I agree with you. Our mining laws are too weak. Let's amend them
I piss on sick dog prophet mohammed 8 months ago
If you. poison islamic people you will go straight to heaven. Qur'an is. toilet paper. Burn all
mosques. in Africa
If you. poison islamic people you will go straight to heaven. Qur'an is. toilet paper. Burn all
mosques. in Africa
Ali musah 8 months ago
Are you correct ?
I SHIT ON SICK DOG JESUS CHRIST THE GOD OF CHRISTIANS 8 months ago
BIBLE IS A BOOK OF PORNGRAPHY. IT SHOULD BE KEPT UNDER LOCK AND KEY. KILL EVERY CHRISTIAN IN GHANA.
Rev.boafo 7 months ago
Pig cursed brain like u deserves death, may accident scatter ur stinking flesh so it will be collected in the dust bin, Amen
Rev.boafo 7 months ago
You shall know no peace, ur generations are cursed forever
ONE GOLD BAR 12.4KG OF 99.9% PURITY IS OVER £1 MILLION POUNDS STERLING ON THE OPEN MARKET, SO £600 MILLION REPATRIATED PROFIT PER ANNUM IS "CHICKEN CHANGE" 8 months ago
BANKRUPT GHANA'S SUCCESSIVE LEADERS ARE MUMU! THAT'S WHY GHANA LEADERS KEEPS "GULPING" IMF LOANS LIKE NINCOMPOOPS IN THE MIDST OF PLENTY, WHILE A BAR OF 12.5KG GOLD EASILY SELLS FOR OVER £1 MILLION POUND STERLING ON THE OPEN MARKET AND ON STOCK EXCHANGES ACROSS THE GLOBE.
WHY ARE OTUMFUOR, KENNEDY AGYAPONG, SAM JONAH AND RECENTLY WONTUMI SOME OF THE RICHEST PEOPLE IN GHANA? - GOLD BARS SMUGGLING WHILE GHANA REELS IN DECADES OF DEBTS AND DOING "LALASULALA" FOR IMF LOANS.
OUR LEADERS ARE THOSE DEPRIVING GHANA OF MUCH-NEEDED REVENUES FOR DEVELOPING THEIR OWN ARSES FOR THE COMMON GOOD.
TODAY, GHANAIANS ARE NATURALIZING TO BE CITIZENS OF SOUTH SUDAN AND CROATIA AND GAMBIA. THAT TELLS THE EXTENT TO WHICH GHANA HAS BEEN DESTROYED BY THE VERY IDIOTS WE PUT ON THE PEDESTAL, PAY THEM GENEROUSLY TO IMPROVE OUR LIVING STANDARDS, INCLUDING THOS OF THEIR OWN ARSES.
So what 8 months ago
So what are you going to do about that? We all know this already and have been talking about it for decades . “We can’t continue like this” has been said many times over the decades . No action to back it. The fact that you are even talking about it means you won’t or can’t do anything about it . Otherwise , you’d have kept quiet and worked at it.
We are tired of talking leaders. We already know the problems , we dont need you to tell us the problems. In Ghana , our leaders get into positions and tell us what the problems are instead of solving them
Honabe 8 months ago
But have you read the article at all? The GoG has taken over the mine it will be run by local people. .
So what 8 months ago
@honorable . Yes I’ve read the story. It doesn’t state the mineral commission boss’ prof erred solution to the problem he expounded . The story doesn’t mention that the government has taken over the mines and is going to contract local miners to undertake further business. This is information you have introduced. I’d be glad to read on the governments plans for the mines but This particular story doesn’t state that.
Joe 8 months ago
Our mining laws are made by Ghanaian politicians. These politicians benefit immensely from such dodgy laws. Eg Tullow oil contract with Ghana. Some politicians used off shore companies to make millions of dollars in Tullow oil shares. How did Sam Jonah established Jonah capital in South Africa as a former CEO of Obuasi goldfields and why did the Queen of UK grant Sam Jonah a Knighthood??? Niggas are greedy ,short sighted and fools especially the highly educated ones.
