Effective leadership behind cedi gains – President Mahama to Dr Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (110)

• Game Changer 6 months ago

Say it AGAIN president papa paaaaaaa.

• The akyem sakawa mafia came to LOOT! 6 months ago

This same Bawumia bolted from the economy and jumped on the low hanging fruit of digitalization. They crashed Ghana with their ineptitude thievery. Today, he's shamelessly back with his useless lectures on the very economy he ...

• Karikakchar 6 months ago

Not all of us speak economics but all of us can ser when the value of the cedi is appreciating. The rate is interesting but appreciating is not as important as stabilisation. There are some good reviews from international age ...

• DEAD GOAT MAHALIAR IS BACK 6 months ago

NDCeivers adwene wo fom too much!

• MAHAMA MAKES HIMSELF LAUGHABLE 6 months ago

All tleading Economists are saying Trump’s policies have affected the dollar’s performance, leading to its depreciation against almost all currencies. The President should not lie about this or try to deceive us..

• Agyenkwa Hustler 6 months ago

Bawumia should learn to just shut up and sit quietly. Mahama never did that in opposition. He is not trying to run a shadow government or is he?

• Opoku Amsterdam 6 months ago

Agyenkwa,don't be an idiot.Why should Bawumia keep quiet. He is a citizen of Ghana and also a former Vice President who has a stake in the affairs of Ghana What are you talking abou? Bawumia will jot sit down for Mahama to li ...

• Newself 6 months ago

The question is, is the cedi appreciating only against the dollar? If it is not, then you are wrong. If it is then you are right.

• Analyst 6 months ago

It seems you're not aware that, the cedi is appreciating against the euro and the pound as well. Are you saying the pound and the euro are also falling in value like the dollar? If the cedi's appreciation is due to the fallin ...

• JANKROMAH 6 months ago

NADAA is the DECEIVER wae.....
    A man whose face appears like a high impact collision with an articulated truck....

WORSE is his tranverse view.....
    Why did suc apparition end up in Jubilee house.

BUT the ugliest p ...

• Kofi 6 months ago

What effective leadership is he talking about, as if we don't know John Mahama ? We have every data written on black and white, why can't they publish this for the public to see who is telling the truth about ghana's economy ...

• Rex@ All Npp followers 6 months ago

If u are gyimigyimii,a so called Economics wizard,will sit around an economics crises for three good years,many people lost their lives,many businesses collapsed,many marriages collapsed etc Still for three years the fake ove ...

• Simeon London 6 months ago

You will see your smoothness level very soon. HenDeeCee fuo ne propaganda ooh daabi da! Instead of you keeping quiet Mr President is also doing propaganda. What be your response when it's starts depreciating? Bad leadership?

• John 6 months ago

John Dramani Mahama is just a Tiiwiiiiiiiiiiiii President using propaganda to become a President.

• K Poku-London-UK 6 months ago

BAWULIAR-NPP is in a state of Mental Health Psychosis- a mental state where an individual's perception of reality is significantly altered, leading to difficulty distinguishing between what is real and what is not. This can m ...

• OUR JDM HAS TOTALLY SLAUGHTERED THE ORIGINAL BAWULIAR 6 months ago

You really can't tell the level of madness that these abominable NPP matemeho animals are suffering from! We now see them foolishly scrambling to be accorded some credit for the sensational recovery of the Ghanaian cedi. But, ...

• EFO KOKU 6 months ago

NO NAILS
    What effective leadership is the dead goat talking about? Pardoning Sammy Dollar for stealing Ghana’s gold money or what? Or the leadership of Trump that’s affected the supply of the dollar. Glad he couldn’t m ...

• OUR JDM HAS TOTALLY SLAUGHTERED THE ORIGINAL BAWULIAR 6 months ago

Hahahaha... gyimifuor kwaseato @EFO KOKU. For your information, the Russia-Ukraine War has even intensified, but Ghanaians are swimming in proper leadership that has brought back hopes and smiles on their faces. Go and join y ...

• EFO KOKU 6 months ago

KENKEY MAN
    Listen to the guy who loves kenkey more than digitalization. Why won’t you swim in proper leadership now that kenkey is free for party foolsoldiers like you. I’m not surprise you support Ndc. Low level thinker ...

