It was in the constitution all along. What did stupid Akufo Addo say about it?. He use it finish?
DEAD GOAT MAHALIAR IS BACK 6 months ago
This professor thinks he is the smartest man around. You want to amend the constitution to prevent future NPP government from removing the Chief Justice. The precedence has already been set by Mahama, any future NPP government would remove the Chief Justice.
islam is a false religion 6 months ago
Say no to islam and convert to a real religion. Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe.... ......you are not alone.
Karikakchar 6 months ago
Objective position postula6by Kwasi prempeh. Great ideas expound. The basic challenge of the constitution is giving unfettered powers to the person occupying the position of president. Most of the provisions don't meet the requirements of equity. Now a person who obviously has interest in occupying a position is made to determine whether the incumbent should be removed or not.
AGBESI KWASI 6 months ago
The CJ should also not be so powerful that she becomes rude and arrogant towards leaders from parties she disagrees with. This CJ was very rude to JDM.
Jet 6 months ago
Are these guys so thick? The constitution removes a person not the president. When did the president remove someone? A man receives petition, forwards to council of stare who are plenty independent minds. They feel something warrants investigation. Law says u should be suspended while investigation goes on. He does that. Even the funding come back again to council of state. If you are cleared you take back ur job. What’s there not to be understood.
Asem ooo. Academic illiterates
Isaac Boamah 6 months ago
Something wrong like what? Tell us the basis and credence of your prima facie, why are you hiding?
Apraku 6 months ago
Too much power is vested in the executive in Ghana, how long are we going to live with that?
jesus 6 months ago
Our Constitution has been the same all along. However, to some of these our 'book longs' it's stipulates or interpretations depends on who is in power!
Sam 6 months ago
Interesting! I never heard u speak like this during Akuffo addo's era! I blame Mahama
Kk 6 months ago
So because you didn't hear him speak like this he shouldn't speak again? Some of you and your stupidity hmmm. Ndc animals are so intolerant and violent. Prof. was a critic of Nana Addo's govt. Perhaps you wanted him to insult like your Boss Kevin Taylor.
Kwaku 5 months ago
I agree with Prof Prempeh 100%. Irrespective of what happened in Akufo-Addo's era or what is happening now, I think the president should NOT be the person the appoint members/heads of or independent institutions, notably the SC judges and the CJ, Commissioner and Deputies of the EC, NCCE, CHRAJ, EOCO, Special Prosecuter, etc. W3 should adopt Kenya's process of appointing the heads of such agencies. But until the constitution is amended, Gertrude Torkornoo MUST go thru the existing process as prescribed by the constitution.
Pelicles. 6 months ago
It is presidents who nominate people to be approved to the courts and there is nothing wrong, but the president cannot remove the CJ on any ground whatsoever.
In the US, it is the president who nominate someone to be appro ... read full comment
It is presidents who nominate people to be approved to the courts and there is nothing wrong, but the president cannot remove the CJ on any ground whatsoever.
In the US, it is the president who nominate someone to be approved for any judicial position, but the president cannot sack them just like that.
Those who are for Mahama sacking the CJ, it is something that the entire nation will pay for in the future.
Yabi Yabi 6 months ago
Which action has President Mahama taken that usurps the constitutional process listed in article 146 or anything done by the president that suggest he intended to remove the CJ without cause?
Ex-president Akufo-Addo, who ... read full comment
Which action has President Mahama taken that usurps the constitutional process listed in article 146 or anything done by the president that suggest he intended to remove the CJ without cause?
Ex-president Akufo-Addo, who appointed CJ Torkornoo, did receive a petition against the CJ. That should tell any Ghanaian with basic common sense and logical thinking capacity that, the suspended CJ, needed supervision period. It is only fools, unprincipled hypocrites and political party junkies who do argue that because the judiciary is independent then the president should not have oversight authority over the judiciary. The question for those idiots is this; why should the legislature/parliament have the power to impeach and remove the president or vice president if the executive is independent? Why should the judiciary be the arbitor for parliament and the executive branches if the 3 branches of government are co-equal but independent?
The notion of an independent judiciary is a fallacy not borne out by facts. The president, vice president and MP's are elected, the judiciary appointed. Tell me how does one appoint/ promote anyone to a post of choice but not have authority over those appointed? If judges misbehave, are underperforming, corrupt or incompetent where should victims go to file complaints? Is it to parliament, the president or who since we are making the argument that the judiciary is independent? If we should create an office where complaints can be filed against judges then which arm of government should the watchdog agency report to? Why should the CJ who does not have the power to appoint judges have the power to discipline any judge?
So the question for the GBA, the NPP and those who talk about judicial independence is: can they explain a process that gives anyone the power/authority to appoint/promote a person but no oversight rights over his/her appointees? Who then has oversight authority over the CJ? Is the CJ then not above everyone in Ghana including the president since the CJ is the only office that has no supervision?
