Why do the other countries tax US made goods like that? America's action is fair as others have been screwing US for long.
REDONDO 8 months ago
If Donald Trump were not to be A PROPER MAD ANIMAL, would he have extended his SENSELESS TARRIFF WARS to Africa..???? Has Africa ever engaged in any Trade War with the West..???? Do they not dictate the kind of goods and materials that they want to have on their markets over the years..???? And, do they not even price all those goods and materials themselves..???? Are we Africans the ones who have created those WEAPONIZED TRADE BLOCS that have been used to suffocate Africa over the many centuries..???? Donald Trump is simply A MAD MEGALOMANIAC..???? He's A COMPLETE LUNATIC..!!!!! And I can assure him that his nation America would be THE EVENTUAL LOSERS, because there's certainly no way he can vanquish the rest of the world if they strategize and confront the senseless, aggressive & unilateral effusions that Donald Trump (THE SUBTLE & STUPID WHITE SUPREMACIST) is throwing up!
Alan Gyimi Gyimi kyeremanteng 8 months ago
I TOLD U NPP = NKWASIAFUO PEOPLE'S PARTY. UMOUFIA CARTOONS CONCERT CATHEDRAL
Vornyovie Victory 8 months ago
And what's GH doing? Once GH is not mentioned it means the US gets net benefits for GH and so for reciprocity GH must seek to increase tariff on US goods to bring the balance to zero
Krackyjones 8 months ago
It means Ghana doesn’t export a lot to America to warrant attention period.
THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE! 8 months ago
A new page in 2025's chapters is opened to U, write on it what you wish! Plant, don't plant, write, don't write, learn, don't learn - it's all in your Hands!!! But I assure U, what U will earn in 1 day can never be compared to the token paid to learn! It is far more. You EARN from what you LEARN, that's 90% into financial freedom! No cash-capital for a sales business this year? Every smartphone repairs/accessories business cluster is a beehive of activities DAILY...RAW CASH changing hands. If in doubt, visit any in your locality. Everyone owns a phone & problems are looking for solutions daily - that's a NEVER-ENDING OPPORTUNITY STREAM for you! CASH OUT with this skill made easy to learn. SOW into knowledge/skill, & REAP money in exchange. Learn & Set up this smartphones skilled-service business & earn daily cash. If YOU ALSO WANT TO BREAK INTO IT-CAREERS, Get any of Chukky Oparandu's Guidebooks for yourself or a loved one idling around. Join thousands who've transformed their lives this way! Invest in yourself today: Search "Chukky Oparandu" on Amazon Or VISIT (selar.co/m/chukky). FRENCH EDITION "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes" is also available. Get his blockbuster book, "IT Career: A Roadmap" NewYearIsHere! #SkillsForSuccess......9y01v
Kojo Yankee 8 months ago
For those who know not, tariffs will raise prices on the American consumer, passed on by the importer. The world has 8.3 billion people,the US 0.34 billion do the math guess who loses. US produces only arms and ammunition, they don't produce essential goods like clothes,phones,solid furniture and the like!
Mr Pounds Man 8 months ago
Kay, they do that so people will desist from buying your guns. All, you produce are guns and guns only.
TRUMP IS NOT DUMB: TRUMP:S 8 months ago
I WISH GHANA'S CHEAP USELESS LEADERS HAD TRUMP:S COMMON SENSE MISSION STATEMENT - "AMERICA FIRST", PERIOD.
GHANA IS A SELLOUT, AND TRUMP DOES NOT WANT AMERICA TO BE LIKE HOPELESS GHANA WHOSE ECONOMY IS CONTROLLED BY THE IM ... read full comment
I WISH GHANA'S CHEAP USELESS LEADERS HAD TRUMP:S COMMON SENSE MISSION STATEMENT - "AMERICA FIRST", PERIOD.
GHANA IS A SELLOUT, AND TRUMP DOES NOT WANT AMERICA TO BE LIKE HOPELESS GHANA WHOSE ECONOMY IS CONTROLLED BY THE IMF COUNTRY OFFICE IN GHANA AND OTHER FOREIGN BUSINESSES LIKE TULLOW.