• Ekow C 6 months ago

Why this skin pain?

• You are smart 6 months ago

Thank you

• hmm 6 months ago

419 President

• hmm 6 months ago

419 President

• Michael B 6 months ago

Just tell us simple

• Kramai 6 months ago

even in opposition bawuliar is living up to his name,his archaic barter trading system gold for oil idea used in ancient times cannot be the reason for the cedi stabilizing months after the cedi was the worst performing curre ...

• Kk 6 months ago

Effective leadership who only know how to sell out Ghana,s deliberately stored gold?

• Susan Djan 6 months ago

KK, BE SENSIBLE. STOP FOOLING LIKE NTIM FORDJOUR. GO AWAY

• Pelicles. 6 months ago

Mahama shut up. What effective leadership are you talking about? Sanitary pads leadership or what exactly are you talking about? Trump's tariff and some countries reject of the dollar is the main cause so, stop yapping.

In ...

• Common Sense is not common after all 6 months ago

I love how you are stupid but not aware of it…..

• Ei NPP 6 months ago

There is no haircut, no e levy. At least there's no looting, no cathedral etc. Good plans led to the cedis stability. Even some npp acknowledge the good planning of NDC, so what is Buwmia saying? In his dreams. The cedi was b ...

• Ekow C 6 months ago

oh skin pain.
    lets learn to appreciate when Ghana is doing well .

• K 6 months ago

Most foreign currencies which were struggling against the USA Dollar have started gaining strength. E.g. The Nigerian Naira and Zambian Kwacha have all gained tremendous strength against the Dollar

BAWULIAR-Is the NPP Also claiming CREDIT for the current DUMSOR- which is happening because Akuffo Addo and Bawumia failed to pay the DEBTS-Arrears of Electricity POWER GENERATING COMPANIES AND GAS COMPANIES. Ghana owe NIGERI ...

• Diss 6 months ago

Thesis paan eiiish

BAWULIAR-ASHANTIS ARE CURSING THEMSELVES FOR VOTING FOR THE ARROGANT, UNGRATEFUL, SHORT, UGLY, LILIPUT AKYEM TANI AKUFFO ADDO, because HE DID NOTHING FOR US THE ASHANTIS. LOOK AT THE IMPORTANT POSITIONS MAHAMA HAS GIVEN TO TH ...

BAWULIAR-Dr Mohammed Bawumia is a MAMPRUSI and so the NPP should NOT elect a MAMPRUSI who is one of the FACTIONS IN THE BAWKU CONFLICT. No, No, No-NPP. The KUSASIS WOULD NEVER VOTE FOR THE NPP and IT WOULD fuel the BAWKU conf ...

BAWULIAR-IT IS TIME THE NPP PARTY IS TAKEN AWAY FROM THE AKYEM MAFIA- WE THE ASHANTIS MAKE A MISTAKE. WITHOUT US ASHANTI VOTES-THE TINY POPULATION OF AKYEM ABUAKWA COULD NOT HAVE LET AKUFFO ADDO BECOME PRESIDENT-YET HE WAS UN ...

• Stanley Chart 6 months ago

WORKERS URGENTLY NEEDED IN A NEWLY COMMISSIONED FACTORY.
    ☎️☎️0533574591 /0533574591 ☎️☎️
    LOCATIONS: Medie and Tema Free Zone
    VACANCIES: Machine Operators , Forklift Operators , Drivers, Warehouse & Logis ...

• Ben 6 months ago

Let's not be in a haste to celebrate the gains and attribute it to effective leadership. The US Dollar further plunged today after Trump threatened to impose 50 percent tariff on the EU and 25 percent on Apple, according to t ...

• Worldwatch 6 months ago

Trump is just an idiot,a fool who thinks that a nation lives in isolation and can be run like a business entity.He is a total failure and the
    world will be happy to see America collapse under his stupid, arrogant presidenc ...

• dav 6 months ago

So why other currencies are not doing well to usd

• K 6 months ago

Pla find time to broaden your scope many more foreign currencies are making a meal of the USA Dollar.

• NON PARTY 6 months ago

The British pound and the euro are also very dormant against the cedi, so economic professors what can you tell us, Bawumia the supposed economic guru, head of the super head of the economic management team that will transfo ...

