Vacant Seats: Tsatsu Tsikata speaks on Supreme Court's rejection of Speaker Bagbin's application

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Yaw 1 year ago

Hmmmmmm Ghana

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 1 year ago

Inconsistently Inconsistent Easily Predictably Predictable Injustices. And these are the words of previous retired justices of the same Supreme Court and sitting Minister of National Security

• NDC STOP THROWING STONES 1 year ago

Gradually tsatsu is loosing his dignitary since he sold his conscience to NDC. He started becoming insignificant following NDC therefore loosing cases here and there. He is no more feared as before. Tsatsu I will advice you t ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

Did you listen to Tsatsu’s argument or you are one of those who don’t read? Does rationality mean anything to you? By the way, no one can take Tsatsu’s achievements from him. He didn’t buy his degrees like many of you ...

• Johnny 1 year ago

Yes. Tsikata's argument is exactly the NDC argument. Makes sense to NDCs because it suits their narrative. We need impassioned debate on this. Doesn't make sense to NPPs because it does not suit their narrative. Surely, Alan ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

Alban Bagbin has not arrogated any power to himself. Let me make it simple for you.
    The police can just not arrest you isn't it? Now, you are suspected of murder, should the police go to the Chief Justice to interpret the c ...

• Gborlahn 1 year ago

@Kofi. Thanks for the explanation. I spend time scrolling comments sections here to try and learn something but sadly, the empty barrels are in the majority and add nothing to the debate.

• Nana Akua 1 year ago

Hahahaha DotCom please forget people like Johnny ooo by their fruits… know them educated illiterate you see his spellings Alban what…cheap data.

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 1 year ago

DotCom, stop this nonsense about Tsatsu taught this person and taught that person. If someone taught you in primary school, does that mean because he taught you, he knows more than you for the rest of your life?

• DotCom 1 year ago

I was highlighting his credentials and experience in the law. I never meant students can’t be as good as teachers. Your analogy doesn’t apply here because you are looking at the issue through a political lens while Tsatsu ...

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 1 year ago

... and who are you referring to as students. If they were students 30 years ago, does that mean they are still students?

• KOFI 1 year ago

@NDC STOP THROWING STONES, you are an idiot. Tsatsu the legal luminary pointed to substantive issues. The crux of it is that this very Chief Justice wrote a decision which affirmed that the High Courts have jurisdictions on v ...

• Bash 1 year ago

Kofi, please don't waste your time on people who can't see common sense but always spew nonsense. They simply don't have any sense of judgement.

• Nee 1 year ago

Very well said.

• Nyameasem Nyasasem 1 year ago

In trying to denigrate "THE LAW" himself you end up end writing trash. Who appointed you to talk on behalf of the Anlo State,by the way.
    Dzimakplavi, bolobolotɔ, gbemela.

• Nana Akua 1 year ago

You wish his foot are in your family.it’s your entire foolish family that are Dzimakpla bolobolo,gbemela you that your mother is one your father are thousand

• judischrislam 1 year ago

If an MP swithches party in Par;liament the seat should be vacant. (full stop). The reason is very simple,the MP was voted into power by his constituents based on the party the person belonged to. By swithching parties is e ...

• Bash 1 year ago

This is pure hatred and enviness. No matter what you do, Tsatsu is a luminary. He always schools the judges in court by his submissions.

• The word 1 year ago

Look at this animal, woyè otwee.

• Kofi Akwetey 1 year ago

Tsatsu's argument seems to be that, per Article 99, the High Court, not the SC, has jurisdiction over matters of parliamentary vacancy. If that is the case, then what was Bagbin's authority to vacate the four seats? Is Bagbi ...

• ....... 1 year ago

Hope it's a fake news,elesTsatsu is loosing his reputation. He should read the S.C. decision carefully, because there is NO JUDGMENT yet on the vacant seat Case.

• KOFI 1 year ago

FROM THE COMMENTS, MANY PEOPLE DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON.

• M.T 1 year ago

I don't know why lawyers are being so dishonest. The Supreme Court never said in their ruling that they have jurisdiction over declaration of vacant seats. What they they did was to give interpretation whether the speaker's r ...

