The free boarding under free SHS not financially prudent – Expert

Read Comments Comments (70)

• KWBENA BANKYE 9 months ago

KWASEA KWA.......GIVING A DOG A BAD NAME AS A JUSTIFICATION TO HANG IT

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 9 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana you can take your own life with medicine....for instance 10 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• FRANKIE 9 months ago

This is a man after my heart. I've held this same exact position for eons. And advocated same. This is the only way the shamefully shambolic and politically motivated FREE SHS nonsense which is free of knowledge can be resusc ...

• Pope Innocent 9 months ago

What is the free SHS then, since tuition has always been free since 1961?

• Joseph Mensah 9 months ago

On the contrary, it was nationally motivated because it was a deliberate effort by the state to grow us as a nation. Spending to upgrade people and unearth their God giving talents can not be called a waste unless one is agai ...

• Safohene Nana Obuo-Gyan 9 months ago

Kwaseanpanin Kabutey, if you have any children enrolled in any of the public SHS, you have the liberty to withdraw them and send to attend any of the free day schools in the UK or the US. Should Mahama listen to fools like Ka ...

• Ed 9 months ago

Ghana does not have the means to finance this free SHS as implemented. There is not enough tax revenue for this kind of educational system. People were even complaining about 1.5% e-levy. The few ghanaians who can officially ...

• Ben 9 months ago

You would rather the nation keeps borrowing to fund an expenditure we can't afford?? All because you benefit??
    Are you even normal? Do you understand "Not Sustainable"??

Do you understand "opportunity cost"?

• Larry 9 months ago

Your insults on a benign suggestion by a national show how shallow minded you are on national issues. It's not worth the while Kabutey responding to you.

• Ben 9 months ago

Go and pay for it. Not Sustainable is not a difficult word to comprehend

• KWABENA BANKYE 9 months ago

NKWASEAFO KWA.......GIVING A DOG A BAD NAME AS A JUSTIFICATION TO HANG IT. NDC HIRED THINK TANK.....COME BACK AGAIN WITH MORE SOUNDING REASONABLE AND SOCIALLY UPLIFTABLE FINDINGS..

• Gracy 9 months ago

Let the politicians stop corruption and we can find money to take care of these to bring fairness and equal leverage amongst others

• Citizen8 9 months ago

Lazy man's porous thinking and arguments. 'UK and USA don't provide free boarding so Ghana mustn't do that'. What a useless argument. What's more important than investing our limited resources in providing quality education f ...

• Nobloso 9 months ago

If you stop corruption in Ghana and the wealth of the country is spread fairly among the citizenry then Kabutey you come back and tell this you are saying. Until then let the citizens enjoy fshs.

• Joe Nyame Mensa.. 9 months ago

..pls ,think and come with the way yo get it going and stop the ,weak arguments....we want to develop with the educated youth and build a nation,and move forward.....people are doing to Mars...and you on Earth .....close you ...

• Papa Josh 9 months ago

On point

• Rev 9 months ago

Kwasiaman! Masa stop this irrelevant stuff. What about corrupt politicians?

• Tamale North Boy 9 months ago

The NDC has a hard time accepting this

• MOG 9 months ago

Scrape FSHS if you have balls and stop disturbing our ears. You are just playing mind games with Ghanaians but it will not wash,they are wide awake.

• Kobby 9 months ago

Mr African watch man look at the roads network in these two countries also their transport system including trains and buses and even the housing in these countries we don't have 20% of those facilities. It will therefore be ...

• Kuntu 9 months ago

The richest country in the world United States does not provide free boarding for its citizens, what makes any body think Ghana can sustain this over ambitious policy, the old boy wee smoking president makes those political p ...

• Esi 9 months ago

They don't, but the pay unemployment benefits and child support when needed. They have systems to make sure true citizens receive basic care.The got takes care of vulnerable children

• Ed 9 months ago

That's only because they are able to collect enough taxes from all tax payers. How many ghanaians actually pay taxes? Those services provided in that country are not free, they are paid for by tax payers.

• NAPO 9 months ago

We are our own problem. The man is talking sense and you will see useless lazy people who always don't want to work and want freebies insulting. The FSHS is not sustainable, chsnnel funds to create jobs and stop giving us fre ...

