Traders defying pavement trading ban will be whipped – Kumasi Mayor warns

Read Comments Comments (64)

• GB 8 months ago

good move

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 months ago

YOU HAVE GOT NO RIGHT TO WHIP ANYBODY. YOU MUST PUT AN END TO THE AFRC/PNDC/NDC NONSENSE THAT BEFELL THIS COUNTRY SOME YEARS BACK. LET US REMAIN CIVILIZED. LET OFFENDERS BE ARRESTED BY THE POLICE AND BE DEALT WITH IN ACCORDAN ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 months ago

WHY ARE WE GOING BACK TO STONE AGE????? AAABAH MAHAMA AND HIS AFRC!!!!

• I piss on sick dog prophet mohammed 7 months ago

Qur'an is toilet paper. Burn all mosques.

• JACK TORONTO 7 months ago

Ghanaians are indiscipline. All that they want is to use the maximum force. Why do you sell in the streets which is meant for vehicles?

• Africawatch 7 months ago

Ofie the idiot tell your fellow Ghanaians to respect the law and behave like human beings and not as lawless,uncontrollable human beings.Democracy is not good for Africans. Africans must learn to behave as human beings and no ...

• Steve Kaye London 7 months ago

Such an idiot is the mayor of Kumasi.

• HOW DIS THIS FOOOL BECOME A KUMASI MAYOR??? MAHAMA ARE YOU NORMAL ??? 7 months ago

JUST LISTEN TO THIS IDIOT CAREFULLY AND YOU WILL REALIZE THAT HE IS REALLY NOT THAT INTELLIGENT. SO THE QUESTION IS, ON WHAT BASIS DID MAHAMA PICK HIM AS THE KUMASI MAYOR? DO YOU SEE HOW HE IS ALREADY MAKING THE NDC UNPOPULA ...

• HOW DID THIS FOOOL BECOME A KUMASI MAYOR??? MAHAMA ARE YOU NORMAL ??? 7 months ago

JUST LISTEN TO THIS IDIOT CAREFULLY AND YOU WILL REALIZE THAT HE IS REALLY NOT THAT INTELLIGENT. SO THE QUESTION IS, ON WHAT BASIS DID MAHAMA PICK HIM AS THE KUMASI MAYOR? DO YOU SEE HOW HE IS ALREADY MAKING THE NDC UNPOPULAR ...

• Ray 8 months ago

This one deiii I will support the current kma boss and ndc...Kumasi needs to rid itself of the filt to bring back the garden city we taut ourselves with

• FOOL!! 8 months ago

Not even school children are allowed to be whipped. Whoever tries to hit another person with a stick could be charged with assault!

Fool ? This is what Africans deserve. We don't behave as normal human beings.

• Kojo 7 months ago

You an idiot... The streets of kumasi can be sorted without physically assaulting anyone. And that's what this fool of a mayor must find to avoid abuse of power and collateral damages by jobless machomen .... we have been her ...

• Limping horse mahama STILL lack policies 7 months ago

Mr Mayor,reclaim the garden city of west Africa, we support you for that but we don't endorsed the military style and the beatings, get the police and the military on the pavement early in the morning before the trader's, arr ...

• Sulleiman 8 months ago

I think to let them pay for their disobedience is good than to whip them.

• IsaacUSA 8 months ago

Good move but you can also give such people a tool and supervise to clean the dirty gutters or start a city farm somewhere and send them there to go and work for a whole day.Make the punishment productive please. LET th ...

• Kwesi 8 months ago

The new mayor can't do that.They're human beings, not animals. They're working legally to make ends meet, as there are no social interventions to support them. The best action to take is to patrol the area regularly. But to b ...

• Dee 8 months ago

I support him because this is what Africans understand and afraid of, he can also arrest them to clean the gutters as a form of punishment, we need to change our attitude

• Ghana is not a banana republic 8 months ago

Where are the courts? The law does not grant anybody the right to beat up fellow Ghanaian. Please stop this budding dictator before he gets out of hand!!!.

• Abena Adepa 8 months ago

Beat who …….gyemiee Saaa

• Obuor 7 months ago

@ Abena.
    Just ignore the fool.under wat law will his party supporters use to whip our old women and men.
    God forbid.like he and his fam will run from Kumasi.
    Nkwaseasem ara kwa.is he the law?

• Kojo Kankam 8 months ago

Don’t be silly We are in a civilised country. Use decency to deal with issues. Don’t make Mahama unpopular

• max 8 months ago

this mayor is a fool

• Dee 8 months ago

Allow him for 3 months and you see different Kumasi, this is what rawlings did in nkrumah circle before the citizens obeyed the rules

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 8 months ago

Rawlings was trying people in kangaroo courts at midnight and shooting those found guilty at dawn. Dee, you should have been one of the people tried and shot at dawn.

• FOOL!! 8 months ago

Rawlings even whipped old women vaginas, what did it change!

• Danny 8 months ago

Good show, if not rhetorics.

• Malcon X #Political greed 8 months ago

So na who caused the pavement trading?
    We have the "Men" party cause am.Mr Mayor be tactical in handling the traders or else the Npp will turn the market women against you & the Ndc party.They had people in cabinet,printed s ...

• Kofi Fofie 8 months ago

In my opinion, it will be wiser to find a place and build stalls for them to generate some income. This will boost the economy of Oseikrom.

