No please rather various news outlets should be encouraged to translate and feed the various regions
JESUS IS GOD 6 months ago
Jesus Christ is coming soon repent now.!
Dr Mumbi Seraki 6 months ago
Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine....for instance 10 paracetamol at once....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
FRANKIE 6 months ago
Rt. Hon. Bagbin, please stop this nonsense right away! You'll take us back thousands of years. In which local language can you debate the budget, health, education, science and technology, agriculture, communication, energy, architecture, transport, housing, town and country planning, banking, environment, etc and their technical nomenclatures? The truth is that our local languagea are not technical. They're not developed and are very limited in terminologies. Even the parts of the small smart phone you have in the cusp of your palm cannot be broken down into any local language, let alone issues if artificial intelligence, nanotechnology, green energy, ecosystem, Android technology etc. Massa please stop the nonsense and focus on English. English language is the language of the internet, medicine, science and technology, accounting, banking and finance etc. It is therefore the language of opportunity. Let's master it so that we can be competitive globally. We shouldn't hide behind emotional sentimentalism to justify and glorify our illiteracy.
REO 6 months ago
Am for it mr speaker
The Spear 6 months ago
Do you know the costs? The Speaker doesn't know what he's talking about. I find that stupid. A tenth of those in Parliament don't speak each others' language, so how does the debate work.
It would be very interesting to wa ... read full comment
Do you know the costs? The Speaker doesn't know what he's talking about. I find that stupid. A tenth of those in Parliament don't speak each others' language, so how does the debate work.
It would be very interesting to watch those lawyers debate entirely in local languages, when our languages don't support law vocabulary.
The Chinese, Koreans, Dutch, Japanese, French, Danes....have each just one language!
The Spear 6 months ago
I thought the Speaker was smart. I dare him to try it just for 30 minutes. I really want to watch, popcorn ready in my hands.
Nii 6 months ago
FOR THE PARTY WHOS MOST OF IT MENBERS CANNOT SPEAK ENGLISH FLUENTLY
Democrazy 6 months ago
Excellent idea! “No nation has developed using another nation’s language “
B M 6 months ago
Be very careful. Do it the way they did it . Then leave it the way they left it . You can change nothing. Advice your people fighting in north for others to praise you if you know better. Then stop disgracing your own being.
Bfoh 6 months ago
You see your bias. Bcos u have realised your people have turned into mumu bcos they can’t express themselves in the kings’ language, now you want an escape route for them. Shame on you Mr speaker.
Ronaldo 6 months ago
This is not the time for that nonsense! If you can't speak English our official language, go for Adult Education classes in English!
Dan 6 months ago
Then you may need Interpreters.
Papa nnomokopo 6 months ago
that's a great move now we can hear all those Dr, PhD's speak some good Twi, or may I say Asante language.
Bastie the emperor of Kumasi 6 months ago
Two is not Asante language. Be mindful.
It’s AKAN language. Asante was only formed 1701.
Twi existed before that called Bono Akan , which gave to different dialects.
Asante is not a language , it’s a coalition o ... read full comment
Asante is not a language , it’s a coalition of various Akan clans
BB 6 months ago
Mr.Speaker,you have won my greatest respect.At least our grandparents and parents will now know what's going on in the country.Politicians campaign with our local language and, the moment they are voted into power then they start using big grammar.
Napo 6 months ago
Use your brain and stop this nonsense... How will be read bills and sit on committee meetings? This stupidity shd stop, what are the radio stations doing? Why do you always want to take us back to rather make the illiterates comfortable and discourage schooling... Are they not listening to radio stations? Villagers
Citizen8 6 months ago
You guys are always taking decisions that end up increasing the cost of running the state machinery. We expect every MP to have reasonable command of English Language, the official language of the country. Why do we have to invest in employing translators and other IT resources to facilitate the use of our several local languages in Parliament? The public broadcasting network (e.g. GTV) can continue to inform the public in the local languages. Please give this your idea a second thought. It doesn't appear to be a smart move.
