Ghanaians 'roast' Mahama over calls to include private schools in Free SHS program

Read Comments Comments (134)

• Oprege 1 year ago

Hahahaha hahaha hahahaha hahaha hahahaha hahaha hahahaha this guy should just suspend his campaign and stop embarrassing himself

• OSABARIMA MENSA 1 year ago

John Dariga Mahama is clutching at straws to stay relevant. The corrupt and incompetent fool has no clue about what he believes in. We should retire him from active politics for good come Dec 7.

• FRANKIE 1 year ago

This can never be true! No Ghanaian has 'roasted' John Mahama, the nation builder for his decision to include private schools in the FREE SHS PROGRAMME. Mahama made this point known about two years ago and has been consistent ...

• LIMPING HORSE MAHAMA LACK POLICIES 1 year ago

@frankie,private school students are equally Ghanaians, we get that, but let it also dawn on you that every Ghanaian has a choice, and can decide between fee paying and non fee paying. Mahama inconsistencies shows that he's ...

• Divine Ninja of America 1 year ago

That greedy selfish John Mahama would say any nonsense for power, if ignorant people among great Ghanaians would continue to hail him in his nonsense.

Greedy politician like John Mahama does not care about solving any of your problems but to pursue his pocket with greed when you have none to make a basic living. Why would you be that stupid to support someone who is not con ...

The poverty in Africa, including Ghana is because most of the citizens are stupid and cannot reason well, especially, most Ghanaians. So, despite the high levels of education and skills, the society and the people live in pov ...

The only reason for tuition, meals and board of a private school to be paid by government is in towns where government cannot build schools not for private schools in cities where there are enough public schools. If governmen ...

John Mahama! Please, stop the nonsense selfish greedy for power!

• Ghanaian 1 year ago

This is your wisdom about private schools being included in the fshs programme. How poor you sound. Were you in Ghana when associations of private schools cried for government go include them in the fshs and the program is co ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

It looks like John Mahama is too confused. How can Public Money be used to fund something that is private.? Does it mean Public money can be used to fund Private Hospitals? How does John Mahama reason? He needs to be checked ...

• Oracle 1 year ago

He's speaking Twi ooo and you idiots still can't understand the wisdom - even in Twi which part of it said private schools? "Saa private school nu"

• Old Boy 1 year ago

Truth be told, the so-called Free SHS is seemingly successful because it largely based on the taxes of those who send their children to private schools and even though I don't agree with Mahamas suggestion, morally, there is ...

• Duku 1 year ago

Don't defend the indefensible.

What happened to the statement that FSHS must not be introduced on the whimsical promises of a desperate politician.

• BOYCOTT ALL BLACK STARS MATCHES UNTILL OKRAKU&GFA THIEVES RESIGN 1 year ago

FRANKIE HE IS YOUR POCKET BUILDER NOT GHANA'S BUILDER. HOW CAN SOMEONE WHO SAID FREE SHS WILL COLLAPSE ECONOMY. HE GOT BACK TO SAY HE WILL REVIEW FREE SHS. HIS RIGHT HAND MAN ASIEDU NKETIA SAID THEY WILL CANCEL FREE SHS IF ...

• Ama ghana. 1 year ago

@ frankie you see how difficult you are trying to lie over mahama's lies, what has gone wrong on fshs for mahama to review, your mahama is not straightforward, his mind is like the agbadza dance.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago

@ FRANKIE:
    AKUFO-ADDO AND BAWUMIA ARE THE REAL NATION BUILDERS NOT THE AZAA MAHAMA.

AKUFO-ADDO HAS BUILT OVER 1700 SCHOOL FACILITIES FOR THE FREE SENIOR HIGH, TECHNICAL AND VOCATIONAL TRAINING (T-VET) AND STEM ( SCIENCE TECHNOLOGY ENGINEERING AND MATHEMATICS) SCHOOLS!

But the goon John Mahama couldn’t ...

