Chinese Zijin Mining buys Newmont's Akyem Gold Mine for $1 billion

Read Comments Comments (34)

• TTT 7 months ago

Why did government allow this?Chinese are the worst kind of investors especially in mining sector.This is a shame

• I piss on sick dog prophet mohammed 7 months ago

If you poison islamic children you will go straight to heaven. Burn all mosques in Africa. Qur'an is toilet paper.

• Concerned Citizen: 7 months ago

And Chinese do have a lot of Gold in China, but they've kept their full FOCUS on Ghana's Mineral resources: However, they've kept thire own for thire future generations. Iam therefore in emotionally pleading to the Leadership ...

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BOADERS 7 months ago

GOOD COMMENT . Concerned Citizen

• Joy unspeakable 7 months ago

Say again

• Kofi 7 months ago

I pity the employees. Their conditions of service will deteriorate.

• Scamahama 7 months ago

I heard ndc saying Ghana Mines for Ghanaians when they refused to renew the contract of the Damang mines? Why now Ghana mines for the Chinese and not for Ghanaians?

• Aban 7 months ago

This was carried out by the previous government.

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 7 months ago

NEVER EVER TRUST THE CHINESE

• Giuo 7 months ago

And couldn't even use 2% to develop develop the town. No shame in looting the poor kids and old...aah ah where did Ghana go!!

• Kwame 7 months ago

The country called Ghana so is any of our politicians have the country at heart? How can foreign company own 100 percent of a gold-mining company? Where is the common sense? In most of the African countries the states own at ...

• Ungrateful being 7 months ago

You should as rather as what was in the original contract signed between government and Newmont. That to me is where Ghana fucked up.

• WAA LOOK! A US$1 BILLION GOLD MINING COMPANY IN OUR OWN BACKYARD CHANGING 100% OWNERSHIP FROM ONE FOREIGN COMPANY TO ANOTHER FOREIGN COMPANY. THIS CAN ONLY HAPPEN IN BANKRUPT HIGHLY-INDEBTED GHANA. GHANA'S LEADERS DO NOT HAVE THE MINDSET OF HUMANS. 7 months ago

WAA LOOK! A US$1 BILLION GOLD MINING COMPANY IN OUR OWN BACKYARD CHANGING 100% OWNERSHIP FROM ONE FOREIGN COMPANY TO ANOTHER FOREIGN COMPANY. THIS CAN ONLY HAPPEN IN BANKRUPT GHANA WITH DUMB LEADERS.

GHANA'S LEADERS DO NOT ...

• Okyere 7 months ago

If Burkina Faso is mining and refining their own gold why can’t we? Ibrahim mahama can supply all the machineries for every form of mining in the country.

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BOADERS 7 months ago

Kwame!!! VERY WELL SAID

• Joe 7 months ago

Why do we have to sit down for a foreign company to sell what belongs to Ghanaian to another foreign company how much did government of Ghana got from this 1 billion dollar deal?

• Ghanaba 7 months ago

Wat percentage of this sale valu goes to Ghana state

• Jj 7 months ago

Zero but some kick backs for some politicians that will be branded as the state of ghana

• Samurai 7 months ago

chinese again??

• FOCUS 7 months ago

This must never be allowed in any shape and form.
    Look at the profitability, you tell me you do this because you mean well for the shareholders...
    Just doesn't make any sense

• Ghana man 7 months ago

Mahama and his NDC cronies.

• Hannan 7 months ago

;) Welcome to the best adult dating site ->> Sexy24.mom

• Addo 7 months ago

China has the largest gold deport in the world yet they are mining other countries golds leaving their own.
    You can ch3ck in on the Internet.
    Let's be wise.

• Ghana first 7 months ago

Did the Ghanaian public and banks have the first option?
    Which ghanaman was involved in the deal ?

• Accranie 7 months ago

It's Not Easy At All Being A 2nd/3rd Rate Country, One Foreign Entity Selling Assets To The Fellow Foreign Entity Whiles Locals In The Country of The Assets Just Sit and Watch
    In The Long Run "Adze Wo Fie Oye" Is Right

• GD 7 months ago

This is unacceptable and outrageous. Our leaders should be very careful with Chinese investors. Let's do away with them. They're oblivious and insensitive to the destruction of our environment.

• Kolo 7 months ago

Great pay day for somebody.....
    Early business could be forgotten come 2028......Ghana will never see light for sometime..Go tell this Troare of B. Faso

• KKTepa 7 months ago

Useless country and Useless citizens. So no bunch of rich Ghanaians can team up and buy this gold mine? We have natural resources but no Indigenous owned one

• Aban 7 months ago

So sad.We only brag but in reality we are poor.

• Test2 7 months ago

CURSED COUNTRY
    IF YOU HAVE ALL THESE GOLD IN GHANA WHERE STILL GO FOR IMF LOAN FOR $370ML AND GHANA STILL UNDER DEVELOPED EVEN WHERE THESE GOLD MINES ARE THE VILLAGERS HAVE NO CLEAN WATER AND MODERN HOSPITALS
    WHAT A COUNTRY ...

• Ghanaman 7 months ago

This article is so bad kindly rewrite

• Tsotsoo 7 months ago

I am surprised we are encouraging galamsey by Chinese. I have always said the Chinese will pay anything to take away our property. Please watch out and stop the transaction. Thank you

• Roja 7 months ago

The akyem mafias let this happen

• Jael 7 months ago

And how much does Ghana get?