Ignorant NDC guy, all that is wrong is that Mallam Yohane is hiding behind the constitution to do nonsense
Kwaku 5 months ago
You are very stupid. Didn't vindictive and corrupt Akufo-Addo hide behind the same constitution to illegally remove Charlotte Osei? Look at what Akufo-Addo did to Domelevo? You guys think you are smart. If you did not find fault with what Akufo-Addo did to Charlotte Osei, then you dare not condemn Mahama because he has not breached rhe constitution. Hypocrite.
Joe 6 months ago
Prof. Prempeh has a point there. I mean- how can the judiciary become an independent arm of government when their appointment and promotion are dependent on the executive arm of government? How can the judiciary effectively become a check on the executive branch and legislature when even their budget has to be approved by both branches. And the immunity of prosecution of the president ( after their term) of criminal decision MUST also be reviewed in our constitution. We have all witness situations ( in the past) where presidents use the power of criminal immunity to shield criminal acts of their appointees.
Achakanapaya 6 months ago
Look at this Idiot. At least Martin Amidu was right. Where were you when Akuffo Addo removed Challote Osie? No wonder he is part of the NPP Criminal organisation.
Concerned Citizen 6 months ago
The stupid argument NDC keeps making. Was Charlotte Osei the Chief Justice???
Kk 6 months ago
Animal. Was Charlotte Osei the CJ?? You fools can't think. They feed you with lies and you are all over repeating the same madness.
Now Now 6 months ago
How is your JSC constituted,?
Lokpodzi University 6 months ago
This ugly creature over hear is an ANIMAL. Look at his as if he's a corpse lying in state. Horrible mobid looking creature with shallow upstairs. Moron!!!!!
Lokpodzi University 6 months ago
This ugly creature over hear is an ANIMAL. Look at his face as if he's a corpse lying in state. Horrible mobid looking creature with shallow upstairs. Moron!!!!!
Louis 6 months ago
I disagree strongly with Prof. Prempeh. The CJ is not elected into office by the people. Everywhere in this world, justces of the superior court are appointed. And these are not infallible. Accountability is one of the principles this country hinges on. Once appointed, position yourself to be fired. Prof. Premier can try other scenarios and see whether they would work. There is nothing wrong with article 146 in our constitution. This has been used by past governments including Akufo Addo without any hitches. Let's respect the Constitution. The law is the law and everybody gets the law.
Kissangani 6 months ago
So until that is amended, the president SHALL remove Esaba, he has no option once the committee recommends it and you the lawyers have been sitting with that constitution all these years until now. 'Na who cause am'???
Asakramitoga 6 months ago
He! Man don't be an npp mole of that zombie dead party
JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 6 months ago
Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Iodtf
TRUTH 6 months ago
SO WHO CAN SACK A ROGUE CJ.
THE PRESIDENT IS ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE FOR A TIME.
IT IS RIGHT FOR THE PRESIDENT TO HAVE THAT POWER.
WE WILL KICK AGAINST THIS IF THERE'S AN ATTEMPT TO CHANGE IT.
THE CONSTITUTION SHOULD ... read full comment
THE CONSTITUTION SHOULD NOT PLEASE ONE MAN.
Who can sark rogue John Mahama?
Kofi 6 months ago
This man shouldn't be talking on the suspended CJ removal process. If he's talking now, what will be his final recommendations to the president who appointed him to chair the constitutional review committee?
Nonsense
This man shouldn't be talking on the suspended CJ removal process. If he's talking now, what will be his final recommendations to the president who appointed him to chair the constitutional review committee?
Nonsense
Bastie the emperor of Kumasi 6 months ago
Ashanti tribal bigot
People with envy and inferiority complex, always angry with ascendency of Ashanti superiority
Abankus 6 months ago
Henry Akwasi Prempeh u should av called for such an amendment wen ur party was in power. U were NEVER brave to criticize nana addo even wen his government was taken us into DITCH. Such hypocrisy must CEASE
View from the Afar 6 months ago
Why did President Mahama appoint the stupid Professor Prempeh as the Chair of the Constitutional Review Committee? He does not respect the president and is an NPP member. Please he should be removed immediately from that post.
Paul Kumi 6 months ago
These guys like HH Prempeh never change. They are always around to deceive. In the US it is the president who nominates and with the approval of the senate he is appointed. What we do here in ghana is a mirror reflection of what pertains in the US. Today, because a certain Torkenoo is on the brink of removal, hell is breaking loose and so the constitution must be amended. What arrant dishonesty!!!!
indeed it is not the president who removes the CJ from power. It is the constitution which spells out the procedure when any such matter comes up. the offences that must be proven and which shall lead to the removal of a CJ are stated misbehaviour, infirmity of mind and incompetence. How does a president fabricate any of these charges to remove a CJ if indeed the said CJ has not been caught in the web of any of the three conditions which underscore any such removal. Lets look sharp, these guys are real wolves and always ready to protect one of their own no matter how messy the said person has conducted himself or herself.
