Jesus has opened his arms to receive you now. The Kingdom of God is within your reach. Don't miss this opportunity. The alternative is everlasting punishment. Just accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour, and let Him be the Lord of your life in deed, not only in words. Jesus loves you
Akufool idiot and mumu bawuliar are failures. 1 year ago
The useless unanimous fc can do their worst.
TAKE OR PAY DEMON 1 year ago
Corruption at the Rent Control Department in Accra is shocking. This phenomenon, is not checked, will have negative effect on National Security and the economy.
Apraku 1 year ago
What Bagbin should have done , is first of all implement the SC order , so that minority will be seated on their side of the aisle.After that he could blame the majority for failing to appear on the floor. But he didn't comply to the SC ruling.So who bears the blame now?
DotCom 1 year ago
Tell me which law has Bagbin implemented incorrectly or unlawfully? This is the problem. He has not broken any law. He just implemented an existing law which has also been used by the former speaker. This is a political problem which both parties must sit down and find solution together. You don’t run to the supreme court when the law is clear. The supreme court doesn’t have the right to dictate to parliament which laws to apply. It has the sole responsibility of clarifying the laws if misunderstanding arises but this is not the case.
Opoku Amsterdam 1 year ago
Dotcom you are an idiot.Is Bagbin above the constitution of Ghana?What your bugabuga party is doing will come back and hurt them in future.
Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago
The NPP MPs fell entitled! They are bunch of fools for petitioning parliament to be recalled only for them not to show up, they did not even attend the business of the day meeting to plan for the day. Who do they think they are? Arseholes!!
Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago
The NPP MPs feel entitled! They are bunch of fools for petitioning parliament to be recalled only for them not to show up, they did not even attend the business of the day meeting to plan for the day. Who do they think they are? Arseholes!!
Odebango71 1 year ago
Please the word is "FEEL",not "fell". Please just take advantage of the free shs and better your life.
Joe 1 year ago
@Opoku Armsterdam
I don’t think you yourself you read. And is the Supreme Court above the constitution? Do you know why the Supreme Court is not able to charge the speaker of contempt? Because they know they have violated ... read full comment
@Opoku Armsterdam
I don’t think you yourself you read. And is the Supreme Court above the constitution? Do you know why the Supreme Court is not able to charge the speaker of contempt? Because they know they have violated the constitution and are doing political bidding. What was their ruling on Asin North and Santrokofi cases? And do you also remember the Fomena case and how both the NPP and the then speaker quoted the party and national constitutions to back the cases? What has changed?
Hypocrites and nation wreckers!!
Ej 1 year ago
Now we don't have Ghanaian and Ghana again we have foolish NPP poeple as a country in Ghana you are rather the insane cret.
DEEVINITY 1 year ago
@Opoku Amsterdam....As is stands, the Supreme Court ruling overstepped their constitutional mandate rendering their judgement both unlawful and legally and constitutionally illegal. BAGBIN did the right thing. Every organ of state is completely subservient to the dictates of the CONSTITUTION. In attempting to interpret what most obviously does not require interpretation, and doing so capriciously, the supreme Court ruling cannot subvert the sovereign and supreme will of the people of Ghana vested in the overriding fiduciary power of the CONSTITUTION. The die is cast. Let each stay in their lane.
Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago
Dot. com: ANYWAY THAT’S WHAT I THOUGHT!
Bag-bini will be cited for the Contempt of the Court. Because he has refused to go by the court’s ruling. And that’s the crime he has committed.
Joe 1 year ago
Go and arrest him if you have balls. Forest animal claiming to be the ONLY Ghanaian living in New York
Ej 1 year ago
Where did you learn your law and who thought you that if you know something kindly don't talk about it because the arms of government don't and a not supposed to interfere with each other.
If not so the speaker should ... read full comment
Where did you learn your law and who thought you that if you know something kindly don't talk about it because the arms of government don't and a not supposed to interfere with each other.
If not so the speaker should have been arrested the first day he declar the four seats vacant.
Kindly go and learn
K 1 year ago
You are a serious fool for saying that
Kofi Ashanti 1 year ago
Open your mouth wide and talk trash,do you know parliamentary business is run,contest and win an election to parliament and you will understand that parliament has a closed book of its own dealings and when you want to implement or overturn order there is a laid down procedures. This is law and not cheap and loose talks.
Kingteye 1 year ago
Just take over from him and do it the way you want it.
Obempe Mensah 1 year ago
Go and teach him his job if speaker knows the job in parliament let her go and open parliament let's see
Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago
@ Obimpe:
WASN’T ALAN BAG - BINI SWORN IN BY THE CHIEF JUSTICE?