GHANA'S MINERAL RESOURCES (GOLD, DIAMONDS, BAUXITE, LITHIUM, CRUDE OIL, ETC) ARE THE PROPERTIES OF FOREIGNERS, WHILE GHANA ONLY COLLECT CHICKEN CHANGE TAXES BECAUSE GHANA DOES NOT OWN MAJORITY OR CONTROLLING STAKES OR SHARES IN ANY OF OUR NATURAL RESOURCES.
GHANA'S USELESS LEADERS HAVE ALREADY POCKETED THEIR 3%-5% KICKBACKS, THANKS TO CORRUPT KUFUOR AND AKUFO-ADDO. THE REST OF GHANAIANS CAN GO TO HELL AND WALLOW IN PERPETUAL DEBTS AND POVERTY. THEY DON'T GIVE A DAMN AS LONG AS THEY AND THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS HAVE ALREADY SCOOPED THEIR SHARE. THE REST OF GHANA CAN BURN. WHO CARES?
THAT'S GHANA LEADERSHIP FOR YOU.
moonstone 8 months ago
The High import tax will reduce the importation of America goods and increase production in the countries affected. Let us appreciate our own. Eat made in Ghana food and wear made in Ghana cloth
REDONDO 8 months ago
Very little goods & materials come from America to our country Ghana now! America has become terribly expensive, and they have lost to the big Asian nations for a couple of decades now. The comforting prediction is that, America will continue to lose further! With that open, tactless and aggressive tariff wars that "gyimifuor-yarefuor" Donald Trump is waging now, the rest of the world has been put on notice to see why it is very urgent to confront America NOW..!!!!!
Jonas 8 months ago
What's your beef with reciprocal tariffs? America is saying if you tax me 10% I will also tax you same. If you allow 0% tariff then you won't be taxed bringing your stuff to America. Manufacturing is expensive in those countries with so much regulations and expensive labour costs.. That's their only problem and they see manufacturing as old stuff so they prefer high tech and the service industries.
Andy 8 months ago
The higher taxes and tariffs will rather increase the prices of African products in American markets therefore making it more expensive for Americans to patronize African products.
Trump is trying to promote American product ... read full comment
The higher taxes and tariffs will rather increase the prices of African products in American markets therefore making it more expensive for Americans to patronize African products.
Trump is trying to promote American products.
Ghana or other African countries could also increase the taxes and tariffs on made in America products to promote our own.
John,Tema 8 months ago
The increase in tariffs on American imports is primarily aimed at Asian,European and North American countries who depend so much on USA buyers.Real Income of USA buyers is higher and there4 have become the target of most producers outside America. Real Incone of Africans is very Low so our influence in this topic is negligible.
Evans Sarfo Adu 8 months ago
Smart guy!
Smart guy!
Tj 8 months ago
African countries only have to come together and trade among themselves and not putting hefty taxes on their goods and it shall be well
Kwame 8 months ago
Which will never happen.Africans envy and hate themselves too much to cooperate.
Barometer 8 months ago
@Kwame, your statement is a hugely flawed one! Africans don't really hate themselves. They simply lack the capital & "tailored system" needed to ensure the smooth implementation of regional markets. But they can start off by going at it in a modest way. A journey of a thousand miles begins with a step.
TRUTH 8 months ago
@Kwame.. you are absolutely right, only gullible Ghanaians don't know this fact. Most of them smile nicely, nicely to us but also ready with the dagger when you turn.
Mark 8 months ago
For once, I'm reading some sensible comments on Ghanaweb. Shockingly impressive !
Your Nightmare 8 months ago
Just what I thought!
Moshosho1 8 months ago
PROBABLY THE BEGINNING OF THE END FOR AMERICA. NO COUNTRY IS AN ISLAND IN THIS WORLD. THE WORLD POLICE WHICH IS AT THE SAME TIME THE WORLD BULLY WHO IS ALWAYS PLAYING THE VICTIM CANNOT FIGHT THE WHOLE WORLD. AND I AM SURPRISED THAT AMERICANS HAVE ELECTED DONALD TRUMP AS THEIR PRESIDENT. BUT WHAT CAN I SAY? GHANA HAS ELECTED A WICKED, CRIMINAL, EVIL AND A DEMENTED OCTOGENARIAN WHO HAS MESSED UP THE COUNTRY. MAY BE THE AMERICANS HAVE LEARNED THAT FROM GHANA.
