School feeding. how much is government paying each student per meal? Prison is not for enjoyment. You can never eat to your satisfaction whilst in prison.
Nana 6 months ago
Kojo don't talk like that. And the officer should say the truth. Prisoners are fed once a day. When they give them koko and banku wit soup that is all or gari
SAEED OSMAN 6 months ago
60 pesewas is just too much, don't forget they are criminals, meaning they have forfeited about 90% of what makes them human beings. As yourself how much does their victim spend a day. Best don't commit crime.
Ghanaman 6 months ago
Even if someone has committed a crime, he or she is still created in the image of God, and so, should be treated with human dignity. To be fed in prison on 60 pesewas a day is a shame to this nation.
MasakalaMicro 6 months ago
Send the government your money to feed them like they are in a hotel. If they were created in the image of God, then why do they end up in a jail ? God is not in a jail. Shame on you talking like you know God.
Kwaku 6 months ago
The problem is every Ghanaian politician sees Voters as prisoners. Why is the cost of food so high in Ghana than every other European country.I remember the price of One Egg in Ghana can buy Two in Russia or Ukraine 10yrs ago.
Hannan 6 months ago
!!! Welcome to the best adult dating site ~~> Fun4.top
SK 6 months ago
So what do you want us to do for you. If you have free labour and you can't farm to feed yourself and even feed Ghana, then stop complaining. If I am the government, I will stop giving you fund.
Nana 6 months ago
SK everybody is a potential prison. Think about those who are there. You can one day be there too. Not all the prisoners are criminals
Jon J 6 months ago
Seven dayz without good food makes one week
JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 6 months ago
- Business / corporates websites
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ... read full comment
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for more info. Sewed
PJG 6 months ago
Call for Reform: Restoring Dignity to Our Brothers and Sisters Behind Bars
My beloved homeland, Ghana—today, my heart bleeds for our fellow Ghanaians who find themselves in our prison system. It is deeply troubling and utterly unacceptable that in this day and age, inmates are expected to survive on a daily food allowance of just GHS 1.80. This meager sum cannot provide even the most basic nutritional needs. We must never forget: these individuals are human beings—Ghanaians—just like us. Their rights, their dignity, and their well-being matter.
Let us, as a nation, rise to confront this inhumane reality. Our prison system must move beyond punishment to become a true avenue for rehabilitation and reintegration. The current state of our prisons is not only a reflection of systemic neglect but a moral failure on our part as a people.
It is time to rethink our approach. Let us consider relocating our prisons to large tracts of arable land across the country and transform these spaces into agricultural training institutions. There, inmates can be engaged in modern, mechanized farming and animal husbandry. Such a model would not only make our prisons self-sufficient in food production but also empower inmates with practical skills to reintegrate into society as productive citizens.
There are many intelligent, talented, and capable individuals in our prisons today—individuals whose lives have been derailed not only by their actions but by the shortcomings of our legal and investigative systems. We must commit to restoring their dignity and investing in their future.
Ghana must lead with compassion, justice, and vision. True development is measured not by the wealth of a few, but by how we treat the most vulnerable among us—including those behind bars.
Let us act now. For justice. For dignity. For Ghana.
PJG
Edward 6 months ago
I’m amazed by your write up, can say much. God bless you, l hope that many Ghanaians would reason this way. No one was born a criminal.
Edward 6 months ago
I meant can’t say much
Wicked Intentions 6 months ago
Create farms for them to rear chickens,sheep,goats,Cattle rabbits pigs and fish ponds to rear fish.Who care about them. When they make their own choices to killed and steal and we should care what they eat.Then tell Mahama and Sammy Gyamfi because their cars are filled with Ghana owned Dollars sharing them like Father Christmas.
Godwin 6 months ago
And so what?
They should go farming to grow own food.
Prison is not a 5 Star hotel - and most of these inmates have committed dispeakable crimes.
And so what?
Prison is not a 5 Star hotel - and most of these inmates have committed dispeakable crimes.
Kwam 6 months ago
Hmm very unfortunate. Why can't we use these prisoners to work and generate income to feed themselves and fir the state?
