John Mahama nominates Alban Bagbin as Speaker of 9th Parliament

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Razak 11 months ago

Interesting times.

• Athena- US 11 months ago

Bleeding and crying is allowed.

• FRANKIE 11 months ago

Rt. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, man of the moment. BRAVO!

• P Djamgbe 11 months ago

BAMMM!!! The man of the moment indeed - the man who single-handedly put the NPP in minority even before a single vote was cast, defying the Supreme Court (aka Unanimous FC) in the process - all hail the most powerful man in t ...

• Antonio Finland 11 months ago

Sick and tired of Ntafo) ne mpepefo parliament house. These people are not good for Ghana development and unity. I'm leaving Ghana, till the presidency and the parliament is returned back to normal Ghanaian. I can be governed ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 11 months ago

What a stupid comment. There is no Chinese wall between a southerner and a northerner.
    Grow up.
    We welcome the nomination of Rt Hon A S. Bagbin as Speaker.
    We pray he continues to be patriotic, nationalist and respectful.

• SO NPP AND NDC WHICH IS TRIBALISTIC? 11 months ago

@KWEKU BOATENG, BUT AKAN TRADERS HAVE BEEN KICKED OUT FROM KANTAMANTO FOR CHINESE TRADERS TO TAKE OVER.

THE PEOPLE THAT SHOUTED HOSANNA WERE THE SAME PEOPLE WHO SHOUTED CRUCIFY HIM! WE ARE WATCHING EVERYTHING. WE SAW WHAT PEOPLE WROTE AND SAID ABOUT NADAA IN 2016 AND WE ALSO READ WHAT THEY WROTE ABOUT JOHN MAHAMA IN 2016.

• Sp 11 months ago

Why don't you go and kill yourself?

• ST Ghfuo: OKRAKU AND OTO MUST GO, NOW!!!!!! 11 months ago

Muahahhaaaaaassaaa

• Arafat 11 months ago

You are so stupid to think that the country belongs to a certain clan. Wherever you go to, you will be seen as an alien. When the "whites" call you "monkeys and slaves" , you say they are racist. If you are calling people you ...

• Martin A 11 months ago

@ Finland. Better yet, don't leave Ghana you can easily kill yourself by self immolation and you won't be missed.

• Antonio Finland 11 months ago

Another idiot! Killed myself because Attia ne Attongo are leaders, your mother. No weapon formed by Attia ne Attongo shall survive. It's alien to me because I grew up having Attia and Attongo as my dad's farm labourers, and ...

• Esther 11 months ago

Bawumia's face should be smeared with Atia shit and Antonio of Finland will lick all clean with his villager tongue because Atia Bawumia is an NPP animal. Kwasea

• Joyful New Year 11 months ago

Antonio it's ok with your foolishness. We are tired of you. It's better you stay mute and cry within yourself wai. Nkwasiafuor like you are not to be entertained at all. Gyimieeee saaaaaaaaaaaa

• FRANKIE 11 months ago

Oh poor Antonio! Attaching Finland to your name alone says a lot about your unstable mindset. You're hurt, deeply hurt by the devastating pummelling of your NPP. Sorry. Unfortunately primitive and primordial tribal bigotry wi ...

Retain Dampare as well and let's see if he can be ethical

• Czar 11 months ago

TsastuTsikata for chief justice

• Peter 11 months ago

He's not strong again, healthwise.

• Wwwe 11 months ago

Animals how will he b the cj

• DK 11 months ago

Mahama, you have the overwhelming support of Ghanaians. Just make sure you pay attention to the needs and concerns of the people and your party will forever remain in power

• KILLER BEAN 11 months ago

ALL HAIL THE GATE KEEPER OF THE PARLIAMENT HOUSE. NO GOAT GO CROSS THEREE

• Simon 11 months ago

Are you saved
    Life is short
    Death is sure
    Hell is real
    Jesus saves

THE PEOPLE THAT SHOUTED HOSANNA WERE THE FACE PEOPLE WHO SHOUTED CRUCIFY HIM! WE ATE WATCHING EVERYTHING. WE SAW WHAT PEOPLE WROTE AND SAID ABOUT NADAA IN 2016 AND WE ALSO READ WHAT THEY WROTE ABOUT JOHN MAHAMA IN 2016.

Retain Dampare as well

• Athena- US 11 months ago

We salute you Mr. President and Congratulations Rt. Hon. A.S.K Bagbin. He's the right person at this time.
    We trust in your leadership. Keep it up

• Tsitretsitsi 11 months ago

We thank God. Bagbin all the way.

• EKOW 11 months ago

Best decision

• Kukki 11 months ago

Super. Bagbin is more than qualified for the job. The foolish, stupid, pompous, overhyped, overbloated, smallpin afenyo markin now knows his diminutive smoothness level. Foolish Ewe alossman like that.

