Chieftaincy is divisive, breeds tribalism and is a harbinger for war. It is antiquated, anachronistic and poses the risk of a parallel government. Abolish it now!
Joe 6 months ago
Can you name the chiefs causing the war between Russia and Ukrain, Israel and Gaza and Iran?
Wiseman 6 months ago
Second class citisen.no brain.,# Empty barrel#
Wiseman 6 months ago
Second class citisen,no brain ,#Empty Bartel#
Don 6 months ago
Wooow....just wooooow to your reply
Nananom 6 months ago
They are the reason why this country is not developing, all they do is selling lands and sharing the money among themselves Hahaha
ANKORA WASH DC 6 months ago
Have you developed yourself and your family? I mean,what have you done for yourself lately?
HOW MANY TIMES WILL THE CHIEF PAY GHANAWEB? 6 months ago
This is about the 4th time I’m seeing this feature on GhanaWeb. It is not done for free. The Chief couldn’t build the largest Sewing Center or the biggest Cocoa Shed in Ghana but spent a fortune on building hiimself a One Million Acre Palace whilst his village people sleep in Atakpami Mud Houses. Ayekoo. We’re waiting for the disputes and litigation, to see how it’ll be kept after Nana has departed .
Edd 6 months ago
If they were not paid but did their own report they would have realised that the information is false. Anyway these media are fond of reporting things that will spark debates
Johnson 6 months ago
I really don't see anything wrong about the Chief and people of Assin-kushea promoting their obscure village to make visible in the affairs of the country and beyond.
I don't know which part of the planetary system you co ... read full comment
I really don't see anything wrong about the Chief and people of Assin-kushea promoting their obscure village to make visible in the affairs of the country and beyond.
I don't know which part of the planetary system you come from but here on planet earth, we have what we call advertising, marketing and promotion. The qualities of a personality, entity, product or service are, by the medium of these mechanisms thrust into the public domain to engender their qualities, usefulness, availability and even sometimes, their mere existence. In do doing, the subject-matter acquires recognition, value, credibility and thus, one kind of value or the other.
With this vslue-added stature, the subject matter gains interest and marketability which then ultimately translates into hitherto unforeseen investments and income. There are many products and entities which are promoted - even on the same media platform, several times a day for several days, weeks and months. Obviously as a cave-dweller, you may not be aware of the myriad of benefits gained from such arrangements but, that is why when adults are talking, children should stay away and keep their mouths shut.
Victor Bonssrah 6 months ago
I couldn't read all of your comments but you're the only one who actually commented sensibly.There is nothing wrong at all for one to advertise himself or herself.And there is nothing wrong for a village, town or country to advertise itself.I don't know how to call the mindset of some Ghanaians.However, I will say that Ghanaians need education and you don't have to be in a classroom to have an education.It starts from knowing Jesus Christ because without Him we are nothing.Instead applauding this chief and use him as an example, he is being bashed by ignorant and uneducated people.What a shame!
Johnson 6 months ago
@Nananom. Myself, I am quite impartial - if not outrightly skeptical about chiefs and the chieftainship institution in this country. However for a people who for over 400 years, were methodically robbed of our culture, lands and raisons d'etre, I would suggest that for the lack of any other capable institution to supervise and keep guard over our cultural and traditional values, we should maintain our traditional authorities - our chiefs, even if only to publicize the fact that we do have some kind of traditional governance system that is supposed to be a watchdog for our intrinsic values. However, the chiefs must be made to understand that being a chief is not only about showing off regalia on festival days and engaging in land deals.
Kalimba Mozambo 6 months ago
Where is the tour and what a waste of time ?
ST Ghfuo: KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT 6 months ago
rightly said. this is a video of the man talking. not a video of the palace. i mean it will take a lot to maintain this place. when he is dead and gone who will maintain this place? maybe they can turn it into a university or technical college or even a library for the students in the area because i dont think his predecessors will spend money to maintain this place. they are probably thinking of how they can kill him and sell the property muahahaaaa oh neggas. the mind of most black folks smh they dont have longterm planning, thinking. fastfood brains, women fast to talking back, they wont stop talking and LISTEN, haterade, lying, ego mentality
DADIEKYE 6 months ago
ST GHFUO.THOSE STEALING GHANA'S MONEY ARE NOT CHIEFS.GRADUATES FROM UNIVERSITIES AND POLITICIANS ARE THE THIEVS.MAYBE YOUR ONE OF THEM,
Johnson 6 months ago
@ ST Ghfuo: KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. Disgusting and disgraceful insinuations.
JESUS IS GOD 6 months ago
Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal life! (John 3:16)Vfghu
massa, we dont want no slave religious indoctrination over here, okay. create a Gh traditional orthodox church with counselors I will come and support. elmina slave castle had a church right above the slave dungeons have you forgotten how wicked oyibo can be very wicked?