Zaga 8 months ago
Explain to me how other countries can tarrif US products but American shouldn't do same
ADU BOATENG 8 months ago
So when is Ghana going to declare itself as a self reliant and depend on our own rice, maize, oil, gold and the rest?
MAKE GHANA GREAT AGAIN (MAGGA)! 8 months ago
Pizza hut, kentucky and youbg boys wearing their trousers aroubd their ankles. Its time to make Ghana Great Again when young boys and men used to tie their trouser belt on their stomachs and everyone respects them!
Bogar 8 months ago
Trump is doing it all. He’s doing a good job to shape his country economy. Trump is a great guy. His signature has got no space in it.
Interesting… 8 months ago
So, why can’t African take bold measures to start trading among themselves and also put some measures that will make the west who comes in for it’s minerals to think twice, when coming in to bully us and getting cheap deals without any substantial benefits for Africa.
We have to start thinking of putting our country’s first and the future of the generations to come and start making Africa better and greater.
We need revolutionary leadership here… hmmm!
Apophis30 8 months ago
There is no evil that doesn’t bring some good, as the saying goes. Why should African countries not trade among themselves?
THE MOST FOOLISH PRESIDENT 8 months ago
He thinks he is running one of his fake bankrupt companies instead of a country!
The Blackman wise 8 months ago
If only my African leaders will one minded people then all these so called western countries will not play with the northern countries. We are a larger continent and if we start doing things among ourselves then the so called western countries will run to us, l am telling you. All these riches of this world in embedded in Africa soil. African s must tell the western countries enough is enough and be bold ourselves to handle our own matters. We’ve been bullied by the so called white supremacy for a very long time now. The world existence came from Africa you know.
The Blackman Wise 8 months ago
If only my African leaders will be one minded people then all these so called western countries will not play with the northern countries. We are a larger continent and if we start doing things among ourselves then the so called western countries will run to us, l am telling you. All these riches of this world is embedded in Africa soil. Africans must tell the western countries enough is enough and be bold ourselves to handle our own matters. We’ve been bullied by the so called white supremacy for a very long time now. The world existence came from Africa you know.
Charlie Sam 8 months ago
Trump did same in 2018 and failed, this time, he is going to fall woefully.
Knowledge 8 months ago
President trump is a great guy it take few people to really understand him. I think Ghanaian leaders should learn from him.
These Chinese are taking advantage of our leadership flaws. They bring in junk goods and ship out th ... read full comment
President trump is a great guy it take few people to really understand him. I think Ghanaian leaders should learn from him.
These Chinese are taking advantage of our leadership flaws. They bring in junk goods and ship out the dollars which create the cedi depreciation. The way forward is let them set up the factories here in Ghana. This will create jobs and also stabilize the currency. Secondly Ghana should set a standard not just accepting any substandard goods. Let’s make Africa great
John 8 months ago
So why doesn't Africa put tariffs on raw materials going to the West?
Knowledge 8 months ago
@john do you understand your question or you have no understanding of what we are talking about. You can only put tariffs on imports. Hope you are not offended for being corrected.
Frontliner 8 months ago
John you are getting it wrong. We can put tarrif on imports from America to encourage consumption of Ghana made products not on exports.
Konfo 8 months ago
Trump is having mental problems. It's rather unfortunate Americans cannot make out this problem and have it solved. He will wake up one day and blow up the US.
Addai Sarfo 8 months ago
I think trump is helping africa in the long run, that is we will begin to rely on our local products and ability which will make us improve in divers ways.
