'I just want to bury my grandmother' – Traveler pleads as Ghana Embassy withholds passport

Read Comments Comments (93)

• . 5 months ago

BUT I THOUGHT OKUDZATO PUT A NEW CREW. A TOTAL DISGRACE TO GHANA

• HULABALOO STORY 5 months ago

YOU ARE A JAMAICAN GOING TO JAMAICA BECAUSE YOUR GRANDMOTHER DIED IN JAMAICA BUT YOUR JAMAICAN PASSPORT HAS EXPIRED SO YOU NEED A GHANAIAN VISA TO GO TO JAMAICA...ANAAA GHANA?

• Mr Smith 5 months ago

The story looks like she is one of those granted Ghanaian citizenship and therefore holds a Ghanaian passport but all the same, that's Ghana with our bureaucracy nonsense and delays. Instead of that baby with sharp teeth min ...

• Ama 5 months ago

A Ghanaian don’t need Ghana visa to travel

• TRUTH 5 months ago

Go and apply for a TC to travel, foolish woman.

You guys never want to think.

• TRUTH 5 months ago

Blame Nana Paul Pot for letting in 10 thousands of these problemed souls without due diligence.

No sensible country just get up and give free citizenship rights without proper assessment and probation time to ascertain if ...

• TRUTH 5 months ago

MR FOREIGN MINISTER, PLEASE CANCEL THAT VISA FOR THIS UNGRATEFUL WOMAN AND HAND DELIVER HER PASSPORT AND MONEY TO HER TODAY, SHARP, SHARP.

• IKE 5 months ago

Cancel what? Why this intolerance? Instead of admitting there is problem and fixing it, you are calling for cancellation. Is she not the customer of the embassy? Are you going to cut off all customers with similar experience?

• TRUTH 5 months ago

DO YOU THINK THIS WOMAN COULD DO SAME IF HE APPLIED FOR A BRITISH VISA AND THERE WAS A DELAY, WHICH ALSO HAPPENS AND ALSO YOU WOULD SOMETIMES FIND HAD TO TALK TO ANYONE.
    YOU PROBABLY HAVEN'T ENCOUNTERED JAMAICANS, GOD FORGIV ...

• Akik 5 months ago

Why the insult?

• H.E. The Ugly Dwarf 5 months ago

The Ghanaian missions are very ineffective. The staff need serious training.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 5 months ago

@ Ama:
    OKUDJETO AND HIS INCOMPETENT KINGPINS ARE BACK AGAIN OOO! AYE BASAAAA!

Who told you a Ghanaian doesn’t need a Ghanaian visa to travel to Ghana? Before the Ghanacard came into existence every Ghanaian descent or ...

• Idrisu Gouba 5 months ago

Hmm your guess is as good as mine? They were shouting loudly in opposition that the guy at the steering wheel was driving recklessly and now thst yhry have been put in charge they are driving us straight into a ditch. Hmmm hu ...

• Kweku Tsin 5 months ago

That is not my understanding. First of all, she may have a US passport because an expired Jamaican passport is not valid for GH visa application. Also, if she had a Ghanaian passport, she would not need a Ghana visa. With tha ...

• Obrian 5 months ago

Because of Okudzeto

• Pampii 5 months ago

U got it right kweku

• Joe 5 months ago

We should get to a point where e-visas can be issued without leaving your passport at embassies. Happened to me at the British embassy I had to report missing passport to get a new passport for my travel. Thankfully I did not ...

@Kweku Tsin.
    NDC CAN NEVER DELIVER, IT WAS ALL BRAGGING! THEY ARE INCOMPETENT, THAT’S ALL !

Hey! Can’t you read common English language and understand? All she is saying is that she submitted her American passport fo ...

• Agyengo 5 months ago

you are very sensible. you've decoded everything very well

• T K Debrah 5 months ago

Most of you like to comment on issues you have no idea about. She is Jamaican but is using USA passport, hence she needs visa to be able to travel to Ghana. She applied but her passport is held up in Ghana embassy. She could ...

• You miss the point 5 months ago

If it is Jamaica shr is going, why does she need a Ghanaian visa? Is Ghana Jamaica?

• Maame Grace 5 months ago

Because she took her USA passport to the Embassy for a Ghana visa and the service she paid for has not been fufiled by the Embassy.

• KOFI 5 months ago

Chew and pour education has not helped you. You couldn't comprehend what she said.

I will not help you. Play the video 20X and you may understand.

