Revocation of Licence: Read the letter Bank of Ghana sent to founder of defunct UT Bank

Read Comments Comments (30)

• MARY MAVIS GYAMFIWAA 9 months ago

Was the license revoked without any flouting of the BOG regulations? Then why not go to court?

• Orion Consult 9 months ago

TEACH IN CANADA ''

An International NGOs based CANADA need both qualified and unqualified teachers who can teach orphans and disabled children basic ( English, Maths, Science & IT)
    The NGOs are paying for the expenses inc ...

• KK 9 months ago

You mean the NPP court?

• Jay Jay 9 months ago

I remember UT bill board with chimpanzee. His unconventional no mercy method of ceasing cars and properties of defaulters. When Mr Amoabeng was interviewed about his unconventional methods he justified it.

• K Black 9 months ago

Thank you. He's portraying himself as a victim. It was bound to fail. His 1+1 was not always 2

• Nyanso 9 months ago

Mr Amoabeng how did you treat defaulter of those who took loans from your UT bank. You showed them no mercy. You used the most brutal way to recover your loans. You cease cars of defaulters taking their children to school.

• Bruno 9 months ago

The Bible says bless are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy.

• Yaaaa 9 months ago

Thanks Mary. The bank was insolvent. The bank was do so do so do so

• kelewele 9 months ago

Kofi Amoabeng used illegal channels to start a bank. He never had the capital requirements and his intention was to divert customer deposits to fund his lavish lifestyles and private business ventures. Question is where are t ...

• WICKED AND EVIL NANA/BAWUMIA NPP GOVERNMENT 9 months ago

THIS HAPPENED IN 2017!!!WE ARE NOW IN 2025(8YRS NOW) AND MR KOFI AMOABENG HAS STILL NOT BEEN CHARGED AND PROSECUTED!!!THIS TELLS YOU WHAT THE BOG DID WAS POLITICALLY MOTIVATED!!!THE PLAN BY THE WICKED AND EVIL NANA ADDO/BAWUM ...

• Yaaaa 9 months ago

The tests are:
    Were UT and Cspital banks insolvent?
    Were the revocations done in line with Act 930 ?
    The shareholders should answer these two questions.
    My understanding of the article is that the banks were insolvent but ...

• Cole 9 months ago

No. Banks struge all the time. When your liabilities exceed assets, big does provide support to put you on your feet. You are also allowed to get other investors to bring in capital.
    What Amoaben said is, he got an investor ...

• Yaaaa 9 months ago

Cole, because of your bad english, you do not deserve any attention

• Yaaaa 9 months ago

Hmmmmmm. This country?

• KOFI 9 months ago

Why is brand Kofi disturbing us with these convoluted narratives? Mahama, if l remember correctly, has promised to restore your bank back to you, and we all saw you dancing your heart out on social media. Stop ...

• Koklotsu 9 months ago

National lotteries foolishness is becoming unbearable. Can you believe that the draw no come yet??? Nkwaseafuo nkoaaaa

• Nii Stranger 9 months ago

Please stop throwing dust into the eyes of the general public. Where is the letter? What you posted is a response to a "supposed" letter... and your headline to the story very deceitful.

• Interesting 9 months ago

I have not read the book but does he mention in it the enticement he used to trick people to take loans and later they lost everything?
    A loan in less than 24 hours it was .
    Many people believed they will get back the col ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 9 months ago

Amoabeng seized so many cars that he got a big plot at Atico in Accra where he was keeping them. He himself once said that he would get drunk and storm the house of a defaulter a grab his car. This shows that he had no knowle ...

• NPP-We have the(con)Men--We have the(thief)Men 9 months ago

Such a fine gentleman! Became victim to these akyem mafia heinous money vampires, and too know crooks. See their bottoms now. Rot all over. Now begging NDC for budget to fund their noisy Agenda 111. Useless people.

• Frederick antwi new Jersey USA 9 months ago

This is so sad cos without govt help bring a great bank but break down it Kenneth ofori atta you facing special you won't last 90 days to nsawam waii detention is yr family enjoyment

• Ohenenana 9 months ago

Where is the BOg letter. This looks more like a letter from UT to BOG

• BUSYBODY 9 months ago

5 hours ago
    KOFI you are making toooo much repulsive noises these days. You look disoriented disorderly disheveled and unkempt rowdy.I think you have gone bonkers. With such eccentric foolish irrational advertising of your p ...

• Bilala 9 months ago

This man paa today you have mouth to play victim
    Be truthful and let the public know how badly managed your institution had become. Where key management personel and shareholders were taking Loans left right centre and not ...

• Samuel Attafuah 9 months ago

GhanaWeb, I keep wondering what the matter is wrong with this platform of yours? It is very unstable, transient and deceitful. Can you elevate your status? How else should you treat your readers and followers? PROPRIETY IS RE ...

• Hannan 9 months ago

!!!!!!!!!! Welcome to the best sex dating site =>>> www.Hot4.eu

• TT 9 months ago

Now you know that things can happen in life that can change anyone's life. Alot of people suffered from the way you treated them. I went through he'll before I was able to come out.
    Abi you can write books, write another one ...

• Pelicles. 9 months ago

According to the Audit report about the banking sector, Kofi Amoabeng's liabilities were 3times higher than his assets meaning, he was not operating a profitable business. His bank was hovering around due to his closeness wit ...

• Psalmist Geraldo 9 months ago

I was one of the shareholders of UT bank, but couldn’t received any information about the closure of the bank. Shares bought, no dividends. It took a year before I heard it, when I went to the bank, just to know that they a ...

• Jon swam 9 months ago

Why now, Ghanaweb