• GHANAIAN 9 months ago

How did the previous gov't sustain the free SHS from 2017 to 2024? You NDC people want majority of the people to remain illiterate so you can manipulate them for your political games all the time. Why did president Mahama and ...

• Mr No Name 9 months ago

What is all this noise about Free SHS boarding? Already, Secondary school is free for tuition since government pays all teachers, its only the boarding fees that the students pay which is expensive and the illegal charges by ...

• Kofi 9 months ago

We need to answer this question ? Why do Ghanaians prefer boarding schools? What are the problems of day schools and how do we improve it on our Ghanaian social fabric.

• Michael 9 months ago

Let's get Ghana solutions for our problems whilst learning from others
    Solve terrible transport system for day students.The environment some students stay and the house chores required of the girl child in most Ghanaian hom ...

• Citizen 1 9 months ago

Nonsense. These types of half baked professionals are responsible for the mess in Ghana.

Kwame Nkrumah setup boarding schooling for good reason....to integrate Ghanaian society. It was not just to teach children. The boar ...

• Humphrey Adodoadji 9 months ago

Mr Kabutey am sorry to say you are a stupid man. Infact you are disgrace to the people of Big Ada

The only way our children and parents can benefit from the country's resources is through free SHS (feedinf , boarding etc ...

• Humphrey Adodoadji 9 months ago

Mr Kabutey, again you are an idiot and an educated illiterate, a fool and a very big suit to the People of Big Ada. Is that the best advice you can give?

The people of Ada are disappointed in you for what you are saying. ...

• Esi 9 months ago

Is this so called expert not aware that the US support its citizens who are unemployed and pay child support in some instances

• Ed 9 months ago

Get your facts straight. Yes US States support unemployment and child support. They don't do that for free. Those services come from taxes collected from all who must pay. How many pay taxes in Ghana?

• Asemsuro 9 months ago

Whose fault is it that Ghanaians don't pay taxes, what are the so called tax expects and intellectuals doing with their heads,

• Peekay 9 months ago

That is why it's the responsibility of the government to adopt a system that will expand the tax base and ensure that the revenue is well secured. It's good to compare but not every policy by the developed countries is good o ...

• .com 9 months ago

Ask Dr Adutwum ,former minister of education, MOE ,to tell the number of students in his hometown,Jachie(Pramso)who are not sleeping and living in the same single room with their parents or guardians,even in the Ashanti regio ...

• Rob 9 months ago

Stupid talk

• Joe Boy 9 months ago

Clearly, Free SHS will no longer be free. If UK and USA don't give free boarding does it mean that we shouldn't? There are a lot of things they do there, are we going to be copycats

• Koti 9 months ago

Why would anyone compare Ghana with UK and US; we have different circumstances in everything. Why not compare corruption and corrupt leaders? Why not compare indiscipline in our societies? If you consider all the state funds ...

• Naked Wire 9 months ago

Mr Kabutey if you're a man like me who has balls, make yourself available on the streets of Accra and be making this pronouncements, I promise you, you will be lynched.

You call yourself and expert, go and advise the Pres ...

• Obroniba 9 months ago

That short dwarf only gained power to mess up the country with his foolishness and gross stupidity. What is really free about the free education when students go to school for a month and return to spend three months at home? ...

• Double Tee 9 months ago

Kabutey; are you drunk? This think tanks what have produced or manufactured to add to our GDP.?

All these nonsense has brought us to this age of 68yrs as a country. Talk is cheap, you sit somewhere then you blow this shit. ...

• VERY STUPID AND MYOPIC SO CALLED EIXPERT 9 months ago

Are we not in this country where FSHS have been practiced in the North for decades? Why deny children from the SOUTH to continue to enjoy FSHS . What do we use Ghana monies for since Independence ? Whose children should co ...

• Pelicles. 9 months ago

Who is this, Geoffery Kabutey, tweakai. The fact that the US doesn't have that type of educational system means no one should try it, right? Right now, Trump is abolishing the US education department, and should we abolish ou ...

• John 9 months ago

The northerners are enjoying it without problems why not the southerners?