• Kwaku Tee 1 year ago

Thank God for pushing John Dramani Mahama to reveal to the whole world on how he will collapse the FSHS policy. I'm glad Ghanaians are now getting the opportunity to know the true character of JDM which some of us knew long a ...

• Gh 1 year ago

All private school students are from Togo, foolish nppig.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

Damn you. Many Togolese send their children to Ghanaian Public schools for free education. They don’t pay a Dime when their children come to Public Schools in Ghana. Send all the TROKOSI Ewes back to Eyadema for them to be ...

• Nanabawu 1 year ago

Napo is 57 years old foolish gay without kids. His last minute secret marriage with menopause Ga woman is faked. We need real life partner for our vice presidents.
    And Bawumia, a fake Muslim who eat pork in shrine has part ...

• Nana 1 year ago

Look at this lunatic thinking Ghanaian.What has this issue to do to Napo.How can this nation move forward with this absolutely senseless and insane insult.Are you alright?

@ Nanabawu:
    We are talking about important issues affecting our country and not lies and unnecessary gossiping. And if you can’t effectively contribute quit the platform. Who told NAPO is gay? Gyae Gymimii no!

• Kofi T 1 year ago

These Tribal Fools at Ghanaweb....see how Foolishly the link PeaceFm link with third JANDAM

• Otoo 1 year ago

Children spend 2 months in school and 4 months home for expensive home tuition without practical. The numbers in parliament clearly shows free shs didn't win npp 2020 election and cannot win Bawumia 2024 election.

• Kooo 1 year ago

Ghanaweb now belongs to an NPP. Beware of misinformation and disinformation

• Mike O 1 year ago

You are so so ignorant Oprege! There is a policy document on this policy. Take time, look for that document and read it. That would help your understanding of the proposal a lot. Are you happy with the overcrowding in our sch ...

@ Mike O: OPEN YOUR EYES!

TEN UNPRECEDENTED ACHIEVEMENTS OF AKUFFO—ADDO THAT SURPASSES NKRUMAH’S ACHIEVEMENTS 

THAT’S ASIDE THE FREE SHS AND HIS OTHER SIGNATURE PROJECTS! SUCH AS THE DIGITAL ADDRESS, DR ...

• NPP SHOULD PRAY FOR COMMON SENSE. 1 year ago

You non-performing party (npp) bots are too dumb. What's difficult about the inclusion of private shs in poorly implemented fshs if reviewed? To enlighten you, the simple thing is gov't will determine a uniform fee for servic ...

• Rose 1 year ago

Abotsi you too na so you bii.

• Kay 1 year ago

Broke man u no dey fit feed your wife and children yet u wan another girlfriend. Dis man wan more trouble for FSHS.

• Kramai 1 year ago

Go back and read the story

• Nana B 1 year ago

The record will always defend Mahama.
    JDM ended shift system in basic school and built more shs for jhs graduates than any government in 4th republic. Do you know how much parents are spending for 4 months home classes for ...

• james 1 year ago

In your own words this is a whimsical promise of a disparate politician who wants power by all means.John Mahama not all Ghanians are short memory why, you are now promising heaven and earth and abandoning your 24hr economy a ...

• Kramai 1 year ago

No wonder ghana has one of the lowest IQ’s on average globally,what he meant is the private schools will absorb some of the double track students

• DeBrain 1 year ago

Mr "know all" will the private schools absorb those students for free as done by government. Will private schools make their resources available to those students at no cost? Even if that is the case, how will those students ...

• Game Changer 1 year ago

@DeBrain, ur brain is dead. Who told u those at the public schools are not been paid for by govt? It's just a matter of negotiation by govt and the private schools to enrol on the programme. It's better than having most of pr ...

• Rere 1 year ago

It just a matter of negotiation? Talk is cheap when you want to trend or ride on someone else’s success .

• Kwesi 1 year ago

John Mahama second coming can be compared to Otto Addo black stars.

• Ama 1 year ago

They say to be forewarned is to forearm .This one it is not a recorded message it is live.Parents who want to vote for Mahama shd start looking for money.

