You have to do a thorough research about stories before bringing them out, because many of the facts stated in the article are wrong. Ghana actually won AFCON 82 in Libya, the fourth and last truimph, with a 17 year old Abedi Pele included in the squad and also participated in AFCON 98 in Burkina Faso, where Ghana was eliminated in the group stages, after which Abedi Pele retired from the Black Stars. I don't where you getting your facts from. For the others I don't know much, and I need to research myself.
Desmond 1 year ago
You're absolutely right.
P Djamgbe 1 year ago
Whoever wrote this article must be arrested, prosecuted and jailed. This is not just a mistake, this is a deliberate and blatant attack on the credibility of the nation. I bet this article would soon be removed from the platform if the management care about their own credibility. What a load of rubbish!!!
Akwaaba 1 year ago
Last time we won the trophy was like four decades ago, yet we are vexed for not qualifying again. Last time out in Cote d'Ivoire 2023, we were sent back home from the group stage.
So, no need for too many grammar here, just ... read full comment
Last time we won the trophy was like four decades ago, yet we are vexed for not qualifying again. Last time out in Cote d'Ivoire 2023, we were sent back home from the group stage.
So, no need for too many grammar here, just because of a mistake in history of decades ago when many were not even born yet.
The question should be;
When will black stars lift the Afcon in our lifetime?
Sister Soulja 1 year ago
I wonder how someone can could such an elementary mistake, this is so embarrassing. Champions in Libya 1982 after beating the hosts on penalties, now this guy cannot even fact-check this basic information and writes that Ghana missed out on the tournament. Shame on you Ghanaweb.
WHO WILL REJECT FREE.SHS AND ACCEPT NKOKO NKETE NKETE 1 year ago
THE PERSON WHO PUBLISHED THIS GARBAGE MUST BE ARRESTED. APUU! IS THIS JOURNALISM OR KWAKU ANASE STORIES?GHANA WON ITS LAST AFCON IN 1982, IN LIBYA . IN TUNISIA 94 GHANA WAS ELIMINATED BY IVORY COAST IN THE QUARTER FINALS IVC2 GHANA1.
Franck 1 year ago
Thank you Sir for your contribution.
Also, Ghana appeared at the 1994 afcon in Tunisia. They were knocked by defending champions Côte d'Ivoire (they won the 1992 afcon in Dakar, Senegal) at the quarter final stage by two goals to one with a late Abdoulaye Traoré header.
GHANA BLACK STARS AND GHANA LEADERS SHARE A LOT IN COMMON - PONZI SCHEMES. 1 year ago
A BUNCH OF INCOMPETENT THIEVES AND FREELOADERS.
AS WE "TALK", THE MOTHER SERPENT OF CORRUPTION IS IN FRANCE FOR HIS LAST MEDICAL CHECKUP AT BANKRUPT GHANAIAN TAXPAYERS EXPENSE.
GHANA'S LEADERS ARE MILKING THE BANKRUPT G ... read full comment
AS WE "TALK", THE MOTHER SERPENT OF CORRUPTION IS IN FRANCE FOR HIS LAST MEDICAL CHECKUP AT BANKRUPT GHANAIAN TAXPAYERS EXPENSE.
GHANA'S LEADERS ARE MILKING THE BANKRUPT GHANAIAN TAXPAYERS HIGH AND DRY. FREELOADING GHANAIAN LEADERS LED BY A THIEVING PRE GHASIDENT. GHANA IS FINISHED!
stay on topic 1 year ago
The article is talking about occasions Ghana failed to qualify for Afcon, not those on which we participated or won the cup, so what research are you saying?
The only mistake was Ghana coming out as champions in 1965 and 1 ... read full comment
The article is talking about occasions Ghana failed to qualify for Afcon, not those on which we participated or won the cup, so what research are you saying?
The only mistake was Ghana coming out as champions in 1965 and 1968.
The correct dates are 1963 in Accra and 1965 in Tunis.
We were silver medalists in 1968 after Congo-Kinshasa later known as Zaire, and now DR Congo.
AMARIYA 1 year ago
Ghana won the 1982 AFCON edition. Ghana beat Libya in their own country. The writer is totally wrong. Infact that happened to be the last time Ghana won the AFCON cup.
