read full comment
Emotional Fool!!!!
This is not a war between Ghana and DSTV. This is about a multinational company that operates in a free market system, with it business strategy country by country.NCA is a regulator not an autocratic leader. Negotiation for price reduction or open up the sector for fair competition.
Use your head not emotions. Gyimiiiii!
If the government honestly thinks the economy is doing well, it should lead by example and reduce duties and taxes at the Port so we can also buy cars cheap like they do in Togo and Nigeria.
Idiot you expect me to put on my black star jersey with my Ghana flag and do what? Tell the government to reverse the 14.7% increase in electricity tariffs because the economy is doing well now. Ofui
Smiley Zafa 4 months ago
I agree with you. Ghanaians don’t understand business. The flight to Ghana from UK is more expensive than the flight to Nigeria. Have people asked why? The reason is demand and supply… simple economics. More demand will bring down prices. This Sam George thinks he can bully Multichoice with English… school boy tactics
POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI-CORRUPTION 4 months ago
How can Ghanaians trust this Evil drankard John Ford Airbus Deadgoat Dumsor Mahama. What is happening now in your government? Your appointees are sharing dollars on the streets. You and your Attorney General are Clearing all criminals in NDC under investigation. You John DrugMani Mahaliar hedges and tamperise. Bring the Airbus money you and your family stole. Where is the Brazil Ambraer Jets money you stole and where is the Ford Expedition bribe you took from the Burkinabe contractor, Kanazoe Jibril
Hannan 4 months ago
;) A lot of hot girls waiting for you ... Sexy24.mom
Nick 4 months ago
At least they should engage and negotiate the 30% reduction but it's like they are showing some supremacy here thinking Ghanaians need them more. That is not right and fair to us at all
Josiah 4 months ago
Ghanaians are paying for giving MultiChoice the monopoly. Give others the fair playing field to dislodge the recalcitrant and arrogant MultiChoice.
Mr Calculus 4 months ago
DSTV is for rich people.
Kofi Seaman. 4 months ago
Good one Hon Sam George. Ghana now have a real patriot working for the country and the people. Pls take them on and make sure they pack out if they do not meet the instructoions given to them . Who do they think they are? It can not be business as usual anymore.
Kudos Honorable. God bless you.
platform here in Ghana.
Hard working Dzata.
Sorry but we don't live in a dictatorial state! This knuckle head 'Dough Boy' needs to get that into his head. That secondary school military thoughts of my way or 'aluta' only lead to deceit and mass confusion. Negotiations ...
Having a dstv product is a privilege, and not a right. If the clients think its too expensive, they can find alternative digital services. Dstv isnt forcing anyone to buy their products. We are not in a price control regime. ...
Jesus is the truth.
I don't think it would be right to force DSTV out. Allow more competition so the subscribers enjoys. The Minister's argument on population size and appreciation of the cedi isn't enough to ask for a 30% reduction in DSTV pack ...
Ask Google to explain to you what economiies of scale. ...
Emotional Fool!!!!
This is not a war between Ghana and DSTV. This is about a multinational company that operates in a free market system, with it business strategy country by country.NCA is a regulator not an autocratic l ...
I agree with you. Ghanaians don’t understand business. The flight to Ghana from UK is more expensive than the flight to Nigeria. Have people asked why? The reason is demand and supply… simple economics. More demand will b ...
How can Ghanaians trust this Evil drankard John Ford Airbus Deadgoat Dumsor Mahama. What is happening now in your government? Your appointees are sharing dollars on the streets. You and your Attorney General are Clearing all ...
DSTV is for rich people.
Good one Hon Sam George. Ghana now have a real patriot working for the country and the people. Pls take them on and make sure they pack out if they do not meet the instructoions given to them . Who do they think they are? It ...