Sage 6 months ago
This stupid Bagbin is a demented imbecile.
WISDOM 6 months ago
AN ILLITERATE CAN BE PRESIDENT IN GHANA, says the 1992 Ghana Constitution. SPEAKING LOCAL LANGUAGES IN PARLIAMENT IS LONG OVERDUE.
The only Catch is that Bagbin the Speaker of Parliament wouldn't have thought of doing it ... read full comment
AN ILLITERATE CAN BE PRESIDENT IN GHANA, says the 1992 Ghana Constitution. SPEAKING LOCAL LANGUAGES IN PARLIAMENT IS LONG OVERDUE.
The only Catch is that Bagbin the Speaker of Parliament wouldn't have thought of doing it if his NDC MPs had not been the sufferers of the illiteracy handicap.
Pee@atl 6 months ago
An idiot!!! Foolish man who's always trying to be relevant. You are going to be allowing illiterate like chairman wontumi to take over the government of our beloved country. What kind of fool is this???
Camonzi 6 months ago
Village things nkoaaa!!!
Oklemekuku 6 months ago
There's no excuse for my MP to remain silent in the house again. Never made a statement on the floor before, despite being a 3rd term MP.
WISDOM 6 months ago
WITHOUT THE LOCAL LANGUAGES THE NDC MAJORITY VANISHES TO ZERO. THE MINORITY DOMINATES THE GHANA PARLIAMENT.
Star from the North 6 months ago
Brother Bagbin please stop this nonsense and be serious with your work. This is probably your last time as speaker of parliament and I urge you to use your time judiciously to the benefit of society. Please stop these comedies if you don’t have anything doing in parliament. If you want people to take you seriously, then I expect you to speak dagaare in parliament for the people of the Upper west to listen. Also, ensure that sabastian Sandaare who is the current MP of my mother’s constituency participate in debate using dagaare in parliament. My mother will be proud if her MP speaks her language in parliament.
Star from the North 6 months ago
Brother Bagbin please stop this nonsense and be serious with your work. This is probably your last time as speaker of parliament and I urge you to use your time judiciously to the benefit of society. Please stop these comedies if you don’t have anything doing in parliament. If you want people to take you seriously, then I expect you to speak dagaare in parliament for the people of the Upper west to listen. Also, ensure that sabastian Sandaare who is the current MP of my mother’s constituency participate in debate using dagaare in parliament. My mother will be proud if her MP speaks her language in parliament.
world 6 months ago
very good move.
freddy k 6 months ago
hahajahha wei dee woboa u r doing so to save the ndc mps who can't speak coz the English no dey come.lol
Justice 6 months ago
This is a great step for slave recovery. We have very intelligent people who despite their high level of education are not fluent in English. Truth is, should they even attempt to speak English and make mistakes it will quickly become news. So, why shouldn't such people keep quiet. The English does not struggle to speak English, the French too, so as the Germans, Italian etc. Why put ourselves in such a tight corner?
Towncrier 6 months ago
In which of our vernacular (we have 100s of languages and dialects in Ghana) have we written physics, chemistry, biology, mathematica books? Huh? English is international now, let's master it. Can we shelve this going nowhere campaign?
Northern Boy 6 months ago
There are simply too many languages in Ghana for debates in Parliament to be done in local languages. It's all about the message reaching as many people as possible. And more Ghana citizens speak English than they do any local language. And Ghanaians are ok with parliamentary debates in English. please don't create a problem where there's none.
SANTROFIE 6 months ago
SO FINALLY ASANTE TWI IS THE CHOICE OF PARLIAMENT? IT'S ABOUT TIME! BRAVO !