• Atta Kay 5 months ago

Lack of work Experience is showing here, and it will reflect in the work of most of John Mahama appointees.They complete Uni and straight into politics. Why can't they work for sometime b4 entering politics.

• Kidron 5 months ago

That serious election battering of the NPP, resulting in their abominable & miserable 38.2% has turned @Atta Kay and his people into some MAD wailing animal. He is so disoriented that, now his mad party Executives are saying ...

• Akwasi Addae 5 months ago

NPP = Nkwaseafo People's Party. They are all stupid, trying to force a stupid candidate on the stupid people! NPP in the hands of the current stupid Executive Members will remain in opposition till Thy Kingdom come.

• A SKILL THAT CAN CHANGE YOUR LIFE: RECOMMENDED FOR YOUTH EMPOWERMENT PROGRAMS 5 months ago

EARN DAILY from in-demand high-skilled HAND-WORK - it is your secret vault. EMPOWER yourself or help a young man around you with this skill; Youth Empowerment Schemes? Buy quantities and share to youths...You either rise or g ...

• ablakwa is disgracing Ghana 5 months ago

TRUTH TO BE TOLD ABLAKWA IS DISGRACING GHANA BUT UNFORTUNATLY HE HAS SOME USELESS NDC FOOL SOLDIERS WHO ARE DFENDING HIM.CANT HE PUT A TEMPORALY TEAM BEFORE HE SUSPEND ALL THE OLD STAFF AND DCONDUCT INVESTIGATIONS? NO WOND ...

• Akajatayogogo 5 months ago

A Jamaican, and want Ghana Visa to go to Jamaica.I don't get it. Someone should explain it to me.

• Henry 5 months ago

She needs her passport to go to Jamaica not a Ghanaian visa to go to Jamaica. She put in her application for a Ghanaian visa renewal and now has a death in her family and needs her Jamaican passport to go to Jamaica how diffi ...

• With an expired Jamaican passport? 5 months ago

Did you read that her Jamaican passport has expired? How could she apply for a Ghana visa with an expired Jamaican passport? She applied for the visa with a Ghanaian or an American passport, most likely

• Adjei 5 months ago

That's neither here nor there. Her passport is at the embassy. It should have been released a while ago, but hasn't what she wants to do with her passport is none of anyone's business.

• Metumi 5 months ago

But she said she does not need a visa to travel to Ghana. So why did she apply for a visa?

• Dantaa 5 months ago

What about the failures n responding to calls and mails.

• Ama 5 months ago

Mr minister your workers at these embassies are destroying the good name of Ghana. A military guy at your New York office has being sending people’s passport to them privately at a fee. He will call the number on your appli ...

• Ama 5 months ago

That is how Ablakwa and Mahama want it to be.Greedy ppl who feel apart from them no one shd survive to earn a living. Did Ablakwa sit down with Mad Alima Mahama to have a thorough understanding of the IT man courier service?

• Desmond 5 months ago

Which military guy? Eiii why do some of you like to lie like that. I have been to the consulate before and you cannot take anyone’s passport without an authorization note from the applicant. So how can someone who is not au ...

• tumtum Kwesi 5 months ago

She needs her Passport , to go back to Jamaica. Ghana Embassy must release her passport asap. my lady sue their incompetent ass !

• AI 5 months ago

NPP EMPLOYED EVIL EXTORTIONISTS
    JM should sack all those employed under NPP to reset the country.

@AI
    JOHN INCOMPETENT MAHAMA AND HIS ALIBABA’S ARE BACK TO DESTROY EVERYTHING AGAIN? YAWU!

But the NPP appointed embassy staff were accused of keeping anyone’s passport for months, right? Shame on you! The NDC AKROMFU ...

• Ghabay NY. 5 months ago

It's a shame ,tweaa.Square pegs in round holes.

• Be Bold 5 months ago

Her passport and visa were erroneously sent to someone I know and being sent to her by the individual via express mail. Very sad experience

• JM 5 months ago

My lady get a good lawyer and sue for good money. Such a shit country

• Is this woman half Ghanaian? 5 months ago

If you are a Jamaican, why do you need Ghanaian passport to travel to Jamaica?

• Chuck Virginia 5 months ago

Maya is an attention seeker. A lot of things dont add up in this cock & bull story. Which passport did she present to the Ghana embassy? If If she holds a Ghanaian passport she does not a visa to Ghana. If her destination is ...