LOOK AT THE MAN WHO HELD A SWORD AND RECITED THE WORDS OF THE OATH TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE NOW TELLING THE CHIEF JUSTICE TO SHUT UP!
Bag-bini is just a ... read full comment
@ Obimpe:
LOOK AT THE MAN WHO HELD A SWORD AND RECITED THE WORDS OF THE OATH TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE NOW TELLING THE CHIEF JUSTICE TO SHUT UP!
Bag-bini is just arrogant. I have never heard in the history of Ghana Parliament that a Speaker is holding a Press Conference. You see what makes Alan Osman Bag-bini different from the other former Speakers?
He became Speaker by a mistake: I mean on the thread, he never envisaged that he will ever be appointed a Speaker of the Parliament, though he has acted in that capacity in the Past under Joe Adjahoe. Nevertheless he never ever dreamed of getting appointed to that position, especially the fact that a stupid woman as we all know sneaked from the NPP caucus and voted for such hubris character. Look at the way he dresses. He sometimes put a crown of Southern Ghana traditional leaders, what does supposed to mean? A crowned king or Chief? Look at the way he handles himself as if he is ruling as a leader of a parallel government, and not subject to Ghanaian laws and Authority.
He is not even the second in command according to the Ghanaian constitution. Even if he is appointed substantial leader who is he going to swear to? Not the Chief Justice? Arrogant braggadocio!
Freewill 1 year ago
People like no get ears and common reasoning. I doubt u listened to the speaker's presser yesdee. In his reign, he wanna leave parliament as a strong institution and not a rubber stamp or a walkover by the executive or judiciary. Importantly, government has no business. We need the like of Hon. Bagbin to strengthen the system. Afenyo markin is a big bluff!
DEEVINITY 1 year ago
@Apraku....As is stands, the Supreme Court ruling overstepped their constitutional mandate rendering their judgement both unlawful and legally constitutionally illegal. BAGBIN did the right thing. Every organ of state is completely subservient to the dictates of the CONSTITUTION. In attempting to interpret what does not require interpretation, and doing so capriciously, the supreme Court ruling cannot subvert the sovereign and supreme will of the people of Ghana vested in the overriding fiduciary power of the CONSTITUTION. The die is cast. Let each stay in their lane.
FRANKIE 1 year ago
Oh poor NPP! They're running away from their own government business. Ride on RT. HON. SPEAKER BAGBIN!
Apuuuuu!!! 1 year ago
They know that they don't make the numbers and for sure NDC will not help them to succeed in any business on the floor. So the best they could do is to keep away from parliament
GHANA 1 year ago
THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN ONE FORCE HIS WAY TO POWER;: NPP KNOWS THAT ; THE DID NOT WIN 2020 ELECTION CLEANLY :
Frimpo 1 year ago
Nonsense talk from ndc fool
Osei-Rotterdam 1 year ago
Jesus christ is not lawless and so,just stay in your corner and smoke your ' wee'.
adt 1 year ago
AMEN, GOGD BLESS YOU
New order 1 year ago
Well done , no last minute bills for looting
JACK TORONTO 1 year ago
I was expecting the Supreme Court and the chief justice to call the NPP MP'S to come to the house after they took their plea to the court. Who is now delaying the parliamentary businesses now?
THE SUPREME COURT GAS NO POWER ON PALIAMENT AND IT AFFAIRS 1 year ago
THE SUPREME COURT MESSED EVERYTHING UP
M.T 1 year ago
Ignorance at its best! The same article 97 gives exception to party sanction alliances in parliament. Why didn't the speaker declare the Fomena seat vacant when the independent MP opted to align with the NPP to form the majority caucus? Those MPs in contention are from the NPP and the NPP are saying they still want to work with them to form the majority caucus so what is the business of the NDC trying to run the affairs of the NDC. Historically, the call for MPs to vacat their seats always come from the affected party based on their internal assessment of things. The speaker is violating the constitution and the Supreme Court. Separation of powers doesn't make the speaker above the law. There's a reason why the president, vice-president, and speaker of parliament are sworn-in office by the Chief Justice
Stuuupid NDC MPs 1 year ago
The Most Useless and Lawlessness Speaker of Parliament EVER.
Dzidonu 1 year ago
Well done NDC MPs
Kramai 1 year ago
It’s the Npp MPs that started this confusion when Mike Ocquaye declared the seats vacant according to the constitution they were jubilating when the same was done under Bagbin they went to court you can’t eat your cake and have it
Sammy 1 year ago
The Ndc and Bagbin must thread cautiously. Defying the Supreme Court is very very dangerous for our very young democracy. Pure lawlessness. Power drunk speaker
Mr. Ibu 1 year ago
How did they obey the SC when the NPP MPs didn't even appear in parliament?