3tw3 ba 6 months ago
Jesus is no more the Son Of God but God himself? Shine your eye. Odwan
Tullenke 6 months ago
Your filthy name alone even shows the stuff that you are made of. Stupid boy, since when did Jesus graduate from being the Son of God, and on to becoming the Almighty God himself..???? Tell me the particular Scripture that told you this, or the location where God himself told you about that foolish story
Mr Smith 6 months ago
Super odwan. How can that useless god of the Bible crucify himself? Gyimii.
Fatima 6 months ago
If this palace was built in Ashanti it would have provoked tribal bigotry and hatred from inferiority complex minds.
chief vandal 6 months ago
yes abolish it
FOOLISH LOW LIFE IMBECILE FRANKIE 6 months ago
@ FRANKIE WE WILL ABOLISH YOUR USELESS IRRELEVANT CHIEF FROM THAT SHITHOLE YOU COME FROM ODWAN
Mame Ama 6 months ago
100 percent agree...they have soo much power and wealth and yet their quota to the development of Ghana is almost most zero...they own all these lands and sell them for soo much, yet make no account/contribution to the government or to tge development of Ghana
MasakalaMicro 6 months ago
100% I am with you !
Serengati 6 months ago
Frankie, you're 100 % accurate!
Lori 6 months ago
A thief like his brother Sam Jonah. The cement for this nonsense was given free by Ghacem for the poor people of Ghana.
Wiseman 6 months ago
Pepenii no brain. Tendency of second class citisen.
Common sense 6 months ago
Kotokohene has the largest Palace in the whole world.
Without Ashantihene, the whole world will collapse by now.
Okyere Kay 6 months ago
Big English with no sensible statement.
Paa K 6 months ago
I would rather invest in things like technical training for the youth than build this huge palace. I doubt when Nana is gone to the place of the ancestors, anyone can keep this palace as it’s. Building capacity for the youth to create wealth would have left a lasting impact.
paa K, WHERE IS YOUR TECHNICAL TRAINING CENTERS 6 months ago
How many Technical Training Centers have you build? Where are they?
Kwabena Assuming 6 months ago
Haters as usual. People from inferior backgrounds are spewing rubbish. Thank God Nana is well educated. And I am very happy that Nana is Akan and a Professor in one of the universities in Ghana. Nana has also made his town a clean place. People should go to Assin Kushea to learn common sense. Nana please help us teach these haters how to exist with our brothers. Help us to train them to appreciate the achievements of others. They should not envy successful people. And they should be trained how to be wise and civilized
Star from the North 6 months ago
@kwabena assuming. Get this information into your dull head and begin to read wide to understand where the world came from and where it is headed. Who cares if the chief of that palace is highly educated, it is just a stupid idea built a huge palace at the time chieftaincy is at the verge of collapse. Don’t you think that we need to move away from this chieftaincy stuff in order to move the country forward? Chieftaincy is part of the reasons why Ghana is not developing. For the country to put things in perspective, the chieftaincy institution must be abolished. Look at yourself calling someone an inferior tribe! Why not remain in your home region and develop it if you claim to be a superior tribe. Don’t come to Accra for greener pastures if you think your tribe is more superior to others. A country like South Africa with minimal chieftainship affairs has developed far better than most European countries.
idiot. go and abolish the monarchy. did the chief use your money for the palace? who tells you how to use your money? if you dont have anything to contribute shut your mouf. if this palace was built by your family member wont you be happy?
the issue is clearly not about chieftancy matters but administration and making sure people are held accountable. you have politicians who are corrupt and there is no accountability. how is that any different from chieftancy issues? nothing..you need to sanitize institutions, making these systems more efficient devoid of corruption with the rule of law. not eliminate them entirely. thats the solution
selfmade KING 6 months ago
Akoa agyimi
Democracy is under threat in Ghana and chieftaincy ll supplant it very soon
Akoa agyimi
Kojo 6 months ago
Pure Marxist, Leninist Bs. Do you pay your taxes to chiefs. You vote for corrupt politicians, and blame the chiefs for lack of developments. See how the most successful Arabs are ruled by monarchs.The most revered person in Japan, one of the most technologically advanced people, is the King. Your narrative is being pushed by power hungry, and dictatorial politicians. Ghana is not Russia circa 1900s. Western style democracy has not been good for Africa, the chiefs are much more accountable, but the colonial mentality of yours can't comprehend.
THIS IS NOT TRUE! THE BIGGEST PALACE IN WEST AFRICA IS IN ONDO STATE , NIGERIA 6 months ago
The Olowo of Owo's palace in Ondo State, Nigeria, is widely recognized as the largest palace in Africa. Located on 180 acres of land, this majestic palace boasts over 100 inner courts, museums, markets, and numerous other structures, showcasing traditional Yoruba architecture.