Northern Boy 8 months ago
Sam Janna's wealth should be looked into
Let's continue on the Jesus path 8 months ago
Yes, the Jesus path leads to eternal life and only a few find it. Seek Jesus and you will find rest for your soul.
Bazz 8 months ago
For a long time am beginning to see progress
Ghanawatch 8 months ago
Stop worrying us with Jesus. His own people rejected him and you are in Ghana worshipping the God of Israel. Get rid of your slave mentality.We worshipped God before Christianity was brought to us by the colonialists.
As It should. 8 months ago
@Lets continue on this path,
People like you are the reason why the foreigners won't ever take us serious.
Someone is talking about things that would benefit and and improve the livelihood of the masses and all you can talk about is eternal life ?
If you know there's a better place for you to go instead of making the best out of where you currently live as a human, then kill yourself and go there with your so called soul and leave us alone to take actions that'll make us fulfill our destiny on these earth as the creator intended for us
Blue Pen 8 months ago
@As it should. Massa, go away with your too know. We've talking economics since independence; where have we reached economically? Is it his two line comment that hinders the economic development of Ghana? Economics is very important. Eternal life is also very important; even more important. After all, how many years will spend here? Even 100 years is nothing compared to eternity.
Of course, I support the Govt decision on the Damang. How we managed to give out our precious resources for peanuts over the decades is baffling. If govt wants to operate the mine, then it should not be by the regular SOE model. It should be by an entity like the GOIL model, but even better, more efficient, more independent of political interferences, listed on the stock exchange with the corporate governance. Not the usual 'cash cow' for politicians and their associates; not a 'dumping site' for employing political party people and family and friends. Not like the way GNPC and Ghana Gas Company have been 'hijacked' by govts.
Kermit 8 months ago
Oh thank God. Finally we have sensible guys leading us.
Danger looming, 8 months ago
NDC government and John maham want to take over Damang mine and give the loading and hauling to Ibrahim maham. They will also give procument management to their family and supporters
Truth 8 months ago
Yes .....and what will u do about it? I wish there was a place to sell people like u who think this way. We will make sure Ghanaians are in charge of all our resources
Aponkye shuaa 8 months ago
@danger looming, what's your evidence and moreso, such comments dies not help anyone in Ghana or the development of this country. We are the same people who authorised the current rot to happen, so let's get it solved and allow Ghana to take control.of what it has.
dboyy 8 months ago
Resetting in progress. Well done JDM
Kwame 8 months ago
Profits will stay in Ghana if we are all aware of the operations of these companies in the country. Secondly, the companies are made to list on Ghana stock exchange where Ghanaians can buy shares. This is the only way profits can stay here. Stop the political talk and selfish behavior.
Kofi Seaman. 8 months ago
For how long must the black man or African allow themselves to be stepped on? All that has been going on because little brown envelopes has been distributed to some shameless individuals who have sold the country short to the westerners. This money being quoted,why can't the country take over completely and all that money will stay in the country for much needed development. After all this years that mining has been done in the country, it is high time the people of Ghana owned their mines or at least 70% or 80%, no less of mining going on in the country.
Aponkye shuaa 8 months ago
What's the cause of that CEO? Who authorised that? Find the root causes and don't cut the branches. Let's uproot the tree so that the leaves will wither as well. All the best to you and your team.
Kwam 8 months ago
So what are going to do about? I hope we enact a law to force these companies to invest at least 10% of profit after taxes into the local economy. You said it we can't continue like this look at our neighbors Burkina fasso and others??? What can we learn from them?
Kofi Seaman. 8 months ago
By what you have observed and spoken boldly about, it makes you the best among the lot to have Ghana at heart. Do not allow yourself to be corrupted and work courageously towards making things right in the mining sector for the people.
Aziz Bukari 8 months ago
Mining companies shift money to start project.SA gold mines are down because money was shifted to build mines here in Ghana Tarkwa Damang Obuasi.Even Anglo sold mines in SA to restart Obuasi.