Yaa 1 year ago
What has been defied here in this scenario. The SC is rather abusing it's powers with the help of the executive.
The right thing must be done. The law must be consistent and not selective as it is happening now.
I hope ... read full comment
What has been defied here in this scenario. The SC is rather abusing it's powers with the help of the executive.
The right thing must be done. The law must be consistent and not selective as it is happening now.
I hope Ghanaians are all learning from this. In future never elect a dumb lawyer as a president else all you get will be artificial litigation.
A party of vindictives 1 year ago
U r a foolish illiterate. U can go lick ur moda.
Tweaa Bawulier 1 year ago
Pawaful pawaful. Osono maaame, Getrucious, you can organise another parliament with the NPPigs to preside over them. Dankuusuwa, next time. You think say you get sense. Hoooooo!
Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago
: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bank f ... read full comment
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Mt103 Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
God is good 1 year ago
I have changed my mind. I will no longer vote for NDC neither will I vote for the NPP. They are not patriotic enough. I will be sleeping on the voting Day. Bugus speaker, Ghana first not our party.
Kamkam 1 year ago
It seems you are an NPP affiliate. No wonder
SBR 1 year ago
What are you insinuating my brother? Whether you vote or not but we will choose a leader to rule you
Kofi T 1 year ago
after you chage your mind go ashawoo how is your mind that correct for change again....FOOL
Barbara 1 year ago
You are the best Speaker of parliament ever. Go ahead and uphold the constitution for all Ghanaians.
The country has suffered far too long under the judiciary and executive with some of the journalists being compromised.
... read full comment
You are the best Speaker of parliament ever. Go ahead and uphold the constitution for all Ghanaians.
The country has suffered far too long under the judiciary and executive with some of the journalists being compromised.
It has always been written that Akuffo-Addo's governance will end shamefully.
Arrogance, corruption and impunity all over.
This must end now.
MAWULI......Akasti 1 year ago
His comments yesterday yesterday by the Speaker showed he is bed with the Minority NDC sitting at the wrong place when he caused this earlier.
This is what the supreme requested address that and reverse your decision.
H ... read full comment
His comments yesterday yesterday by the Speaker showed he is bed with the Minority NDC sitting at the wrong place when he caused this earlier.
He shouldn't have called for news conference attacking
Supreme Court and the presendency
DSN 1 year ago
But Npp is not in bed with the Judiciary, right? You see how stupid you sound.
K 1 year ago
Tell him
Tell him
Athena- US 1 year ago
TWEAAAAA what are they- judiciary and the Executive?
They are not above reproach. You think the Speaker can sit in his bedroom and take decisions right?
The house must sit before implementation of the SC decision and the n ... read full comment
They are not above reproach. You think the Speaker can sit in his bedroom and take decisions right?
The house must sit before implementation of the SC decision and the npp minority did not show up.
Good for Afenyo. He can rush back to the SC.
Nonsense
Hajia 1 year ago
O Ghanaians where are we? For how long shall we sit for just 275 parliamentarians and the speaker to take us for granted like that? Aaaaba.
Okatakyie 1 year ago
The speaker has lost control of the house and MPs behaving like rampaging bulls in a forest.
It is simple. The 4 MPs are NOT suspended and the NPP has the numbers to form the majority If the speaker cannot bring the leader ... read full comment
The speaker has lost control of the house and MPs behaving like rampaging bulls in a forest.
It is simple. The 4 MPs are NOT suspended and the NPP has the numbers to form the majority If the speaker cannot bring the leadership of the house to agree on this fundamental issue prior to recalling parliament, then it shows a lack of leadership skills.
Now he says these matters are not matters for the courts to decide but mature MPs to agree on and if he as the arbiter in unable to bring the parties together for agreement, then what is he there for?
What hopeless leadership. Now he'll stage another press conference and claim the speaker does not decide who forms the majority. Christ!
DSN 1 year ago
And which law in the constitution says that an MP must be suspended by his/her party before he can be removed from parliament? Read what Art.97 (g) (h) says and don't come and display your ignorance here. Your stupid party thinks they can keep shifting the goalpost when things are not in their favour. Shame on Npp. A party with no principles and iota of integrity.
I know 1 year ago
Don't be surprised about the way Bagbin and the NDC are behaving. They know their days in Parliament are numbered so they are bent on making the country ungovernable. Anything that has a beginning has an end. All these shall surely come to pass
Derry 1 year ago
This. Bagbin man will eventually cause confusion in ghana
Gosh. 1 year ago
Senseless effusions. Did the speaker barred Afenyo Markins and his guy from coming to parliament? Didn't the speaker announce that parliament would be opened today and was it not opened?. What prevented the NPP MPs from making themselves available? Pride and arrogance. Why blame the speaker? Let's think a little.