Some notable features of the palace include :
- *Size*: The palace spans 180 acres, roughly twice the size of an American football field
- *Courtyards*: Over 100 inner courts, each with a specific function and dedicated to a particular deity
- *History*: Built in 1340 by Olowo Rerengejen, with 14 Olowo rulers having ascended the throne since its existence
- *Cultural Significance*: A national monument in Nigeria, symbolizing the rich cultural heritage of the Owo kingdom
Lambert Logoh 6 months ago
Google never mentioned your claim anywhere according to my finding
Kwame Prah 6 months ago
You get your validation from google?
Kwame Prah 6 months ago
It’s on Wikipedia. I just searched and read about it. Why do you make such uneducated post here.
FUCK NIGERIAN ANIMALS 6 months ago
WHO EVEN ASKED THIS FOOLISH ANIMAL FROM THE ZOO TO COMMENT? WE ARE DEALING WITH HUMAN BEINGS HERE NOT ANIMALS KEEP YOUR SILLY NIGERIAN NONSENSE FROM HERE....MUMU MUTHAFUCKA
Nananom 6 months ago
America, China, Japan, Russia, Europe are all boasting of automobile, military equipment, Air Planes, strong economy, but look at what these primitive people are boasting off. I feel sad being African. We are so stupid.
Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 6 months ago
Bank ... read full comment
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
[1/16, 12:59 AM] Oxford: Pll: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to Amerit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
inercycl 6 months ago
ladies and gentlemen, I nominate the mayor of the "garden city " of the ashanti region "kumerica".
MEKYIR NKONTOMPO
Olabode 6 months ago
Great interview!!!!
kelewele 6 months ago
stupidity.. ghanaians are impressed by such nonsense..
HOW MANY HOSPITALS, UNIVERSITIES AND FUNCTIONAL INDUSTIRAL FACTORIES DID THE CHIEF CREATE FOR HIS SUBJECTS, LET ALONE GHANA? 6 months ago
HOW MANY HOSPITALS, UNIVERSITIES AND FUNCTIONAL INDUSTIRAL FACTORIES DID THE CHIEF CREATE FOR HIS SUBJECTS, LET ALONE GHANA?
THE CHIEF WAS ENSTOOLED TO IMPROVE THE STANDARDS OF LIVING FOR HIS SUBJECTS. DID HE ACHIEVE THOSE ... read full comment
HOW MANY HOSPITALS, UNIVERSITIES AND FUNCTIONAL INDUSTIRAL FACTORIES DID THE CHIEF CREATE FOR HIS SUBJECTS, LET ALONE GHANA?
THE CHIEF WAS ENSTOOLED TO IMPROVE THE STANDARDS OF LIVING FOR HIS SUBJECTS. DID HE ACHIEVE THOSE, OR DO HIS SUBJECTS LIVE IN A DUMSOR VILLAGE WHERE RAINWATER FROM "AKUFO-ADDO'S ONE VILLAGE, ONE DAM" IS SHARED WITH COWS AND GOATS?
IF THIS CHIEF DID NOT ACHIEVE THE ABOVE, THEN HE IS/WAS AS USELESS AS AKUFO-ADDO, BAWUMIAH AND OFORI-ATTA.
Where from the money? 6 months ago
Please won’t you fix the road next to the galamsey sight at the entrance of the town ?
Kwame 6 months ago
Whilst others are building vaccine manufacturing plants, we’re talking about palace!
The Wiseman 6 months ago
We have limited thinking capabilities. Sooooo sad.
Ernest 6 months ago
I had opportunity to visit this place when constructing began n now the place look very fantastic,to be frank if Ghana get this types of chief like even 5 Ghana will be cleanest in the world, not only Africa I bet u I really admire this chief I bet u.
Only ghana you will hear these nonsense 6 months ago
Nana wonimdie nti Oyankopon nhrira wo day daa
Papa Alasha 6 months ago
Most of the natives of Assin Kushea, touted as the cleanest town in Ghana, have migrated to Accra and loitering rubbish on the streets and choking the drains.
OGyam 6 months ago
@Papa, when you go to Rome ,you do as Romans do. The Assin Kushea natives like their place clean, yet when they meet the filthy people in Accra, they just copy them. That is a fair comment
DANIEL 6 months ago
thank you
thank you
Hannan 6 months ago
Hot girls are waiting for you on ~~~ Hot4.eu
Ike 6 months ago
This Chief speaks with great humility and I love him for that, he also has respect for humanity, he has really done his human best. From his speech he loves nature and tourism and so he designed his palace to look like a tourist site, clean and beautiful as well and so humbling to the point of adding a mortuary to remind him of his mortality. If tomorrow someone wants to turn his palace to an institution, his name cannot still be left out as he is the only reason we have what we have now at Assin Kushea. Thanks a lot great Chief. Bravo
Yaw 6 months ago
Population rates and extreme poverty rates are increasing exponentially around the country at the expense of development of our people and we are happy with a massive palace in a small town several miles from popular tourist cities. I’d rather the chief had built the biggest T-VET institution in the country where children are being educated for the future. I don’t despise chieftaincy but the largest palace in small town Asin Kushea?