• Nana okube11 9 months ago

But what is nation building it be their own share of the national cake

• Hannan 9 months ago

~ Welcome to the best adult dating site >>>> www.Hot4.eu

• Titus 9 months ago

He is talking nonsense. It's our boarding houses that create the atmosphere for us to be able to live in peace with each other as people who are riled by unnecessary ethnic biases. Our boarding houses has done for us what e ...

• Tsotsoo 9 months ago

How can boarding facility be free? Boarding facility is a privilege which one has to pay for. Day schools can be free to support the communities. How can a day student travel all the way from Volta region or Western Region an ...

• Adjei Kojo 9 months ago

The free boarding schools aspect becomes an easy route for parents to simply offload their children at cost to the nation. It should be financed seperately.

• Jones 9 months ago

It's good so parents may be allowed to switch the wards schools.

• Eric Mensah 9 months ago

Effectively taken poor people children from boarding schools ( Owass,Prempeh, Presec, Wesley girls.

• Chapter 4 9 months ago

Black man is capable of managing his own affairs, we can manage our own free SHS not American and UK, think beyoung copy copy. Local solutions to local problems.

If we remove the free boarding and lodging what do we have left since tuition has been free since 1961?

• Mpaah 9 months ago

Sensible! This is what you get when you allow an "Uneducated and Super Arrogant individual" to spearhead a major government policy. He plunges into implementation head on and speaks of correcting mistakes as the project goes ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 9 months ago

We know the reasons for Akufo- Addo and his henchmen introducing the Free SHS program is just to win Votes and damned the Consequences. The introduction of that program should have been a Means testing one. The Freebies s ...

• Kwam 9 months ago

It is one of the stupid decisions ever taken by a government for cheap political expediency. Why is the basic education not free? No text books for the basic ,yet the Nana Addo - Dawumia government committed our scares resour ...

• Yaw 9 months ago

It very pathetic when we keep comparing the developed world to ours, they paying for their wards because they have good salaries and a good working conditions that put them in the right position to pay. What at all do the or ...

• Nice one 9 months ago

Nice one

• Ezzyboss 9 months ago

It's true that USA, Canada and European countries don't offer free boarding schools. Such schools cost a lot of money to cater and sometimes became haven for school children being gangsters. They don't learn and don't respect ...

• Wise 9 months ago

This free education thing has come to stay. All that needs to be done is to identify the children of the politicians, the rich and more importantly the large nomber of foreigners children from Togo, Niger, Burkina, mali and N ...

• Amankwa-Boateng Terence 9 months ago

It's unfortunate some people sit somewhere and write anything without carefully and critically examining the content of their write up.
    1. Hasn't the system been funded in the former three northern regions of Ghana for over ...

• Paa; . 9 months ago

We should think outside the box. When govt has destroyed the economy, banking customers moneys have been locked up; middle class in Ghana have been swept under the carpet; where is anyone going to get money to pay boarding fe ...

• Wili 9 months ago

Thanks to the suggestion to have day school policy it's a good idea all high schools should be a day school like Canada America and eny advance Country l don't know why the government didn't introduce this policy for long. V ...

• Francis Boateng 9 months ago

Is this man really an education expert? He is not serious. If the Akufgo-Addo govt did it why can't Mahama do it.Did he not even promised to pay fees of first -year university students? So many people earn income in Ghana bu ...

• TRUTH 9 months ago

WHEN NPP WAS IN POWER YOU WERE ALL DEAF AND DUMB.....
    NOW BECAUSE A GOOD GOVERNMENT IS IN PLACE YOU HAVE NOW OPEN YOUR WIDE MOUTH SAYING SHS BOARDING IS NOT FINANCIALLY PRUDENT. BETTER SHUT YOUR STINKING MOUTH AND LET'S THE ...

• Kojo 9 months ago

Do we have the same good facilities for day schools in ghana as the USA and Britain which are close to home? People talk like they live on different planets. Please visit the schools in those countries before passing judge ...

• Kande 9 months ago

He’s speaking wisdom but y’all don’t want to understand him. Free senior high school would have been an absolute success if it was implemented in way that seems like scholarship for good students. Students who passed wi ...

• Larry 9 months ago

Exactly, that should be the case, if not for political expediency.