• Kramai 6 months ago

this was the same trick Akufo Addo used, saying Covid this Covid that but ghanas situation was very serious,one of the worst in the world,similar today,the Eur hasnt gained much to the dollar so why has the cedi gained so muc ...

• Newself 6 months ago

That is the correct and easiest way to look at it.

• Don 6 months ago

Ben, you’ve said it all. Ghanaians are covered in political lenses so it is hardly for them to accept reality. The cedi appreciation against the dollar is largely due to the Trump’s trade war and also the demand of the do ...

• Abrefa 6 months ago

So how do you explain the Cedi's gain against the pound sterling and the Euro? Your logic is miserably flawed. Take off your political lenses so you can think properly.

• Onipanua 6 months ago

I hear you. I hope you repeat your statement in a year's time. Or maybe when Trump stops his stupidity.

• K 6 months ago

The jubilation shd stop.There are worrying signs ahead.Donald Trump's govt is not stupid to make the USA Dollar value to drop.They have something Wicked for the rest of the world.

• Fasorho 6 months ago

Let’s move beyond the noise around the Cedi-Dollar exchange rate. The Ghanaian Cedi isn’t the only currency appreciating against the U.S. dollar—many major global currencies are experiencing similar gains. This trend is ...

• Nana Kwaku 6 months ago

Other international economists are suggesting that Trump is trying to make the USA Dollar to be cheaper in order to make their goods get mkt.The aim is to take more production from China who currently leads.The motive is to k ...

• Leo 6 months ago

Eeih !!, so this failed - economic guru, has no shame but still, has the guts to criticize the mahama - led government of lacking policies ?. Bawumia !! ,am shocked to admit that, you haven't learnt from your mistakes.

• Rocky USA 6 months ago

Bawumia knows nothing about the economics. Even 0 level holder knows better than Bawumia in economics. Digitalization is the only thing I can say Bawumia have little knowledge about it. U collapsed the country economics and n ...

• Memp3 meho as3m 6 months ago

Nanka 3b3y3d3n na ay3mo ya. JDM and The NDC will make GHANA great again

• Esi 6 months ago

We live to see. Are you aware BoG has maintained monetary policy rate at 28%. I don't think you understood what is really happening. Prudent management would have caused the monetary rate to also reduce

• Trust no one 6 months ago

Effective leadership in 5 months? . Mahama you are liar. Bawumia's Gold for oil deal jas played an emphatic and vital role in the economy positive look.

• Ekow C 6 months ago

Good things are happening to Ghana. We can all see. Thank God for good leadership.

• Kramai 6 months ago

when you boot out a wicked government like the npp government,things can change over night,again gold for oil archaic idea cannot be the reason for cedi's appreciation because it never worked under npp after it was introduced ...

• Kofi Bediako 6 months ago

The Southern Regions are bearing the brunt of the economic development of the whole Ghana. The Northern Regions are mere dependent appendages. It's time the Northern Regions paid back in full by utilizing the natural resource ...

• Spinoza 6 months ago

If it is true that it's due to Trump's trade war with Europe and China has caused the cedi to appreciate. Then the currency of every country must be experiencing this gains. Ask why the Nigerian naira is not seeing these appr ...

• Pandora 6 months ago

@Spinoza,
    Don't mind the NPP deceitful tactic.
    We all witnessed what 8 years of this clown's "BAWUMIA" policies did to us.

• Lopez 6 months ago

President Mahama arresting your opponents can't be described as effective leadership or reset as you call it. Tell Ghanaians what policy your government has initiated since assuming office. This intimidation will not cow Gha ...

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 6 months ago

LOPEZ: STOP SNIFFING COCAINE!

• Bons 6 months ago

Yoo we all dey here

• Bitter truth 6 months ago

Honestly I don’t want to be harsh but it’s Bawumia sick or something..why taking glory when someone is already in power..Npp was in power for 8 good years, even with the 8yrs, the cedi didn’t appreciate to the dollar to ...

For 8 good years ,I was preaching to the nana Addo govt about the importance of speed..if u are a leader and u don’t have speed, all your good works might not be recognized because u are too slow..I always stated that nana ...

• Kwadwo 6 months ago

What speed are you talking about? Between 2017 and 2019 Ghana’s economy was growing at one of the fastest rates globally!

