National Day of Prayer is pointless when leaders are corrupt – Imam

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Yaw Aboabeng 6 months ago

Sensible talk, but will they listen to wisdom?

• Sethoo 6 months ago

Chief Imam would not say this if Dr Mahamudu Bawumia is the President. He knows even spiritually that the guy is Honest.Mahama has soiled his name long ago,he Chief Imam don't trust him.

• Bob the Marley 6 months ago

This is the difference. In Christianity., it is the corruption people and evil doers that are rather suppose to pray more and seek God.

It is the sick that needs a doctor.

• TWEAA DC 6 months ago

THE FACT THAT THE TRADIONALISTS WERE NOT INVITED MADE THE WHOLE SHOW USELESS....GOD ABHORS DESCRIMINATION AND THE SHOUTING OF DUNCAN WILLIAMS WILL NOT REACH ANYWHERE NEAR THE ALMIGHTY GOD....TWEAA.

• Taami 6 months ago

Religion has now become the camouflage that bad people wear to freely commit sin.

• Taami 6 months ago

Can any honest God-respecting person deny what the Imam is quoted as having said?

• A GREAT SUMMARY OF WHY GHANA IS FAILING IN SPITE OF A VERY VISIBLE AND OUTWARD DISPLAY OF TREMENDOUS RELIGIOSITY EVERYWHERE. 6 months ago

There is more prayer (even fasting) and public worship in Ghana probably more than half of all the nations in the world put together but as the Imam rightly pointed out Prayer and public worship of God can never be a substitu ...

• JESUS IS GOD 6 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...

• Jona 6 months ago

Very well said.Instead of National day of prayer, could we rather make it a national day of anti corruption,teaching the youth to disrespect unexplained wealth,looting and plundering? Ghanaians are so hypocritical.STOP RESPEC ...

• Francis 6 months ago

The Imam is 100% correct. I can not agree with him more. So well said!!

• Geeman 6 months ago

Those countries mentioned above are smart thieves they come to Africa to steal and go develop their countries.

• Hanyevi 6 months ago

We steal from Ghana and go to develop other countries.

• Francis 6 months ago

@Geeman. They come and steal because we are stupid. We are busy praying and they are busy looting our resources. So tell me who is more intelligent?

• Hanyevi 6 months ago

Perfectly good point.

• Bam ! Chief Imam ! 6 months ago

Well said Sir !!!

• Kakaweadwe 6 months ago

The pastors who prayed are even corrupt.

• Concern Citizen 6 months ago

I agree with lmam 100%.We should declare a day of repentance and a change of heart rather than a day of prayer. We are a nation of hypocrates, corrupt, greedy and selfish people. God will not come down to help us unless we ch ...

• Ama 6 months ago

Correct.The Organisers of the programme lack the moral right to have called for National Prayers and Thanksgiving Day.

• How do you get saved? 6 months ago

Believe in the Lord Jesus and you will be saved. That is the ONLY way to salvation.

• Kunta 6 months ago

Merely believing in Christ can never and will never save you.

If you want to be saved as you put it then abide by God's rules simple. Accept God as you only God and do to others as you want others to do unto you. That's al ...

• Kunta 6 months ago

Tithe not tight

• Daavi 6 months ago

I couldn't agree with you more Imam. It better be changed to National Anti-corruption Day. Sounds more better.

• Joe 6 months ago

Gh web. Your heading does not con respond to what the Imam said. Do justice to the Imans' advice for once please!!!

• KD 6 months ago

If you lack wisdom, that's when you think prayer and fasting is the answer. These criminal misleaders know exactly prayer is not the answer, yet they do this just to Ghanaians to conceal their criminal activities. This is bec ...

• Donatus 6 months ago

Just look at all those persons accused of malfeasance and ask yourself if they don't go to church or mosque to pray. We are the same criminals.

• Kutu 6 months ago

Ghanaians should just stop respecting unexplained wealth and Ghana would be on the path of real growth.Respecting looted wealth is just the bane of our underdevelopment.

• Jimmy, 6 months ago

Nation Day of prayer! Why was traditional prayers and traditional leaders ignored? Is the NDC government not recognising the importance of traditional rites and prayers in Ghana. It was a scandel mistake in the political hist ...

• Samus 6 months ago

Keep on praying, God will send you everything free. Now I agree with the MP in England who once said ANIMALS KAN THINK BETTER THAN AFRICANS.

• Lash 6 months ago

Imam you're 100% right. I'll not be surprised how much the expense for this programme has been inflated.

• Yawdonkor 6 months ago

I concur with you 100%! Hypocrisy has permeated every nook and cranny of our lives, even extending to unborn babies. Yet It has become almost impossible to to be honest in this country and we expect God to come and solve our ...

• Owuo 6 months ago

They only come together to show their
    illgotten wealth.
    We will count for our deed when the time comes.

• Mark 6 months ago

God bless this man. It is very very very useless.

• O. M 6 months ago

Have this Imam stopped praying and given thanks to God by praying five times in a day and yet still commit sin. We pray and give thanks to God not for our sins, but the love and protection and peace given to us . Christ died ...

