EXCLUSIVE: GhanaWeb uncovers a far worse national scare than digging the earth for gold

Read Comments Comments (46)

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 6 months ago

Use qur'an as toilet paper.

• Mary 6 months ago

Masa you message taya oo,nobody cares insult the politicians instead

• DotCom 6 months ago

@Mary…..No sane person will behave like that person. I don’t know how old that person is but if he is matured, he will would realise that it is the same mouth that blesses and that also curses people. There is absolutely ...

• Truth stands 6 months ago

NDC is a curse to Ghana. Lied their way to power only to steal and cause massive disruption.

• Cory 6 months ago

By their fruits ye shall know them. It is shameful for people to hide their faces in the virtual space to show their loyalty to the NPP party. Criminals who have to have their heads bowed in shame for their immoral identity. ...

• GHANAWEB SHOULD ALSO FOCUS THEIR INVESTIGATIONS MORE ON THE TONNES OF GOLD SHIPPED OUT BY THE FOREIGN MINING COMPANIES AT THE EXPENSE OF BANKRUPT GHANA AND GHANAIANS. 6 months ago

GHANAWEB SHOULD ALSO FOCUS THEIR INVESTIGATIONS MUCH MORE ON THE THOUSANDS OF TONNES OF GOLD SHIPPED OUT OF GHANA BY THE SO-CALED "LICENCED" FOREIGN MINING COMPANIES, GHANAIAN LOCAL "KINGS", GHANAIAN BUSINESSMEN, POLITICIANS ...

• CODE-69 6 months ago

Hello Ghanaweb, what is this HIGHLY AGGRESSIVE & ILL-FUNCTIONING HOUSING ADVERTS that pop up every 10 seconds on your page..????? Please, it is very irritating, work on it.

• Shiraski 6 months ago

I've been told that, the guy who has been posting that senseless Quran comment is suffering from a mental disease. He managed to escape from the Ankaful Psychiatric hospital some years ago, and he's being tracked at the momen ...

• P Djamgbe 6 months ago

It is not a guy it is an AI bug, so you guys should stop wasting your time responding to it. Now on the topic, what exactly did Ghanaweb show in this clip when they asked us the readers to have a peek into what they are going ...

• Kpaalisa Way 6 months ago

P Djambe, ask foe oo!! I didnt see anything curious.

• Kpaalisa Way 6 months ago

P Djambe, ask for me oo!! I didnt see anything curious.

• CODE-69 6 months ago

Ghanaweb, what is this HIGHLY AGGRESSIVE & ILL-FUNCTIONING HOUSING ADVERTS that pop up every 10 seconds on your page..????? Please, it is very irritating, work on it.

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 6 months ago

My mother, my father and all my siblings are sick dogs who will never prosper.

• Apuuuuuu 6 months ago

You better see the doctor for treatment, because it seems there is something wrong inside the head sitting on your neck

• Bee 6 months ago

FOOLS..How can Ghanaweb Discover.. You Tribal workers of an NPP CEO..you call this Discovery... Your foolish JANDAMS won't work thia time round... Tribal fools.

• be wise 6 months ago

You have made my day. Coincidentally I made a similar comment. It is soo annoying to hear this dumb fools at GhanaWeb to write this bullshit when they know their own CEO and party apparatchiks and some prominent chiefs are be ...

• IBRAHIM MAHAMA IS THE FATHER OF MODERN GALAMSEY 6 months ago

Before John Mahama became President, Galamsey was mostly Hand go, hand come Walantu-Walansa operation. Ibrahim started bringing in heavy equipment tax free. If you want the best machines, go to Engineers and Planners.

• Osante 6 months ago

Bee you made no sense. You seem to be a magician for discovering tribalism in Ghanaweb's work. You're just a fool

• Kofi T 6 months ago

People open your Eyes...See the Foolish tactics Ghanaweb wants to play. They want to protect the Politicians so they want to Open the Scope so that you guys will think Galamsay fall with the Gold dealer. I keep saying GHANAWE ...

• Kaakeiku 6 months ago

Are we saying the govt or politicians are unaware of this happening at Wasa Akropong????

• Sense 6 months ago

So this is the extent NPP destroyed Ghana before they left office?

