You can’t abolish a tax that was never implemented – Sammi Awuku challenges Ato Forson

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Aponkyi 9 months ago

But was passed?

• KILLER BEAN 9 months ago

*****************************************************I THINK THESE BARBARIANS HAVEN'T STILL FIGURED HOW THEY LOST THE ELECTIONS. YOU DIDN'T IMPLEMENTED THE BETTING TAX, BUT YOU ARE DEDUCTED 10% WHEN YOU WIN A BETSLIP. THE 2 M ...

• Nii Sempe 1 9 months ago

Thank you

• DEAD GOAT MAHALIAR IS BACK 9 months ago

Only a fool does not understand what Sammy Awuku is saying. There was both lottery tax and betting tax, lottery tax was never implemented but 10% tax on betting winnings was implemented. What the confused Ato Forson did was s ...

• nebu 9 months ago

You are the biggest idi*t in history. Kwas*a, with people like you NPP will have 38.2% forever. If you are an imbecile let me tell you the 10% on betting winnings will stop. That is what the people expect. Wo nkwasea keka no ...

• Obed 9 months ago

This people what's your problem.shame on you people

• My views? 9 months ago

Where did the didactics go? Massa you guys will be creating another problem for the party NPP with the this argument.
    Go round and ask your guys. Even mtn quick loan is taxed.
    The party was just manage by wicked people

• FAA 9 months ago

I am so glad the people are punching holes into what Ato forson came and spin at the parliament house.It's time the politicians tell the truth to the people.

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 9 months ago

Which one is the truth the lies he was saying or the truth exposed by the budget. Why they didn't correct Bawumia when he was campaigning that he will abolish it. Be wise

• Sumaa 9 months ago

Say it again, I thought this Awuku boy was following Dr. Bawumia when he promised to repeal the betting tax upon his assumption of office in any event he wins the general election which was a day dream anyway? Sammy I'm you'l ...

• Charles oppong 9 months ago

Yet u passed it,you were just "testing the waters", if u have won the 2024 election u would haved implement the lottery tax by now.You think ghanaians were "fools" and that u can decieve us all the time errh?

• NPP IS A CRIMINAL POLITICAL PARTY INDEED 9 months ago

Kwasia saa.
    BUT WHO PASSED IT.
    IT WASNT NPP WHO PASSED IT??
    YOU CANT FOOL GHANAIANS ANYMORE.

• Abby 9 months ago

Pls read to understand. Betting and lottery winnings are not the same. Betting was implemented but lottery winnings were not, but Dr. Ato said lottery winnings into bracket Betting, they are not the same, and that's where th ...

My there no different

• 3rdEye 9 months ago

Is it not ironical? Go back and read the final third of Sammy Awuku's submission and come again.

Sports Betting: Odds are generally better compared to lottery and casinos. While the house (bookmaker) sets the odds to ensure their profit, there's a higher chance of winning based on informed decisions. Lottery & Casino Gam ...

• Kwaku 9 months ago

For the purpose of clarity that where he brought the betting tax into bracket.

• John K(NPP WHY? WHY?. You lied for 8 years and lost , still holding on to lies in opposition why?) 9 months ago

The NPP is too much in a Harry to find fault with the new government and in doing so they are making things rather difficult for themselves. The dynamics of politics has shifted due to technology and fact checking so they gav ...

• Eric Nkansah 9 months ago

Don't mind this Akwapim fool. First time MP. Have fed fat at National Lotteries. They still think we are in 2016. Useless party. Who will vote for Bawumia. No wonder they are praying that Jean Mensah and Bossman Asare remain ...

• Ben 9 months ago

Sammy Awuku must stop this nonsense. Was the tax passed by Parliament? Was it in the books? If it existed then regardless of it being enforced or not, it has been abolished, period!

• .mr amin 9 months ago

Sammy shut up why leave it there

• Naa 9 months ago

Pathological lairs GRA got ghc15M 2003 hoping to 60M at the end of the football season. Where did the deduction went and who is in charge❓️Thieves and armed robbers in suits. Julor kwakwei nppfuo never again

• Mane 9 months ago

Any tax on the books whether implemented or not can be abolished.

• Npp have no business in government 9 months ago

Corrupts Unpatiotic Nepotic Visionless Lawless Akuffo Addo Led Npp Regime core Activities was to collections Taxes, steals public funds , to buy themselves Luxuries items at expense of Socioeconomic developments of Ghana

• ATAKPA 9 months ago

Are you listening to yourself???....a tax that took the airwaves with complaints and condensations with your then presidential candidate promising to scrap it when voted to power.... you guys should keep on hullicinating....

• Denise 9 months ago

The Sammy Awuku said it in an interview few weeks or month ago that the taxes placed on the bet, has discourage people and customers of the NLA.... Who's he trying to fool.

• Kofi Annan 9 months ago

Don't mind the rat. Just ignore this stupid man

• TT 9 months ago

Bam

• Egya Kofi 9 months ago

Abolition of express intetion is practicable.Awuku is on a slippery slope

• Zak 9 months ago

Eeeiiii NPP! E-levy and Betting tax dominated the campaign messages with NPP candidate promising to scrap them. We saw the communicating Director, Miracle Aboagye holding placards on our roads with scrapping betting tax and e ...

• Kaya 9 months ago

Npp know no shame

• sul 9 months ago

WE'VE NOW SEEN HOW STUPID YOU GUYS ARE

• Achakanapaya 9 months ago

I have been saying this since since, that they are Shameless, dishonest, Thieves and Lai's brigade government.
    They are still lying in opposition. Lying is in their DNA, and they will continue lying forever and ever and will ...