YOUR MODEL DOESNT MAKE SENSE! 8 months ago
We can also say that about Ghana. Let all regions rely on their own local products and ability. Let the Northern Regions only eat tuo zaafi, waakye, hauda kooko Accra only stick to their Ga Kenkey and fish, Volta only Yotke Gsri banku and fetri, Ashanti only limit themselves to Kente weaving and farming and sell their products to themselves. Fantis limit themselves to training fishermen and fishing. Lets see how this economic model works for Ghana. This is what you are suggesting internationally.
TRUMPS MODEL WORKS IN A MAFIA GANGLAND NOT A SOPHISTICATED 21ST CENTURY ECONOMY! 8 months ago
His model is what the mafia thugs use in their dealings. If you kill 5 of my boys i will retaliate and kill 10 of yours. That is how it works with the mafia.
What his advisors and "Yes sir massa" experts refuse to tell t ... read full comment
His model is what the mafia thugs use in their dealings. If you kill 5 of my boys i will retaliate and kill 10 of yours. That is how it works with the mafia.
What his advisors and "Yes sir massa" experts refuse to tell the naked emperor is that "Sir, these cars imported into the US is produced not only in Mexico but has parts from over 20 countries. The seats are produced in turkey, the chassis from Vietnam, the engine block from Japan, the headlights from cambodia, the tailights from India, the dashboard from Romania, the oil pump system from South Africa the caburretor from a company in Penndylvania. What Mexico does is only to Assemble all these parts. So thinking you imposing tariffs on Mexican cars is like a goat scrubbing its arse on the wall thinking its ruining the wall but rather ruining its own arse.
If even the assembling company decides to relocate to the US, they will still have to import the other 20 parts from the other countries because the US does not have the cheap industries and low wage skills to manufacture car seats so those seats will still have to be imported from turkey. Unless if making America Great again means driving cars without seats because seats in cars are produced by pesky cat and dog eating foreigners and will drive our cars without seats to make America Great Again. American doctors will have to develop special creams for hard skinned buttock seatless drivers!
AMERICA YOUR PROBLEM IS EXCESSIVE TAXES TO FINANCE BILLIONAIRES.CE 8 months ago
You tax your poor people to finance billionaires. Any coubtry whete a person can become a billionaire on less than 10yrs whilst at the same time your poor people increases by 200% has got serious problems.
Those poor peopl ... read full comment
You tax your poor people to finance billionaires. Any coubtry whete a person can become a billionaire on less than 10yrs whilst at the same time your poor people increases by 200% has got serious problems.
Those poor people has no choice but to buy cheap stuff from China with their welfare checks. And then you turn around to blame immigrants for the poverty in your society.
Immigrants in the US pay more taxes than the average American. and less likely to commit crimes. Blame your own foolish policies whivh has impoverished your society.
The European Union in the last 20-30yrs has brought huge populations like Portugal, Spain and the Eastern Europen countries from poverty to success and highrr standards of living. Because the EU is can equitable society where the poor is not screwed for few people to become billionaires who horde money at the expense of the poor.
This stupid American behavior is cropping into Ghana. How many newspaper pages is not devoted to Kwsme Despite, Ibrahim Mahama or now the now kid on the block Nii Richard something. Where did they get their money. Overinflated contracts with politicisns steaing from the poor. This is what is turned America what it is now.
Go to Europe and count me the number of poor people who sleep under bridges or people without healthcare. It doesnt exist.
A nation that takrs care of its poor, vulnerable and weak is a great nation.
Make America Great Again by first making an introspection of itself looking at its social, economic policies which impoverishes its poor and stop blaming other countries for your self imposed predicament which uou foolishly think tariffs are the solution. Its only a spiral race to the bottom!!
New 8 months ago
Haha! Great economic depression of all countries worldwide is on the way.
Nonsense 8 months ago
I understand the man that
We need to develop our continent and country
The goods we export to them can make us rich
So he is trying to discourage us for exporting our raw materials
SAMUEL MFUM TAKORADI 8 months ago
AMERICANS CANNOT SACRIFICE FOR THE WHOLE WORLD WITH 37 TRILLION DEFICIT DEBT . SMART MOVE. PRESIDENT TRUMP TO SAVE. YOUR COUNTRY AMERICA FIRST. GHANA CAN GO TO ……,,,
TRUMPS MODEL WORKS IN A MAFIA GANGLAND NOT A SOPHISTICATED 21ST CENTURY ECONOMY! 8 months ago
They should cut back on the wasteful consumerism which requires excessive borrowing.