• Kramai 1 year ago

Go back and read

• Lantey Boye 1 year ago

Mahama talks first and thinks later, if at all! The country needs an intelligent and manageable economic plan to turn the country around. Mahama should have ascertained the health of public purse before making such call. Fran ...

• K Black 1 year ago

Why private school students aren't ghanaians?

• Old Boy 1 year ago

My brother don't bother about these petty reactions from the desperate followers of thieves who fear for their fate come December 7.

• Citizen8 1 year ago

In fact if you want to comment on Mahama's campaign you're likely to say things that mustn't be said.

• Godfred 1 year ago

This post shows the reason why the country is poor, the government pays the so called school fee’s you are enjoying free. The private schools will provide the infrastructure and by government policy, they will be paid the a ...

• Joko 1 year ago

Which private schools are u referring to ?the dollar paying ones or the 15,000 cedis a term or the regular ones who admit aggregate 36 students ?

• Godfred 1 year ago

Sir idk where you reside in Ghana but there are a lot of privately held schools who don’t charge the exorbitant amount you have mentioned. A school like Sammo in Cape Coast does not charge 15k. There are a lot of people, ev ...

• TK 1 year ago

As president, you're free to do whatever you want; are you not?

• Powerful 1 year ago

Including private schools in the free shs program is a review that must be supported by common sense. Allowing parents who can afford to pay fees under free shs is also a review.

• Hmmm 1 year ago

Those parents who can pay at private shool are free to enrol their wards there

• Francis 1 year ago

I just don't understand why so many primitive mindsets. Go to UK, even South Africa, private schools are been cushion.
    The students at the private sector are they not Ghanaians. Ahhhhh how can we develop? Nkurasesem nkoaaaa ...

• Obi 1 year ago

HOW CAN SUCH A PERSON LIKE MAHAMA WITH SUCH A LOW IQ BE PRESIDENT OF GHANA. EVEN IN ADVANCE COUNTRIES, ARE PRIVATE SCHOOLS FREE ?

• Ashley 1 year ago

Mahama is confused. Was he drunk when he made this statement?

• Ken 1 year ago

Same person said after 20 years before we can implement FSHS ...now FSHS attractive and your adding private schools ....just frustrating for power....vote #1 it's possible
    INSAH ALLAH

• Kwaku Binfo 1 year ago

FREE SHS IS A SENSELESS POLICY AND SHOULD BE ABOLISHED, AND NOT REVIEWED. HALF BAKED INTERNATIONALS AND APPRENTICE POLITICIANS. CRY OUR BELOVED COUNTRY

• THE SECOND HAND PRESIDENT WILL LOOSE AGAIN 1 year ago

MAHAMA IS A CORN MAN AND HAS NOTHING TO OFFER

• Mike 1 year ago

Whatever money government pays for each student in the free SHS should be paid for each student who enrols in a private SHS. Private SHS schools who will be happy with this should be included in this arrangement.
    This will d ...

• Opesaw 1 year ago

A poor country like Ghana with such a huge debt, always borrowing to survive and a presidential candidate saying such a thing is very disgusting. MAHAMA is not fit to be president again, a very CORRUPT person, surrounded by C ...

• Duka daya 1 year ago

You people are so dishonest. Mahama made a specific call for private schools which were the only schools in remote areas

• Anuwarideen 1 year ago

Mahama is a big scam........A man who said free SHS, is not targeting the poor and that the policy should allow rich parents to pay for their ward fees, ............Today, the same man is extending free SHS, to private school ...

• Vandal 1 year ago

Free Education 419..Best song during 2016 election

• Straight Talk 1 year ago

NDCs ONE-TIME PREMIUM for NHIS did not see the light of day.

REVIEWING FSHS_ NDC will collapse the policy

24- HR ECONOMY_ IT is a total mirage

Ghanaians, wise up oooo, yooooo

• Prof 1 year ago

Why are we so quick to insult rather than share ideas. If govt spends X amount on a student in a public school, can't that same amount be used as bursary to reduce how much parents spend in private schools. The facilities are ...