Kindly talk about Damang Truth ... read full comment
Mining companies shift money to start project.SA gold mines are down because money was shifted to build mines here in Ghana Tarkwa Damang Obuasi.Even Anglo sold mines in SA to restart Obuasi.
Kindly talk about Damang Truth be told the mine needs a mid tier producer to be more focused on what needs to be done
We should stop some comments Miners like Newmont don't invest in USA but come to Ghana.
Investors always look for where there are attractive returns.Ghana must be strategic in how it handles resources.Perseus Mines are depleting we cannot revive Bogoso Prestea mines as a country.
Nice work!! 8 months ago
I'm proud of you!! That's how it's done!! We need to take control of our resources!!
KT 8 months ago
Woaw $600M profit... did they pay 35% as corporate tax (CT) or they are under development agreement (DA) so they did not pay CT or lesser CT?
Truth 8 months ago
Was the a law against it? Did they infringe on any law? Politicians, they are coming to give it to one of their cronies so they will start badmouthing the old admin. How many politicians steal and send monies abroad to buy properties? They have employed Ghanaians and paid their taxes
Obaa yaa 8 months ago
What agreement did the Government sign with them. Blame the government and not the Company.
Kofi Abban 8 months ago
We need to see the Business plan for government taking over Information available indicates that some few months of easy money treating stockpiles .After that massive investment needed to run the operation Talk is cheap Running the mine is in the details.
A question what if Gold prices drop.
Pepenyi Mfantse 8 months ago
Throw those vampires out.Ghanaians are not benefiting from our natural resources.
Ghana first,Africa first
Throw those vampires out.Ghanaians are not benefiting from our natural resources.
Ghana first,Africa first
EagleEyes 8 months ago
Herrh npp for 8yrs,
God punish you!
Amen
Herrh npp for 8yrs,
God punish you!
Amen
Jacob 8 months ago
We fail to see that those who bring in funds to invest have right to recoup their investment and also decide what to do with their profits. Instead of complaining like ignorant school boys; what we should do is 1. Encourage local businesses to INVEST in Mining and Oil and Large scale agriculture. 2. Discourage.GIPC from portraying Ghana as a cheap INVESTMENT DESTINATION. 3.Provide incentives for local investors to plough back some of their profits into other local enterprises. The Government has obligation to provide basic services for the people. That obligation should not be shirked under " SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY".
Kwaseato 8 months ago
Can they do what they do in Ghana in their home countries? Compare Obuasi to Johanesburgh if Ghana has benefited from our natural resources
A BOLD AND GOOD DECISION BY MINERALS COMMISSION 8 months ago
Am NPP supporter but this is good and BOLD decision by NDC led government and the MINERALS COMMISSION. GHANA first . Thank you president Mahama. All foreign contracts not in favour of the country should equally be reviewed.
Kwame Angel 8 months ago
Stupidity! You don't sit down, complain and expect Gold Fields to do anything about this. Gold Fields in not a charitable organization; it is a profit-making corporation. Solution? MAKE LAWS that clearly define what proportion of proftis they can remit, simple. This is what other more sensible countries do. Yes, it is difficult to move monies out of Australia because they have laws. And the laws work.
Jkmee 8 months ago
Reset is on
Reset is on
Truetalk 8 months ago
Let's follow Ibrahim Troare's footsteps.
Ghana will be great again.
Mike 8 months ago
Yes oooo
Yes oooo
Isn't that what all the mining companies do 8 months ago
Ghana has idiotic laws and contracts that enables these multi nationals to rob and loot our resources unchecked. Corrupt Politicians and civil service officers are the enablers of this looting. How on Earth can a country allow a company make a profit of $600 million and the country gets zero from the profit. What stops the government from enacting laws to recquire these companies to file yearly tax returns in the country they work and make them pay income tax or stipulate a percentage of their profit be deposited with the Central Bank for the country's development. You go around chasing loans for developing when your precious resources are being looted by those you go for loans
Bitter truth 8 months ago
Oh Charlie, it’s pure stupidity on the part of some heartless Ghanaians to be assisting these mining companies in such a criminal behavior..they always use some criminal Ghanaians to be stealing from this country..Nobfog can tell me Ghana is a poor country with just one company stealing this amount of money from Ghana..so imagine all the mining companies and the amount of money they are stealing from our country..poor leadership..Ghanaian youths shouldn’t be traveling abroad to even hustle..if all these money statues in Ghana and used for infrastructure development, no Ghanaian youth will be in line seeking for visa to travel abroad..Ghana is rich, our leadership is poor..There shoukd be a new law that these mining companies should invest all these money into the infrastructure in Ghana..just imagine one mining company making this amount of profit..and yet our local league in Ghana don’t have sponsors..