GHANA 1 year ago
Stupid man. Why did the minority sit at the side meant for the majority in contravention of the the SC decision? The whole idea is to make parliament and Ghana ungovernable and to cripple the gov't so no bills can be passed before the elections. They also caused Asorgli poawe to shut down 560MW of power and the money to pay them is in Parliament. Bill for 1D1F exemptions and other bills are waiting for parliaments action. Bagbin has decided to team up with NDC to cripple the country so ot will benefit NDC during the elections. They will fail like they failed in 2020.
Athena- US 1 year ago
There should be a sitting for the Speaker to tell the house of the SC's decision. Until then the decision of the Speaker is what the Majority NDC knows.
It's not the SC that announces to the MPs. The Speaker does so tell yo ... read full comment
There should be a sitting for the Speaker to tell the house of the SC's decision. Until then the decision of the Speaker is what the Majority NDC knows.
It's not the SC that announces to the MPs. The Speaker does so tell your npp MPs to humble themselves, sit at Minority side a while for the Speaker to reverse his decision of declaring the 4 seats vacant.
Until then the status co remains- NDC Majority, the npp Minority
Akua 1 year ago
This same speaker bent backwards to make you majority, just for peace to rein and to allow governance flow although numerically you are not majority. Which part of the constitution says an independent can cross carpet in Parliament to join a party.
Yet look at how you are repaying him.
Charles 1 year ago
Has the speaker ask the four MPs not to come to parliament? how does he disobeyed the supreme court then? NPP MPs are too kwon.
Kin-D 1 year ago
Until the CJ brings finality to the Anti-LGBTQ+ case & force AKUFFO ADDO/BAWUMIA to sign the bill,it will be nonsensical for parliament to sit.Npp must be thrown out of government like the Democrats.Akuffo Addo/Bawumia are not leaders.It is a no listing government.
Observer 1 year ago
Well done media. You did not kotow to the rantings of KT Hammond today. You need to be very resolute on these matters. Freedom can never be gotten without a fight.
Geeman 1 year ago
Nana addo broni is disaster
Patriot 1 year ago
The Speaker just said yesterday the nation is not in a Constitutional crisis, but it is. He refuses to accept the Supreme Court's decision of Stay of his previous decision. He has become ineffective and an embarrassment because of his ego. He should simply reverse his decision until the Supreme Court rules on the status of the 4 MPs. Until then the country is facing a Constitutional crisis, which is not good for the nation's stability!!!
JKA 1 year ago
I think all the NDC members including the Speaker of the House claming Majority should be charge contempt of court as per the rulings of the Supreme Court.
OR the Military should defend the the constitution by suspending ... read full comment
I think all the NDC members including the Speaker of the House claming Majority should be charge contempt of court as per the rulings of the Supreme Court.
OR the Military should defend the the constitution by suspending it and call for election within six months.
DONKOR 1 year ago
BAGBIN IS A SERIOUS DISGRACE TO THE 8TH PARLIAMENT.I WAS TOLD HE DID NOT RECEIVE HIS NOKOFIO FROM AKUFFO.CORRUPT SPEAKER
Akwasi Manso 1 year ago
AAAHHHHHHH why people fool like this???? The NPP MP's were not present, how is Bagbin to be blamed for this?????
Citizen 1 year ago
What a lesson, not to pack the supreme court with party members
Delight 1 year ago
A solid Speaker we’ve got there he is not giving in to any oppressors rule
William Donkor 1 year ago
Oh my people! If we have good business I think parliament will accept as good business, regardless of numbers or minority and majority. If one has a good idea, one must go ahead and do it, not matter what others would say. Charles M. Schwab, attended a billion dollar meeting. His speech on the night of December 12, 1900, undoubtedly carried the inference, thiugh not the pledge that the great Carnegie enterprise could be brought under the JP Morgan tent. Charles C Schwab's idea plus faith gained approximately US$600,000,000 that night.
Papa Sei 1 year ago
Continue to bask in that glory, Bagbin. You are very unpatriotic and your aim is to sabotage the government. God is watching you
Maylee 1 year ago
I’m highly disappointed in Bagbin behaving as if he is above the LAWS OF THE LAND. Na who cause am. Speaker call your ndc people to go back to their seats and let Ghana move on.
Yaw 1 year ago
And he was brazenly saying there’s no constitutional crisis. Bagbin is simply a tyrant and a disgrace.
SBR 1 year ago
What are you insinuating my brother? if you wish don't vote on December 7th but we will choose a leader to rule you
Atiah!!! 1 year ago
I think they should suspend our MPs pay cos they are doing nothing.