• Wise 1 year ago

Is like Mahama didn't really prepare for this year election because wei di3 oh no no no....!

• SOS 1 year ago

A good observation but a bad idea.

Why? - because that would deepen the financial crises in the state!

It would be a better approach to think of new ideas to support the private schools perform their duty in the communi ...

• POWERFUL 1 year ago

Those questioning the source of funding, why are they not questioning Akuffo Addo of the source of funding now.

• Oyibo 1 year ago

On 29 Nov 2012, ghanaweb carried a story. In that story Mahama said the free SHS would collapse Ghana's education system. Is he saying this NPP government has managed our economy so well that it can now absorb private schools ...

• GOOD POINT @Oyibo 1 year ago

What Mahama is saying is that the free SHS rollout has been so successful he wants to add even all private schools. This same person in videos making the rounds said free SHS was a scam. He later said he started free SHS. Nex ...

• TW3DE3 1 year ago

MAHAMA IS A CONFUSED LUNATIC!

• Cross roads 1 year ago

The caption of the story is misleading. In a case, what Mahama said is consistent with what he is being saying in time past. What is wrong including private schools in the FSHS?

• Abusuapanin 1 year ago

Too much akpeteshie will kill this clueless Mahama. You don't like Free SHS. We know that you will discontinue it when Ghanaians foolishly vote for you. You're saying this just to win votes. We know your propaganda tactics.

• Boldsteven Mother Serpent of Corruption 1 year ago

Are students in private schools not ghanaians. Is our tax money not being used to run the fshs or it is somebody pocket money? We shd rather roast the people who implemented the poor fshs. They take decisions before they thin ...

• AMARIYA 1 year ago

PRIVATE SCHOOL IS A BUSINESS

May be Mahama's government wants to invest in privates schools.

• Kk 1 year ago

You see Mahama,s inconsistencies , you cried on roof tops to abolish and scrap it , now u want high charging schools to be included

• Denise 1 year ago

Now it's obvious why Ghana is suffering whilst being surrounded by abundance of Grace. May God bless mahama for his vision, he was specific on SHS, private school can concentrate on the basics and a strategic government can a ...

• nii 1 year ago

this is simple, are private health care providers not on NHIS? so why cant private school be on FSH?

• Kay 1 year ago

Which ghanaians 'roast' Mahama....it is npp stooges nt ghanaians pls......

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

JDM knows how to raise funds for Education development in that regard.
    JDM is not like Akuffo Addo's useless Government Who borrowed borrowed and borrowed more than any other Government since Dr Kwami Nkrumah ara, but can no ...

• Star from the North 1 year ago

It doesn’t matter how the Akan dwarfs change the words of Mahama to suit their diabolical narrative bawumia will be soundly defeated in December. We cannot allow dishonest people to rule over us the land owners. Private sch ...

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 1 year ago

Illiterate fSHS graduates who don't reason. What it means is the exact amount that is spent on each student and/or program by the government, a private school that admits a student will get the same amount reimbursed before t ...

• Amanor USA 1 year ago

People are just talking. Mahama is a thinker so the private schools will not be forced. Those private schools that are becoming empty will agree to take a reasonable fee from the government per student and not the 12K ...

• DDT 1 year ago

I blame NDC and Mahama for not explaining better this idea to Ghanaians. The question is, is it all private schools or those schools that want to participate? Most Ghanaians do not know that, although free SHS is free but go ...

• Kwasi 1 year ago

I am surprise about the daftness of majority of Ghanaians. What he said was places that have no public or government schools and the government didn't have money to build schools immediately. Anyway, the government sometimes ...

• Agnes 1 year ago

I thought government will only pay the approved school fees for the children in private school and their parents will pay the remaining balance charge by the school

• Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago

: Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• Not Possible 1 year ago

They have started doing what they did to Nkrumah.
    Mahama will succeed to shame all his enemies.
    You people trust Bawumia who has NO experience to be your president after 8 years of hardship but you cannot trust a former pre ...

