Boarding school is past thing. Both Europe and America and even Asia no civilized nation is practicing boarding school any more. Rather they must be schools in every community.
FRANKIE 11 months ago
If parents of day students feed their own children, parents of boarders must also pay for the feeding of their children. FREE SHS, in its current form doesn't make sense. Day FREE SHS must be completely free while parents who decide to send their children to SHS schools outside their community must pay for the boarding component whilst enjoying everything else the day student enjoys for free. This is where the concept of co.mmunity based day schools, aka E-blocks must be encouraged. FREE BOARDING SHS doesn't happen anywhere in the world.
TRUTH 11 months ago
Day students also take transport fares from parents.
It unfair by all means.
Bone crusher 11 months ago
In Europe nothing like free boarding
TRUTH 11 months ago
They have boarding but they are all private.
It does not make economic sense or demographic sense to keep paying boarding fees.
It is so wrong in many ways.
Eventually, we can not keep borrowing to pay for this high c ... read full comment
It does not make economic sense or demographic sense to keep paying boarding fees.
Eventually, we can not keep borrowing to pay for this high cost.
Many will just have children without thinking and not fair on the day students.
Plus board would become 'must have'hence more corruptions.
Generation later would miss out because the cash bowl would be empty in a few years time just like when students in the 60s and 70s were fed chicken and now their children have to pay fees.
James Kwaateng 11 months ago
It's totally wrong to say "no civilized nation is practicing boarding school any more" How do you define civilization? I am in Canada and I have been living in Canada for over thirty years. Unlike Ghana, transportation to and from school is easy in Canada. That aside, the existing government-funded secondary schools in Canada are roughly of the same level qualitatively. That is not the case in Ghana. And the fact that Ghana is adopting a system tailored to her peculiar situation does not mean Ghana is not civilized.
Mokosane 11 months ago
Guy that's Canada ! i live in Germany which is a bigger economy than your Canada . Here students travel to and from school on schedule public transportation. Ghana has passed the stage of providing free boarding school. Some of the schools must be privatized boarding schools for parents who can afford them.
OSABARIMA MENSA 11 months ago
FSHS should be cancelled to teach poor Ghanaians who either voted for the corrupt and incompetent twit or refused to vote, a bitter lesson.
Father Campbell 11 months ago
Bawumia is having Leprosy
Kaa 11 months ago
Back to you and your entire generation. Sense is being g discuss you are talking trash. Greatest mumu
Bone crusher 11 months ago
People are having civilised conversations it's has nothing to do with party who vote what is about Ghana, have two girls in Republic of Ireland age 17 and 14 nothing like free boarding if you want boarding for your kids you'll have to pay, is costing the sate so much is stopping it to do other important things for the country
Oie eeee 11 months ago
This guy just wants to be heard. What solution has he? Pontification!!
KWAO LAWYER 11 months ago
Ofui,,,,give me one serious nation in the world that feeds its children.
Nuumo 11 months ago
Are you a drug addict?
Can't you see that the government is unable to carry carry alone.?
Are you a drug addict?
Lorraine 11 months ago
If your child is at home don't you feed her. Does the government provide food for your child when he is on vacation?
First Offer 11 months ago
Foolish people with phds. Some of u are a disgrace to higher education. There are people sleeping on streets, don’t they also have to be accommodated? Why put momoni on my child’s food when I can buy chicken myself for him as a parent? Government should select some schools n give full support and rather invest in technical and vocational education
JACK TORONTO 11 months ago
I will prefer to pay for my children feeding fees that for the government to feed them with contaminated foods.
GHANABA FOOLISH NPP CRIMINALS 11 months ago
KWASIA NPP, ARROGANCE, U WILL WIN AT ALL COST, U WONT HAND OVER POWER TO NDC, KWASIA KEKAN , PEOPLE ARE WISER THAN U GUYS, CRIMINALS RULED GHANA FOR EIGHT YRS LOOTED EVERYTHING FOR THEMSELVES, THEY HAVE ALL BECOME RICH OVERNIGHT, KWASIA KEKAN, U WILL BE IN OPPOSITION FOREVER, KWASIA PARTY, MMOA, U THINK GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS. GO AND ENJOY UR LOOT. KWASIAFOUR, U WILL ALL DIE OF STROKE ONE BY ONE LIKE UR KUFOUR IN WHEEL CHAIR NOW DESPITE HIS MONEY, CRIMINALS, NATION LOOTERS, MMMOA
Kaa 11 months ago
Where does Insult come in here? Just put your suggestion. You are the kwasia now
Tom T 11 months ago
Stop smoking those leaves and drinking that cheap stuff then coming here to fart.
Daniel Akesseh 11 months ago
So this rogue is also a professor
Hannan 11 months ago
>>>>>>>>>> Hot girls are waiting for you on ->> www.Sexy24.mom
Major 1 11 months ago
LOOK AT THE MOUTH WITH WHICH YOU SPEAKING THIS RUBBISH.
THE COUNTRIES WE GO BORROWING FROM, HOW MANY OFFER FREE SECONDARY EDUCATION.
NONSENSE
NONSENSE
Edward 11 months ago
Even wealthy countries like USA, Canada and European countries only pay tuition fees for high school students. There are a few specialized boarding schools that you gain admission to on merit with full scholarship irrespective of your background and no "protocol" business. There are other private boarding schools that if you can afford you take your child there. Still the government pays your tuition fees to the school and you only pay the boarding fees.
Koo 11 months ago
Sir you better shut up,you all spoke ill about free SHS so what are you talking about,they should cancel all the free entirely and we will see who will suffer,ungratful human beings.
