WEAK EXCHANGE RATE OR CURRENCY DEPRECIATION CAN BOOST OUR ECONOMY IF IT IS WELL MANAGED!
You people in NDC think that weak exchange rate is so damaging to the economy. But I don’ ... read full comment
LAWYER NKOKOPO OF SUNYANI AND BREKUM.
WEAK EXCHANGE RATE OR CURRENCY DEPRECIATION CAN BOOST OUR ECONOMY IF IT IS WELL MANAGED!
You people in NDC think that weak exchange rate is so damaging to the economy. But I don’t blame you because that’s how your economic managers hoodwinked you to believe . In fact that’s not entirely the case. About twenty years ago ( Between 1997 to 2005) China purposely pegged their currency ( Yuan) at lower rates against the American dollar, then the US economists figured out that the move was making US manufactured goods more costly than that of the Chinese. And that the move was boosting China’s trade deficit against the US. So the Americans started protesting against the Chinese strategy. The protest fell on the death ears of the Chinese until George W Bush started slapping hefty tariffs on the Chinese imports to the US. A lower rate or depreciation of currency is not a bad idea if our government is able to take advantage of it and boost exports.
Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago
I THANK GOD FOR GHANA, GOD BLESS AKUFO-ADDO AND DR. BAWUMIA.
GHANA IS 500% RICHER TODAY THAN UNDER P/NDC. NOTE: ECONOMIC PERFORMANCE IS NOT ONLY DETERMINED BY THE EXCHANGE RATES!
IN 1992- 1996 UNDER PNDC THE SIZE OF G ... read full comment
GHANA IS 500% RICHER TODAY THAN UNDER P/NDC. NOTE: ECONOMIC PERFORMANCE IS NOT ONLY DETERMINED BY THE EXCHANGE RATES!
IN 1992- 1996 UNDER PNDC THE SIZE OF GHANA’S ECONOMY WAS ABOUT $ 5- 25 BILLION PPP WITH ABOUT 16-18 MILLION POPULATION.
EVEN IN 2016 GHANA’S GDP WAS ABYSMAL $ 56 BILLION WITH $ 147 BILLION PPP.
TODAY GHANA’S ECONOMY IS APPROX $80 BILLION GDP AND WHOPPING $ 250 BILLION PPP WITH 32 MILLION POPULATION! SO WHAT’S THE NDC TALKING ABOUT? GHANA IS TODAY 500% RICHER THAN UNDER P/NDC.
Even NPP’s economic woes are better than NDC’S economic boom. Which country didn’t suffer the hiccups of the COVID-19 pandemic and the Russia-Ukraine war? Nations have started building their economies, and is not exempted. Our economy has started growing and prospects are much better than John Mahama’s Dumsor and Nkomfem era, an era that was also marred by corruption to the highest levels. Akufo-Addo’s average economic growth has now superseded the Nkonfem Mahama who never had to deal with any serious global pandemic, but then subjected Ghanaians to a very serious economic crisis.
NDC fools!
PPP means Purchasing Power Parity.
With that much Purchasing Power rate, it means Ghanaians are enjoying higher amounts of goods and services more than ever!
Where is that Moron Franklin Cudjoe and his stupid IMANI?
Sakyibea 1 year ago
Your statistics is meaningless and carefully calculated to mislead Ghanaians because the figures can be high but it's related effects adverse to the people. Ppp can rise and be higher but there could still be hyper inflation which raises the cost of living and impoverished Ghanaians. etc. but the most important question is are the Ghanaian people averagely okay now? No they aren't. Ppp is higher but the Cedi to dollar exchange rate today today is through the roof.. That's why Bawumia should be voted out not to elongate the sufferings of Ghana
Pan-African 1 year ago
Foolishness, who understands what. Aaaapppuuuu
Pelicles 1 year ago
@Sakyibea. What is our currency? Since 1957, in what year Ghanaians did not complain? John Mahama did not hire nobody, did not increase salary/wage of any worker, teachers work three years and receive three months' pay etc. All the backlog arrears were settled by NPP who in your estimation had destroyed the economy so, the leader who could not man up and caused all these economic hardships should come back again, does it even make sense to you?
By the way, who told you that there is hyperinflation in Ghana and what constitute hyperinflation? You are rather misleading Ghana with your blindfold love for a human who had publicly said that he is indecisive.
When Mahama signed that bogus power agreement, he saddled Ghana with a yearly debt of $500million, and NPP had been paying that debt since 2017, now what impact does it has on our economy, nothing, and how do you understand that?
