It cannot be mandatory. Where are all the royalties received for the 17 years ? Where are the revenues from all the lands sold before you are making it compulsory for every household to pay 50 cedis ?
Big Stone 6 months ago
Go and ask them. They cannot answer you here because they are not here. Some of you, everything you complain. If you have the balls, Walk to the palace and ask them.
No more Jandam 6 months ago
What good did this chief do for his community? He was just asantehene puppet, running around like a mad dog
IN GHANA EVERYONE CAN COME OUT AND START SPEWING ANYTHING 6 months ago
THOSE WHO WILL PAY, THAT'S THEIR OWN PROBLEM.
Lord 6 months ago
You are stupid he's saying the truth.
I LOVE MY NDC 6 months ago
This is too bad for Goasoman, does it mean the state had no money to take care of itself than to solicit? I look forward that right thinking persons of Goasoman will let his/her people know the shame of this particular act. Even the state could have gone to the bank and other organizations and institutions within her boundaries for loan to undertake the burial, typical of our culture, donations gotten could be used to offset the loan, later some kind of taxes introduced or some natural resources sold in that direction to cover this big shame. Invitees to the funeral should donate not less than GHc 50,000.00 to pay off. Infact, black man's culture is full of waste in terms of cash and time. We should learn from the Pope's funeral. Within two (2) weeks all is done, simple. Is he not buried and even the greater part of the world has forgotten about him, the world is moving on
No money 6 months ago
Talk again
Talk again
Nash 6 months ago
S3sen? When dies I think his kids and family are responsible to give him/her a befitting burial. It must be a freewill but not mandatory. Hmm. Consider the poor in the community. Anyway rest in peace, Nana.
Egya Kofi 6 months ago
Thie legality must be tested in court...Is the traditional council a subordinate law-making body? Does this audacity to impose taxation for the celebration of the dead rooted in statute.I blame politicians for crawling to chiefs for blessing and wisdom.A cherished instituion? The tools for despicable indirect rule and agents for the slave trade
Henry D. 6 months ago
It can't be compulsory and they cannot take any action against anyone who refuses to pay. They are not an island, but under the roof of Ghana which is governed by laws. They should only plead with the people so that they offer what they can afford. In this case, they will even get more support. But with force, they should go and ask the colonizers what happened when they tried to tax the people anyhow.
kk 6 months ago
Nonsense. You cannot impose a mandatory charge. The land does not belong to you. If you don't have money, do a small funeral. These chiefs better act with reason otherwise the little power they have left, we will take it from them. Nobody owes them anything.
Kojo 6 months ago
Twea kae this CAN NOT BE MANDATORY. NOT IN THIS CENTURY. PRIMITIVE AND AUTOCRACY TOO NI? Ma serew saaaa
JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 6 months ago
Track your car with our GPS vehicle tracking systems. Stop engine and monitor voice with your phone. Prevent car theft now. Cost; 850Gh. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Sheheh
Respect, recognition, and relevant need protection. 6 months ago
The people's republic of Goaso.
There are other traditional excess that must be checked, if not it will bring chaos into this country one-day. Chiefs infringement on fundamental rights of residence, most especially when they are bereaved, residence may be sympathetic to you, if they feel so. But there is no obligation on them to behave against their will. When the chief died in sunyani, businesses were forced to close down, residence were force to wear black against their will, if this behaviour is not checked, a day will come that this traditional leaders will impose carefew on residence.
The gov. Should organize a refresher course for them to know their limits, when it comes to constitutional governance. As established in Debra v AG, and Nana ampofo Agyei v Attorney General. They should be made to know that, they don't own any land in Ghana, as provided for in chapter 2 they don't even have the right to even touch any natural resources on the land. Ghana belong to all of us, and must be treated with respect, fairness in dignity
Its tradition 6 months ago
Its tradition. !!!!!