Kofi 1 year ago
only lazy youth will be condoning this behavior by the NPP caucus
Momo 1 year ago
Most Ghanaians are just political party minded and not patriotic. This is the same way most west Africans think and behave Thais is why they are been ruled anyhow.
ASEMPA 1 year ago
I heard K T Hammond asking one journalist to go and take his medication, interestingly he rather forgot to take his mental and social medications.
John 1 year ago
Hahahahahahaha
Mohammed Awal Tahir 1 year ago
Why should any reasonable person blame bagbn while npp mps are absent
Kobie 1 year ago
No ex-gratia to such irresponsible character (speaker). Why should GH pay double salary mp now speaker ? WHY ?
I hope the has regretted for accepting a plead from the thievery NDC mp's who were taking double payments wit ... read full comment
No ex-gratia to such irresponsible character (speaker). Why should GH pay double salary mp now speaker ? WHY ?
I hope the has regretted for accepting a plead from the thievery NDC mp's who were taking double payments with different accounts.
SHAME ON YOU Bagbin
JJ 1 year ago
Government shouldn't pay the mps both sides
Augustine 1 year ago
Do you really mean well for Ghana?
Nana 1 year ago
These are the people we vote to represent us, tell me the reason why I should queue up in the sun to vote again... pathetic
Leu cin 1 year ago
IDIOT 3RD CLASS DEGREE HOLDER BADGBIN AGAIN.
STOP WEARING CHIEF(S)
REGALIA BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT A CHIEF.
YOU ARE A 3RD DEGREE HOLDER SPEAKER.
SO YOU DON'T HAVE THE POWERS OF A CHIEF.
STUPID NDC MEMBER.
STOP WEARING CHIEF(S)
STUPID NDC MEMBER.
Sage 1 year ago
Transactional Speaker.
ras 1 year ago
Most stupid, useless speaker ever
Much l Do about Nothing! 1 year ago
Can you imagine if this constitution was written by Lawyers, Judges, Professors etc .
This constitution was written by farmers, market men and women, and the ordinary Ghanaians in simple English language for sane understan ... read full comment
Can you imagine if this constitution was written by Lawyers, Judges, Professors etc .
This constitution was written by farmers, market men and women, and the ordinary Ghanaians in simple English language for sane understanding.
Look at how lawyers and Judges are confusing the whole country.
I believe President Rawlings was right in his actions as a Military Leader and a civilian leader. May brave Soul rest in eternal peace.
Spicyman 1 year ago
The speaker is working for the NDC. The president must use his executive powers. Useless speaker causing financial loss to the country. The speaker must be prosecuted.
Marcus Adepaye 1 year ago
Folks don't be worried about the acrobatics being played in parliament by the NDC and their speaker Sumana!! We shouldn't forget that not long ago Totobi Quakyi came out to say the gonna make the country ungovernable and that's exactly what they doing. But if Ghanaians are gonna be very wise and not allow any political party to play with their conscience, then they should punish the NDC for this stupid behavior!!!!!
John 1 year ago
This Incompetent Speaker should be call for Contempt. As Atuguba done in 2012.
Abena 1 year ago
Bagbin the cockroach the evil vulturep
Isaac Frempong 1 year ago
Bagbin you didn't end it well , shame on you.
CORRUPTION HATER 1 year ago
The Speaker and the NDC lacks wisdom. What are they seeking to do? To make Ghanaians suffer so to vote for the NDC? Ghanaians will vote massively for the NPP
kb 1 year ago
NPP will continue whatever they want to do without parliamentary approval. at the end of the day, it is the court you will take them to and there you will meet the judges
Bagbin is a disgrace 1 year ago
Bagbin the idiot, your feeling of superiority above the law is the root cause of all of this. You are an unpatriotic idiot
Osei Abebrese -917-476-3340 1 year ago
This useless idiot is doing everything possible to tarnish the image of Ghana parliament knowing very well that his time will soon be over. He is the most useless speaker Ghana has ever had.
Gish 1 year ago
The best Speakers ever, Aluta continue, let see who is who.
Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago
NPP, nasty peoples party. Full illiterates educated villagers criminals and they behave like elephant animals.
Charles 1 year ago
Is it all about sitting places or business of Ghana. You can even sit under a tree and do the require business.
Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago
Bank f ... read full comment
Bitcoin flashing to all country it bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
Harrisn 1 year ago
Useless speaker.
Joan 1 year ago
Sine die
Sine die
Achakanapaya 1 year ago
Yes Fire for Fire.
Mr Speaker is the next president after JDM Allah.
Yes Fire for Fire.
