FanMilk, Kantanka, Trassaco, several companies cited in tax evasion, money laundering scandal

Read Comments Comments (77)

• TRUTH 7 months ago

So how could a company like Fanmilk look in the mirror and keep importing milk and sugar for their products.

How do we create jobs if all we know is to keep making easy money as our market struggles and disappear. We would ...

• Shamsi Waleed 7 months ago

Does ghana produce sugar or milk?

• TRUTH 7 months ago

Massa, we even import tomatoes from cold places like Holland and dryer lands like Burkina Faso.
    We are too much in a hurry to make profits and not develop our market creating sustainable jobs.
    Jobs create securities and ab ...

• TRUTH 7 months ago

And upon all these, they also evade taxes.
    We are digging our own graves and heading for an extinction as a people.

• JA 7 months ago

We are already EXTINCT!

• don't care !!! ¢ 7 months ago

Hmmm!akufo addo was just a sleeping autopilot...just woke up on the day them them lost the election..

• KB 7 months ago

@don't care !!!. Read and understand very well before commenting. Ogwan

• Apraku 7 months ago

There is a name called Bawumia who came up with an idea that we should digitalize our systems to avoid tax evation , ghost names in our systems etc. etc. We could do that to avoid all these tax evations. GRA is one of the mos ...

• Jijiga 7 months ago

1000% correct (Re, GRA)! They bambuzle and threaten law abiding businesses and extract bribes from same who dont have the time to waste arguing. ORAL should the scan on them.

• Isaac 7 months ago

@KB you should rather read well.

• don't care !!! ¢ 7 months ago

Well said! Buddy! KB is suffering 4rom low IQ!

• APEX AG ltd 7 months ago

EUROPE FACTORY WORK JOBS

Companies and Factories in GERMANY and HOLLAND
    urgently need

FACTORY WORKERS
    DRIVERS
    FORKLIFT OPERATORS

For immediate employment.
    Travel expenses including Plane Tickets will be paid ...

• Anti tax man,VA 7 months ago

You need a balance between taxes and keeping business afloat,perhaps they evaded the taxes because they were simply too high,remember these companies like fan milk create jobs for several poor vulnerable people and also may n ...

• Martin Kreisler 7 months ago

You have made a very well informed point.
    Outrageous taxes are stiffling private enterprises, forcing some to virtually fold-up. This trend of affairs erodes the tax base of the economy, and further contributed to the massiv ...

• Farmer 7 months ago

In all honesty, taxes especially tariffs on imports should be at fair levels and low enough that evasion doesn't make business sense.

Then we can expect everyone to pay their dues and the states revenues are higher with lo ...

• Mr Smith 7 months ago

Truth, if our politicians go borrowing and the some of the conditionalities is not to grow food through sustainable farming what should we expect? The only African country with ZERO taxes is Burkina Faso. Cam Mahama try half ...

• TRUTH 7 months ago

When they are negotiating deals with IMF of which we are a member nation, let them put the deal out in black and white and simple term for every Ghanaian to understand and see if anyone would tell them such things.

It is ...

• Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 7 months ago

NDC is notoriously known for destroying Akans companies since the 70s so this is not surprised

• HONESTY 7 months ago

Fanmilk is owned by foreigners. Go and check. Same with Trassaco. May be Kantanka but even their npp went for their neck, ask Adjoa Safo.

• Austine 7 months ago

Creating lasting manufacturing jobs requires favorable business environment : reliable and affordable power supply, interest rate, unregulated imports etc

• Paa Rasta. 7 months ago

Blame our leaders, if they enforce most of the rules without favoring their cronies . Yes we import everything because apart from the kwahu people , nobody has the skills open up manufacturing businesses.

• DEEVINITY 7 months ago

What you describe is the NPP model of "nation-building". A destructive philosophy of perpetual regression for the benefit of a few fools to the detriment of the collective. Property-owning "democracy".

• Kofi Ewuku 7 months ago

have you ever tried to grow anything Like pepper , Onion , Tomato ?

• BITTER TRUTH 7 months ago

Ghana is indeed a crime scene and there's a need for far reaching reforms to set it right.

The President was right!

• ST Ghfuo: KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT 7 months ago

Foolish leaders why won't they evade? GO to any g7 nation and evade tax and see what will happen tonyour company. Gh leaders dont have sense and they pass this stupidity to their offspring

• Shamsi Waleed 7 months ago

US companies are known for evading taxes soo much. G7 countries my foot. Rich corporations don't pay shit

• Donald Trump 7 months ago

Massa, Even the president of the US owes NYS Millions of $$$$$$$$$. Edit yua submission

• Mr Smith 7 months ago

Do our useless politicians care at all?

