Rwanda emulates 'Ghanacard' as it launches national digital identification system

Read Comments Comments (65)

• Abelenkpe Mayor 4 months ago

Ghanaians now are beginning to know the value of Akuffo Addo and Bawumia

• Naa ofoley 4 months ago

NPP has no shame authoring articles barely 9 months after suffering the most disgrace any party ever suffered for being corrupt and inept

• A NATIONAL ID CARD IS AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE MAIN ID IN FRENCH SPEAKING AFRICAN COUNTRIES, AND IS COMPULSORY AS SOON AS ONE TURNS 18. IGNORAMUS PRO MAX GHANAIANS 4 months ago

RWANDA EMULATES GHANA. LOL AND RELOL. TOGO HAD THIS CARD IN EARLY 2000s.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 4 months ago

EVIL NDC OPPOSED THE GHNA CARD.

• Blue Pen 4 months ago

DELUSIONAL POLITICAL PARTY FANATICS

Such silly article. Such low thinking. Fanatical partisanship has turned adults into kindergarten kids. Is Ghana the first or only country to do a digitalized national id system and car ...

• PLEASE STOP EMBARRASSING US 4 months ago

The Plastic Card with biometric data, some including facial recognition features, eye detection, etc for personal identification has a long history. Malaysia is recognized as the first country in the world to roll it out. Pri ...

• Akwasi Noriega 4 months ago

The man who can’t afford meat is the one to bag about the big liver and lung on his plate.

• Akwasi Noriega 4 months ago

#Bragi

• Stupid government so far 4 months ago

Bitter being

• JOHN MAHAMA 4 months ago

DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA DOCTOR BAWUMIA ...

• POINT OF CORRECTION 4 months ago

Pls GhanaCard was introduced by Fmr President John Kufour. Dr Mahamudu Bawumia espoused its benefits to Ghanaians. There are even more additional benefits but NDC is using politics to embellish those advantages.

• Nii 4 months ago

there is nothing like Ghana card. Go and check your card again, it is ECOWAS CARD, what we have is the Ecowas card issued by Ghana. the history of it dates back to 1974. It was Col I K Acheampong who started it. This NPP and ...

• Onye 4 months ago

Thank you!!!!!

• CITYZEN 4 months ago

You see your foolishness ang ignorance in commenting on issues you don't know much about them. How can ECOWAS card begin in 1974 when the institution itself was established in May 28, 1975?

• ghana 4 months ago

rubbish there is nothing like ghanacwrd. lt is ECOWAS CARD . Akuffo addo was just a baboon . uselessly useless, takes credit where he had no clue. Rwanda had its own card not Esst african card . comot for dere.

• TRUTH 4 months ago

WHAT WAS THE POINT OF THAT NONSENSE WHEN THE SAME NANA ADDO/BAWUMIA GOVERNMENT ISSUED INSTANT 10000 PLUS CITIZENSHIP TO JAMAICANS AFTER SHUTTING OUT FELLOW NEIGHBOURING AFRICANS.

YOU SHOULD KNOW THIS WORLD TO UNDERSTAND TH ...

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL JUST FOR YOU!!! 4 months ago

Take action today by investing in this Skill! You EARN from what U LEARN & APPLY to solve problems; and what you earn in just one day with this skilled-service business will far outweigh the token you pay to learn this skill. ...

• Joe T 4 months ago

Sorry, this has nothing to do with Akuffo Addo. Please stop the JANDAM. This is a worldwide project sponsored by NGOS and supported by the United Nations to ensure that every citizen of the World has a digital identity by 20 ...

• AMEGAHTSE YAO 4 months ago

ALL THE ROADS LEAD TO DR. BAWUMEA . THE NEXT PRESIDENT OF GHANA . EVEN WE IN GOVERNMENT KNOW THIS . THE MAN IS THE ONE WITH IDEAS .