Seek thee 8 months ago
Your government recently cancelled E-levy that was raking in over $2 billion cedis annually meaning the country is well off and sustainable so don’t blame Goldfields for taking that small amount away after paying taxes and royalties.Is this jealousy or evil thinking. How about MTN.
These mining companies such as goldfields, newmont, anglogold Ashanti etc are criminals and scammers..I can boldly say even their profits is more than the $600 million speculated but they send all their profits outside of Ghana..what kind of wickedness is that..you make Al your money in Ghana yet refuse to invest in Ghana because they have realized we have a weak govt..The Ndc govt should not renew the licenses of Damang mines..these foreign mining companies are the biggest criminal cartels in ghe world..Give the licenses to a Ghanaian indigenous company and give him conditions to develop the surrounding commmunities..this is purely heartless..Goldfieds don’t have even a single developmental project in Ghana..always sending their profits outside the country..nonsense don’t renew their lease
See Saw 8 months ago
They were one time the official sponsors of the Ghana senior men’s team the black stars.
Say the TRUTH 8 months ago
HAS the STATES Mining LAW MADE Any Provisions in the ACT for the Multi-National Mining Companies on "How Much"/Percentage of their Returns that HAD TO BE REINVESTED DOMESTICALL????
The mining laws in Ghana has to change..no country will allow u to Aed that amount of money away..it’s purely rubbish..even in the USA, if u go there or work, u can’t physically send with u more than $10,000 to Ghana..why do we allow a foreign owned controller send away all these money..there must be a law to ensure they invest domestically in Ghana..u can’t make all these money and yet the country is poor
Nsesem 8 months ago
While Aussies can be lovely singing birds as a people, many of their mining company investors spineless crooks. What these folks won't do in Canada, Russia, and the US, they do in Africa, Latin America, and Southeast Asia. Aside from Nkrumah, and Rawlings and Acheampong to a lesser extent, most of Ghana's political elite have been incompetent.
The politicians are to blame 8 months ago
I blame all our past leaders. They negotiated selling their birthright, as did Esau, in the Bible. Our leaders are not generational thinkers. They are greedy.
Ken 8 months ago
Good decision
Markent 8 months ago
We are fully behind you do not allow anyone to put pressure on you let us own the land for mother Ghana
PETE 8 months ago
PRICE OF A GOLD BAR IS AROUND 3,500 DOLLARS NOT ONE MILLION DOLLARS AS STATED BY ONE OF THE COMMENTATORS .GOGGLE AND CHECK IT.
Ghanaba KK 8 months ago
1kg of gold is about £81,000 and a gold bar is about 12.5kg.
The truth 8 months ago
Thus the MinCom boss mean, Government will invest in exploration to identify ore reserves in mine at it end of life. What's is the benefit of the gamble?.
The wise thing to do is to force Goldfields( by tying statutory app ... read full comment
Thus the MinCom boss mean, Government will invest in exploration to identify ore reserves in mine at it end of life. What's is the benefit of the gamble?.
The wise thing to do is to force Goldfields( by tying statutory application of other mine)to invest and get the mine running and offcourse negotiate for better terms.
The truth 8 months ago
Does the MinCom boss mean, Government will invest in exploration to identify ore reserves in mine at it end of life. What's is the benefit of the gamble?.
The wise thing to do is to force Goldfields( by tying statutory app ... read full comment
Does the MinCom boss mean, Government will invest in exploration to identify ore reserves in mine at it end of life. What's is the benefit of the gamble?.