• Kan na wu. 1 year ago

Akoa weyi he has nothing good to offer Tweaaaaaaa.
    He is saying just for saying sake. John have you ever won elections before Mr thief. Still incompetent.

• KA NA WU. 1 year ago

WHO has moved their kids from private schools to the public ones because of the free SHS program? Any statistics?
    The parents of those kids in private schools have no nightmares about paying the exorbitant school fees charge ...

• KWAME NKRUMAH NOA NA OMPER YASEM NO 1 year ago

NPP is evil party, we don't want "another Mahama we are sorry pleading if Ghanaians mistakingly vote NPP to power again and things falls apart by Bawumia government which in known as the toilet builders" haa meeka akyirermo ...

@ KWAME NKRUMAH: NDC EYE ZU EYE AZAA NKOAA!

EYE ZU EYE AZAA!
    EYE ZU EYE DUMSOR,
    EYE ZU EYE CASH AND CARRY,
    EYE ZU EYE REPEALING TEACHERS AND NURSING
    TRAINEE ALLOWANCES!
    EYE ZU EYE SALARY NON PAYMENTS
    EYE ZU EY ...

• JDM 1 year ago

some fools says when the veep speaks he is always giggling and laughing like a peacock....okay! so have you fools saying that about the veep also realised, whenever your mahama speaks its like 'he has taken some cocaine and s ...

• Etw3 ba 1 year ago

Mahama is just not intelligent...he is so dumb and clueless and doesn't know anything...I planned not to vote for the npp again but I think bawumia has better ideas and vision that mahama....

• Ama ghana. 1 year ago

While asiedu kwasia is telling ghanaians that fshs would be cancelled if ndc wins the election, listen to mahama who wants to extend it to cover private schools, confusion galore.

• Yakubu Alhassan 1 year ago

Opana again and such a person wants to become a president.

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 1 year ago

I support Mahama 110%. Private school students are also Ghanaians and their parents are paying some of the taxes the government is using to finance the free SHS. Excluding private students amount to discriminating against ...

• Firing Squad 1 year ago

I told you so, this guy Mahama is indecisive and bad for Ghana.

• Whimsical promise from a desperate & incompetent Mahama 1 year ago

The con man Mahama doesn't respect the intelligence of Ghanaians.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 1 year ago

Fools lambasting Mahama makes it so funny. MMOA, Instead of talking why he wants to make such move, as usual as they've been programmed, dogs come up attack you left right left . Well for your information, when you're stupid ...

• Critical 1 year ago

Most of u the contributors are just living in shit holes and writing garbage without any critical thinking and u will have shit hole leaders with shit hole nations
    Mahama and his wife are receiving free salary medical care s ...

• Cc 1 year ago

Politics is a stupid game. Someone who is against the policy says include private schools.eii

• Kojo Badu 1 year ago

JDM is confused and desperate. He doesn't think through issues before opening mouth. What has come of position that free SHS should exclude children whose parents can afford to pay? Summary: JDM has no message.

• Gov’t Official 1 is corrupt, mentally sick and desperate. 1 year ago

Corrupt Government Official 1 is sick in his empty head and very desperate.

National Health Insurance covers both state and private health institutions, but it has not collapsed.
    It means that the state will pay for tuition, accommodation and feeding in the private schools as it it in government sc ...

• Integrity 1 year ago

The call is in the right direction. We all know that most of the private shs perform better than government shs. The implementation of the free shs has collapsed most of the private shs and subsequently made government shs o ...

• DrunkMANI conman Mahama 1 year ago

He said this after he finished one bottle of vodka. This guy is inept and empty ankasa

• Eric 1 year ago

This man knows some Ghanaians have small minds so he is taking advantage for it's an insult to Ghanaians for him even to think of becoming president again,he is too empty

• Percy 1 year ago

NPP is now in a state of desperation. They are now reaching out for anything that is passing by. When your time is up, it is up and there is absolutely nothing you can do to change it.