• Sam 5 months ago

Bla bla bla. What matters is why her passport hasn't been returned to her. Al this silly questions about what she needs her passport for aren't very smart.

• Osei Tutu 5 months ago

Poor management.

• Yaw 5 months ago

Many Ghanaians in the diaspora relate to the experiences of the lady. 1. The application forms and processes are simply cumbersome and out of the ordinary. 2. Who in this day requests for four passport pictures? 3. Even if yo ...

• Thief oyour Staff - Akosua Frema 5 months ago

Alternatively, why can't you renew the Jamaican passport within a day or two or a week and use, if services in Jamaica are prompt and better? you!!!

• Nana 5 months ago

This story is strange.

Why Ghanaian visa to visit Jamaica? She doesn't need a visa to travel to Jaimaca with a ghanaian passport.

If she has a Jamaican passport, she doesn't need a visa to travel to Ghana.

So where ...

• Sam 5 months ago

The need to go to Jamaica came while her passport was at the GH embassy. Now she needs it to travel to Jamaica. She probably sent it to the GH embassy to apply for a GH Visa

• JOHN. 5 months ago

The problem the embassy is having is the same problem most of you guys are having. The problem is critical thinking.
    Now for all those who failed to read and understand, let me break it down to you. The lady applied f ...

• Kwamina 5 months ago

This is a classical example of what resetting the country should address namely our attitude to work. We can never I repeat NEVER develop as a country if don't change our attitude to work. This kind of customer service is tot ...

• yaw cool 5 months ago

if you leave in the USA and you're a Jamaican and holds ghanaian passport and it's stuck in the embassy and you want to travel to Jamaica why not use your American passport if you don't have American citizenship then you're u ...

• Metumi 5 months ago

NPP foot soldier embassy staff, smoke them out!!!

• Kath 5 months ago

Gross incompetence. Talk is cheap!

• Yaw 5 months ago

Every foreigner who is not among the Ecowas countries needs a visa to come to Ghana.. That lady might have sent her passport for a Ghanaian visa and it has delayed in the Embassy that’s the reason why. In Abroad you don’ ...

• Abedru 5 months ago

So you people are believing this warped story? Which Jamaican needs Ghanaian passport to travel to Jamaica?

• DAN LARTEY 5 months ago

That is the one village one dam country for you. These people are not serious in life. A bunch of jokers.

• Atsu 5 months ago

Incompetent NDC and their chief liar Ablakwa you see your foolishness. You just don’t think

• Kwa Tete 5 months ago

It's ridiculous for Ghana's Foreign Minister to blame the US postal service - a well known model of efficiency - for the monumental shabby-sham at the D.C embassy. Come up with a better excuse!

• King 5 months ago

Is this not shameful! The Embassy took express service fee but ain’t delivering as promised. Ghanaians have poor customer service culture and they don’t care about it! All they know is receiving the money. They don’t kn ...

• Nkrumah son 5 months ago

This should be investigated and if someone because of his her personal interest wanted to subotage the system he should be dealt with

• Max 5 months ago

I'm not surprised at all since the New York City office is also noted for such poor services. NO ONE RESPONDS TO PHONE CALLS OR EMAILS. The best remedy is to make all the leadership of the Ghana's foreign missions sign KPIs ...

• Trade Tariffs 5 months ago

Go and ask the frustration Ghanaians go through in the queue at the US and British embassies ? Go to UK whether they are bashing their foreign embassies. Please stop talking nonsense. Frustration can be everywhere. Is she th ...

• TELL OKUJATO IT IS EASY TO PULL DOWN, BUT DIFFICULT TO BUILD 5 months ago

All the bullshit about reset reset will come to nothing if changes made worsens the situation. Okujato must know that when you are new, you must take time to study the situation and not make hurried changes.

• Fireman 5 months ago

Corruption has been institutionalized in every gud demn public office because of politics. Our politicians put very unqualified and corrupt people into higher positions and it has become a cancer eating Ghana from within.

• KC 5 months ago

I also had a situation in another country( which I won't name) where they lost my passport and blamed it on the postal service. I had to get a completely new passport which luckily arrived a day before I was to travel and t ...

• USA Visa with cruise ship Jobs available 5 months ago

USA visa available with cruise ship job and lucrative salary
    Call/Whatsapp:0248909267

Serbia Tourist Visa Available
    Call/Whatsapp:02489009267

Mexico Tourist Visa Available
    Call/Whatsapp:0248909267

Bank Statement ...