• IS IT NPP? THEN CHANGE IT NOW YOU ARE IN GOVERNMENT 6 months ago

This is not an NPP or NDC thing; it is a Ghanaian problem and we do everything to keep people in school and to introduce the youth to more useful contraceptives to cut down on unplanned pregnancies

• Kofi T 6 months ago

Qwasiaaa..Your NPP gimigim Government came and Destroyed Every processes of protecting Mining in Ghana...and you are Quick to drag everyone in what you fools couldn't protect.

• Akosua-DO 6 months ago

NPP is nothing but a criminal syndicate. Never in our short history has there been such a disgraceful lot parading as a political party

• Supremo 6 months ago

Galamsey activities got root in Ghana during JDM first term in office. That was the time galamseyers chased away AGA miners working underground and had a field day. By so doing Obuasi mine was closed down for the first time ...

• Y2K 6 months ago

NPP in it's current form is a criminal Enterprise masquerading as a political party. Ghanaians beware!

• IS IT NPP? THEN CHANGE IT NOW YOU ARE IN GOVERNMENT 6 months ago

IS IT NPP? THEN CHANGE IT NOW YOU ARE IN GOVERNMENT just now
    This is not an NPP or NDC thing; it is a Ghanaian problem and we must do everything to keep people in school and to introduce the youth to more useful contraceptiv ...

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 6 months ago

Bank ...

• Weedicide uncontrolled use 6 months ago

That is probably the biggest hidden problem yet to cause health problems.
    Ministry of heath has some answers hopefully.

• Kwame Nkrumah 6 months ago

Greater Accra is the poorest region in Ghana. The region produces nothing only politicians. Wassa Akropong is a more productive region than Accra

• Kweku Tsin 6 months ago

You had the nerve to say GREATER Accra. I beg take pictures and compare. Not all that gliters is gold. Most people will rather be in GREATER Accra than the Galamsey pit.

• Spirit 6 months ago

They are ruled by the Chinese, poor Ghana.lots of Chinese Ghanaian children. Don't be surprised if a Chinese citizen there claim he is a Ghanian and a throne to the wassa kingdom.

• be wise 6 months ago

Ghanaweb you haven't done anything. It is your current boss who did all those galamsey work. He vehemently promised Ghanaians that his party NPP at the time wouldn't stop galamsey. Don't get us angry, do you need this kind of ...

• Kofi T 6 months ago

YOU SAID IT ALL....

• AI 6 months ago

CRIMINAL NPP HAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED GHANA
    Nana addo publicly defended Wontumi at a rally. What message did that give to party activists?

• Demetrius 6 months ago

GhanaWeb have you reported this to the corrupt authorities?...

• Bazz 6 months ago

Ghanaweb is up to something and I think it's political. If they play any political tactics,we will uncover it

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 6 months ago

Elevate your online presence with our expert website design services. We create stunning, user-friendly websites that drive results. Business websites, NGO websites, eCommerce/payment websites, etc. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 ...

• Jim 6 months ago

Mahama has been in office for sometime now to have changes going on in the galamsey fight. So far it appears the NDC party is also privy to the galamsey menace. Mahama has promised to bring about some changes and sanity in th ...

• Paa Jackson 6 months ago

Useless reportage

• Nyameba 6 months ago

John Mahama and his brother Ibrahim Mahama are part of the galamsey gang long before Nana Akuffo became the president of the country.Major Mahama was protecting Ibrahim Mahama concessions so when they lost the election of tha ...

• Kwame Peter 6 months ago

Fellow Ghanaians,John Maham changed PMMC to GoldBod and gave the colossal amount of GHC 4.6 billion to Ibrahim Mahama’s side-kick Sammy Gyamfi to manage it and buy gold from galamseyers,this is unprecedented promotion of il ...

• Aku 6 months ago

So who is the editor here? The scare remains the same. Is the root cause the market or the greed, lack of jobs or lack of legislation or enforcement agencies

• Holy Sinner 6 months ago

The Cheif and the elders of this Wassa Akropong( Custodians of the land) ought to be arrested ASAP.They don't deserve to be walking free.

• Tweaa 6 months ago

All BIG and SMALL scale mining activities should be banned indefinitely, Let us stop this NONSENSE people would lose jobs

• Dannyman 6 months ago

This is too shallow and lazy reportage, having many good buying agents is not the main issue. The main one is the use of cyanide and other deadly chemicals by Togoless and other national in these areas to extract gold popular ...