People will surely Keep their dollars in their own safe places. What a useless BOG board. Just when things are getting better with the cedi and you need to persuade more people to tender in their dollars, look at what you are doing .
DEAD GOAT MAHALIAR IS BACK 7 months ago
What is the point of having a forex account if I can’t have access to my money when I need it? A very stupid move by the BOG. I guess only politicians can have access to it. This is what happens when you put clueless economists and financial experts on a board. We’ll all keep our foreign currencies away from the banks.
Sly 7 months ago
Anyway this is normal in developed countries. You can't withdraw dollars in Italy or UK. You can transfer it or exchange it for the local currency
AKUFO-ADDO WAS, AND IS STILL A DAYLIGHT CRIMINAL. 7 months ago
MANY GHANAIAN LEADERS PAY OR COLLECT RENTS OR DO THEIR PRIVATE BUSINESSES IN US DOLLARS. MANY CHIEFS SELL PROPERTIES, GALAMSEY GOLD AND EVEN VEHICLES IN US DOLLARS.
SAMMY GYAMFI SPRINKLES GIFTS IN US DOLLARS. AKUFO-ADDO AN ... read full comment
MANY GHANAIAN LEADERS PAY OR COLLECT RENTS OR DO THEIR PRIVATE BUSINESSES IN US DOLLARS. MANY CHIEFS SELL PROPERTIES, GALAMSEY GOLD AND EVEN VEHICLES IN US DOLLARS.
SAMMY GYAMFI SPRINKLES GIFTS IN US DOLLARS. AKUFO-ADDO AND CECILIA DAPAAH NEVER STOLE CEDIS. THEY STOLE US DOLLARS, SO WHAT'S A DINGO TALKING ABOUT? WHATEVER HE DOES, US DOLLARS WILL ALWAYS REMAIN GHANA'S DEFACTO LEGAL TENDER BECAUSE OF BANKRUPT GHANA'S CEDI EXCHANGE RATE VOLATILITY.
EURO OR UK POUND STERLING ARE GLOBAL CONVERTIBLE CURRENCIES, SO THE DOLLAR DEMAND IN ITALY AND THE UK IS ALMOST NIL. FOREX COMPANIES ARE ALLOWED TO SELL THE US DOLLAR IN THESE COUNTRIES.
CONVERSELY, AFRICAN CURRENCIES ARE USELESS AND NOT.CONVERTIBLE, SO THERE'S NO HIGH DEMAND.
Africa Revolution 7 months ago
African Currencies are useless just as you are. It's high we changed our mentality as Africans, see what's happening in Burkina Faso and we still wants to remain as slaves and live lavishly in poverty with a billion resources at our disposal. Let's revolutionize Africa! No one will do it for us!
DAILY CASH GUARANTEED WITH THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL - NOT SCAM, MAGIC OR PRAYER ALONE 7 months ago
Skilled HAND-WORK NO GET SEASON O - Na him God dey bless, the work of your hand! EMPOWER yourself with this skill or help someone do so this May. You either rise or get buried. No more excuses. Time to thrive by SKILLING UP! Either plant, or don't plant; write, or don't write; learn, or don't learn - it's all in your Hands!!! But I assure U, what U will earn in 1 day can never be compared to the token paid to learn! It is far more. You EARN from what you LEARN, that's financial freedom! No cash-capital for a sales business this year? Every smartphone repairs/accessories business cluster is a beehive of activities DAILY...RAW CASH changing hands. If in doubt, visit any in your locality. Everyone owns a phone & problems are looking for solutions daily - that's a NEVER-ENDING OPPORTUNITY STREAM for you! CASH OUT with this skill made easy to learn. SOW into knowledge/skill, & REAP money in exchange. Learn & Set up this smartphones skilled-service business & earn daily cash. If YOU ALSO WANT TO BREAK INTO IT-CAREERS, Get any of Chukky Oparandu's Guidebooks for yourself or a loved one idling around. Join thousands who've transformed their lives this way! Invest in yourself today: Search "Chukky Oparandu" on Amazon Or VISIT (selar.co/m/chukky). FRENCH EDITION "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes" is also available. Get his blockbuster book, "IT Career: A Roadmap"! #SkillsForSuccess......9.07rg8
Osei 7 months ago
Mr. Adongo, now, should customers go to Sammy Gyamfi for Dollars?
Bous 7 months ago
Foolish dishonest Ndc, you need dollar then definitely you going to spend it in USA, ofcourse not Ghana...