Paul Akpa 6 months ago
Let your light shine before men so that they can see your good things and glorify your God who is in heaven
KB 6 months ago
Any hospital or school built by the chief?
K.K 6 months ago
For better education,add the name of the region.
Ghana Cries 6 months ago
Kudos, Nana, longlive the king!
Firing Squad 6 months ago
Does the Palace put food on our table or Gas in our vehicle s.Nonsense.
Hannan 6 months ago
!!!!!!!!!! A discovery by Swiss scientists has completely changed the approach to treating hypertension.
Now you can get rid of pressure spikes on your own -- do.my/hype
!!!!!!!!!! A discovery by Swiss scientists has completely changed the approach to treating hypertension.
This is about the 4th time I’m seeing this feature on GhanaWeb. It is not done for free. The Chief couldn’t build the largest Sewing Center or the biggest Cocoa Shed in Ghana but spent a fortune on building hiimself a One ...
I don't know which part of the planetary system you co ...
I couldn't read all of your comments but you're the only one who actually commented sensibly.There is nothing wrong at all for one to advertise himself or herself.And there is nothing wrong for a village, town or country to a ...
@Nananom. Myself, I am quite impartial - if not outrightly skeptical about chiefs and the chieftainship institution in this country. However for a people who for over 400 years, were methodically robbed of our culture, lands ...
rightly said. this is a video of the man talking. not a video of the palace. i mean it will take a lot to maintain this place. when he is dead and gone who will maintain this place? maybe they can turn it into a university or ...
Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...
massa, we dont want no slave religious indoctrination over here, okay. create a Gh traditional orthodox church with counselors I will come and support. elmina slave castle had a church right above the slave dungeons have you ...
Your filthy name alone even shows the stuff that you are made of. Stupid boy, since when did Jesus graduate from being the Son of God, and on to becoming the Almighty God himself..???? Tell me the particular Scripture that to ...
yes abolish it
100 percent agree...they have soo much power and wealth and yet their quota to the development of Ghana is almost most zero...they own all these lands and sell them for soo much, yet make no account/contribution to the govern ...
100% I am with you !
I would rather invest in things like technical training for the youth than build this huge palace. I doubt when Nana is gone to the place of the ancestors, anyone can keep this palace as it’s. Building capacity for the yout ...
Haters as usual. People from inferior backgrounds are spewing rubbish. Thank God Nana is well educated. And I am very happy that Nana is Akan and a Professor in one of the universities in Ghana. Nana has also made his town a ...
@kwabena assuming. Get this information into your dull head and begin to read wide to understand where the world came from and where it is headed. Who cares if the chief of that palace is highly educated, it is just a stupid ...
idiot. go and abolish the monarchy. did the chief use your money for the palace? who tells you how to use your money? if you dont have anything to contribute shut your mouf. if this palace was built by your family member wont ...
the issue is clearly not about chieftancy matters but administration and making sure people are held accountable. you have politicians who are corrupt and there is no accountability. how is that any different from chieftancy ...
Akoa agyimi
Pure Marxist, Leninist Bs. Do you pay your taxes to chiefs. You vote for corrupt politicians, and blame the chiefs for lack of developments. See how the most successful Arabs are ruled by monarchs.The most revered person in J ...
The Olowo of Owo's palace in Ondo State, Nigeria, is widely recognized as the largest palace in Africa. Located on 180 acres of land, this majestic palace boasts over 100 inner courts, museums, markets, and numerous other str ...
Bank ...
MEKYIR NKONTOMPO
Great interview!!!!
THE CHIEF WAS ENSTOOLED TO IMPROVE THE STANDARDS OF LIVING FOR HIS SUBJECTS. DID HE ACHIEVE THOSE ...
I had opportunity to visit this place when constructing began n now the place look very fantastic,to be frank if Ghana get this types of chief like even 5 Ghana will be cleanest in the world, not only Africa I bet u I really ...
thank you
This Chief speaks with great humility and I love him for that, he also has respect for humanity, he has really done his human best. From his speech he loves nature and tourism and so he designed his palace to look like a tour ...
Population rates and extreme poverty rates are increasing exponentially around the country at the expense of development of our people and we are happy with a massive palace in a small town several miles from popular tourist ...