• Kwam 4 months ago

Seriously, we shouldn't compare our selfs to Rwanda, because they come to learn from us since the civil war but always surpass or overcome us at all times. Have we sat down to reflect or think a out this

• Alidu 4 months ago

Changing from one government to another government (NPP to NDC) has slowed down the development of Ghana. Democracy is another good for black man. NPP does not want to continue NDC projects so as NDC does not want to continue ...

• Akajatayogogo 4 months ago

Alidu, what do you mean? You don't know it was NDC who introduced Ghana Card? If you don't have go and do it,is on going.

• Anane 4 months ago

Liar from the pith of hell. Ghana card is Kufuor's baby. Why do you NDC people lie so much? Disgusting!

• RWANDA EMULATES GHANA. LOL AND RELOL. TOGO HAD THIS CARD IN EARLY 2000s. 4 months ago

A NATIONAL ID CARD IS AND HAS BEEN THE MAIN ID IN FRENCH SPEAKING AFRICAN COUNTRIES, AND IS COMPULSORY AS SOON AS ONE TURN 18. IGNORAMUS PRO MAX GHANAIANS

• Aponkye 4 months ago

NDC people and lying. Lying is in your DNA. Kufuor launched Ghanacard before leaving office, and NDC refused to continue with the program because they thought they could no longer rig elections if Ghanaians were properly acco ...

• Deji 4 months ago

Damn liar

• Issah Nuhu 4 months ago

Ivory coast had it even in the 1990's. Stop disturbing our ears that Ghana is one of the first countries to roll out its national ID.

• Why compare Ghana to Ivory Coast 4 months ago

Which English speaking country can you compare to French speaking country in terms of their systems? None
    Had it not been their civil war, Ivory Coast would be at par with some Western European countries now in terms of deve ...

• J 4 months ago

Why are many Ghanaians particularly NDC Supporters always thinking only about GhanaCard as a travelling document?It's ONLY one of the benefits. GhanaCard has more than 100 benefits that Ghanaians are trying to overlook.

• BNI 4 months ago

Some people are just plain dump. There is ECOWAS CARD boldly written on the card and yet some people still want to name it ghana card.

These ID systems are been spearhead by regional blocs. Some countries adopt early whil ...

• Kojo 4 months ago

Sorry for you. Ghana rolled ours early.
    The other countries will follow later. The Francophone countries will have to settle their issues with France before joining the ECOWAS identification wagon.

• Funny country 4 months ago

What at all is Ghana card that many are making noise of? Americans carry and most of the time their drivers license or other state IDs and even that no noise is made. Is Ghana card what is of utmost importance to the Ghanaian ...

• Co2 4 months ago

NDC will always take us backward they don't know what is development

• Government 4 months ago

Is the other way round rather my brother. Npp only steals and destroys while ndc builds and fix. Way back from kwame nkrumah days till today. The npp destroys and nothing else and so go learn your history about the npp okay. ...

• Alidu 4 months ago

Government, don't bring yourself here. In terms governing with technology, NDC does not come near to NPP while Bawumia was introducing paperless port, digital Addressing System, mobile money interoperability, online passport ...

• NONESENSE ! 4 months ago

The Francophone coubtries like Ivory Coast have had ID Cards since Independence. There is nothing too unique about ID Cards!

• Kwaku 4 months ago

You're just ignorant and not well exposed. The main purpose of GhanaCard is not ONLY as a travelling document as the Francophone are using their ID.GhanaCard can be used to improve our education ,revenue generation, security ...

• Nii Stranger 4 months ago

Ignoramus. The french speaking countries have what they called the "lasse-passe". It is nothing compared to the Ghana National ID Card. It's the ingenuity of the NPP that they tried to rope in other ECOWAS countries including ...

• Papillo 4 months ago

Rwanda are far ahead of us so please don't try to embarrass us Ghanaweb.

• You Are Very Funny ! 4 months ago

You are very funny. Dont believe the hype. Rwanda are ahead of who? 60% of the Rwanda national budget is financed by donors. Ghanaians finance 70% of their own budget. Rwanda in the scheme of things is still a Least Developed ...

