Quran is toilet paper. If you poison islamic children you will go straight to heaven.
John,Tema 11 months ago
The issue of whether parents shd pay for their wards in boarding house is a poverty induced problem.John Mahama shd tackle the unemployment and Low Salaries problems first b4 looking at the review of FSHS. 99% of parents who have their children in boarding Houses cannot pay for the fees that some opponents of the system are suggesting. How many can pay between GHC9 000 to GHC12 000 per term if the govt ask them to do so.To those arguing that parents shd be allow to pay they shd be aware that the govt will take away the Subsidy that it used to apply
When means it will not be that GHC3500 that they used to pay
FRANKIE 11 months ago
Completely FREE DAY SHS is the way to go. If you decide to send your child to a boarding school outside your community, you should be ready to pay for the boarding component while enjoying everything else the day student enjoys for FREE. The E-blocks concept must be continued.
EXCELLENT CONTRIBUTION FRANKIE: DAY SCHOOLS MUST BE COMPLETELY FREE BUT BOARDING FACILITIES MUST BE PAID FOR 11 months ago
This is the way to go. The various day schools must be made free to attend. Everything from books to stationery must be free but once you opt for a boarding school, you must be prepared to pay for the cost of boarding facilities: Food, the Cost of Managing the buildings etc.
Isaac 11 months ago
Wisely put. A school is not an AirBnB.
Feed and board must be paid. The only thing that needs to be free is tuition. There should be cost sharing for test books and instructional material. If any thing at all bases can take day students to school for free but not feeding and boarding.
Gbeh Agbo 11 months ago
you and your ashawo mother, I am a Christian I think you are very sick and should be sent to a mental hospital. Stop this nonsense. Ghana web should not post this shit by a bastard like this
Kwaku Tee 11 months ago
At least Akuffo Addo had the wisdom to store some food for the entire nation to be used during expected starvation period while still feeding FSHS students in boarding house.Well Done to the Old Man.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 months ago
Free Education should not be that free. The Government cannot afford. Let parents and guardians pay for breakfast and lunch while the Government takes care of a good Supper. Or let parents pay and provide for breakfast and supper and the Government provides for a very good lunch. The Government can just not afford all.
Citizen8 11 months ago
What makes you think that government can't afford to feed and accommodate our young children in school? How was government able to pay for the northern scholarship enjoyed exclusively by our brothers and sisters from the north, including Mahama himself? Isn't it a shame that Ghanaians are comfortable with a section of the population enjoying free education while a larger segment of the country is denied that opportunity? You want us to believe that apart from the north, there are no poor people in the rest of Ghana? Doesn't it hurt our collective conscience as a people that a good number of young population are unable to attend secondary school on account of the economic challenges of their parents? In any case is the public funds that politicians steal not more than the cost of FSHS?
Isaac 11 months ago
No free food and no free board period.
If all boarding houses/ dormitories became classrooms, there will be no need to build new schools immediately
La Verité 11 months ago
HOARDING is not the same as STORAGE but fools like you don't know the difference, nmoa!
Gbeh Agbo 11 months ago
Nonsense, so why did you permit the food to be allocated to schools instead of giving tax free status to his Stooges
TAKE OR PAY DEMON 11 months ago
Do you know that in Ghana education is heavily subsidised and what is the purpose. The purpose is to have an enlightened society and give access to education to all. In return, government is able to gain cheap access to labour and cut costs since enlightened citizens help reduce crime and improvet in health. I tell you, cancellation of the FSHS in the southern partas it could destabilise the country since some will not understand why children from certain parts of the country should enjoy FSHS and others should not and if it becomes wholesale cancellation too it will affect the North because of the level of poverty there. So my brother, FSHS has come to stay and so let us learn how to manage it well.
I very much agree with you. As at now complete FSHS has come to stay for all Ghanaian students irrespective of which part of the country they come from. The days when only students from the Northern Ghana only enjoyed it is past and gone with the winds. For now, it is either all Ghanaian students pay for Boarding and lodging or no students pay. Mahama, do you hear me. You and Bawumia had rich parents who could afford to pay for your Boarding and Lodging at school because they were rich enough. Yet you paid nothing. My poor parents had to pay for my everything at school. Don’t think about going back to the Old times and think of not making students from the North pay for their High School Boarding and Lodging but Southern students have to pay. That will never work again.
Finally, CMB scholarship should not be for children of Cocoa farmers alone because we have various kinds of farmers who also contribute to the economy of Ghana. Scrap that CMB scholarships too.
Oyibo 11 months ago
Oh so the previous government stockpiled food for emergency, that's good news. They were not so wicked after all, as we been made to believe - that's wisdom!