• Dadekro 1 year ago

Togolese trokosi Ayigbe Tsikata is a member of the party of Ayigbes. He has been hyped by some sections of the media and Ayigbes in general as the repository of legal knowledge in Ghana but his performances in court do not ...

• Nb 1 year ago

Tribal bigot illiterate let someone interpret what he said in the article

• Gosh. 1 year ago

Dadekro, why are you demeaning, belittling, devaluing and disgracing yourself like that. Can't you reason for a second. You were a very blackhead guy. You don't know your history. I'm sorry you have children.

• Ewvevi 1 year ago

Dadekro, aka Dade, aka Tonto, ska Diawuo, you can jump as high as the foolishness of your useless father, but the fact remains that your akan tribe is inferior to Eves on all scales. You can't force us Eves to stop looking do ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

Hahahaha. Well done bro.

• DotCom 1 year ago

@Dadekro:
    You are simply exposing yourself as an uneducated bigot. Think about it, it is only an uncivilised person who was born far away from any civilisation, who would have such ignorance to insult others on their ethnici ...

• JEFF 1 year ago

That half caste had strived and sacrificed his life over the peace you're enjoying for the past 40 years now. You only have mouth to talk complain and insult...ungrateful people

• Serwaa 1 year ago

None of your paid lawyers will come close to him.he climbed the academic …. to perfection you a member of Akan party nonsense.you think ndc is ewe party right ?we are now learning as Ghanaian we the Akans are not going to f ...

• The word 1 year ago

Another animal pretending like a human being, woyè otwee, you're a big ape.

• King 1 year ago

NDC joy station and the Ndc lawyer. The SC has spoken. Period. You can comment a million times, nothing will happen. Basta

• JEFF 1 year ago

People like you are part of the reasons why the politicians are taking us for granted. You don't value truth, let alone know your right. I feel pity you

• Shaolin 1 year ago

IT IS ONLY IN THIS DISGRACEFUL COUNTRY GHANA THAT, WHEN IT INVOLVES OTHERS WHO ARE NOT NPP MEMBERS, THEN THEY CAN SUFFER. WHAT HAPPENED TO ASSIN NORTH, LIKPE, LOLOBI, AKPAFFU AND THE PEOPLE OF SANTROKOFI? ARE THEY NOT GHANAIA ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

On Thursday, Bagbin will adjourn parliament again sine dine.

• Rasheed 1 year ago

But he didn't talk about the ruling itself, I didn't see that, he talked about jurisdiction of the sc only

• JEFF 1 year ago

It means the whole process is wrong but right under this selfish govt without thinking the repercussions it brings in the future

• KOFI 1 year ago

THANK YOU. Free education is not good oh. No wonder someone said Dutch Passport is better the Ghana PhD.
    People claim to read but cannot comprehend.

• Steve Williams 1 year ago

The legal luminary, TSATSU Tsikata has spoken. FINAL.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

This is crazy. Tsatsu Tsikata has spoken so it is final? Do you think we are in the AFRC and PNDC era where he could sway any legal verdict? We are in the era of the Computer and the Internet. We have very young widely read a ...

• JEFF 1 year ago

In the era of computer and the internet but obsolete in your processes and lack common sense

• KOFI 1 year ago

@Frank Agyena-Karikari, the dirty tribal bigot is here again. As its Tsatsu Tsikata, you are making buffoonery statements here inferring things about his tribe.
    This is why i hate my Akan part.
    Tsatsu made cogent statemen ...

• Russian best hacker good Link him up best hacker 1 year ago

: Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• DDT 1 year ago

The supreme court must be dissolved when new government comes in to power. It is so embarrassing. Akyem sakawa mafia guys have destroyed everything they came to meet. Few days more for Ghana to gain another independent.

• XYZ 1 year ago

You see your problem, because Tsatsu has spoken whatever he said whether make sense or not should be taken. If Tiskata is right, why is it that the SC one is also not right. The SC was dealing with a case already ruled by the ...

• Sycamore 1 year ago

Because Tsatsu Tsikata thought all those Supreme Court Justices in school,hence he understands the legal dynamics better than them.