• Pinkfloyd 1 year ago

Man , take a little break from the campaign . Exhaustion can cause you harm dearly. A little advise.

• Alex 1 year ago

Mahama is absolutely confused about the direction he will take free SHS should he becomes future President.

• Wisdom 1 year ago

So government will pay salaries of private school teachers, maintain the school buildings, provide equipment, pay electricity and water bills etc . Private schools are operating for profit so government will give money to the ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Ghanaians, don't forget what Mahama told us, he said that he is "INDECISIVE" which mean what to you and me? It means he cannot think through issues. He is daft, stupid, idiot, foolish.

Look at John Mahama and come out any ...

• Good idea 1 year ago

With the inclusion of the Private Schools the dreaded double track system would easily be eliminated. Until recently, the government used to post students to private SHS to pursue further studies.

The only big solution t ...

• Mahama is right 1 year ago

With the inclusion of the Private Schools the dreaded double track system would easily be eliminated. Until recently, the government used to post students to private SHS to pursue further studies.

The only big solution t ...

• NPP in big trouble 1 year ago

The major headache of NPP is how to eliminate the troubled double track system. They know that the answer is the inclusion of private SHS.

The inclusion of the private SHS would reduce the graduate unemployment drastic and ...

• Jimbo 1 year ago

Mr Mahamah speaks too much making him contradicting himself most of the time. He says those who can pay fees should be made to pay to reduce the burden on state coffers so what happens if he extends it to cover private school ...

• Fuudian lomotey 1 year ago

NDC is for fools

• Hannan 1 year ago

!!!!! Hot girls are waiting for you on - www.Hot4.eu

• Foyoo 1 year ago

Granted, I think the most important thing of all things that Ghanaians should concern themselves with right now, is the end of the suffering brought to us by Bawuliar as head of the Economic Management Team. Let's vote him to ...

• Abu D 1 year ago

It will help end double-track system

• Bombaclat 1 year ago

Please don’t go there!

• Cc 1 year ago

His speeches tell he has nothing in his head to deliver. He only wants to win power to have the chance to settle all monies lost through campaigns.

• Papa Sei 1 year ago

Mahama is short of ideas. How do you extend free SHS to cover private schools? How are the proprietors going to recoup the money invested in the setting up of the schools? Are you going to pay the salaries of their workers? I ...

• Foyoo 1 year ago

But he's still better than Bawumia who is currently killing Ghanaians as the economy has collapsed totally with high inflation. Which one will you choose, Mahama who wants an idealistic school system or Bawumia who has totall ...

• Ghanaman 1 year ago

John Mahama is idiot

• The Thief 1 year ago

A Drunkard a notorious Thief is known all over Ghana..
    He admitted as a human being Bribery and corruption on BBC TV to the surprise of the world. The Drunkard was under the influence of alcohol I guess.

If the schools have become over-crowded, the solution then is for the government to fund the expansion of classrooms and sleeping quarters in these government schools. Let's face it, the over-crowding at these government scho ...

• Oracle 1 year ago

Nonesense - he's speaking Twi and you idiots still don't understand the sense in what he's advocating. FSHS has meant that all students in a private school - THE ONLY SHS IN THE AREA - have naturally left to enjoy FSHS which ...

• Mahama y3 otetah fo) 1 year ago

Mahama y3 otetah fo. Mahama will come and loot and so don't trust him.

• Kennedy Swan 1 year ago

Mahama will decieve Ghanaians. Ghanaians should know that Mahama had his time and blew it. We saw Mahama when he was a president and failed us big time. Don't vote for Mahama.

• Ap3tw3 1 year ago

Mahama y3 ap3tw3

NHIS is administered by private hospitals because its Ghanaians who attend private hospitals.
    Students in private schools are Ghanaians and should also be accorded the free things that are given to those in state schools.

• Paul 1 year ago

His Excellency, if you had kept your promise and built the number of schools you promised in your 2012 manifesto, it would have helped to solve the problem you have conjured to make you relevant today. Sorry, its too late to ...