Registered independent 1 year ago
These politicians think nothing good about the citizens of the country. As if it's not enough with their stealing from the treasury they now want to get paid for not working on the job we've given them.. The country has spoiled them ex- gratia, per- diem, free fuel and the honourable titles. These good for nothing MPS are riding the country like a crazy horse. Thanks for destroying Dr Nkrumah's Ghana
Kwame 1 year ago
God bless the speaker of parliament
Agyaaku 1 year ago
Blame Akuffo Addo for all these. Why he refused to prosecute Babgin and the other THIEVES in the House is simply SAD.
Nonsense!!! Two year olds know better!! 1 year ago
What wanton disrespect for the constitution!!! Let's us have another request because you have business, you'll conduct it at makola market!!! Childish bigotry!!!
Nana 1 year ago
Can’t someone just topple all these people and usher in a totally new constitution? Tired of all this crap!
Joe 1 year ago
THE SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM IS “Dialogue”. This should have been a simple out of court dialogue. The law court can’t solve every problem, just like some marriage and other cases. So long as the court is unable to charge the speaker with contempt, the problem will continue until elections
Zakarakis 1 year ago
Truth be told. The NPP MPs are very, very, very, LAZY
Apuuh 1 year ago
The Supreme Court should be blamed for what is happening in Parliament now. They needlessly interfered in the work of parliament by issuing order on a case it has no jurisdiction over. The case in question is given to the high Court to handle at Article 99 of the 1992 Constitution of Ghana. The fact that you are a Supreme Court does not mean you can assign your self a responsibility that has not be given to you by the Constitution. The Constitution of Ghana is above everybody in Ghana including the Supreme Court.
judischrislam 1 year ago
They mis interpreted the law bigtime. Article 97 clause 1g and 1h is very direct and does not need any Supreme Court Interpretation.
Getrude needs to wake up to her responsibilities.
Next time Parliament need to grill t ... read full comment
They mis interpreted the law bigtime. Article 97 clause 1g and 1h is very direct and does not need any Supreme Court Interpretation.
Next time Parliament need to grill the nominated judges on their knowledge of the 1992 Constitution. It is a disgrace
Kwame 1 year ago
When Commision is being setup, the purpose of the commission is to make the work of the body that existed or is existing before the setting up of the commision.
My first job as a Labour Officer on 14th April, 1985 was at Pf ... read full comment
When Commision is being setup, the purpose of the commission is to make the work of the body that existed or is existing before the setting up of the commision.
My first job as a Labour Officer on 14th April, 1985 was at Pfizer. The company was folding up, so what was to be done was to instruct the parties, meaning the company and union to negotiate the terminal benefits of the employees.
That done of my first day at the Labour Department I went back to the office to inform the District Labour Officer that the company has declared the workers redundant and as a result has agreed to pay them redundancy benefit, which is a terminal benefit.
The Chief Labour Officer Mr. Gyimah-Boache was informed by my superior and after the negotiation, the workers were paid their benefits.
A was known as the fire officer, who quenched industrial fires before get out of hand.
When Bilfinger And Berger was constructing the Accra roads the workers went of strike, forced the Managing Director to sign what they claim to be a Collective Agreement.
I heard gunshots from my office and in attempt to save lives I rushed to the offices of Bilfinger and Berger, put my own life in danger by standing between the police officer who were shooting at the legs of the striking workers and shouted at the police to stop the shooting.
I then turned to the workers I told them not to throw stones.
The Secretary of the Building and Constructing Workers', then was Kofi Amekor. Some of the striking workers assaulted him and I advice him to go back to the Hall of Trade Unions.
The hostilities ceased and we moved to the officers of Bilfinger and Berger adjacent to the National Museum and NationaL Archives.
The leaders of the striking workers joined the manager at the conference room of the company.
The first thing I asked was who appended his signature to the collective agreement and I was informed by the leader of the "Wild Cat Strikers that he signed it together with, not union executives, also not the custodian of the Collective Bargaining Certificate, the National Union.
It became clear that not the Local or National union executives organized the strike, that negotiations were still in progress and there was no dispute.
I told the leaders of the striking workers that the agreement they signed with the management was null and void, and have no effect.
I told them that only Kofi Amekor the General Secretary of one or people nominated by him shall negotiate and sign a Collective Agreement with the company.
The striking workers were on their knees. I told them to go and beg Mr. Amekor to come and negotiate on their behalf.
They came back to say that Mr. Amekor said that he will be able to make it the next day.
I went back to the District Labour Office, wrote a report, my boss peruse it and forwarded it to the Chief Labour Officer.
By my actions the strike that should have taken many days to stop came to an abrupt end on that day, man hours that should have been lost on that day were gained and the road construction was completed on time.
When the Labour Commission was being set up, I was of the view that those going to the commission will be experts that will quickly nib industrial disputes in the bud, as Mr. Gyimah-Boache, of blessed memory use to say.