The wise thing to do is to force Goldfields( by tying statutory application of other mine)to invest and get the mine running and offcourse negotiate for better terms.
Hannan 8 months ago
;)))))))) Welcome to the best adult dating site >>> Sexy24.mom
Ghanaba KK 8 months ago
Our leaders have been so stupid over the years. How can they make millions in dollars and then send the profit out of Ghana. 600 million dollars for 10 years is 6 billion dollars leaving Ghana. How
Concerned Ghanaian 8 months ago
Why is Martin Ayisi still at post as CEO of Minerals Commission after recklessly superintending the destruction of our forests and water bodies as the regulator of mining in Ghana?
How do you justify the sacking of the Govt ... read full comment
Why is Martin Ayisi still at post as CEO of Minerals Commission after recklessly superintending the destruction of our forests and water bodies as the regulator of mining in Ghana?
How do you justify the sacking of the Govt Statistician while keeping Ayisi at post?
Kofi 8 months ago
So what about investors who leave their country to invest in Ghana We should mind Trump mindset in Ghana.
Northern Boy 8 months ago
Akufo ado was just a criminal
Ghanaman 7 months ago
Dear NDC since no nobody is brace enough to tell you what to do I will tell you. ORDERS OF BUSINESS
1..PASS A LAW THAT ALL REVENUE ACCRUING FROM GOLD THE COUNTRY GETS 50% BEFORE TAXES
2.THE LOCALITY GETS 10%
3.THE YOUTH ... read full comment
Dear NDC since no nobody is brace enough to tell you what to do I will tell you. ORDERS OF BUSINESS
1..PASS A LAW THAT ALL REVENUE ACCRUING FROM GOLD THE COUNTRY GETS 50% BEFORE TAXES
2.THE LOCALITY GETS 10%
3.THE YOUTH GET 60% OF ALL SUPPORTING SERVICES CONTRACTS
4.ONLY 30% OF PROCEEDS CAN LEAVE GHANA EVERY 5 YEARS.
5.CREATE A FUND TO RESEARCH GOOD MINNING PRACTICES FOR UNIVERSITIES AND RESEARCHERS.
6.GOVERNMENT HAS AUTHORITY TO BUY UPTO 70% OF SHARES IN FAVOR OF GHANA.
Ebo 7 months ago
THAT IS THE WAY TO GO. WE MUST NATIONALIZE THE PRODUCTION, VALUE ADDICTION AND SALE OF ALL OUR NATURAL RESOURCES. BIG OR SMALL OR MEDIUM.
THEY CANNOT PERPETUALLY EXTRACT THEM FROM OUR LAND AND HAND US LESS THAN 10% OF THE PR ... read full comment
THAT IS THE WAY TO GO. WE MUST NATIONALIZE THE PRODUCTION, VALUE ADDICTION AND SALE OF ALL OUR NATURAL RESOURCES. BIG OR SMALL OR MEDIUM.
THEY CANNOT PERPETUALLY EXTRACT THEM FROM OUR LAND AND HAND US LESS THAN 10% OF THE PROCEEDS. NO OOO!!!
Yaw Nkansah 7 months ago
You cannot tell Goldfields how to use their profits.Rather check Ghana's mining laws and amend it.Our politicians take bribe from foreign companies and make regulations that don't benefit the nation.
mosques. in Africa
Are you correct ?
BANKRUPT GHANA'S SUCCESSIVE LEADERS ARE MUMU! THAT'S WHY GHANA LEADERS KEEPS "GULPING" IMF LOANS LIKE NINCOMPOOPS IN THE MIDST OF PLENTY, WHILE A BAR OF 12.5KG GOLD EASILY SELLS FOR OVER £1 MILLION POUND STERLING ON THE OPE ...
So what are you going to do about that? We all know this already and have been talking about it for decades . “We can’t continue like this” has been said many times over the decades . No action to back it. The fact that ...