• KK 8 months ago

Who is this FOOL. You think there are no men in Ghana? Touch my relative and see. Kwasia man. You are you to determine somebody needs to be whipped. If they have broken a law, arraign them before court. Or fine them. WHIP? yo ...

• Danso 8 months ago

Tell your relatives to respect the law and stop littering the city with thrash.

• Obuor 7 months ago

@ Danso
    Wo maame twe

• Manu Amponsah 8 months ago

That will be great. I do not know why in this country every roadside has a supermarket, causing so much inconvenience to road users. A journey of 30 minutes can take you 3 hrs due to these traders. The country needs to adopt ...

• Obuor 7 months ago

@Manu

Yes cos u and ur fam r ok.think abt the rest of us .

• Nyameba 8 months ago

Mr Mayor, you can’t beat anyone since you haven’t given them a place to go and secondly they pay their daily taxes to the city so be careful before you your self gets beaten by the angry hawkers. Before you start at kajet ...

• Akwasi 8 months ago

Tell the mayors in Accra, Cape Coast, Kasoa and other NDC strong holds constituencies to do same. Why do NDC government always pilot bad things in Kumasi?

• RichDad 8 months ago

Foolish Mayor!!!

• Akora 8 months ago

We need discipline

• Asem beba dabi 8 months ago

Come and witness whats happening on the streets of koforidua. Aaah. Laws must be made to be obeyed wilfully or by force.

• Koti 7 months ago

The idea of removing vendors from the streets and sidewalks is a welcome one. But what is 'military-democratic style'? What are our laws concerning selling on the streets and sidewalks? Is it the same 'military-democratic sty ...

• Koti 7 months ago

If he's able to do this at Alabar, Asewase, and Moshie Zongo, I'll visit Kumasi to back him. If he clears Alabar alone, he qualifies to be the next president. We are waiting to see.

• Joe 7 months ago

Gyimii saa. You think this AFRC?PNDC. I dare you to try

• K. 7 months ago

This guy needs sacking immediately

• jesus 7 months ago

Richard Agyemang Boadi don't be silly, just remove them! What is this nonsense about whipping anybody. We are not in the days of the AFRC and the fact your name is AGYEMANG does not mean you should bring back the days of the ...

• Yaw 7 months ago

Such an idiot. Who gave him that right?

• Richy 7 months ago

Start creating jobs for the people and stop preventing the poor from finding their daily bread, God will incure his wrath on you if you try it, create jobs, employ them and pay them well to prevent them from coming to sell on ...

• Kwame 7 months ago

They should leave to where? Please don't destroy small businesses. Try and finish the central market then you can relocate them there.

Thank you Mr Regional Minister!!. Yes i believe that africans in particular need to be ruled by uncompromising dictators.

• Dundu Banza 7 months ago

I personally saw the original garden city,but the population was only about 7 million in the entire country. Now we are close to 40 million. Man shall live by bread,clothe the body find decent shelter, etc. Look,we need BETTE ...

• Omanba 7 months ago

Good Mr Regional Minister!! Teach them to behave as human beings. There's no respect for the law in Ghana. After all the people of Kumasi will never vote for the NDC.

• Ei NPP 7 months ago

Sad comments, whip!!! Sad Mr Mayor withdraw naaaa, this is not your house mates to whip people. You can prosecute, fine but to whip is below the belt, come again sir. I am NDC but this is not right comment if it's true that y ...

• Banson 7 months ago

Ofui. Your people are just backwards. It will take forever to change them.

• Kwabena Duku Damoah 7 months ago

Find them jobs first.In Ghana politicians come to rob the nation and blame the poor for being poor.Who prefers risking his or her life selling on the streets?It is almost compulsive.There are there because there is no alterna ...

• Kraman kote 7 months ago

Rules are rules and those who abused it must be arrested and not whipped. Whipping is an abuse.

• ABREWAPUNYANGA 7 months ago

Mr. Mayor, are we in a jungle? Buckle up and find better solutions to the problem. Even Rawlings who applied such brute force eventually regretted his actions later in his life. He killed people because of corruption yet in h ...

• use social media 7 months ago

take their pictures in the act put it on social media and make them pay penalties. safety first

• Ato Amaniampong 7 months ago

NDC is Kobolors, Hooligans and Educated Illiterates party

• Kwame 7 months ago

Why should you speak to the press after drinking a bottle of Adonko Bitters? You will whip who?
    Af) de wo a k) na k)ne

• Okyere Kay 7 months ago

Is this man's head properly screwed on?Is he taking inspiration from d rambo style attacks by security men on NPP appointees?We are not in a millitary regime.Go back to sleep.

• KofSam 7 months ago

You are such a fool of a mayor in Kumasi.
    Ghana has laws and if the Kumasi city ordinance is banning sellers from using pavements , those who go against it must be prosecuted , fined, jailed or confiscate their goods but to ...

• Tosh 7 months ago

Crude as it sounds, the mayor has a point. No amount of waste collection, no number of sanitation days, can solve our worsening waste and littering crises, until people realize it not worth the price or pain. Discipline is in ...

• Ofori Sarpong 7 months ago

You have the FULL SUPPORT of every smart Ghanaian. Go On

This is the Mayor we all want.

• Fantasy 7 months ago

You and who????

• Akwasi 7 months ago

Go and do that to your supporters in Bawku.