There were also issues concerned not only with strikes, but as well Workmen Compensation and others, that at time I came face to face with the National Security at the time.
My bold approach to those issues enable me to solve them and at the end I told the operatives at the Blue Gate, not to molest my boss the Chief Labour Officer Mr. Obeng-Fosu.
Some workers in the company I work for embarked on a Wild Cat Strike on 7th December, 2022. I worker who embarked on a Wild Cat Strike is taken to have vacated his post, refused to perform the work that he was employed to do.
I wish also to state that during my stay as a civil servant I was also involved in Labour Inspection.
I was not a Factory Inspector, thus any infringement on the working environment that I suspect was reported to the Chief Labour Officer, who in turn submit the alleged infringement to the Chief Inspector of Factories.
In the nutshell, the Labour Commission could not resolve and issue of a Wild Cat Strike for a minimum time of a week or one month.
The bureaucracy at the Labour Commission is to much that yesterday I could not stomach it any more.
I wish that that bureaucracy be done away with or labour disputes resolution be given back to the Labour Department to resolve.
judischrislam 1 year ago
I post the content of Ghana's 1992 Constitution Article 97 Clases 1 g and 1H regarding . TENURE OF OFFICE OF MEMBERS
g. if he leaves the party of which he was a member at the time of his election to Parliament to join a ... read full comment
I post the content of Ghana's 1992 Constitution Article 97 Clases 1 g and 1H regarding . TENURE OF OFFICE OF MEMBERS
g. if he leaves the party of which he was a member at the time of his election to Parliament to join another party or seeks to remain in Parliament as an independent member; or
h. if he was elected a member of Parliament as an independent candidate and joins a political party.
These two clauses are very clear and concise. The Speaker is right, SU got it all wrong
Osei-Rotterdam 1 year ago
Bagbin listen, the evil that man does leave after then. Bagbin will reap what he's sowing today in future. Either his children or grandchildren.
Kwame 1 year ago
Subject to what I wrote above I wish to reproduce Interpretation of an Industrial Dispute but he Labour Act, 2003, Act 651.
"industrial dispute" means any dispute between an employer and one of more workers or between worker ... read full comment
Subject to what I wrote above I wish to reproduce Interpretation of an Industrial Dispute but he Labour Act, 2003, Act 651.
"industrial dispute" means any dispute between an employer and one of more workers or between workers and workers which related to the terms and conditions of employment, the physical condition in which workers are required to work, the employment and non-employment or termination or suspension of employment of one or more workers and the social and economic interests, of the workers but does not include any matter concerning the interpretation of this Act, a collective agreement or contract of employment or any matter which by agreement between the parties to a collective agreement or contract of employment does not give cause for industrial action or lockout. Here quoted.
Aba Akyere 1 year ago
Ai! I am disappointed in you Bagbin. Oppani ntena efie ema asadua nfoo.
Ok 1 year ago
Dictator Speaker
KofSam 1 year ago
Ghanaians must take a stand on the parliament brouhaha. These MP’s are representatives of their constituents in parliament and working on their behalf to bring the needed developments. They are being paid with tax payers money to work and if the NPP side boycotts parliament, their salaries must be withheld until they commit themselves to work for the people of Ghana. They shouldn’t be paid for the days that they boycott parliament. Paying them for no work done is theft of services and a fraud
Hannan 1 year ago
> Hot girls are waiting for you on ---- www.Hot4.eu
Well done NDC MOSES
Jesus has opened his arms to receive you now. The Kingdom of God is within your reach. Don't miss this opportunity. The alternative is everlasting punishment. Just accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour, and let Him be ...
What Bagbin should have done , is first of all implement the SC order , so that minority will be seated on their side of the aisle.After that he could blame the majority for failing to appear on the floor. But he didn't compl ...
Tell me which law has Bagbin implemented incorrectly or unlawfully? This is the problem. He has not broken any law. He just implemented an existing law which has also been used by the former speaker. This is a political probl ...
The NPP MPs fell entitled! They are bunch of fools for petitioning parliament to be recalled only for them not to show up, they did not even attend the business of the day meeting to plan for the day. Who do they think they a ...
The NPP MPs feel entitled! They are bunch of fools for petitioning parliament to be recalled only for them not to show up, they did not even attend the business of the day meeting to plan for the day. Who do they think they a ...
@Opoku Armsterdam
I don’t think you yourself you read. And is the Supreme Court above the constitution? Do you know why the Supreme Court is not able to charge the speaker of contempt? Because they know they have violated ...