Koppong 6 months ago
No stop this policy
JULOR CAESAR 6 months ago
"No society develops with the language of another society", so says Bagbin, but Bagbin can't explain how Ghana can develop with the use another society's institutions. Ghana is developing the way it should not because of the use of another society's language but rather because the majority of you politicians who are supposed to be shepherding Ghana's development are thieving crooks and myopic persons with the vision of houseflies.
JULOR CAESAR 6 months ago
Ghana is not developing the way it should not because of the use of another society's language but rather because the majority of you politicians who are supposed to be shepherding Ghana's development are thieving crooks and myopic persons with the vision of houseflies.
Good idea 6 months ago
Hon speaker, please get interpreters and this will be done.
They only need headset like what happens in international conferences
Ronaldo 6 months ago
Do you know how much that would cost us daily?
Stfu when people are talking about things you know NOTHING ABOUT!
Okatakyie 6 months ago
What nonsense is this? MP for Bimbilla speaks in native language and you'll have to have a room full of interpreters to relay the statements in all the languages spoken in the country so other members would understand what is being said.
How much would that cost?
Kofi Seaman. 6 months ago
Technology should be employed here. There are gadgets available now that can do translations in many languages. Invest in that si every MP will have one in their ear for deliberations
Yes 6 months ago
Good news. This will stop Afenyo from boasting about the law and low terms.
Samurai 6 months ago
Is this to shield those who cant speak english?? Just asking but does everyone in parliament speak each others local language?? Stop this and focus on more important things!!
OGyam 6 months ago
Bagbin, stop this retogressive bullshit and use the money for the useless intepreters for something more progressive. We need our rivers and depleted forests to be restored. This not the time for egoistic linguistic nonsense.
Rt. Hon. Bagbin, please stop this nonsense right away! You'll take us back thousands of years. In which local language can you debate the budget, health, education, science and technology, agriculture, communication, energy, ...
Am for it mr speaker
It would be very interesting to wa ...
Be very careful. Do it the way they did it . Then leave it the way they left it . You can change nothing. Advice your people fighting in north for others to praise you if you know better. Then stop disgracing your own being ...
Asante is not a language , it’s a coalition o ...
Mr.Speaker,you have won my greatest respect.At least our grandparents and parents will now know what's going on in the country.Politicians campaign with our local language and, the moment they are voted into power then they s ...
Use your brain and stop this nonsense... How will be read bills and sit on committee meetings? This stupidity shd stop, what are the radio stations doing? Why do you always want to take us back to rather make the illiterat ...
You guys are always taking decisions that end up increasing the cost of running the state machinery. We expect every MP to have reasonable command of English Language, the official language of the country. Why do we have to i ...
The only Catch is that Bagbin the Speaker of Parliament wouldn't have thought of doing it ...
Village things nkoaaa!!!
Brother Bagbin please stop this nonsense and be serious with your work. This is probably your last time as speaker of parliament and I urge you to use your time judiciously to the benefit of society. Please stop these comedie ...
very good move.
This is a great step for slave recovery. We have very intelligent people who despite their high level of education are not fluent in English. Truth is, should they even attempt to speak English and make mistakes it will quic ...
In which of our vernacular (we have 100s of languages and dialects in Ghana) have we written physics, chemistry, biology, mathematica books? Huh? English is international now, let's master it. Can we shelve this going nowhere ...
There are simply too many languages in Ghana for debates in Parliament to be done in local languages. It's all about the message reaching as many people as possible. And more Ghana citizens speak English than they do any loca ...
No stop this policy
"No society develops with the language of another society", so says Bagbin, but Bagbin can't explain how Ghana can develop with the use another society's institutions. Ghana is developing the way it should not because of the ...
Ghana is not developing the way it should not because of the use of another society's language but rather because the majority of you politicians who are supposed to be shepherding Ghana's development are thieving crooks and ...
What nonsense is this? MP for Bimbilla speaks in native language and you'll have to have a room full of interpreters to relay the statements in all the languages spoken in the country so other members would understand what is ...