4 Incidents, 35 Fatalities: Four deadly aircraft crashes recorded in Ghana's history

Read Comments Comments (41)

• NONESENSE REPORTAGE!! 4 months ago

4 of the above accidents were all airforce army crafts. The other 2 were foreign crafts. Ivorien and Nigeria.

Ghanas Aviation record concerning civilian/commercial aircrafts is impeccable.

If you want to post an article ...

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 4 months ago

NDC must render apologies to cocoa farmers because looking at the sequence of events, it appears cocoa farmers have rained curses on the NDC. The accident happened a day after announcing cocoa price and the helicopter landed ...

• islam is a false religion 4 months ago

Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog.... Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe....... you are not alone.

• Karikakchar 4 months ago

We can do with some little information on lessons learned from all these crashes

• Kwaku 4 months ago

Take your stupidity away from this platform, if you don't have anything sensible to say. Idiot.

• Gbeho Agbo 4 months ago

For your information the npp kleptomaniacs sold 327,000 tons of cocoa they didn't have at 2000 dollars a ton and cocoabod had to supply when the price the following year went to 7000 dollars a ton Ghana lost 35 million dollar ...

• YOUR ABUSE BACK TO YOU 4 months ago

You need your brain checked.

We are in mourning not in your sheer stupidity

• Not impeccable ooohhh 4 months ago

In the late 70's a Ghana Airways DC-9 crash landed at Kotoka. The carcass lay at the side of the runway for a long time.

• BUSH UNCIVILIZED THIEVING REDUNDANT GHANA LEADERS.TALK LIKE NINCOMPOOPS! IT SHALL NEVER BE WELL IN HOPELESSLY BANKRUPT 4 months ago

IT SHALL BE WELL? HM! ANOTHER KWASIA GHANAIAN "LEADER" CALLED DZIFA GOMASHIE!

DOES THIS DZIFA GOMASHIE NINCOMPOOP UNDERSTAND THE PHRASE "IT SHALL BE WELL"?

HM, IT SHALL NEVER BE WELL UNTIL YOU THIEVING NINCOMPOOP GHANA ...

• YOUR ABUSE BACK TO YOU 4 months ago

F. OFF IMBECILE

• Not accurate 4 months ago

I do remember a helicopter crash about last ten years ago. The chopper had top officials of an oil drilling company

• Jayhovah 4 months ago

Helicopters are just not safe to travel in. There has been too many fatalities. From Kobe to Nigerian millionaire are crashing in the States

• Hostage Negotiator 4 months ago

You missed one crash involving brigadier Michel of GAF in Kumasi.

• Greed and corruption/ another desaster 4 months ago

Because of greed and corruption people will buy second hand helicopters. Buy brand new the country have the money look at the presidential jet another dead trapped African wise up .

• THE GOAT WHO THOUGHT IT WAS RUINING THE WALL WITH ITS ASS! 4 months ago

Mahama bought these helicopters in 2015. Little did he know that it will come back and bite him in 2025

• Jerry 4 months ago

Military helicopters crash and kill people all over the world, including in advanced countries where they may be using newer aircraft. The Ghana Air Force is one of the best when it comes to flight safety, if an aircraft is n ...

• moose.... 4 months ago

It's painful and sad....May departed Souls rest in peace.....

However if one understands the poor nature of machinery maintenance including operations and inspections and even standardisation....

Can you imagine a count ...

• The Truth 4 months ago

In America; disasters like this are treated national one,, and both the Republican and Democrats will come together to mourn and resolve this.
    Here, animals like Take or Pay Demons will talk shit. We will still remain the w ...

• Mf 4 months ago

I quite remember somewhere in the 90s
    They was a similar Helicopter crash at our village in the north (Nyenpkala) where the UDS began operating.

It was also a military carrier, and all the passengers perish at the crash ...

• Mf 4 months ago

The fun of the Helicopter got removed and separated from the body, just above the sky's at our Makaranta and then crashed landed at the western side of Nyenpkala with a very loud boohhmm sound that send shock waves across t ...