You seem knowable so stop being a blindfold supporter of a political who had nothing good for Ghana.
Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago
Stephen Donkey you and stupidity is like bread and butter. Fool.
Yeboah 1 year ago
At the end of the day, the problem was solved in a short while but Bawumia hasn't solved any economic hurdles for 8 years now, what are you talking about
Kwami 1 year ago
ALL NDC SUPPORTERS AND GURUS SHOULD READ THIS.
Kofi 1 year ago
Yiuvare mad! History shows a weak currency is mostly a disaster! Ghana weak cedo is due to mismanagement of the economy!
Nana 1 year ago
But Ghana experienced dumsor for 4 years. Besides, workers were paid couple of months in arrears and also sought the intervention of IMF. Why did Mahama take Ghana to IMF for bailout? Stomach politicians. Wait for the military to teach you common sense economics and blow the heads of you politicians in no distance future.
Abudu 1 year ago
And who do you think will vote for a rat like Bawumia? Wontumi? Heheheee
THE TRUTH 1 year ago
@ Abudu
Abudu I think both you and Sammy Gyamfi have short memories as John Mahama said but many Ghanaians have good memories
@ Abudu
Abudu I think both you and Sammy Gyamfi have short memories as John Mahama said but many Ghanaians have good memories
Whether Ghanaians have short memory or not we the good people of Ghana don't your economy manager and dollar police officer Bawumia as president of Kwame Nkrumah Ghana, period.
Kom 1 year ago
You can vote for Mahama, who cares?
Kofi 1 year ago
Yes we will! He's clearly better and more experienced
Sakyibea 1 year ago
My God, Sammy you are perfectly right and the evidence supports you. Mahama was also a Vice President like Bawumia but he never led Ghana to the IMF and as a result wasn't DIRECTLY responsible for Ghanaians sufferings. Poor Ghanaians suffering the time may be attributed to other reasons and people but not to Mahama because he wasn't the Head of the Economic Committee. Nevertheless Bawumia is head of the Economic Committee which was because he lied prior to assuming this position that he can solve economic matters. But now look at Ghana, look at us while our whole life is in shambles, inflation gone through the roof, imf caused no public sector recruitment so more youth graduates are handed over to the hustling fields of economic despair, food prices are so high about 21 million Ghanaians can't afford a nutritional meal and the Cedi to the Dollar gone way too high So Mahama is always better than Bawumia and that's why Ghanaians should end their suffering by voting out Bawumia or the horrible sufferings will continue under Bawumia
Mr. Smith 1 year ago
I have been following you and the party NDC. Indeed you have outlined the economic difficulties we face as a nation. You have not been able to tell Ghanaians how much products ought to be sold other than prices are high. Please tell how much you will sell a ball of kenkey. Also will the exchange rate drop. Fuel and trotro fare will it drop. This are critical questions for me.
NK 1 year ago
Wh3 ne gyimie Sammy gyamfi
T.I 1 year ago
Apuut)). If a lawyer and an economist have failed to manage the economy, what makes you think that a historian and a linguist would do better?
Kofi 1 year ago
What a stupid analogy? Don't yiu think akuffo addo and bawumia are both bogus?
The Don 1 year ago
You can't even explain 24 hour policy. Shut up Sammy Gyimii
Kk 1 year ago
Appuuuuuu. Mahama knows what economy? Go tell this to the illiterate. That is you always want to depend on those who can't read or write for vote.
Nana 1 year ago
Mahama himself has said Ghana has no money so if he has already said that why is he dieing to fix Ghana in four years? Where would the money be coming from? Let's be honest Mahama's four years will set Ghana back 10 years.
Yao 1 year ago
Apuu tuo who told you please? The most incompetent person is Mr Mahama
Most Ghanaians have sense not collect thrash Mahama 1 year ago
Wonders will never end. Instead of explaining how rearing lizards, snakes, toads, and monkeys in your 24h economy, you are home watching and listening to what your opponents say. Did Napo refer to you? Who in his right sense will collect food that has been put in the bin to eat? Mahama is history.