So how come that buffoon sammy Gyamfi, is spending dollars in Ghana....naniama.....my comment only fools should ty ... read full comment
Foolish dishonest Ndc, you need dollar then definitely you going to spend it in USA, ofcourse not Ghana...
So how come that buffoon sammy Gyamfi, is spending dollars in Ghana....naniama.....my comment only fools should type insult under it.
People money 7 months ago
So what are you going to do with the people’s dollars ? Are you going to close the forex ?
Maybe tomorrow I should rush and withdraw my dollars fast before it becomes law .
Please think well before you cause a confusion ... read full comment
So what are you going to do with the people’s dollars ? Are you going to close the forex ?
Maybe tomorrow I should rush and withdraw my dollars fast before it becomes law .
Please think well before you cause a confusion!
Apex 7 months ago
I can tell you don’t have any dollars at any bank. Broke people talk.
Shamsi Waleed 7 months ago
Apex stop projecting broke fool
Prudhomme - NONSENSE AS USUAL 7 months ago
A board member works behind the scenes and cannot be a spokesperson for the BOG. Adongo is overreaching his role as a board member.
BOG has a PRO of Communications officer. ONLY IN GHANA!
A board member works behind the scenes and cannot be a spokesperson for the BOG. Adongo is overreaching his role as a board member.
Bota 7 months ago
Tell me! Even our banks communicate through responsible and serious channels, not bogu, irresponsible, too known officials.
BOYCOTT FACEBOOK, BOYCOTT INSTAGRAM 7 months ago
All black African countries should boycott facebook and Instagram.
Meta, the company, owns facebook and Instagram. Mark Zuckerberg is the CEO.
Mark Zuckerberg, needs to be fired as the CEO, and replaced.
If you are a ... read full comment
If you are a black African and open an account on any of these platforms. Your
account gets suspended and deleted. This is harassment.
Tik Tok is a better social media platform, than facebook and Instagram.
All black African businesses and individual shareholders of Meta stock, should dump
the stock. Let the Meta stock free fall to ZERO. Speak up, let voices be heard. We,
should not be taken for granted.
There is power in your purchasing power. Dump, Meta stocks starting now.
BOYCOTT USA,BOYCOTT UK,BOYCOTT EUROPE, BOYCOTT CANADA, BOYCOTT AUSTRALIA, BOYCOTT NEW ZEALAND 7 months ago
African countries should boycott all these imperialist countries. We should not have to rely
on these countries for economic development.
China, did not borrow a dime from IMF and World Bank for their economic growth . Ye ... read full comment
African countries should boycott all these imperialist countries. We should not have to rely
China, did not borrow a dime from IMF and World Bank for their economic growth . Yet, look at where
China is in 2025. All the capital for infrastructural growth can be raised through the treasury bill market.
We can do this. We, have great economist on the continent.
We have cheap labor and the skills to get the task done.
We should always look to China, as an example.
Arise Africa, forward looking, backwards never.
This should be our 10 year economic plan-2035.
True Ghanaian 7 months ago
We will keep them under our beds
Kwame Prah 7 months ago
The dollar will go up from today. You think the interbank rates do not help to steam the forex rates? I now understand why Adongo did not catch the eye of president Mahama for any ministerial appointment.
Bota 7 months ago
Bro,
You are right on point.
BoG is talking nonsense!
They should sit up and stop talking rubbish.
Lazy economics, Lazy political policy makers!
I put in my dollars.. give me back my dollars - pure and simple.
Bro,
You are right on point.
BoG is talking nonsense!
Mara 7 months ago
Wagyimi kɛkɛ
Ano 7 months ago
Means that many forex bureaus will be out of business
Nana 7 months ago
Hope it doesn't lead to hoarding and promotion of the black market.
Kweku Seidu 7 months ago
Massa! That would be a dangerous path to tread. I put my dollars in my accounts and when I want to withdraw you tell me I take it in cedis? Please, let’s avoid a situation where people would start keeping/hoarding their monies in the house
Agyeman 7 months ago
IS ADONGO AN OFFICER OF BOG OR A MERE BOARD MEMBER? WHY IS HE MAKING A BOG STATEMENT INSTEAD OF THE GOVERNOR. GOVERNOR PLEASE STOP HIM IMMEDIATELY BEFORE HE OPENS HIS MOUTH TO WIDE GOING FORWARD. MAKE THE RIGHT PERSONS MAKE STATEMENTS AFFECTING THE PUBLIC. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PATH HE'S CHURNING SO BE VERY CAREFUL ASIAMA
The end of cedi appreciation! 7 months ago
You see what happens if you appoint politicians instead of technocrats?? What a silly comment to pass. Now people are just not going to deposit dollars anymore. Will just hoard it at home. After all robbers no longer attack homes like it used to in the past
Truetalk 7 months ago
We will keep them at home.