Dondon 6 months ago
We are yet to receive freedom from the Black man who took over from the white man. the government must stop this nonsense as soon as possible if it really means business and wants our vote as well. What does these chiefs do for the people except selling lands and sharing the money among themselves, this people think we are stupid aahba
Ok 6 months ago
Nkwasias3m,gyimii saa
Brigadier Sabari v.2 6 months ago
Nobody should pay fool. Let his party NDC which he was shamelessly a member pay for his funeral. Leave the poor folks alone.
Kofi Bediako 6 months ago
Fifty cedis levy for funeral then the traditional council will soon call on the Central Government for the construction of toilet facilities and the collection of piled up trash. Prioritize necessities please.
Abi 6 months ago
This is a very good idea for the town .The money retrieve after the funeral can be used to develop a section of the town.
Yaw 6 months ago
they would have gotten more if this was asked nicely.
KWASI IN EUROPE 6 months ago
Don't tax the poor again. This imposition of tax is stupid. I once saw an old woman in Ghana who had only one cedi to buy food. In fact, I was so touched that I paid for her. And this madman is going to tax every household?
Tomto 6 months ago
This stupidity must end effective immediately. What kind of nonsense is this? What has a funeral of a Chief got to with people being required to pay to finance it? What the chief do? Where from this stupidity?
Kix 6 months ago
Eiiii mother Africa
MARY MAVIS GYAMFIWAA 6 months ago
What a Shame! So the stool is so broke that the people should be levied to provide funding for the burial of the deceased chief? What nonsense is that?
Denis Brown 6 months ago
So Goaso elders can not bury their manhene unless through levies? This is very shameful. The elders must come again. This is not right....
Bad Goaso 6 months ago
Absolutely stealing and intimidating. Ghana government should intervene this immediately. Please safe the citizens from robbery. U can’t force people pay. Who cares about the stupid chief’s death?
kulbong 6 months ago
Dis is stupid nonsense, why must it be mandatory to every household. ghana is a shithole country
Kwame Peter 6 months ago
Goasoman must remember that whenever the white colonial DC demand ‘land poll’, they take to the bush and stay there until further notice,that option is still available.
Albert 6 months ago
Illegality! Please stop these things before one such '"royal directive" causes mayhem.
These days when chiefs die;
- ban on all types of celebrations
- a period of closure of businesses in some cases
- curtailmen ... read full comment
Illegality! Please stop these things before one such '"royal directive" causes mayhem.
- curtailment of freedom of movement
- mandatory wearing of funeral attire
- And now a mandatory levy
You can be sure some people are relishing collection of the levy, you know....
Miss Mae 6 months ago
What have you done for your people for them to contribute in
NPP/ NDC are the SAME 6 months ago
It doesnt make sense...what were the traditional rulers doing?
NPP/ NDC are the SAME 6 months ago
Massa go sell the diadem and royal regalia you wearing to raise funds for this funeral
This is too bad for Goasoman, does it mean the state had no money to take care of itself than to solicit? I look forward that right thinking persons of Goasoman will let his/her people know the shame of this particular act. E ...
Talk again
Thie legality must be tested in court...Is the traditional council a subordinate law-making body? Does this audacity to impose taxation for the celebration of the dead rooted in statute.I blame politicians for crawling to chi ...
It can't be compulsory and they cannot take any action against anyone who refuses to pay. They are not an island, but under the roof of Ghana which is governed by laws. They should only plead with the people so that they offe ...
Nonsense. You cannot impose a mandatory charge. The land does not belong to you. If you don't have money, do a small funeral. These chiefs better act with reason otherwise the little power they have left, we will take it from ...
There are other traditional excess that must be checked, if not it will bring chaos into this country one-day. Chiefs infringement on fundamental rights of residence, most especially when the ...
Its tradition. !!!!!
We are yet to receive freedom from the Black man who took over from the white man. the government must stop this nonsense as soon as possible if it really means business and wants our vote as well. What does these chiefs do f ...
Nkwasias3m,gyimii saa
Eiiii mother Africa
- curtailmen ...