• THIS SKILL MAKES MONEY FOR YOU - NOT SCAM, OR MAGIC 7 months ago

Cash out daily by EMPOWERING yourself or help someone do so this week. Time doesn't care. It's MERCILESS. You either rise or get buried. No more excuses. Time to thrive by SKILLING UP! This new week, Plant, don't plant; write ...

• WHAT HAS THE GOVERNMENT DONE FOR THESE COMLANIES???!!! 7 months ago

ALL RHEY KNOW IS RAX TAX TAX AND MORE TAXES. AND THE SMARTEST WAY TO PROTECT YOUR BUSINESS FROM GETTING CRASHED AND COLLAPSED BY THOSE BOGUS TAXEA IS TO EVADE THEM. THE COMPANIES HAVE DONE NOTHING WRONG.
    ATUPID GOVERNMENT ...

• bohan 7 months ago

Fan milk i hear has been sold to some Arabs....the place used to have bad stench ....

• The Spear 7 months ago

The GRA management, like most Ghanaian institutions, is very stupid and very inefficient in their oversight responsibilities.

I gather that they all cannot stand up to the very exigencies for which they are in existence. ...

• BITTER TRUTH 7 months ago

Ghana is indeed a crime scene and there's a need for far reaching reforms to set it right.

• John,Tema 7 months ago

I would admit the NPP constant review in the computation of some of our taxes e.g. VAT could be part of this confusion. Taxation shd be made simple to allow companies calculate the right taxes.

• KWASI YAMOAH 7 months ago

THE UNDERLYING PROBLEM WHY OUR DEAR COUNTRY IS BROKE IS TAX EVASION FROM RICH INDIVIDUALS AND COMPANIES OWNED BY THE ELITES AND POLITICIANS FROM BOTH SIDES OF THE POLITICAL ISLES.GHANA CAN BE A VERY PROSPEROUS NATION ONLY IF, ...

• Geeman 7 months ago

The government as a matter of fact should retrieve any cedi and whatever from these vampires so called companies with interest.

• Anti tax man,VA 7 months ago

No it’s not the reason it’s broke,these companies like fan milk provide jobs for thousands of boys who would go jobless,you need to open your eyes to see this and may not even be earning that high in profits, I ageee thes ...

• Achakanapaya 7 months ago

Eiiiieee Ghana was bleeding under NPP government. No wonder they brought the Country on its knees and run to the IMF.
    NPP are Nation wreckers organisation.
    They know nothing about Governance.
    They came to steal, kill and ...

• JA 7 months ago

Take the politics out of it.

• Hmm 7 months ago

Everything in Ghana is politics

• Kelvin Taylor NDC propaganda secretary. 7 months ago

You are one of the most dumb people in the history of Ghana. Because you don't understand the dynamics of the business communities. All you know is BLIND POLITICS as usual. When the very competent NPP Nana Addo's admistrati ...

• Vida 7 months ago

I will not vote for Bawumia. He is a foolish man. Incompetent damn nasty liar. Mahama is my hero. Mahama all the way

• Mr Smith 7 months ago

Ghana has been bleeding since the overthrow of Kwame Nkrumah. Kutu Acheampong tried something good but after he was killed by Rawlings, nothing good has befallen this country.

• khalifa 7 months ago

Rawlings was the who put a stop to all these, in his time he was the only one who closed and discipline the Akans who have companies and were not paying taxes. Most criminals in ghana are Akans

Col. Kutu Acheampong indeed started something very good. However, it is beleived that he was 'sabotaged' by our Western Donor Partners, because he drew back on honouring the dept obligations of previous governments.

• The Spear 7 months ago

Where the hell did you got that from? Kutu Acheampong? Why then was he arrested by Fred Akuffo who himself messed up?

Management efficiency was sacrificed for something else.

You must have been a very young person, or perhaps not even born by then.
    Those of us who were mature enough to appreciate the situation in the country at the time, remember the benefits of OPERATION FEED YOURSELF, and the m ...

• .. 7 months ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS REALLY RESETTING THE COUNTRY. LEAVING NO STONE UNTURNED

• Efo 7 months ago

Ndc will collapse these companies in the name of politics meanwhile they can’t create a single job for youths and the stupid people will support this nonsense..Have checked Ibrahim companies?? Sick country!!