Then along came Covid-19 pandemic that slowed both the American and Chinese economies! Brought ALL ...

Kwadwo, U don’t know anything about economics..sit down..if Npp was going at a speed, they would have been able to complete all their uncompleted projects..Npp didn’t have speed..after the Covid, every serious country bou ...

• Yabi Yabi 6 months ago

The NPP political campaign of 2024 should be a political science level 101 course at Ghana universities. The actions or inaction of Dr. Bawumia, NPP flag-bearer at the time, proved once and for all that Dr. Bawumia is a theor ...

• Nii Akwei 6 months ago

Yesterday, the Cedi was like a Prodigal Son that nobody wanted. Today, both NPP and NDC wants to claim him as their own. But how long?

• AAA 6 months ago

Dr. Bawumia is NOT serious politician and should be ignored about the excellent economic improvement under his leadership of president John Dramani Mahatma.

He should be ashamed for that comment that he has made.

• Akajatayogogo 6 months ago

President Mahama why do you respond to Bawumia, let Ofosu Kwakye tell him where the appreciation of the dollar coming from,Mr President responding to Useless Bawumia pls

• Oko 6 months ago

Bawumia copy copy you think you are smart. You talk too much. Squirrel

• Kofi 6 months ago

It will be painful if someone tells you that you are as useless as Bawumia

• EC 6 months ago

Bawumia said there are 760,000 Togolese on the voter register. Liar

• Slim 6 months ago

Stupid Bawumia!
    8years what did he achieve with his solid team?

• Wicked Intentions 6 months ago

Mahama you can only mislead NDC ignorant telling them effective leadership behind cedi gains because you know NDC members and supporters are fools morons and imbeciles so you can manipulate and mislead them.All educated peopl ...

• William HK Sorkpor --Boston, USA 6 months ago

PLEASE STOP THE GLOATING AND THE INFIGHTING! IT'S UNDERNEATH BOTH OF YOU. PUT YOUR HEADS TOGETHER, STUDY THE TREND AND CAPITALISE ON IT. AT THE END OF THE DAY, IT'S DOLLARS THAT WE WANT. STOCK UP ON DOLLARS WHILE THE RALLY O ...

• Blow 4 Blow- Butter 4 Bread! npp shame on you! 6 months ago

Yampia bawumia. The laughing jackal. Only talk. No results. Looting nkoaaah. This one too wants President to chop? Tofiakwa

• AI 6 months ago

JM TEACHING BAWUMIA THE ABC OF ECONOMICS
    Bawumia used to copy from textbooks and we thought he was better than even Adam Smith. But when he was given the opportunity to manage, see how he flopped!!!

• NPP/ NDC are the SAME 6 months ago

Bawumia is just delusional and sick

• Mimi 6 months ago

We should stop talking about the dollar depreciation. What has the dollar depreciation done for Ghanaian? If the dollar is going down then the prices of goods in Ghana should go down. But what do we see?. The prices of goods ...

• Kojois 6 months ago

What leadership. Do you really understand what you are saying lair. Half truth half lies.

• Shut up 6 months ago

I hope his medication is not finished. Who advised him to talk about the economy?

• Laughter 6 months ago

Liqour talk.
    Speaking to a collection of parasites who add nothing productive to a nation's development.

• Justice 6 months ago

Confused Bawumia! Weak fundamentals!

• Ko 6 months ago

Our politicians are arguing about something they have no control over. Trump's mess has weaken the dollar. There is nothing the NPP or NDC did to bring this about. Lets wait and see what happens when the US gets its situatio ...

• Joe 6 months ago

That is a lie Mahama. Thank Trumps trade wars and tarriff policy

• Obuobisa 6 months ago

Effective leadership that's refusing to pay contractors. May I ask, is appreciating cedi a panacea to our economic woes

• Effective leadership my foot !! 6 months ago

Effective leadership my foot ! Is effective leadership instructing 20 armed men to go arrest a civilian in his own house as if he's a terrorist? If u don't take care u will even be worst than nana Addo ! Idiot !

• LEO 6 months ago

As for Bawuliar, the list we talk about him, the better. As if Ghanaians have soon forgotten about his super incompetence when he was the head of Economic Management Team over the last 8 years. This guy simply lacks DIGNITY. ...