Kwaku Baako the extortionist! 7 months ago
You guys said we don't chop dollars in Ghana , so what is a dollar denominated transaction ? Idiots
Kobi 7 months ago
This policy was introduced in 2014 and it failed. Why are we thinking about it again. Politicians never learn. Why do you put this in the public domain? Why should I deposit dollars when I can't withdraw?
MR BIG MOUTH 7 months ago
NDC,YOUR NOT SERIOUS, YOU TRY THIS OR IMPLEMENT THIS POLICY. AND PUPILS VOTES YOU OUT IN 2015/16 AND YOU BACK AGAIN. GO ON
Roadrunner 7 months ago
This is just plain dumb ,but that's nothing new in Ghana,they tend to do dumb things on a regular basis.
The black market will thrive ,there is no doubt.
I'll give this decision 3 months to be reversed.
You can take i ... read full comment
This is just plain dumb ,but that's nothing new in Ghana,they tend to do dumb things on a regular basis.
You can take it to the bank!!!!!!
Kaba 7 months ago
Adongo's mouth diarrhoea will destroy the cedi. Are you the board chairman or governor? Are you the PRO? The BoG is a sensitive area for somebody like Adongo to be there.
What is wrong with this Frafra Boy, Adongo? 7 months ago
Adongo is not a manager at the BoG, so he should shut his dog-eating mouth.
Ben Botchway 7 months ago
Thank you Adongo. Next time I am in Ghana I will make sure I don't save my money in the bank. in fact, I am going to withdraw all my dollar savings accounts. What a nitwit
Dr who 7 months ago
Why had it taken do long to arrive at this simply position. Ghanaians have been using the dollar to beat up their own Cedi for do long it's madness.
Yellow man 7 months ago
President Mahama you did very well for not appointing this Adongo man as the finance minister. Did he take akpetesie and dog meat before coming on the programme. What a way of announcing government policy.
Seth 7 months ago
It may be a brilliant Idea , but my fear is that this decision may create artificial shortages and an increase in demand for the dollar is likely to increase its price.
So far so good.I pray that the dollar continues to fal ... read full comment
It may be a brilliant Idea , but my fear is that this decision may create artificial shortages and an increase in demand for the dollar is likely to increase its price.
So far so good.I pray that the dollar continues to fall to bring economic stability. A fall in dollar ,is a fall in fuel prices, electricity and others.
Congratulations
Adongo 7 months ago
I better fly back home to transfer my dollars to somewhere else. B of G bogus and stupid decision
Tufle 7 months ago
A lot of people don't understand Adongo
During NPP time people were just buying dollars from the Banks and keep it under their beds even though dollar is not our legal tender .
Now he said unless you are traveling out bef ... read full comment
During NPP time people were just buying dollars from the Banks and keep it under their beds even though dollar is not our legal tender .
Now he said unless you are traveling out before you can get a dollar ,but if you are not traveling you will get cedis ..
The 1 million dollars found under Cecilia Dapah bed , did she bring it from US , she probably bought them from the banks with cedis and kept it
BoG directives to prevent money laundering
Nkrumah son 7 months ago
that is nice to hear and will be good only if we Stick to the plan . But please Let all government officials to stop giving out as gift. We know the cedis is now the strongest so we can give out cheap dollars but let stick to the plan of maintaining strong cedis
Obuobisa 7 months ago
Very bad move if bog implements such a policy. 1. Foreign remittances will be redirected to recipients through creative media. 2. No rationale person will deposit his foreign money in the bank so he will later be denied the same currency or at best be restricted. People will start hoarding hard currencies at home; already vast number of Ghanaians are doing that. That will be counterproductive and rather depreciate the cedi in the long run.
Busiah 7 months ago
Then what's about Dapaa and Sammy Gyamfi 's
Afrakomah 7 months ago
Is really such a great move for l have been to South Africa and the process you go through before you can get dollars is really tedious so you don't dare.But what do we see in Ghana here everything dollars to extent that coconut seller will be talking of price because of dollar we need real discipline in the system.