John Drunkmani Mahama 1 year ago
If you want to see how the second coming of the drunkard president will be go and watch the performance of Coach Otto Addo.
Kofi Sromani 1 year ago
The Black Stars' worst performances have been under Nana Addo and the NPP. Check the records prior to 2017, and the records from 2017 to date; a bad luck government superintending over the destruction of everything they touch; from destroying the economy and reducing it to junk, to pollution of our water bodies, to environmental destruction, to the collapsing of people's businesses, to creating the highest unemployment record in our history, to the imposition of unprecedented excruciating hardships on Ghanaians, and now to the destruction of our football, which is the only source of unity and joy for Ghanaians. NPP and their cohort of thieves are a curse on this country. We will not qualify for the next World Cup, unless we kick the NPP out in the coming elections. Enough of the bad luck and curses.
Ben 1 year ago
It's good Dede was not part of this mess
Mark Asante 1 year ago
@Ghanaman,
You are wise and knowledgeable.
@Ghanaman,
Paf 1 year ago
The last Façon won by Ghana was held in Libya in 1982
Jay 1 year ago
3y3...our national team need a reset.
Ahmed Noble 1 year ago
When it's about failure the faces of Ayew brothers is shown. Why not show the logo of GFA, the picture of the FA president, couch, etc. hhmm Ayew brothers abre ooo
Me. Dan Lado 1 year ago
Live them but for Thier information the Ayew family have scored more goals for the Black Stars than the entire black stars team put together even before Abedi Pele was born. From Abedi Pele. Kwame Ayew. Sola Ayew. Dede, Jordan and Rahim Ayew. God has really bless them. Jealousy go kill haters.
Yelfaare 1 year ago
Exactly. Ghanaians’ hatred for the Ayew family has brought us where we are today. Several people vilify the Ayews and show real hatred. These young men’s father Dede played his whole life out for Ghana.
Yesterday but for ... read full comment
Exactly. Ghanaians’ hatred for the Ayew family has brought us where we are today. Several people vilify the Ayews and show real hatred. These young men’s father Dede played his whole life out for Ghana.
Yesterday but for Jordan’s goal we would lost the Angola game. Remember Jordan’s recent hat-trick? That is keeping us alive with the World Cup Qualifiers. And yet ethnocentrism has blinded us.
I wish the Ayew brothers don’t show up for the rest of Ghana qualifying matches for the World Cup and we shall see whether Ghana will go to the USA.
We must learn to give credit where it belongs.
The Ayew brothers were crying on the pitch. Where the so-called lover boys? And we think we are doing the Ayew. They earn their life’s money playing in top leagues. We must grow up as people and stop this Stone Age tribalistic tendencies
Latif 1 year ago
Continue with the lies
Not Possible 1 year ago
You are wrong. Ghana didn’t miss the 1982 Afcon in Libya.
In fact Ghana won the trophy - the last trophy
Check your records well.
Not Possible 1 year ago
Check your records well.
Enoch 1 year ago
Please check your facts well. Ghana was in Burkina 98. That was Abedi's last AFCON. Gargo scored one of his trademark goals from the center of the field against Tunisia after missing a penalty.
Bombaata 1 year ago
Herrr! Stomach journalism paa bi dis oo. Ghanaweb paa you guys need to invest in good editors. 1982 Ghana won, and also, qualified for both 1994 and 1998. In 1994 we were eliminated by Ivory Coast in the quarter final, but we failed to make it out of the group in 1998.
This is what I know!
Nzulu 1 year ago
Am I reading well? That Ghana missed out in 1982; the year we won our last AFCON cup? Indomie journlists!
Fact Checker 1 year ago
Ghanaweb writer George Ayisi wrote this crap!
Nzulu 1 year ago
This is baby stuff in truth. A least in the 80s, I know we missed out on the 1986 (Egypt) and 1988 (Morocco) editions. Then in the 90s, we missed out on the 1990 (Algeria) edition. 1994 edition was the second time a group was made up of 3 nations after the inaugural version in Senegal, and I remember names like Edward Ansah, Prince Polley, Frank Amankwah and C.K. Akunnor. We got beaten and eliminated from the tourney by the Ivory Coast.