GENERAL BUTT NAKED 6 months ago
Masa prison is not for enjoyment, that is why we normally hear someone has been sent to prison for ten years in HARD LABOUR, TO SERVE AS A DETERRENT TO OTHERS, with the hard condition one face there will teach him or her not to commit crime again, those of you who says not everyone there has really commit crime yes it's true but after you go through all this inhumane treatment when you come out that is where you have to fight for your right and sue them, if you feed criminals well and make prison to be comfortable and relaxing place for them how can crime reduce??? a beg make una think well before una dey talk nonsense in the name of someone's right, the victim to that criminal also has right remember that, if we want to justify that anyone can also be in prison at anytime then we should know that anyone can also be a victim to a criminal at anytime
KWABENA KASAPREKO. 6 months ago
IF THE PRISONERS WANT TO EAT 30 CEDIS PER MEAL, THEY SHOULD COMMIT THEIR CRIMES. GHANA NEEDS MONEY TO BUILD ROADS, MEDICAL CLINIS, BUILD NEW SCHOOLS, ETC. "IF THEY DON'T WANT TO DO THEIR PRISON TIME, THEY SHOULD NOT COMMIT THEIR CRIMES" !!! PUNISH THEM SEVERELY !!!!!!!!! IT IS MY TAX MONEY THAT THE GHANA GOVERNMENT SPEND TO FEED THEM ! PUNISH THEM !!!
moonstone 6 months ago
Put them to farm to produce their own food.
Excellent idea !
STOP DEHUMANIZING PRISONERS -Kwabena Ohemeng,London 6 months ago
Prisoners must be treated as full human beings and not as subhumans like as it is obtained in Ghana and other african nations. What we forget is that some prison inmates are there pending their appearance in court.They haven't been found guilty to be classified as prisoners.Some are kept in Ghana prisons for years and years. Is this not justice denied? And prisoners in Ghana are very poorly fed.Even dogs are fed better than prisoners in Ghana. Apart from poor feeding they live in congested conditions making it easier for them to be affected by communicable diseases. Is this not a shame? Is this not an attack on the dignity of prisoners? The dehumanization of prisoners in Ghana must stop. It is a disgrace to the nation. Who lives on 1.80 cedis a day in Ghana? The government must act quickly to reset the image of Ghana about the poor and inhuman treatment of prisoners in Ghana. Prisoners are human beings and one day they will be released to join the society.Their blatant dehumanization must stop.
If you don't like 60 pesewas per meal, then don't go to jail, then. Jail is not a hotel, it's to punish you for what you have done. I wished they skip lunch for them.
The problem is every Ghanaian politician sees Voters as prisoners. Why is the cost of food so high in Ghana than every other European country.I remember the price of One Egg in Ghana can buy Two in Russia or Ukraine 10yrs ago ...
PRICE: 1,500gh. Call/WhatsApp. 0501796870 for m ...
My beloved homeland, Ghana—today, my heart bleeds for our fellow Ghanaians who find themselves in our prison system. It is deeply troubling and u ...
I meant can’t say much
Create farms for them to rear chickens,sheep,goats,Cattle rabbits pigs and fish ponds to rear fish.Who care about them. When they make their own choices to killed and steal and we should care what they eat.Then tell Mahama an ...
And so what?
Masa prison is not for enjoyment, that is why we normally hear someone has been sent to prison for ten years in HARD LABOUR, TO SERVE AS A DETERRENT TO OTHERS, with the hard condition one face there will teach him or her not ...
IF THE PRISONERS WANT TO EAT 30 CEDIS PER MEAL, THEY SHOULD COMMIT THEIR CRIMES. GHANA NEEDS MONEY TO BUILD ROADS, MEDICAL CLINIS, BUILD NEW SCHOOLS, ETC. "IF THEY DON'T WANT TO DO THEIR PRISON TIME, THEY SHOULD NOT COMMIT ...
Excellent idea !
Prisoners must be treated as full human beings and not as subhumans like as it is obtained in Ghana and other african nations. What we forget is that some prison inmates are there pending their appearance in court.They have ...