• KH 4 months ago

Aircraft crashes with fatalities became common after the 24th. February 1966 coup that usurped the power of Osagyefo Dr . Kwame Nkrumah and his government. Truly, all our woes started on that day when people who did n ...

• Kofi 4 months ago

There was one incident that killed General Wood of the Ghana Arned Forces

• Brigadier Sabari v.2 4 months ago

There was also one Ghana Air Force crash in Kumasi in the 80's

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 4 months ago

Bank ...

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 4 months ago

- Business / corporates websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...

• Mohammed Musah 4 months ago

Did you know a plane has ever crashed in Nyankpala in the Northern Region? That was in the early 90s

• Abusuapayin K.Yeboah 4 months ago

Please kindly do a deligent research before coming public, what of the crash that killed the pilot Dwamena of Ghana Airforce at KIA?notably there was a crash in the 1960's which claimed the life of Lieutenant Okpoti and co ar ...

• I trust my Leg 4 months ago

Change all the aircraft into latest models.

• Abiola 4 months ago

GhanaWeb your history is incomplete
    On 7th August, 1982 2 Aermaachis MB 326 belonging to the GAF crashed in Kumasi killing Sqn Ldr Bannerman and Flt Lt Abukari.
    There is also the Daboasi crash of the GAF in early 70's

• Kwaku Twum 4 months ago

You are right Abiola. The Kumasi accident involving the two fighter jets happened at Wesley College. The Daboase accident happened in May 1970. The aircraft was piloted by Capt. Charles Yuri and it was on its way to Kumasi fr ...

• Kwakuo Addo 4 months ago

Don't mind them. There have ben 59 recorded accident with 80 casualties. There was one in Dormaa Ahenkro a village Called Subinkrom that was not recorded. That brings it to 60.

• Gbeho Agbo 4 months ago

You forget 2 other crashes, Ghana airways DC3 in Takoradi, 1 died and Ghana air force helicopter carrying the body of air Marshal Otu in Adukrom

• Kwaku Twum 4 months ago

Yes the DC3 accident happened at Apollo near Apremdo in 1969. The experienced white pilot jettisoned the fuel into the ocean before crash landing

• Yeboah 4 months ago

Your information is not accurate. There were 2 other accidents in the Ghana air force. One happened in the early 90s just off Ghana Togo border. It was a jet fighter. I was involved in the preparation of the salvage operation ...

• Tweaa 4 months ago

Fellow country men. , let us at this point remember the affected families and our beloved Ghana as a whole in unified prayers ,Every body see now some of the ripples of GALAMSEY , it is tearing down our country , people who ...

• Stop lootings and help build better nation 4 months ago

How people died every year Accra to Kumasi road but who cares now only 8 people,they are crying,though accidents can happen but at least they have to do something like good roads,brand new helicopters and others

• What about Brigadier J E Michel? 4 months ago

Brigadier JE Michel died at the age of 44 in 1961 following injuries he sustained in an air crash at Kumasi in the very month in which he had been due to take up appointment as the Chief of Staff of the United Nations Operati ...

• Hannan 4 months ago

>>>>>> Hot girls are waiting for you on -->>> Sexy24.mom

• POM 4 months ago

An Airforce plane crashed at the Philip Quacoe Boys School in 1966 killing all on-board.Their bodies were collected with shovels into buckets

• Emmanuel Osafo 3 months ago

It appears two GAF jets which crashed in Kumasi are forgotten. Two Ghana Air Force jets crashed in Kumasi, one on Wesley Colleage Campus and the other in a forest in Duase, a suburb of Kumasi. Residents of Kumasi would rememb ...

• Emmanuel Osafo 3 months ago

It appears two GAF jets which crashed in Kumasi are forgotten. Two Ghana Air Force jets crashed in Kumasi, one on Wesley Colleage Campus and the other in a forest in Duase, a suburb of Kumasi. Residents of Kumasi would rememb ...