Mark 1 year ago
Ghana has a good players but until that evil mind set leaves, Ghana will never have a team to play.
7 time's Ghana black stars have failed to qualify for afcon 1 year ago
PLS WON THE CUP IN 1982?
TG 1 year ago
Ghana doesn't start back up in World Cup qualifying until March of 2025 where we face Chad and Madagascar so you at least have until March to redeem yourselves especially after not qualifying for AFCON!!!
Nameless 1 year ago
If you continue to misinform us we will boycott your shitty news.What is that? are you taking us for fools, stupid journalist.
Ben 1 year ago
Who is the chief editor.Its your job to prevent this blatant falsehood. The credibility of your platform depends on you(chief editor)
Col.Q 1 year ago
I don't blame all those who publish such untruths and wrong facts! This is a general sickness running through the journalists in the country! This lack of facts and numerous misinformation is everywhere and branches in Ghana! Fact is, seasoned journalists are very rare in Ghana, only a handful could be counted, with majority of them heavily involved in (propaganda) politics and as such seldom objective in their reports etc. Not only journalists are guilty in this respect, BUT particularly POLITICIANS ALSO who consistently and intentionally misinform the Ghanaian public! The young upcoming politician and journalist refuses to research for the true facts and information because of laziness or malice at worst political expediency to churn out falsehood and misinformation. This is what has prevented the country from progress and development! Nowadays LIES triumph over TRUTH! It pays more to lie than speaking the truth - this is the state Ghana has propelled itself into, SAD, VERY SAD INDEED!!!!
Yelfaare 1 year ago
Your statistics are incorrect. Ghana qualified for 1982. That was Abedi Pele, then 17 years old made his debut for the Stars and thwas the last time Ghana won the Cup.
They were again in the 1994 version and I think did not ... read full comment
Your statistics are incorrect. Ghana qualified for 1982. That was Abedi Pele, then 17 years old made his debut for the Stars and thwas the last time Ghana won the Cup.
They were again in the 1994 version and I think did not go beyond the Quarter Finals.
Please recheck the facts and come back again.
Ghana Money 1 year ago
Sports journalist not doing good researches
Nii 1 year ago
So how come Ghana won the tournament in 1982
Ayensu 1 year ago
So, what is the big deal? Many times we do well and some times we don't.
Nana Abrokwah SA 1 year ago
Yes, two times in the government of the NPP party, 2004 was Kufour NPP government and 2024 Akuffo Addo/Bawumia NPP government, NPP government is a curse to Ghanaians, anytime they been in power, Ghanaian citizens suffer, Hipic and COVID-19, NPP voetstc, and never again
Vinny 1 year ago
inaccurate history. Ghana was present in Tunisia 1994. we lost to Iviry Coast in the quarter final.
Good Pastor 1 year ago
Akwesi Appiah, is to be blame for all.since the time, he sacked our professionals in the midst of world cup, the Black Stars, have not been able to stand on her feet again.
Callistus Eke 1 year ago
It's unfortunate that for the first time in twenty years, the Ghana has failed to qualify, nothing is working, economy fail, cost of living high, cedis depreciation too bad, now blackstar failed to qualify please take your anger to December 7
Basabasa 1 year ago
Dissolve GFA, sack and prosecute the FA president and his cohorts, ban his local teams he owns to serve as a deterrent.
The minister of sports MUST be held accountable for corrupt practices, if found culpable, be jailed. Le ... read full comment
Dissolve GFA, sack and prosecute the FA president and his cohorts, ban his local teams he owns to serve as a deterrent.
The minister of sports MUST be held accountable for corrupt practices, if found culpable, be jailed. Lets get serious for once.
Hannan 1 year ago
:))))) Hot girls are waiting for you on ~~~ www.Hot4.eu
Dam 1 year ago
thi story has nothing to do with Andre Ayew sobbing, Disgrace
Asamantwi 1 year ago
Check your facts. Ghana won 63,65. Finals in 68. Ghana played in 94 where Sam Johnson got injured.
Dan 1 year ago
In 1970, Ghana was banned for 6yrs by CAF for failing to wait to collect their silver medals after Ghana had lost the Afcon finals to Sudan in a most bizarre manner. Ghana served the 6yrs ban without appealing and thereby return as a host nation in 1978 which we won our 3rd title. So Ghana missed '72, '74 and '76 Afcons through CAF ban and not through any qualifiers.
