Kumawu MP urges Parliament to act on crisis in Ghana’s prisons

Read Comments Comments (20)

• Tweaa 4 months ago

Thanks Mr Anim , we should respect them , love them and embrace them as our brothers and sisters

• Kweku Tsin 4 months ago

Ghana can benefit from a system called progressive sanctions, whereby all punishments for major offenses will be cataloged to bring about minimum/maximum sentencing guideline for fair and equitable punishment. Following this ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 4 months ago

Mr. Rain, I solidly support your assertion. I believe that not all crimes should be jailable . I think people with minor and non violent offenses should have their sentences commuted to strongly supervised Community Services. ...

• islam is a false religion 4 months ago

Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Prophet mohammed was a sick dog.... Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe.... .....you are not alone.

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 4 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Deeeh

• Akwasi 4 months ago

The amount used on the nationsl Cathedral could have been used to improve this inhuman state of our Pridons.

Very SAD

• Say It As It Is 4 months ago

You are right! In Ghana, there is inequality among the human population. Some people are sociologically perceived to be better than others, which is not the case in most developed nations.
    Government spends hard-earned resou ...

And do you think that the many who contributed to the Millions of Cedis would have contributed for any Prison Reforms, especially if they have been victims of such criminals? Many would not.

• JULOR CAESAR 4 months ago

Much of that Cathedral money came from Ghana government coffers. Remember former Finance Minister Ofori-Atta declared arrogantly that his government would continue using public funds to erect that cathedral, after it had been ...

• BB 4 months ago

Hon. Thanks a lot for your effort.

• Cici 4 months ago

We should have government farms settle some prisoners there in secured environment to be engaged in farming.

I don’t think that certain crimes like pilfering, domestic fights etc should warrant Prison Terms. Some crimes can be punished with Community Services and that can benefit the society. The conditions at the Prisons make som ...

• Abi 4 months ago

It's always been promises after promises.community sentence can reduce the numbers, this will give the current prison officers some work to do.,by following them to their favorite sentences.gh is dirty let them out to clean u ...

• KofSam 4 months ago

Ghana must change its penal system.
    Some of the convicts do not need incarceration at all . Some need community service, house arrest or rehabilitation or a form of punishment that does not require incarceration. If Ghana ...

• J.H.Osei Kumasi 4 months ago

MP,God Bless you .l think the judges and the government have to look up for better way for their sentences. The best way will be like say someone Steal a chicken or farm produce and a judge will sentence him or her six mont ...

• Coach 4 months ago

I fully support Hon. Ernest Yaw Anim's call for urgent prison reforms. No human being deserves to live in overcrowded, inhumane conditions—GH¢1.80 a day is unacceptable. Parliament must act now. And yes, the judiciary also ...

• Mintah 4 months ago

So what did your own party (NPP) do about this crisis between 2017-2024 when in power. Obviously nothing ... that is why you are raising this now. Was this your own ideas or were pushed by Afenyo & Anoh Dompreh?
    Sometimes it ...

• Muha 4 months ago

Mr MP for the past 8 years what have you done

• Henry D. 4 months ago

For the sake of innocent people who are in jail, the place should be welcoming and changing bad behaviour into good one.
    We need more food in Ghana, yet prisoners are congested. Why not use them for agricultural purposes wh ...

• Kwasi Addai 1 month ago

Kwasea MP, you didn't see the congestion in our prisons when you stupid people were misruling the country. Stupid.