• Aba Sam 11 months ago

And who gets the first deputy speaker's position? The second deputy speaker's position should go to an Independent MP of known NDC background. Thanks.

• Christopher 11 months ago

Speaker one

• Asiedu Nketia 11 months ago

Yeaaaahhh yeh. Afenyo Kwasea Markin will go and thief sand in Sierra Leone as protest. Go to Court

• Koku Anyidoho 11 months ago

Afenyo Markin has visited the toilet 7 times already upon hearing this news

• James 11 months ago

In fact he deserves it. The man has demonstrated that his conscience is intact and cannot be influenced or manipulated by any other arm of government. He is smart and independent in thinking. Anyway, is Afenyo-Markin aware an ...

• Kofi Akwetey 11 months ago

He cannot be influenced or manipulated but he has accepted the nomination by the incoming President-election soon to be the head of the executive branch? Does Bagbin realize that Mahama has, in essence, appointed him? What a ...

• But change CJ & EC Chairperson 11 months ago

Excellent decision. But equally important is to change the CJ, EC Chairperson and Governor of the BOG by latest next month otherwise your reset and ORAL efforts will be simply thwarted.

Only change ec head but keep cj and bog head let them fix their own mess if they don't kill or jail them

• Czar 11 months ago

Tsatsu tsikata for Chief Justice

• Koki 11 months ago

Would have been great but for his age or he's not yet past the retirement age?

• Adamu Bako 11 months ago

Unfortunately, he won't accept it.

• Logic 11 months ago

Tsatsu Tsikata is not qualified for the position of CJ. Go and read the Constitution.

• John 11 months ago

According to the constitution of Ghana,the Chief Justice shall be appointed by the President acting in consultation with the Council of State and with the approval of Parliament.

• Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 11 months ago

The best speaker in the 4th Republic, he can be a better president too, thanks Mr. incoming president

• Adamu Bako 11 months ago

"Bring your "enemy" closer, they'll be mo loyal"

• Akyem sakawa Mafia 11 months ago

Mahama is very keen on resetting the country hence the need for tried and tested positive speaker,bravoooo

• Kwame 11 months ago

Bagbin is sick. More hospital bills.

• Coitus di mumuayey 11 months ago

Thank u president elect for this awesome decision
    Kindly find a place for our father Tsatsu chikata as retirement benefits. In fact, making him the chief justice will be very very awesome

• Boune 11 months ago

Power drunk and biased speaker!!! He’s gotten what he wanted .

You can cry boune

• NDC/NPP are both the same 11 months ago

Wailing and crying is allowed

• FTT 11 months ago

NPP should also present somebody i know it is difficult but it will make it more competitive

• Hopeson Adorye 11 months ago

Bawumia has already taken refuge at the Weija Leprosy Hospital Ward B. His nose is now flat like a cow having Leprosy

• Jimbo 11 months ago

Only a fool puts his trust in an earthly man and woe onto that person because, he is bound to be disappointed. We pray that Ghana succeed through the mercy and grace of God and by hardworking of the general populace with maxi ...

• Albert 11 months ago

What happens to regional balance?

No . 1 & 3 are from the North.

• Agyapa Mercer has gone into hiding 11 months ago

Is Bawumia not from the North? Stop the gyimie talk

Albert stop foooooooling oooo. You should have said the same thing to Akuffo kraman Addo when he was appointing Akans and his family into bigger positions. Gyimeeeee

• Kwadwo 11 months ago

You deserve it. Congratulations

• DR BISHOP BARRISTER KOKU ADELADZA PhD, ESQ. 11 months ago

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU THE HONOURABLE SPEAKER OF THE 9Th PARLIAMENT ALBAN BAGBIN, BUT EXPECT FIRE FROM THE MINORITY LEADER OF THE 9Th PARLIAMENT HONOURABLE ALEXANDER. A. MARKIN, SHALOM AND FAREWELL.

• NO QUALIFIED EWE TO DIVERSIFY NDC!! 11 months ago

Are Ewes only good to be used?

• ORAL Has 3 Ewes !! 11 months ago

What about the world class ORAL Committee with 3 Ewes?

• Obed 11 months ago

Excellent choice! Bagbin is a very matured and objective speaker. Ghana has won one more time. Well done, Mr. President-elect.

• Kofi Ghanaba 11 months ago

The Alban Bag in the Bin has won the heart of my good friend John Dramani Mahama.

• James 11 months ago

Now CJ must dance to the new music or be removed from office. Bagbin and JM will show him real pepper

• Esi 11 months ago

The CJ is a her, not a him

• John K(Good ( This is Victory for Ghana and NDC ) 11 months ago

God will help president John Mahama and the NDC to reset Ghana because JM by deed is showing signs that he is humble by the overwhelming victory Ghanaians have given him. Speaker Bagbin is the man Ghana needs now to stop the ...