@honorable . Yes I’ve read the story. It doesn’t state the mineral commission boss’ prof erred solution to the problem he expounded . The story doesn’t mention that the government has taken over the mines and is going ...
Our mining laws are made by Ghanaian politicians. These politicians benefit immensely from such dodgy laws. Eg Tullow oil contract with Ghana. Some politicians used off shore companies to make millions of dollars in Tullow ...
Someone is talking about things that would benefit and and improve the livelihood of the masses and all you can talk ...
@As it should. Massa, go away with your too know. We've talking economics since independence; where have we reached economically? Is it his two line comment that hinders the economic development of Ghana? Economics is very im ...
@danger looming, what's your evidence and moreso, such comments dies not help anyone in Ghana or the development of this country. We are the same people who authorised the current rot to happen, so let's get it solved and all ...
Profits will stay in Ghana if we are all aware of the operations of these companies in the country. Secondly, the companies are made to list on Ghana stock exchange where Ghanaians can buy shares. This is the only way profits ...
For how long must the black man or African allow themselves to be stepped on? All that has been going on because little brown envelopes has been distributed to some shameless individuals who have sold the country short to the ...
So what are going to do about? I hope we enact a law to force these companies to invest at least 10% of profit after taxes into the local economy. You said it we can't continue like this look at our neighbors Burkina fasso an ...
By what you have observed and spoken boldly about, it makes you the best among the lot to have Ghana at heart. Do not allow yourself to be corrupted and work courageously towards making things right in the mining sector for t ...
Kindly talk about Damang Truth ...
Was the a law against it? Did they infringe on any law? Politicians, they are coming to give it to one of their cronies so they will start badmouthing the old admin. How many politicians steal and send monies abroad to buy pr ...
We need to see the Business plan for government taking over Information available indicates that some few months of easy money treating stockpiles .After that massive investment needed to run the operation Talk is cheap Run ...
Ghana first,Africa first
Herrh npp for 8yrs,
God punish you!
Amen
We fail to see that those who bring in funds to invest have right to recoup their investment and also decide what to do with their profits. Instead of complaining like ignorant school boys; what we should do is 1. Encourage ...
Am NPP supporter but this is good and BOLD decision by NDC led government and the MINERALS COMMISSION. GHANA first . Thank you president Mahama. All foreign contracts not in favour of the country should equally be reviewed ...
Stupidity! You don't sit down, complain and expect Gold Fields to do anything about this. Gold Fields in not a charitable organization; it is a profit-making corporation. Solution? MAKE LAWS that clearly define what proportio ...
Reset is on
Yes oooo
Ghana has idiotic laws and contracts that enables these multi nationals to rob and loot our resources unchecked. Corrupt Politicians and civil service officers are the enablers of this looting. How on Earth can a country allo ...
Oh Charlie, it’s pure stupidity on the part of some heartless Ghanaians to be assisting these mining companies in such a criminal behavior..they always use some criminal Ghanaians to be stealing from this country..Nobfog ca ...
Your government recently cancelled E-levy that was raking in over $2 billion cedis annually meaning the country is well off and sustainable so don’t blame Goldfields for taking that small amount away after paying taxes and ...
These mining companies such as goldfields, newmont, anglogold Ashanti etc are criminals and scammers..I can boldly say even their profits is more than the $600 million speculated but they send all their profits outside of Gha ...
The mining laws in Ghana has to change..no country will allow u to Aed that amount of money away..it’s purely rubbish..even in the USA, if u go there or work, u can’t physically send with u more than $10,000 to Ghana..why ...
While Aussies can be lovely singing birds as a people, many of their mining company investors spineless crooks. What these folks won't do in Canada, Russia, and the US, they do in Africa, Latin America, and Southeast Asia. As ...
Good decision
The wise thing to do is to force Goldfields( by tying statutory app ...
How do you justify the sacking of the Govt ...
2.THE LOCALITY GETS 10%
3.THE YOUTH ...
THEY CANNOT PERPETUALLY EXTRACT THEM FROM OUR LAND AND HAND US LESS THAN 10% OF THE PR ...