SEX FOR GRADES PROFESSOR GYAMPO. 11 months ago
SEX for grades specialist professor Gyampo of university of GHANA ayekoo.
Boarding school is nonsense 11 months ago
In this modern world world no serious country is practicing free boarding schools.Free education is good but free boarding is very bad policy.Boarding schools must be private for those can afford it.Every community must have a day school for the parents to take good care of them.Come to Kumasi and see how Okada boys are sleeping with this boarding girls.Boarding schools is waist of money and not fair to Ghanians that have NO children but paying taxes.
Kido 11 months ago
Why not? Why did the parents have the kids in the first place? Stupid Bright Applah.
Raphael Abeam US 11 months ago
Why are Ghanaians so worried about what is happening about our free SHS. You will all bear me out that President elect John Mahama made it known to Ghanaians that he will not cancel it but what is going on now is disturbing. The children are frustrated and they don't know if they are going to Cape Coast or Elimina
Enough is Enough 11 months ago
Both capd Coast
Enough is Enough 11 months ago
Both Cape Coast and Elmina are in the same Central Region.
Meaning, whether feeding is free or not, it's the same Ghanaian SHS and they will definitely attend.
I can't see any wisdom in the current FSHS. There is no equit ... read full comment
Meaning, whether feeding is free or not, it's the same Ghanaian SHS and they will definitely attend.
I can't see any wisdom in the current FSHS. There is no equity at all. Yet, it's draining the government.
Boarders are housed for free, pay no utility bill, and feed thrice a day. What about the Day Students? What do they really get as a package.
Ghanaians are just not analytical enough with this FSHS.
Now that it's free too, aggregate 48 is admitted and fed for free. What a quality education!
Ghanaba KK 11 months ago
Were people expecting to give birth anyhow for others to feed them? Even the wealthy and most advanced countries like UK and US don't run their free education like that. The food given is not even good for humans at the free SHS.
Free SHS must all be day and if others want their children to be fed then they must be responsible for their feeding. CHEAP THINGS ARE ALWAYS NOT CHEAP.
Oil producer and not own/operate an oil/petrol refinery 11 months ago
Reset Reset the economy
Reset Reset the economy, no free feeding beom
Reset Reset ... read full comment
Reset Reset the economy
AmonooA 10 months ago
I totally agree with the writer on FSHS including boarding. 1. Many Ghanaian children do not have a conducive environment for studying as day students. Parents tend to expect them to help with biz, farming, or even household chores, which can be distractive. 2. The transportation system in our cities are not consistent and timely let alone our towns and villages.Many have to trek for miles before getting to schools. Can you imagine children moving from Accra to get to Cape Coast every morning and back. It also means children will be limited to schools only in their cities, towns, and villages. If there are no good schools around you're saddled with going to a local scho
ol whether it suits your purpose or not. 3. The boarding system brings cohesion and comrades where people from diverse ethnic backgrounds and social class have an opportunity to bond as friends. I lived in the UK most of my adult life and the children do not bond as well as we did in secondary school in GH.. The boarding school system has both economic and social benefits and must be tailored to fit Ghana's need. It's been a strong source of our social cohesion and arguments for it outways those outlined against it.
If parents of day students feed their own children, parents of boarders must also pay for the feeding of their children. FREE SHS, in its current form doesn't make sense. Day FREE SHS must be completely free while parents who ...
It unfair by all means.
Eventually, we can not keep borrowing to pay for this high c ...
It's totally wrong to say "no civilized nation is practicing boarding school any more" How do you define civilization? I am in Canada and I have been living in Canada for over thirty years. Unlike Ghana, transportation to and ...
Guy that's Canada ! i live in Germany which is a bigger economy than your Canada . Here students travel to and from school on schedule public transportation. Ghana has passed the stage of providing free boarding school. Some ...
People are having civilised conversations it's has nothing to do with party who vote what is about Ghana, have two girls in Republic of Ireland age 17 and 14 nothing like free boarding if you want boarding for your kids you'l ...
Are you a drug addict?
Foolish people with phds. Some of u are a disgrace to higher education. There are people sleeping on streets, don’t they also have to be accommodated? Why put momoni on my child’s food when I can buy chicken myself for hi ...
KWASIA NPP, ARROGANCE, U WILL WIN AT ALL COST, U WONT HAND OVER POWER TO NDC, KWASIA KEKAN , PEOPLE ARE WISER THAN U GUYS, CRIMINALS RULED GHANA FOR EIGHT YRS LOOTED EVERYTHING FOR THEMSELVES, THEY HAVE ALL BECOME RI ...
NONSENSE
Even wealthy countries like USA, Canada and European countries only pay tuition fees for high school students. There are a few specialized boarding schools that you gain admission to on merit with full scholarship irrespectiv ...
In this modern world world no serious country is practicing free boarding schools.Free education is good but free boarding is very bad policy.Boarding schools must be private for those can afford it.Every community must have ...
Why are Ghanaians so worried about what is happening about our free SHS. You will all bear me out that President elect John Mahama made it known to Ghanaians that he will not cancel it but what is going on now is disturbing. ...
Both capd Coast
I can't see any wisdom in the current FSHS. There is no equit ...
Were people expecting to give birth anyhow for others to feed them? Even the wealthy and most advanced countries like UK and US don't run their free education like that. The food given is not even good for humans at the free ...
Reset Reset the economy
Reset Reset ...
I totally agree with the writer on FSHS including boarding. 1. Many Ghanaian children do not have a conducive environment for studying as day students. Parents tend to expect them to help with biz, farming, or even househo ...