• Kofi Asare 6 months ago

Someone died for you some 2,000yrs ago when you were a sinner? Religion has managed to turn African adults into fools.

• Enoch 6 months ago

I support your message bro. Without hard work we cannot never develop with prayer. Corrupt people and hypocrites

• Kwame Tawiah 6 months ago

NO WONDER GHANAWEB IS A NPP PLATFORM.

• Robert 6 months ago

Npp imam. Nobody heard of you when npp was in power. Wait for your turn as npp waits to come to power. In twelve years time.

• Choboman 6 months ago

Yaw Boateng be realistic and stop bringing NDC and NPP into this

• CITIZEN 6 months ago

NPP had same character so he is not taking against NDC but how politicians act wickedly and turn to pray to God who doesn't like evil. It is totally waste of time

• Pastor Moi 6 months ago

I'm an NDC man and the advice the Imam gave has nothing to do with NDC or Npp. We can pray as individuals for ourselves and nation but there is no need to spend state funds to organize these prayers. The money can be channell ...

• Willy 6 months ago

Das it nothing again a word to the wise! conclude it Ghanaians.

• Kwaku 6 months ago

Kwasiakwa,then tell Ur Muslims to stop going to Mecca bcox their attitude remains the same when they return.
    Aboa

• Edward 6 months ago

Well, it may be a turning point in our quest to the corruption fight. It's just the beginning. Let's see what benefits it's continuous celebration will bring to us

• Dr who 6 months ago

They are so indiscipline and corrupted they need to pray for forgiveness.

• Stanley Chart 6 months ago

, WAREHOUSE WORKERS NEEDED
    POSITIONS: Manager, Cashier, Record keeping, Loaders,Female Pickers, Forklift Operators and Cleaners.
    ☎️ 0533574591 ☎️
    Salary range : Ghc 1500 - 3500.
    Free Feeding and weekly allowan ...

• FTT 6 months ago

The country is decided, there must be unity before prayers

• Kofi Asare 6 months ago

It is needful if you want a way to scam the nation with charlatans.

• FTT 6 months ago

The country is devided there must be unity before prayers

• Tano 6 months ago

Well said,

• Chittoq 6 months ago

Massa u said it all. We need such honest people in the country and not hypocrites.

• Moses 6 months ago

Apt

• Gasco. 6 months ago

May the God you worship bless for this sensible statement. This is just common sense which our politicians don't have. They celebrate this holidays as an avenue to steal money.

• Sammy 6 months ago

Thanks u Chief Imam for speaking directly to the hypocrisy in the country about the deception of so called men of God praying alone will never solve our problem my uncle Cardinal Appiah Turkson flew from Vatican for this prog ...

• AM 6 months ago

But can't we pray that corruption indiscipline and the other vices should change

• Pastor Moi 6 months ago

The Imam is right, let use the money for the prayer and chanel it to needy people in hospitals and schools.

• Tata 6 months ago

Our country is dying slowly and we are not ready to prescribe proper medication to keep Ghana alive.

I see it to be very disturbing, when some people are making nice submission on how we can move our beloved country, we t ...

• Freddie Freeloader 6 months ago

All Ghanaians are sons and daughters of Kweku Ananse.

• Donkomi 6 months ago

Imam you have said it all and it looks as if two of us have sat down and talked over this bogus national day of prayers and thanksgiving. A country where we glorify nonsense, indiscipline from top to bottom, corrupt practices ...

• Kwame Peter 6 months ago

My dear Imam,May the Blessings of Allah be upon you,the president of the nation has procured evil minded people to bring petitions containing blatantly false allegations against the CJ,formed a committee of like-minded paid p ...

• Kwame Peter 6 months ago

His Eminence Cardinal Turkson,I’m begging you in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ next time these political criminals and their clergy collaborators invite you again don’t come because it is not Thanksgiving,it is desecr ...

• Dunia 6 months ago

What do you mean? Is he not one of the clergy? How different is he from the rest of them?

• world 6 months ago

Imam,God/Allah bless you the Gonja man is bringing curses ans abomination to you ghanaians such things God /Allah disliks pretenders.

• Willie 6 months ago

Are saying b'cos corruption there shouldn't be any prayers and thanks giving, is that what you saying. Then I'll suggest to you that you should also stop preaching at your mosque and close it down, b'cos upon all the preachin ...

• Raphael Abeam US 6 months ago

God only accept repentance sinners
    What was the importance of the national prayers. Have you changed from your bad ways sacking a lot of workers
    Have you stopped your corrupt practices. God only accept sinners prayers ful ...

• Kwame 6 months ago

As if religion in itself is not corrupt. A person who sales illusion to others cannot be said to be clean and not corrupt.

• SPEAK 6 months ago

Chief Imam should remember Jesus did not come to die fro the righteous but for the sinners. National Day of Prayer is not only for unity and love but also to change the hearts that goes astray.

• Kunta 6 months ago

May Allah's blessings be upon you Sheikh Hassan for your honesty and forthrightness.