• Koby 6 months ago

We are aware of the foolish tariffs that the dick head Donald Trump is imposing, which have led to the depreciation of the dollar. If this is what Mahama is saying, I will save this article and publish it once the tariffs are ...

• Okyeman Fireman 6 months ago

Thanks to the BRICS nations action of other using the dollar in their trading activities and also the trade war on tarrifs between US and Chins..It is not any effective.leadership skill

• Emma 6 months ago

I don't understand Bawumia, thought he said he was he was a mate not the driver. He needs to be serious and stop the jokes. Ghana is being reset. Thank you president Mahama

• Yanks 6 months ago

Bawumia is right. Mahama'e effective policies mean randonly arresting political opponents without due process, allowing his babies with sharp teeth to spend Ghana's money like drunken sailors and jetting around in private pla ...

• Achakanapaya 6 months ago

NPP is a curse.
    A Criminal organisation full of shameless, dishonest, thieves, lair's hypocrites and Nation wreckers.
    Bawulair Timothy is dazzling.
    What NPP couldn't do in 8 years.
    NDC have done it in 5 months Huuuuuuraaa ...

• PETER OFOSU-MIREKU 6 months ago

Former Vice President is now an economist in opposition but a digital Messiah when in government. What a double standards. We know the trick . Ken is coming

• Good Governance Policy 6 months ago

Please tell Dr. Bawumia and his cohorts that the government's policy, which is positively impacting the exchange rate, is a strong example of good governance. Such a policy is one of the best things a government can offer its ...

• Seini 6 months ago

Gold for oil was the policy and not gold buyback or gold for forex. I don't think it helped at all since it took us back to the primitive barter system of trade which was abandoned centuries ago.

• Seini 6 months ago

Gold for oil was the policy and not gold buyback or gold for forex. I don't think it helped at all since it took us back to the primitive barter system of trade which was abandoned centuries ago. In any case good governance i ...

• Ewvevi 6 months ago

And that fool of a former vice president won't shut his smelly mouth up. He still wants to remain a dumb gyimi gyimi laughing cow, clowning around with such childish stupidity. I just can't understand this fool. And this is w ...

• Kweku 6 months ago

Mahama's postulation is true to some extent. However, there are many European countries whose currencies are appreciating vis-a-vis the dollar (in other words the dollar is depreciating across Europe) due to the U.S.trade pol ...

• Kweku 6 months ago

Addition : Yesterday Friday the 23rd May 2025 when the Trump administration announced a 50% tariff on alla exports from Europe, the dollar plummeted across Europe. Apparently this decline in the value of the dollar was felt i ...

• Abrefa 6 months ago

Bawumia has no credibility. Ignore him. Under his government the Cedi was a shamed currency, featuring among the bottom 5 or so of the world's currencies. We know his economic record. It's BOGUS. He shouldn't waste our time.

• Tweaa 6 months ago

The depreciation of the dollar is not in Ghana alone , it is global , the dollar has drop 8% all over the world

• JK 6 months ago

Remember some are more than you are. Some are the same as you are. Some are below.
    Question
    1. Where did you take it from Kuffour?
    2.Where did you leave it at the time of leaving office?
    3. Where was your competence whe ...

• ASIEDU NKWASIA 6 months ago

MAHAMA CANT EVEN BRING KENKEY TO 1 CEDI AS PROMISED , HIS ECONOMIC PLAN UPGRADE CEDI?
    DR BAWUMIAH BRAAAVVOO!!!!!

• Hannan 6 months ago

>>> Single women are waiting for you on -->> Fun4.top

• ABREWA 6 months ago

Na lie oooo Mahama. The recent influx of cocaine and other drugs.
    Plus the arrival of the Medical ambulance and the Dollar cargo plane has caused the
    rapid appreciation of the cedi ooooo !!!!
    All said and done , it’s r ...

• Matete 6 months ago

BAWUMIA THE EXCHANGE RATE HAS EXPOSED HOW HOPELESSLY USELESS YOU'RE PAAAAA.
    THE SIMPLE ANSWER IS EFFECTIVE LEADERSHIP IS PAYING OFF. GHANAIANS NOW KNOW HOW USELESS YOU ARE SO UST SHUT YOUR BEAK AND GO INTO HIDING WITH YOUR E ...