10 African countries still paying colonial tax

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Ama Ghana 1 year ago

AU itself must fight this canker !!
    We must pull ourselves together and fight this nonsense

• ST Ghfuo: OKRAKU AND OTO MUST GO, NOW!!!!!! 1 year ago

Desperate times call for desperate measures. In this day and age why must any human being, any man, any rave be a slave to another. BULLSHIT!...BAN ALL FOREIGN ARMIES FROM YOUR NATION THATS THE FIRST STEP ANDNSEND A LETTER TO ...

• I WEEP FOR MAHAMA'S GHANA 1 year ago

Their leaders also benefit from those colonial taxes thats why they still pay. This is Africa.

• THE PERFECT XMAS/END-OF-YR GIFT: MAKE MONEY IN 2025 WITH THIS VERY SKILL 1 year ago

Don't let the Christmas merriment distract you this season - DON'T PLAY! Wise people use this season to prepare for the new year. Take advantage of our December discount to invest in a valuable skill that will make you rich i ...

• New order 1 year ago

AU sef takes money from this France

• ST Ghfuo: OKRAKU AND OTO MUST GO, NOW!!!!!! 1 year ago

Dumb neggas I would rather starve and rat trash or die than stoop to this. Do these negga leaders even understand what independence means? I remeber I had a job interview. I have an African name and the recruiter emailed me a ...

• Chaddar 1 year ago

In this modern world?

• Kwame Nkwa 1 year ago

These countries must stand up for themselves by forming a Union.They don't need France in anyway.France has sway over them because of the greedy elites who want to maintain a certain lifestyle and image of self glorification.

• yaw cool 1 year ago

Mireku Duker Deputy minister galamsey kingpin lost his seat

• COD 1 year ago

How stupid can those colonial-tax-paying nations could be?
    The French knows the level of foolishness and stupidity of our greedy and selfish leaders and has taken full advantage of it.
    How about the natural resources that F ...

• judischrislam 1 year ago

So these countries maintain the economy of France and the lifestyle of the French at the expense of their citizens. By the way they do the same to Haiti too.This is the main reason AU and Ecowas will never be fully implement. ...

• ObuasiMan 1 year ago

Sad that most of the elite Ivorians (Africans) truly believe they are really French.

• Kodjo 1 year ago

Who agreed to such a high Penalty of 85% for these poor countries? Blame these African dictators who in the long run pocket the proceeds with wicked France.

• Hezekia 1 year ago

This explains why these countries are still struggling. They need to stop it.

• THIS IS CRIME 1 year ago

This is criminal. Really! This is a horrible crime being commited. Just stop paying the damn money.
    France has got to be tried and punished for this criminal extortion.

• Hannan 1 year ago

;) Hot girls are waiting for you on _ www.Hot4.eu

• James 1 year ago

This is just another lie to cover the fact that African countries have be unable to run their own economy for 50 years now and their leaders keep stealing…

• John 1 year ago

It's very true

• Joe 1 year ago

Marxist lies

• kofi 1 year ago

WE african must unite and stop complaining and focus on ourselves

• Le Pacifiteur 1 year ago

Sadly, this colonial tax formed part of the conditions for independence. In addition, France maintains a military base in all these countries. Hence, they are able to pull resources and overthrow any leader who does not compl ...

• Fii 1 year ago

Infact all African countries should leave this soo called western world behind and join the BRICS nations to move forward. They are greedy and evil.

• Good citizen 1 year ago

On likes of Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger and Senegal had ceased to oblige that senseless tax

• Historian 1 year ago

Guinea is NOT among them.
    It is rather Guinea Bissau that voluntarily joined the French neo-colonial club even though it wasn't a French colony.

• Kwasi Mensah 1 year ago

We always read this unreasonable assertions, particularly from the Anglophone West Africans to defend their ailing economies. We should ask ourselves how an independent country can contribute more than 80% of its income to a ...

• ST GHFUO: OKRAKU AND OTTO MUST GO NOW!!!!! 1 year ago

kwasia, where is your dignity kwasi mensah...france should empower these franco nations so they can manage their own resources good or bad. instead of spoon feeding them at a cost to their dignity n self worth. france is indi ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

If this is true then this is one of the STUPIDEST thing to hear.

• Krufi 1 year ago

Nonsense, During colonial era, France milk these Africa countries mineral resources for decades.

• David Walters 1 year ago

Isn't there strength in UNITY? What is preventing these countries from uniting against their common foe and oppressor?

• Ahmed Kenneth 1 year ago

The article is 99% correct. But Guinea isn't paying colonial taxes to France. The rest are surely doing so .

• PAA. 1 year ago

What are AU and ECOWAS doing ?

• Oswald Dziku 1 year ago

THAT'S WHY I KEEP SAYING,A.U IS TOOTHLESS!!!!

• OKYENA NTI 1 year ago

DO NOT THINK GHANA IS BETTER THAN THE SO METIONED COUNTRIES IF YOU RELLY MEAN THE COUNTRY THAT IS SUFFERING IN AFRICA THEN YOU COUNT GHANA AS ONE OF THE WORSE BUT WE DO NOT PAY COLONIAL TAX TO ANY WESTERN COUNTRY.

TO GOD B ...

• Ibrahimfusssni@gmail.com 6 months ago

This is nonsense. After stealing our heritage ,we have to pay them.Absolutely madness.