• You Are Very Funny ! 4 months ago

Thank you. Please tell them. In sub-Saharan Africa there are only 4 countries relevant economically and politically to the big boys that matters.

East Africa its Kenya, Southern Africa its South Africa, and West Africa Ni ...

• Bawumia legacy 4 months ago

Thank you Dr Bawumia

• THE TRUTH 4 months ago

We are refusing to grow as a civilised society and it looks as if one political party is encouraging that.GhanaCard is 100 times more beneficial than GoldBod but some are trying to resist those benefits. It full implementatio ...

• SPOTLIGHT 4 months ago

CONTACT SPOTLIGHT AFRICA MEDIA IF YOU NEED A RELIABLE SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER,CONTENT CREATOR, BLOGGER,WEB DEVELOPER TO HELP PROMOTE YOUR UPCOMING EVENTS,CONFERENCES,WORKSHOPS,PROGRAMS OR COMPANY,BUSINESS,PRODUCTS OR SERVICES... ...

• Wait for price 4 months ago

Now wait for the price and compare with how much it is costing Ghana.

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 4 months ago

Bank ...

• Nyameba 4 months ago

Blue Pen you are a stupid fool,when NPP government was introducing the Ghana Card your so called NDC party leaders were against it telling their supporters not to register for it while Asiedu Nketia and other morons registere ...

• Tweaa 4 months ago

Asiedu Nketia was telling people not to sign for it in Ghana

• Nonsense 4 months ago

Rwanda emulates who? Why some Ghanaian journalist are so stupid ? Do you know how many years of existence of ID card in African nations before Ghana? Some of you just wake up and write nonsense. I know people in Ghana that ha ...

• Sa 4 months ago

Bawumiah is good but he lacks discipline skills

• Yaa dua 4 months ago

Full aliens.

• Iradukunda Emmanuel 4 months ago

I need job I am driving category B.C

• UK boy 4 months ago

Ndc has no brains to do something good for Ghana

• Essofah 4 months ago

It is nice that Ghana has national Identification card for its citizens, but, please, it is not something new to most of African nations, specifically the francophone countries. Since their independence days, those countries ...

• Desmond 4 months ago

Hello please I have non expired data for sale for all networks.
    10GB-30GHS
    20GB-40GHS
    30GB-50GHS
    37GB-60GHS
    please kindly call or text me if interested 0505057864

• Nii Stranger 4 months ago

Ignoramuses ! The NDC run away from parliament when the NHIS was being introduced in the house, now they shamelessly claim they started it. Today, they want to take the Ghana Card away from the NPP. What a shame. The french s ...

• Ged 4 months ago

General Acheampong rolled out a National ID system in 1970s, we did not sustain it .
    Kufuor set up the NIA in 2003, so the idea is not new

• Kofi 4 months ago

Have we solved the issues of immigration officers accepting bribes to issues Ghanaians passport to other non Ghanaians especially Nigerians. Ghana is too small to absorb overpopulated Nigerians.

• Ojatanaa 4 months ago

Npp the pace setters we will be back with more wonders

• DEPORT ALL THOSE STINKING NIGERIANS 4 months ago

THE FOOLS ARE ANGRY BECAUSE THEIR PARTY LACKS BRAIN TO IMPLEMENT
    SUCH A THING...SACRIFICE AND VANADALISM THEIR HALLMARK

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 4 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Sueyyg

• DANIEL 4 months ago

YOU DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT RWANDA. THEY STARTED DIGITALISATION BEFORE 2010. GO TO GAFCSC FOR THEIR REGIONAL TOUR REPORTS ON RWANDA.

• Hannan 4 months ago

>>> A lot of hot girls waiting for you ... Sexy24.mom

• Clauderutahamiheto 4 months ago

Nibyiza cyane

• Stupid government so far 4 months ago

Thanks to The NPP government.