Eric 1 year ago
Since when Mahama understand the economy this nonsense must stop
Opuni 1 year ago
No one can rebrand JDM, during his time as president the records of JDM are there for everyone to see at the statistical department and BOG. Under his administration agriculture sub sector of the economy was recording below 3%, manufacturing was below 1.5% growth. Ghanaians know JDM as incompetent leader, therefore no one can rebrand him
THE CRUSADER 1 year ago
NKOKOPO,BRODE BLUE!you are a lawyer! do you understand the law?Likewise being a communicater from Ukrania understands GHS ( EKOMNEME)Eeconomy? WO DEE GYE GYIMII!
King 1 year ago
Another stupid person. Even you couldn't explain 24 hrs economy, how can Mahama manage it. Bawumia will win massively and be the next president of Ghana. Period.
Naa 1 year ago
People of Ghana please open your eyes. This country had power crisis for almost 4 years under Mahama. Teachers who worked for 2 years were only paid for 3 months. Is this the same person that we want him to rule Ghana? NDC is not an alternative. God save us all.
Serwa 1 year ago
There are only two options, Mahama who wasn't directly responsible for any economic troubles you mentioned and Bawumia who is currently killing Ghanaians. Dumsor wasn't directly caused by Mahama, it was caused by other actors responsible to provide adequate power to Ghanaians. But Bawumia is directly responsible for this current economic mess . Mahama got his punishment for Dumsor like you said , the people didn't vote for him So now it's the turn of Dr Bawumia, the chew and pour kingpin to be voted out for the current massive sufferings of Ghanaians. We can't continue this current abysmal crises for another 4 Years
Nii 1 year ago
Mahama, understands the economy? Aaaba!! Is it O level economics? I laugh saaaaa.
Yaw 1 year ago
Who understands economy a dead goat, you’re a joker you think we all have a short memory like he said.Someone who brought economy that was growing at 14 percent down to 3.4 percent with negative growth in Agriculture he knows what appuuuu. Never again.
Sakyibea 1 year ago
So you prefer that to people suffering right now, for Bawumia to extend this same suffering again for the next four years?? Are you really living in Ghana? Do you know how hard is for the young and old, kids, families etc to survive not live? Ghana currently is a living urban jungle wrecked by Dr BAWUMIA because he's the head of the Economic revival team. And you want this same man to continue the hardship? This isn't about NPP and NDC, but if you have two choices now between Mahama who wasn't directly responsible ever for the Ghanaian suffering and Bawumia who is Directly responsible for the Ghanaian suffering because he's head of the Economic team, which one would you choose?? You mean somebody strangling you right right right now, should continue to strangle you so you die? No we won't agree to die so that's why on the 7th we will show Bawumia his smoothness level
Kom 1 year ago
I agree, this is not NDC or NPP but we all know Mahama isn’t the solution.
Kojois 1 year ago
To come and do what. No sensible in ghana will vote incompetent back again to do what. Even America interest rate is 7%. Mahama has nothing to offer even if ghanaians give him 8 yrs.
Ghana needs competent leader 1 year ago
Apuu who,? Incompetent John Mahama?
We need John Mahama now! Ghana is not in good direction and only John Mahama can save Ghanaians in this difficult moments.
Kom 1 year ago
He couldn’t save Ghana from dumsor for 4 years, how can he save Ghana now?
Yaro Zongo 1 year ago
Sammy Gyamfi is the best and only loud mouth spokesman Mahama has..he run his mouth too much..boring!
Comical Ghana 1 year ago
Hahaha! Great fart, does he? Apuuu.
Kwaky 1 year ago
Sammy Gimi for you.
Smithson 1 year ago
Sammy Gyamfi, I strongly believe that your brain must be examined.
John 1 year ago
Apuuuuu toooor,Sammy Gyamfi your not ashame of this comments???? Mahama who every one in Ghana here knows Mahama as a bad Leader,Since independence Mahama is the worst President ever Ghana had in the history of Ghanaians. Bringing Mahama back for what?? Ghanaians need Mahama for what??Ghanaians don't need Dumso or Dumkuraa again, we don't need Nights Club, we don't need Nkokor Nketekete.we don't work for 1 year and 3 months Pay Salary policy ect .Ghanaians don't need Mahama today or tomorrow. Because Ghanaians has already Saw what Christian President Can do Including You Mahama Since independence. So you my Mr Mahama has nothing new to offer ok.Now is the time for Muslim Leader to be President of Ghana for Ghanaians to Know what Muslim President Can do for our dear nation Ghana. God bless our home land Ghana.
Afro Moses 1 year ago
Mahama only understands nprako mmaa,nkukobuo nketenkete ,nkonfem economy and kenkey with abobi kena economy.Ghana has grown pass Mahama. We need buy Ghana first products and digital economy which is vote number one and it is possible.