Today's so called sports journalists are so lazy in researching their stories. The players Ghana had produced from 1970's till the '80 were too good not have qualified for Afcon in those years mentioned. In fact if not for the CAF ban Ghana would have won the Afcon more tines in the '70s...with players like Malik Jabil, Ibrahim Sunday, Abukari, Joe Dakota, Essuman, Amusah, Robert Folley, Jones Attuquayefio, and many more Ghana was most talented team in the '70s. Later on the likes of Polo, Razak, Ana's Seidu, Mama Acquah, Robert Hammond, Adolf Armah, John Eshun, Isaac Eshun, Isaac Paha and all such great players coming on stream to replace the Osei Kofis, Aggressive Finns, Kwame Adakwa and Co....!!!
You have to do a thorough research about stories before bringing them out, because many of the facts stated in the article are wrong. Ghana actually won AFCON 82 in Libya, the fourth and last truimph, with a 17 year old Abedi ...
You're absolutely right.
Whoever wrote this article must be arrested, prosecuted and jailed. This is not just a mistake, this is a deliberate and blatant attack on the credibility of the nation. I bet this article would soon be removed from the platf ...
So, no need for too many grammar here, just ...
I wonder how someone can could such an elementary mistake, this is so embarrassing. Champions in Libya 1982 after beating the hosts on penalties, now this guy cannot even fact-check this basic information and writes that Gha ...
THE PERSON WHO PUBLISHED THIS GARBAGE MUST BE ARRESTED. APUU! IS THIS JOURNALISM OR KWAKU ANASE STORIES?GHANA WON ITS LAST AFCON IN 1982, IN LIBYA . IN TUNISIA 94 GHANA WAS ELIMINATED BY IVORY COAST IN THE QUARTER FINALS IVC2 ...
Also, Ghana appeared at the 1994 afcon in Tunisia. They were knocked by defending champions Côte d'Ivoire (they won the 1992 afcon in Dakar, Senegal) at the quarter final stage by two go ...
GHANA'S LEADERS ARE MILKING THE BANKRUPT G ...
The only mistake was Ghana coming out as champions in 1965 and 1 ...
The Black Stars' worst performances have been under Nana Addo and the NPP. Check the records prior to 2017, and the records from 2017 to date; a bad luck government superintending over the destruction of everything they touch ...
@Ghanaman,
Live them but for Thier information the Ayew family have scored more goals for the Black Stars than the entire black stars team put together even before Abedi Pele was born. From Abedi Pele. Kwame Ayew. Sola Ayew. Dede, Jorda ...
Yesterday but for ...
Continue with the lies
Check your records well.
Herrr! Stomach journalism paa bi dis oo. Ghanaweb paa you guys need to invest in good editors. 1982 Ghana won, and also, qualified for both 1994 and 1998. In 1994 we were eliminated by Ivory Coast in the quarter final, but ...
This is baby stuff in truth. A least in the 80s, I know we missed out on the 1986 (Egypt) and 1988 (Morocco) editions. Then in the 90s, we missed out on the 1990 (Algeria) edition. 1994 edition was the second time a group was ...
PLS WON THE CUP IN 1982?
I don't blame all those who publish such untruths and wrong facts! This is a general sickness running through the journalists in the country! This lack of facts and numerous misinformation is everywhere and branches in Ghana! ...
They were again in the 1994 version and I think did not ...
Yes, two times in the government of the NPP party, 2004 was Kufour NPP government and 2024 Akuffo Addo/Bawumia NPP government, NPP government is a curse to Ghanaians, anytime they been in power, Ghanaian citizens suffer, Hipi ...
It's unfortunate that for the first time in twenty years, the Ghana has failed to qualify, nothing is working, economy fail, cost of living high, cedis depreciation too bad, now blackstar failed to qualify please take your an ...
The minister of sports MUST be held accountable for corrupt practices, if found culpable, be jailed. Le ...
In 1970, Ghana was banned for 6yrs by CAF for failing to wait to collect their silver medals after Ghana had lost the Afcon finals to Sudan in a most bizarre manner. Ghana served the 6yrs ban without appealing and thereby ret ...