Official One 7 months ago
Sammy Gyemfi, see what you cause
Eric 7 months ago
Indirectly the Board member of BOG is telling all Ghanaians who have dollars to save it at the banks should stop and keep their dollars at their own safe places. Are we going back to the PNDC era?.Our parents and Grandparents lost a lot of monies. I don't belong to any political party so pls for those political followers do not start with me.Sholud any problem arises from the Board member's comments or pronouncements he will come and say I am not the Governor of BOG or the spoke person of BOG.We are currently experiencing something like this with the sky train investigation. No body wants to own up what part they played in given out that huge amount to someone that no one knows. Ghana God be with US.
Ghana Beyond Aid 7 months ago
Adongo is a loose canon. He needs to be removed from the board of BOG.
Kwabena Ohene 7 months ago
Bank of Ghana will embarrass him very soon with such comments from him.
These unguided statements creat panic and fear in the banking space.
If forex customers start redrawing all the money from the bank there will be liquidity crisis for the commercial banks and the central.
He is an Economist and knows better.
KBE 7 months ago
Whatever the decision, it’s always the political class which will benefit because they always have each other’s back.
Hannan 7 months ago
;)))))))) Hot girls are waiting for you on ~~ Fun4.top
Libby 7 months ago
Ghanaians do not trust the banks due to what happened during the PNDC era, and just as the citizenry is trying to engage the banks and do genuine business, you are bringing in this senseless law.
Meanwhile, do we listen to ... read full comment
Ghanaians do not trust the banks due to what happened during the PNDC era, and just as the citizenry is trying to engage the banks and do genuine business, you are bringing in this senseless law.
Meanwhile, do we listen to the governor or the board member or whatever he calls himself.
Koti 7 months ago
Nonsense! Was Sammy Gyamfi doing dollar-dominated transaction?
Nonsense we w ill keep our dollars
People will surely Keep their dollars in their own safe places. What a useless BOG board. Just when things are getting better with the cedi and you need to persuade more people to tender in their dollars, look at what you are ...
What is the point of having a forex account if I can’t have access to my money when I need it? A very stupid move by the BOG. I guess only politicians can have access to it. This is what happens when you put clueless econo ...
SAMMY GYAMFI SPRINKLES GIFTS IN US DOLLARS. AKUFO-ADDO AN ...
African Currencies are useless just as you are. It's high we changed our mentality as Africans, see what's happening in Burkina Faso and we still wants to remain as slaves and live lavishly in poverty with a billion resources ...
Skilled HAND-WORK NO GET SEASON O - Na him God dey bless, the work of your hand! EMPOWER yourself with this skill or help someone do so this May. You either rise or get buried. No more excuses. Time to thrive by SKILLING UP! ...
So how come that buffoon sammy Gyamfi, is spending dollars in Ghana....naniama.....my comment only fools should ty ...
Please think well before you cause a confusion ...
If you are a ...
China, did not borrow a dime from IMF and World Bank for their economic growth . Ye ...
Bro,
You are right on point.
BoG is talking nonsense!
Wagyimi kɛkɛ
Massa! That would be a dangerous path to tread. I put my dollars in my accounts and when I want to withdraw you tell me I take it in cedis? Please, let’s avoid a situation where people would start keeping/hoarding their mon ...
IS ADONGO AN OFFICER OF BOG OR A MERE BOARD MEMBER? WHY IS HE MAKING A BOG STATEMENT INSTEAD OF THE GOVERNOR. GOVERNOR PLEASE STOP HIM IMMEDIATELY BEFORE HE OPENS HIS MOUTH TO WIDE GOING FORWARD. MAKE THE RIGHT PERSONS MAKE S ...
You see what happens if you appoint politicians instead of technocrats?? What a silly comment to pass. Now people are just not going to deposit dollars anymore. Will just hoard it at home. After all robbers no longer attack h ...
You can take i ...
So far so good.I pray that the dollar continues to fal ...
Now he said unless you are traveling out bef ...
that is nice to hear and will be good only if we Stick to the plan . But please Let all government officials to stop giving out as gift. We know the cedis is now the strongest so we can give out cheap dollars but let stick to ...
Very bad move if bog implements such a policy. 1. Foreign remittances will be redirected to recipients through creative media. 2. No rationale person will deposit his foreign money in the bank so he will later be denied the s ...
Is really such a great move for l have been to South Africa and the process you go through before you can get dollars is really tedious so you don't dare.But what do we see in Ghana here everything dollars to extent that coco ...
Indirectly the Board member of BOG is telling all Ghanaians who have dollars to save it at the banks should stop and keep their dollars at their own safe places. Are we going back to the PNDC era?.Our parents and Grandpare ...
If forex customers start redrawing all the money from the bank there will be liq ...
Meanwhile, do we listen to ...