• Citizen vigilante 5 months ago

Okujeto ablawkwa is just creating a mess this ewe man should be sacked, two face idiot

• Okudjeto Village Foreign Minister 5 months ago

Okudjeto Village Foreign Minister. He is not fit for this Job. Not got the experience and don't even look it. Useless guy. Himself and John Jinapor are the worst Ministers
    Followed by Sam George and Arma Kofi Buah. Reduce DS ...

• Martin Kreisler 5 months ago

Granting unrestricted (visa free) entry into our country (and the Jubilee House in particular), to citizens of other countries, simply on the basis of them being refered to as Africans in the Diaspora is reckless, potentially ...

• Akik 5 months ago

Sorry, blaming US postal services for causing delays of receiving documents is totally not true.
    The phone calls are simply not been responded to.
    We should accept the failures and work to make it better.
    Thus problems ha ...

• the Villager 5 months ago

This story smells like it has an NPP touch.
    Jamaican pport expired BUT nobody cares she did not reneww it but bashes the Gh embassy for delay

• kumasi 5 months ago

SO NOW THE ASHAWOOO WOMEN ARE ALL CALLED CONTENT CREATORS, KWASIA PROSTITUTES

• Citizen 5 months ago

Everything turn politics

• Jude 5 months ago

Can this loudmouth Ablakwa explain how the USPS inhibits the mailing of passports to the owners? Mails in the US take about 3 days from the time of mailing to reach the recipients and so he needs to come again. If the deficie ...

• Yaw Owusu 5 months ago

The embassy of Ghana don't answer phone calls. That is unacceptable.

• THIS DON'T MAKE SENSE 5 months ago

Nonsensical story

• JERRY 5 months ago

THIS IS INCOMPETENT GHANA FOR YOU , IN GHANA EMBASSY IN NY THEY DON'T EVEN SPEAK ENGLISH THEY ONLY KNOW TWI THAT IS WHAT THE EMBASSY WORKERS THERE SAY FOKS BOYCUT GHANA THIS COUNTRY IS A DISGRACE

• Pelicles. 5 months ago

NDCfuo, mmoa. Listen to update on this issue. The lady is saying that her passport has been mailed to a wrong person, and I hope NDC fools understand the implication of that. Yes, Ablakwa, the competent man ever in Ghana is ...

• TRUTH 5 months ago

Have you also heard the update from the foreign affairs that the remaining criminals installed by NPP intentionally posted passports to the wrong addresses to sabotage Ghana and applicants.

Foolish person you are, did Abra ...

• Jones 5 months ago

Incompetence at the highest level. A foreign Minister without the slightest integrity. When dishonest and Incompetence people are in power. Assuming position sthrough lies and dishonest activities will expose you to ridicu ...

• Hannan 5 months ago

~~~~ Hot girls are waiting for you on >>> Hot4.eu

• FunkAmerica 5 months ago

The same thing with the Ghanaian embassy in London, when you call them on the phone nobody pick it instead they resort to email live communication but the problem is what if the person has no knowledge of the Internet or ...

• FunkAmerica 5 months ago

Again l blame Akkufo Addo the the western puppet criminal for giving Ghanaian citizenship to all these foreigners who honestly, most of them are not contributing to the Ghanaian economy in a positive way rather than taking a ...

• K 5 months ago

Try calling Ghana embassy in Rome. The same thing. You will call for the whole month with no answer. Hmmmm

• world 5 months ago

ask ablakwa the saintfrom ghana.

• SKA 5 months ago

Is this challenge not the reason that the immediate past ambassador contracted a private individual to deliver the service at a fee to the visa applicants that you have described as corruption?

• Nabilla 5 months ago

What the woman said is not what is reported here.. Though a US citizen her parents are of Ghana and Jamaica. If she had a Jamaica passport she could have come to Ghana without the need of visa. So she applied for the visa usi ...

• Karma 5 months ago

This is a typical irresponsible leadership..
    Disgracing Ghana nternationally........
    No ethics and no diplomacy....
    Bogus Okudzeto's decisions.....

• Jack 5 months ago

you may have paid for an expedited service,,,but if the embassy finds out a few interesting things abt u,,,,,,,,they ve to look into it..That happens in all embassies.Do u know how we suffer to get visas to travel?,but we don ...

• Onipaba 5 months ago

The Ghanaian thing (i.e laxity and sluggishness) is exported to the embassies around the world.
    You arrive in Ghana and go to fast food restaurant like KFC. It will take you about two hours before you get your meal