They should stop sacrificing for their billionaires and start transferring money to the poor and MAGA will be real.
Europe have the s ... read full comment
They should cut back on the wasteful consumerism which requires excessive borrowing.
They should stop sacrificing for their billionaires and start transferring money to the poor and MAGA will be real.
Europe have the same level of GDP per annum like the USA $20trillion but they dont have that level of debt why?. Why because they investca lot in social research and innovation for its communities to create an inclusive and equitable society.
This is what creates successful societies not not tarrifs or untaxed billionaires!
Krackyjones 8 months ago
Are people reading the post before commenting?
Trump tariffs are ONLY half of what countries are charging American Exports. This is so simple
Osika 8 months ago
Ghanaweb your report always misleading why?
List of trad war, ghana is not part.
Osika 8 months ago
You also put a different picture instead of Trump picture.
Hannan 8 months ago
~ Hot girls are waiting for you on ~~>> Sexy24.mom
If Donald Trump were not to be A PROPER MAD ANIMAL, would he have extended his SENSELESS TARRIFF WARS to Africa..???? Has Africa ever engaged in any Trade War with the West..???? Do they not dictate the kind of goods and mate ...
A new page in 2025's chapters is opened to U, write on it what you wish! Plant, don't plant, write, don't write, learn, don't learn - it's all in your Hands!!! But I assure U, what U will earn in 1 day can never be compared t ...
For those who know not, tariffs will raise prices on the American consumer, passed on by the importer. The world has 8.3 billion people,the US 0.34 billion do the math guess who loses. US produces only arms and ammunition, th ...
GHANA IS A SELLOUT, AND TRUMP DOES NOT WANT AMERICA TO BE LIKE HOPELESS GHANA WHOSE ECONOMY IS CONTROLLED BY THE IM ...
Very little goods & materials come from America to our country Ghana now! America has become terribly expensive, and they have lost to the big Asian nations for a couple of decades now. The comforting prediction is that, Amer ...
What's your beef with reciprocal tariffs? America is saying if you tax me 10% I will also tax you same. If you allow 0% tariff then you won't be taxed bringing your stuff to America. Manufacturing is expensive in those countr ...
Trump is trying to promote American product ...
The increase in tariffs on American imports is primarily aimed at Asian,European and North American countries who depend so much on USA buyers.Real Income of USA buyers is higher and there4 have become the target of most pro ...
Smart guy!
@Kwame, your statement is a hugely flawed one! Africans don't really hate themselves. They simply lack the capital & "tailored system" needed to ensure the smooth implementation of regional markets. But they can start off by ...
Just what I thought!
PROBABLY THE BEGINNING OF THE END FOR AMERICA. NO COUNTRY IS AN ISLAND IN THIS WORLD. THE WORLD POLICE WHICH IS AT THE SAME TIME THE WORLD BULLY WHO IS ALWAYS PLAYING THE VICTIM CANNOT FIGHT THE WHOLE WORLD. AND I AM SURPRISE ...
So, why can’t African take bold measures to start trading among themselves and also put some measures that will make the west who comes in for it’s minerals to think twice, when coming in to bully us and getting cheap dea ...
If only my African leaders will one minded people then all these so called western countries will not play with the northern countries. We are a larger continent and if we start doing things among ourselves then the so called ...
If only my African leaders will be one minded people then all these so called western countries will not play with the northern countries. We are a larger continent and if we start doing things among ourselves then the so cal ...
These Chinese are taking advantage of our leadership flaws. They bring in junk goods and ship out th ...
We can also say that about Ghana. Let all regions rely on their own local products and ability. Let the Northern Regions only eat tuo zaafi, waakye, hauda kooko Accra only stick to their Ga Kenkey and fish, Volta only Yotke ...
What his advisors and "Yes sir massa" experts refuse to tell t ...
Those poor peopl ...
Europe have the s ...