• Kwaku Tee 7 months ago

There shd be concern when there is massive failure during an exam. Could it be that the questions were too difficult or the marking schemes were too demanding?GRA shd check their tax computations which may be too complex.

• Eddy 7 months ago

This is very serious, companies in that magnitude invaded tax. Such a huge sum of money lost. Ghana indeed is a crime scene.

• Ojah 7 months ago

How the hell does the GRA think most of the Executives and Directors of some of these companies get to own and drive V8s around? UNDER-INVOICING!

• Tax are billed to the Consumers but not paid to GRA 7 months ago

Hardware dealers, grocery shops and other businesses bill consumers with taxes but it is never paid to GRA .

• Know your history 7 months ago

Franko trading is Franco phone and has been doing this since.

• Wasteman 7 months ago

GRA REPORTS ARE RELEASED YEARLY…IT IS UPTO THE SECURITY AGENCIES TO ENFORCE THE LAW…SO NOBODY SHOULD GIVE MAHAMA ANY CREDIT YET…WE ARE WATCHING

• Yaro Zongo 7 months ago

Cru my beloved country. Ghana.Sad!

• Yaro Zongo 7 months ago

Cry my beloved country. Ghana.Sad!

• Jon J 7 months ago

First off taxes shud be reasonable then companies n individuals evadin n launderin money shud be made known to curb or reduce occurrence

• Nana 7 months ago

With tax evation, every company is guilty

• Kwaku alala 7 months ago

The whole problem sit at government. They ask duties in value of $35.000 for chicken products. So if the real duties were paid, nobody in Ghana could effort chicken.

However, the point of receiving full duties and putting ...

• Nonsense 7 months ago

The relevance of import duty is to level the playing field for local producers..is to ensure that the end price is the same or expensive than buying local. If you can't pay then buy local or be a farmer to produce for ghanam ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA? 7 months ago

Smoke all of them out and then have them charged, tried and heavy penalties slapped leading to imprisonment, heavy fines etc..

The over burdensome taxation policies of 'previous governments' were attempts to raise more revenue to run the country. However, they led to the stiffling of private enterprises, forcing some to virtually fold-up. Such action ...

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 7 months ago

Bank ...

• Kath 7 months ago

Close down these companies if you think they did anything wrong. Otherwise, why do you smear them? These guys should think before they leap.

• Nonsense 7 months ago

The relevance of import duty is to level the playing field for local producers..is to ensure that the end price is the same or expensive than buying local. If you can't pay then buy local or be a farmer to produce for ghanam ...

• Quofi 7 months ago

Indeed the private sector is the engine for the Ghanaian economy and it is also it's achillie heels. They are the largest employer in the economy and the most corrupt . They also are more often than not in bed with those who ...

• Rebolo Gyamfi 7 months ago

WHO CHECKS THE CHECKER...... SHOULD I SAY WHO MAKES THE Compliance COMPLETE ?What a porous system we have??

• KB 7 months ago

Taxes would have been down if Mahama hadn't signed that bogus contract with the guys running the the harbour in his previous administration.

• Tail light 7 months ago

Ghanaians,For once should behave like rational thinking people and not imbeciles like Ghanaweb journalists and their NDC government.Any imbecile can write and publish figures our of prejudices to fool unsuspecting morons as f ...

• FunnyGhana 7 months ago

GRA is a very nasty institution which misinterprets the laws, uses the blackmailing method of giving some wild assessment knowing that tax payer has to pay 30% deposit before even challenging the wild baseless assessment. Tha ...

• DEEVINITY 7 months ago

The cost of doing business in this town is mind-numbing. It is punitive and counter-productive. It provides the basis and motivation for criminal minds both in fiduciary positions and the business community itself to circumve ...

• old man 7 months ago

OK, the culprits are identified. So, what happens next. My guess is nothing.

• JUSTRAC AFRICA LTD 7 months ago

Secure Ur home, office, and property now with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Ksjebeb

• the Villager 7 months ago

People do not willingly pay taxes, govt collect taxes.
    We know from ECG that it is its workers who divert these revenues into private why shd we blame govt for these lost incomes. Corrut Ghanaians at the ports ad GRA cleverl ...

• Oh AMA Ghana 7 months ago

I agree that taxes should be fair, within the payers means. However, Companies non-regulated will do all it takes to amass profits for the shareholders because that is the mandate. Consequence is the signal that good profit i ...

• Hannan 7 months ago

>>>>>>>> Welcome to the best adult dating site ~~>> Sexy24.mom