• BBB 11 months ago

These politicians should let us have peace of mind. They just talk with words and how and at the end we see no results.

• TRUTH 11 months ago

It is finished.

• K B 11 months ago

You do not change a winning team

• Agyapa Mercer has gone into hiding 11 months ago

Kwaku Azar will be the new chief justice. He is neutral

• Osaberima manesah 11 months ago

Correct

• Goodman 11 months ago

Bagbin aka npp chief terror

• Alhaj Baakome 11 months ago

We are talking of osrluamentary democracy here. Parliament nominates and votes for the Speaker of Parliament, nit the president or president-elect. Why did we nit hear that president Akuffo Addo had nominated Prof Mike Oquay ...

• We Now Have an Elected Dictatorship !! 11 months ago

But mark it. NDC will realise its mistake abd come out to deny it!

• Tema 11 months ago

Adjaho for CJ.

• IQ 11 months ago

He is number three (3) what of .....? Thanks to JDM and the NDC fraternity.

• Is Mahama a Parliamentarian to Nominate a Speaker? 11 months ago

Isnt this the responsibility of Parliament? Does Mahama think he came to power through a Coup or Democratic process.

Our Constitution does not provide a role for the President in the appointment of a Speaker. This is solel ...

• Onyansanii 11 months ago

You can go and hug the transformer after that you go burn the sea. Since Nana Addo has taught us how to make appointment, JDM you are free to even nominate Farida she is also a Ghanaian.

• I will donate a Gallon of Petrol For Your Useless Head i 11 months ago

You are likely to jump into a burning Kantamanto Market when the Supreme Court rules that its not the role of a President to appoint a Speaker but Parliamentarians and that a vote should take place for the Speaker to be cons ...

• Adwoa Sarfo 11 months ago

And who will your NPP nominate? Mike Oquaye? His kwasea son Mike Oquaye Jnr. is already crying maaa maaa in our constituency Dome Kwabenya

• I will also provide you with some matches! 11 months ago

Given your response im glad you giving a thought to my 1 gallon of petrol offer. No need to rush for a decision. That gallon of petrol come what nay, rsin or shine has the nane of your head written on it. Would you need some ...

• Di tw3 11 months ago

The God of mahama

• ....... 11 months ago

Hope the NDC had big vision and policies like the loud noise and rudness in Parliament..NOUSE ABD MARCH PASS DON'T DEVELOP A NATION BUT VISION AND GOOD POLICIIES..

• Charles 11 months ago

A grevious mistake!!! Bagbin is undisciplined and cannot maintain law and order in the house. I am afraid not much is going to change under Mahama's administration. Ghana we are doomed!!

• Papasi 11 months ago

But this was to be expected, this is no news! He did all the propaganda to frustrate the incumbent government for you so is this new?

• Mahama , Go for the best , don’t Politic! 11 months ago

Hypocrisy or strategic nominate

• A.K.4.7 11 months ago

The wise speaker of parliament ever in the 4th republic

• He Will Face a Brickwall in the Supreme Court! 11 months ago

If he starts like this his 4 yrs is going to be filled with Court cases right up to the Supreme Court and unlikely to achieve anything until he leaves in 2028.

If JDM wants to see any success he should stick to the Constit ...

• Gaslg 11 months ago

Why not. Perfect choice
    Even with NPP in power the parliamentarians liked him.

• Dantaa 11 months ago

Kofi Boakye as interior minister will not be bad

• Achakanapaya 11 months ago

Piiaaaooooo Piiaaaooooo Piiaaaooooo.

• Hannan 11 months ago

!!!!! Hot girls are waiting for you on >> www.Sexy24.mom

• Zion wa 11 months ago

Congratulations

• Cynthia 11 months ago

This is a crazy choice.

• Sarfo Bediako 11 months ago

President Mahama has a golden heart. No wonder God always uplifts him above his enemies. If it were vindictive Akuffo Addo, Bagbin would never have smelled the post of the speaker.

• Great 11 months ago

I love the move. Bagbin, I trust together, you'll help ghanaians

• Leucine 11 months ago

JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA IS CREATING A BANANA REPUBLIC IN THE 9TH PARLIAMENT IN ORDER TO CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE GHANAS OIL, GOLD AND LITHIUM.

• Francis 11 months ago

Dear Ghanaweb,

The president-elect doesn't not have the constitutional duty to nominated who to be the speaker of his administration. The letter is only a request of the NDC caucus to nominate the current speaker. The cauc ...

• Phill 11 months ago

At his age, he can't be influence by worldly things. Reason why he's the best choice. Just look at his experience gathered all these years in the house. Congratulations my senior brother. I wish you well.