Afro Moses 1 year ago
The only economy Mahama knew is buy cars for Legon university girls and give Ghana bauxite to his brother to denial Ghana money for development.
Kofi 1 year ago
Which girls? Mention one name or shut your smelly mouth!
Raphael Abeam US 1 year ago
You always talk about economy economy. If during the time of former President John Mahama .the economy was good why did Ghanaians encountered dumsor for almost 4 years..Why didn't he pay the allowances of Nurses and Teacher Training. During your the NDC reign Naana Jane waste Education minister we fought to buy chalk in the market before we could teach the students..Teachers were paid 3 months instead or a year. Now what are you coming to do with the aim of coming to spoil the free SHS. No way
Kofi 1 year ago
Dumsor has nothibgvto do with an economy! It's an ibfrstructureal problem which usually takes some time to resolve.
Kofi Ghanaba 1 year ago
Mahama does not know anything about the economy.He is interested in stealing Ghana’s bauxite.
Kwame Peter 1 year ago
Nonsense,only a fool will enjoy dumsor and Ghanaians are not fools.
LAWYER NKOKOPO OF SUNYANI AND BREKUM.
You people in NDC think that weak exchange rate is so damaging to the economy. But I don’ ...
IN 1992- 1996 UNDER PNDC THE SIZE OF G ...
Your statistics is meaningless and carefully calculated to mislead Ghanaians because the figures can be high but it's related effects adverse to the people. Ppp can rise and be higher but there could still be hyper inflation ...
@Sakyibea. What is our currency? Since 1957, in what year Ghanaians did not complain? John Mahama did not hire nobody, did not increase salary/wage of any worker, teachers work three years and receive three months' pay etc. A ...
But Ghana experienced dumsor for 4 years. Besides, workers were paid couple of months in arrears and also sought the intervention of IMF. Why did Mahama take Ghana to IMF for bailout? Stomach politicians. Wait for the militar ...
@ Abudu
My God, Sammy you are perfectly right and the evidence supports you. Mahama was also a Vice President like Bawumia but he never led Ghana to the IMF and as a result wasn't DIRECTLY responsible for Ghanaians sufferings. Poor G ...
I have been following you and the party NDC. Indeed you have outlined the economic difficulties we face as a nation. You have not been able to tell Ghanaians how much products ought to be sold other than prices are high. Plea ...
Mahama himself has said Ghana has no money so if he has already said that why is he dieing to fix Ghana in four years? Where would the money be coming from? Let's be honest Mahama's four years will set Ghana back 10 years ...
Wonders will never end. Instead of explaining how rearing lizards, snakes, toads, and monkeys in your 24h economy, you are home watching and listening to what your opponents say. Did Napo refer to you? Who in his right sense ...
No one can rebrand JDM, during his time as president the records of JDM are there for everyone to see at the statistical department and BOG. Under his administration agriculture sub sector of the economy was recording below 3 ...
People of Ghana please open your eyes. This country had power crisis for almost 4 years under Mahama. Teachers who worked for 2 years were only paid for 3 months. Is this the same person that we want him to rule Ghana? NDC is ...
There are only two options, Mahama who wasn't directly responsible for any economic troubles you mentioned and Bawumia who is currently killing Ghanaians. Dumsor wasn't directly caused by Mahama, it was caused by other actors ...
Who understands economy a dead goat, you’re a joker you think we all have a short memory like he said.Someone who brought economy that was growing at 14 percent down to 3.4 percent with negative growth in Agriculture he kno ...
So you prefer that to people suffering right now, for Bawumia to extend this same suffering again for the next four years?? Are you really living in Ghana? Do you know how hard is for the young and old, kids, families etc to ...
Sammy Gimi for you.
Apuuuuu toooor,Sammy Gyamfi your not ashame of this comments???? Mahama who every one in Ghana here knows Mahama as a bad Leader,Since independence Mahama is the worst President ever Ghana had in the history of Ghanaians. ...
Mahama only understands nprako mmaa,nkukobuo nketenkete ,nkonfem economy and kenkey with abobi kena economy.Ghana has grown pass Mahama. We need buy Ghana first products and digital economy which is vote number one and it is ...
You always talk about economy economy. If during the time of former President John Mahama .the economy was good why did Ghanaians encountered dumsor for almost 4 years..Why didn't he pay the allowances of Nurses and Teacher ...