• Julius Asare 9 months ago

So that's how the NPP misruled the country to the point where a tax introduction wasn't properly thought through and wasn't implemented after it's introduction. And ended up adding to the already boiling anger of the citizens ...

• SURVIVAL. 9 months ago

Almighty God is really punishing this useless NPP. Something that guys implemented to the hearing of the whole world,you're denying?What a party full of silly idiots?

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 9 months ago

What level of stupidity is it that when Bawumia was saying he will abrogate it you never corrected him. You siphoned that money and turned around to insult Ghanaians that you were not collecting it. Come prove yo Ghanaians th ...

• jesus 9 months ago

NKWASEAFO, YOU HAD IT ON THE BOOKS. YOUR INCOMPETENCE WAS THE ONLY REASON YOU COULDN'T START COLLECTING IT! CLOWNS!!

• KWAME NKRUMAH NOA NA OMPER YASEM NO 9 months ago

Sammy Awuku is another liar and a thief,go and listen to the interview granted by the former Deputy minister of finance, Abena Osei-Asare about why NPP government implemented taxes on beatings and e levy and come back agai ...

• KWAME NKRUMAH NOA NA OMPER YASEM NO 9 months ago

Sammy Awuku is another liar and a thief,go and listen to the interview granted by the former Deputy minister of finance, Abena Osei-Asare about why NPP government implemented taxes on betting and e levy and come back again ...

• Kwadwo 9 months ago

Where were the deduction of the betting tax foibles to. Thieves

• kay 9 months ago

I think this is a good opportunity for gamers to take the previous government to court and make some money. those who have evidence of been deducted after winning should be bold and take this idiots on.

• majore 9 months ago

So these people would not shut up and save themselves some honor. We the citizens who win bets and are taxed knows that the betting tax was there and in serious action so its not about what any politician is or would be sayin ...

• Kwesi 9 months ago

Sometimes I find it very difficult to see the wisdom in these NPP politicians. Is the MP saying the tax was never implemented? If so why pass it and leave it in the tax laws all these years as Ghanaians complain. If it was n ...

• You take red 9 months ago

Has this fool taken the red medicine , so the tax on her who they chop am even today sef them took the winnings 10 percent

• Jojo 9 months ago

Samir, you're one of the few people in NPP I respects. Pls stop this before I lose it.

• Michael 9 months ago

So where are the figures in the Media coming from? Who is loeing.

• Kotibrim 9 months ago

These are the nkoko nkiti nkiti picking up the leftovers under the dining table. Leave them to it, they've become an irrelevant party, afford them the dignity of irrelevance!!!!

• Kwam 9 months ago

Rubbish talk, so wjy were you keeping it as a legislation ? Or you taught Ghanaians would be stupid to vote for so that you come and implement it. Apooooo!!!

• Duke 9 months ago

Ooooooh NPP.....why did Bawumia say he will abolish the betting tax? You guys are a bunch of nation wreckers and pathological liars. NPP never again. Ghanaians are wise.

• Captein 9 months ago

Sammy Awuku is still oblivous about the NLA and its responsibility but took salary as the CEO for so many years without any proof of his performance. This test of non-performance validates the wastage of government revenue in ...

• Andy 9 months ago

Ndc made it known before the election that, the betting tax will be abolished if they win power. Where were you or why didn’t any member of the npp com out with what u are saying.
    You could have educated the people that th ...

• Kwame 9 months ago

Who told u so, Sammy shd stop his stupidity n ignorance. Even in opposition, u people are still foooling n defending ur shithole governance.

• THE MECHANIC 9 months ago

So which betting tax was DMB going to abolish?

• Know your boundaries 9 months ago

Lies lies lies lies lies NPP WHY
    Following NPP is only leads to deception
    Never again

• bugbaba 9 months ago

hererrrrrr

• Gh 9 months ago

I don't blame anybody it's because we're not well educated,we do speak illiteracy .I paid the betting tax myself when I won a Bett some where July 2024

• Stephen Arko 9 months ago

My classmate so where did the money go......menua

• Ghanaba 9 months ago

Sammy, what do you call the 10% cash that started coming out of our winnings immediately after your betting announcement; a bonus, a reward or a tax? And you say you never went to Soccabet and betway to collect it? I thought ...

• Kwame nkrumah 9 months ago

Foolish man

• Ben 9 months ago

All what we know is betting tax. So stop this intellectual dishonesty. Why do the npp continue lying in opposition. They should reassess themselves and do things that will will win them favour. What they keep doing is insult ...

• Observer 9 months ago

You finances were do opaque then that everyone Bawumia didn't know that you were not taking bet tax

• Zom 9 months ago

Bawumya said he was going to abolish the betting tax also
    aGRA said they had collected it
    Useless effusions
    You don’t recall your 38% voting,the worse defeat in Ghanas history after stealing and looting

• Twum Barimah 9 months ago

I think we should hold the betting companies accountable. This is a news to us. So who

• Rocky USA 9 months ago

Sammi Awuku another useless stupid man. A liar has no memory. The looting money is getting finishing and they have forgotten themselves. Ofuii

• BISA 9 months ago

STOP YOUR FOOLISH NPP IDIOLOGY

• We are NPP 9 months ago

These NPP guys dont respect the inteligence of Ghanaians. They believe every Ghanaian is as stupid as they perceive and can lie even under the broad day light

• Arafat Husain. 9 months ago

Sammi Awuku what did you know about tax don't follow the crowd think small why would Bawmia say if he also win he will also abolish it is he abolishing npp or his father Avukoklo

• Abrefa 9 months ago

How come these NPP guys have lost their heads?

• Bongo 9 months ago

The 10% withholding lottery tax existed. The budget abolished it. Grow up losers. NPPigs!!!