Kwaku Binfo 11 months ago
FREE SHS IS A SENSELESS POLICY AND SHOULD BE ABOLISHED AND NOT REVIEWED
CRY OUR BELOVED COUNTRY
If it should be abolished, let us have it abolished with no exceptions, especially depending on which part of Ghana a student comes from. Either all students pay or none of them does. Mahama, you are in hot waters. Everybody is watching what you are going to say and do.
Citizen8 11 months ago
FSHS is a very sensible policy meant to ensure that in the shortest possible time all Ghanaian children will have education, at least up to the high school level. To tell you the truth, though it's desirable you don't need a university education to succeed in life. But you need a minimum level of education up to at least the senior high school level to find your way around in this modern life. Government can and must pay for our children's high school education. No Ghanaian child must be out of secondary school on account of the parent's financial challenges.
Kwaky 11 months ago
Why use anything done by the pervious Govt? Is it not rotten items per Ablakwa's assertions.Little minds in Government
Anukwade 11 months ago
@Kwaky, if you don't have the capacity to discern the difference between stored food and expired unwholesome food, who has the little mind? See, everybody is laughing at you.
DZIMAKPLA 11 months ago
This is the beginning,ndc will by all means destroy FSHS system.ndc will collapse it
Ghanaba 11 months ago
Well done mr President
Please don’t put any money in the hands of headmaster bursars and storekeepers
Now they should be very careful as anyone caught stealing the food items should be beaten severely by the students
T ... read full comment
Well done mr President
Now they should be very careful as anyone caught stealing the food items should be beaten severely by the students
The students should open their eyes carefully and no private cars or taxis should be allowed near the stores of the institutions
Mr no nonsense 11 months ago
The Stored foods that wte stolen by the same NDC thugs,already Mahama is failing .
PLEASE REMEBER TO REPLACE THEM FOR NATIONAL EMERGENCIES 11 months ago
Folks do you remember that in 2009 Kufuor left 6 months emergency fuel stocks. For 6 months Mills Mahama did not import any fuel until all the 6 months emergency stock had been depleted. Are we about to see a repeat?
Keame 11 months ago
It was a call for some sections of Ghanaians for schools to hild on for a while for some of those things. What was arrange in the transition?
Yaw 11 months ago
MR. PRESIDENT YOU SAID YOU WILL GIVE MONIES DIRECTLY TO HEADMASTERS TO PURCHASE THEIR OWN FOOD FOR THE STUDENTS, OR YOU HAVE FORGOTTEN? EIII YOU ALSO HAVE SHORT MEMORY OR WHAT?
Raphael Abeam US 11 months ago
Thanks to Nana Addo who had foresight and kept food in the warehouse due to the drought for use in the future.
The issue of whether parents shd pay for their wards in boarding house is a poverty induced problem.John Mahama shd tackle the unemployment and Low Salaries problems first b4 looking at the review of FSHS. 99% of parents who ...
Completely FREE DAY SHS is the way to go. If you decide to send your child to a boarding school outside your community, you should be ready to pay for the boarding component while enjoying everything else the day student enjo ...
This is the way to go. The various day schools must be made free to attend. Everything from books to stationery must be free but once you opt for a boarding school, you must be prepared to pay for the cost of boarding facilit ...
Feed and board must be paid. The only thing that needs to be free is tuition. There should be cost sharing for test books and instructional material. If any thing at all bases can tak ...
Free Education should not be that free. The Government cannot afford. Let parents and guardians pay for breakfast and lunch while the Government takes care of a good Supper. Or let parents pay and provide for breakfast and su ...
What makes you think that government can't afford to feed and accommodate our young children in school? How was government able to pay for the northern scholarship enjoyed exclusively by our brothers and sisters from the nort ...
Do you know that in Ghana education is heavily subsidised and what is the purpose. The purpose is to have an enlightened society and give access to education to all. In return, government is able to gain cheap access to labou ...
I very much agree with you. As at now complete FSHS has come to stay for all Ghanaian students irrespective of which part of the country they come from. The days when only students from the Northern Ghana only enjoyed it is p ...
CRY OUR BELOVED COUNTRY
If it should be abolished, let us have it abolished with no exceptions, especially depending on which part of Ghana a student comes from. Either all students pay or none of them does. Mahama, you are in hot waters. Everybody ...
FSHS is a very sensible policy meant to ensure that in the shortest possible time all Ghanaian children will have education, at least up to the high school level. To tell you the truth, though it's desirable you don't need a ...
Well done mr President
T ...