We have always been living with this constitution. the article 146 of the constitution has been and many have fallen on the said sword of the article. these saints did not find anything wrong with it. Today they are on rooftops trumpeting and creating the impressions that they dod not hear the beleaguered CJ say the law is the law. Shame on all of us
Hannan 6 months ago
~~~~ A lot of hot girls waiting for you -- Sexy24.mom
ABREWA 6 months ago
Intelligence has spoken. How can a President who is sworn into office by the Chief Justice, turn round and remove him or her. Very ridiculous. It makes no sense.
Too many stupid minds in this satanic NDC party.
Intelligence has spoken. How can a President who is sworn into office by the Chief Justice, turn round and remove him or her. Very ridiculous. It makes no sense.
Elder 6 months ago
Do your work and stop wasting our ears
Pee 6 months ago
Masa we are not in Kayen
Justice 6 months ago
Thank you but we'll review it after Torkornu is gone. If GOOD does not matter, BD too does not matter same.
Oklemekuku 6 months ago
People like these are Ghana's problem; academia and the so-called experts.
Ujah 6 months ago
The narrow minds of same of our so called leaders is a problem Ghana n Ghanaians must fight to fix before we proceed to do anything. Kwasia, it is that same power that was given to her n she misused.
Major 6 months ago
So many fake professors from the Ashanti bush kingdom.
Justice One 6 months ago
I always wonder why despite all these presidential powers of appointment in the 1992 Constitution, only NADAA is accused of abusing them. JJR (for whom it was made) JAK, JEAM, JDM all before NADAA did not seem to have abused the appointment powers. Even removal of a guaranteed appointment was done by NADAA. Prof Prempeh should be careful, a change will not bring a bigger monster process on these appointments.
He is trying to say that the constitution has given Mallam Yohane enough room to fool about
Rory 6 months ago
On what basis did Mahama appoint this man as the Chairman of the constitutional review committee?
He doesn't come across as neutral. Where was this man in Akuffo Addo"s time?
He should be replaced with a more neutral pers
On what basis did Mahama appoint this man as the Chairman of the constitutional review committee?
Sly 6 months ago
Unless you were not following he was very vocal and criticized the NADAA administration though he nerve hid his admiration for the NPP
Rory 6 months ago
He should be replaced on the committee with a m ... read full comment
He should be replaced on the committee with a more neutral person.
This professor thinks he is the smartest man around. You want to amend the constitution to prevent future NPP government from removing the Chief Justice. The precedence has already been set by Mahama, any future NPP governmen ...
Objective position postula6by Kwasi prempeh. Great ideas expound. The basic challenge of the constitution is giving unfettered powers to the person occupying the position of president. Most of the provisions don't meet the re ...
Are these guys so thick? The constitution removes a person not the president. When did the president remove someone? A man receives petition, forwards to council of stare who are plenty independent minds. They feel something ...
So because you didn't hear him speak like this he shouldn't speak again? Some of you and your stupidity hmmm. Ndc animals are so intolerant and violent. Prof. was a critic of Nana Addo's govt. Perhaps you wanted him to insult ...
I agree with Prof Prempeh 100%. Irrespective of what happened in Akufo-Addo's era or what is happening now, I think the president should NOT be the person the appoint members/heads of or independent institutions, notably the ...
In the US, it is the president who nominate someone to be appro ...
Ex-president Akufo-Addo, who ...
You are very stupid. Didn't vindictive and corrupt Akufo-Addo hide behind the same constitution to illegally remove Charlotte Osei? Look at what Akufo-Addo did to Domelevo? You guys think you are smart. If you did not find ...
Prof. Prempeh has a point there. I mean- how can the judiciary become an independent arm of government when their appointment and promotion are dependent on the executive arm of government? How can the judiciary effectively b ...
I disagree strongly with Prof. Prempeh. The CJ is not elected into office by the people. Everywhere in this world, justces of the superior court are appointed. And these are not infallible. Accountability is one of the princi ...
THE CONSTITUTION SHOULD ...
Nonsense
Ashanti tribal bigot
Why did President Mahama appoint the stupid Professor Prempeh as the Chair of the Constitutional Review Committee? He does not respect the president and is an NPP member. Please he should be removed immediately from that post ...
These guys like HH Prempeh never change. They are always around to deceive. In the US it is the president who nominates and with the approval of the senate he is appointed. What we do here in ghana is a mirror reflection of w ...
Masa we are not in Kayen
I always wonder why despite all these presidential powers of appointment in the 1992 Constitution, only NADAA is accused of abusing them. JJR (for whom it was made) JAK, JEAM, JDM all before NADAA did not seem to have abused ...
He should be replaced on the committee with a m ...