@Opoku Amsterdam....As is stands, the Supreme Court ruling overstepped their constitutional mandate rendering their judgement both unlawful and legally and constitutionally illegal. BAGBIN did the right thing. Every organ of ...
If not so the speaker should ...
Open your mouth wide and talk trash,do you know parliamentary business is run,contest and win an election to parliament and you will understand that parliament has a closed book of its own dealings and when you want to implem ...
@ Obimpe:
Bag-bini is just a ...
People like no get ears and common reasoning. I doubt u listened to the speaker's presser yesdee. In his reign, he wanna leave parliament as a strong institution and not a rubber stamp or a walkover by the executive or judici ...
@Apraku....As is stands, the Supreme Court ruling overstepped their constitutional mandate rendering their judgement both unlawful and legally constitutionally illegal. BAGBIN did the right thing. Every organ of state is comp ...
AMEN, GOGD BLESS YOU
Ignorance at its best! The same article 97 gives exception to party sanction alliances in parliament. Why didn't the speaker declare the Fomena seat vacant when the independent MP opted to align with the NPP to form the major ...
Well done NDC MPs
It’s the Npp MPs that started this confusion when Mike Ocquaye declared the seats vacant according to the constitution they were jubilating when the same was done under Bagbin they went to court you can’t eat your cake an ...
I hope ...
Bank f ...
H ...
Tell him
The house must sit before implementation of the SC decision and the n ...
It is simple. The 4 MPs are NOT suspended and the NPP has the numbers to form the majority If the speaker cannot bring the leader ...
And which law in the constitution says that an MP must be suspended by his/her party before he can be removed from parliament? Read what Art.97 (g) (h) says and don't come and display your ignorance here. Your stupid party th ...
Don't be surprised about the way Bagbin and the NDC are behaving. They know their days in Parliament are numbered so they are bent on making the country ungovernable. Anything that has a beginning has an end. All these shall ...
Senseless effusions. Did the speaker barred Afenyo Markins and his guy from coming to parliament? Didn't the speaker announce that parliament would be opened today and was it not opened?. What prevented the NPP MPs from maki ...
Stupid man. Why did the minority sit at the side meant for the majority in contravention of the the SC decision? The whole idea is to make parliament and Ghana ungovernable and to cripple the gov't so no bills can be passed b ...
It's not the SC that announces to the MPs. The Speaker does so tell yo ...
This same speaker bent backwards to make you majority, just for peace to rein and to allow governance flow although numerically you are not majority. Which part of the constitution says an independent can cross carpet in Pa ...
Until the CJ brings finality to the Anti-LGBTQ+ case & force AKUFFO ADDO/BAWUMIA to sign the bill,it will be nonsensical for parliament to sit.Npp must be thrown out of government like the Democrats.Akuffo Addo/Bawumia are no ...
The Speaker just said yesterday the nation is not in a Constitutional crisis, but it is. He refuses to accept the Supreme Court's decision of Stay of his previous decision. He has become ineffective and an embarrassment beca ...
OR the Military should defend the the constitution by suspending ...
Oh my people! If we have good business I think parliament will accept as good business, regardless of numbers or minority and majority. If one has a good idea, one must go ahead and do it, not matter what others would say. Ch ...
Hahahahahahaha
I hope the has regretted for accepting a plead from the thievery NDC mp's who were taking double payments wit ...
STOP WEARING CHIEF(S)
STUPID NDC MEMBER.
Transactional Speaker.
This constitution was written by farmers, market men and women, and the ordinary Ghanaians in simple English language for sane understan ...
Folks don't be worried about the acrobatics being played in parliament by the NDC and their speaker Sumana!! We shouldn't forget that not long ago Totobi Quakyi came out to say the gonna make the country ungovernable and that ...
Bank f ...
Useless speaker.
Sine die
Yes Fire for Fire.
These politicians think nothing good about the citizens of the country. As if it's not enough with their stealing from the treasury they now want to get paid for not working on the job we've given them.. The country has spoi ...
THE SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM IS “Dialogue”. This should have been a simple out of court dialogue. The law court can’t solve every problem, just like some marriage and other cases. So long as the court is unable to charg ...
The Supreme Court should be blamed for what is happening in Parliament now. They needlessly interfered in the work of parliament by issuing order on a case it has no jurisdiction over. The case in question is given to the hi ...
Next time Parliament need to grill t ...
My first job as a Labour Officer on 14th April, 1985 was at Pf ...
g. if he leaves the party of which he was a member at the time of his election to Parliament to join a ...
"industrial dispute" means any dispute between an employer and one of more workers or between worker ...
Dictator Speaker
Ghanaians must take a stand on the parliament brouhaha. These MP’s are representatives of their constituents in parliament and working on their behalf to bring the needed developments. They are being paid with tax payers mo ...