• AND AFTER TSATSU TAUGHT THEM THEY STOPPED LEARNING LAW? 1 year ago

The law is not static. Those who practice law do not stop learning till they die. From his recent case losses, it seems Tsatsu stopped learning law somewhere along the way. The young ones he taught have overtaken him. The tea ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

You are not serious. How can you win cases in the sort of judges that make up our courts. Partisan, highly corrupt, goat taking and yam loving judges.

• OGyam 1 year ago

@ AND AFTER, what law are you talking about? Americsns wrote their constitution about gun ownership in 1770s when machines guns did not ecist. Today, they have guns that can fire 900 rounds per minute, being used by ki ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

Those of us who took the time to read Torkenoo's decision on the bench on this Article 99 know that the SC has no jurisdiction on that.
    Are you not worried that Afenyo Markin was able to file the case mid morning and by aft ...

• APPRECIATE THE SC FOR ACTING SWIFTLY TO SAVE GHANA FROM MEGALOMANIAC BAGBIN 1 year ago

The same way the Supreme Court acted swiftly to swear in John Mahama within minutes of John Arthur Mills' death, is the same urgency the Supreme Court placed on Bagbin's madness. And make no mistake, we have all read the SC's ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    I swear, you should not comment on any issue because you have no mental acume ...

• Addo 1 year ago

Do you really think that was the issue?
    The issue first went to the SC and they rather referred the people to the HC ,saying they have the jurisdiction for that case.
    Now same case is before you the SC.
    Instead of referrin ...

• Kojotse 1 year ago

The law indeed is an ass. Look at how a simple ruling is generating so much steam. No agreement among you 100s of lawyers who have spoken on the issue. And you classify law, and for that matter the humanities, as science. The ...

• JEFF 1 year ago

So what about the SALL people that are denied for four good years? Are they not Ghanaians too or because the outcome of that case will not favor the govt in power right? hypocrites

• Jesus Loves You 1 year ago

Are you ready for the Lord? We hope all go well for tomorrow but we don't know how things may turn out. Do not postpone your salvation any longer. Jesus said "Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice an ...

• Sycamore 1 year ago

Consistently inconsistent Supreme Court under inglorious, inept,incompetent,clueless and tyrant Akufu-Addo led npp regime.

• Godfred 1 year ago

Please Ghanaians vote for any party besides NPP and let’s have these judges removed for incompetence or JJ Rawlings will happen again.

• TomTom 1 year ago

Is Tsatsu the law? He's a respected lawyer but I think he's loosing it. What did he say about the Justice Atubigah ruling??? It went for him sp it was okay. Please, let's continue to respect you and stop this.

• HENRY, SPAIN 1 year ago

JERRY THE DICTATOR DISSOLVED PARLIAMENT AND SUSPENDED THE CONSTITUTION, TSATSU TSIKATA YOU WERE PART OF THIS. KILLED INNOCENT GENERAL'S AND OTHERS, BUT THE COURTS WERE THERE.FROM TOGO, AYIBE GANGS AND MANY NATIONALITY, NIGER, ...

• Shit was once a favourite food 1 year ago

These people have destroyed law, case law or judge made law and common sense beyond repair. God save Ghana on the 7th Dec. Gobsmacked!!!!

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 1 year ago

What Akufo Addo want is war though he has few years to die but let it happen so he amd his families will go early.

• Sarfo Bediako 1 year ago

That Ashawo Chief Injustice and her husband are Akuffool Addo's appointees so what do you expect?

• Nana 1 year ago

Did they go for the case or someone else’s bring it there

• John 1 year ago

Propaganda chief, who is criticised?? It is those incompetent NDC Party, who their Leaders are Lazy and their MP'S are Jokes at Parliament, Used the Parliament house a place for marching pass. For your information, Majori ...

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

I salute you Boss. You are a Legal Luminary.
    Clear and simple explanation of the Law.
    This Supreme court of Ghana, Tweeaaaa.

• Nee 1 year ago

Gone were those days when people thought he is "god" when it comes to Ghana laws. Tstasu was demystified during the supreme Court election petition in 2020. It became very clear that he is overpapmpered. If he thinks they are ...

• KOFI 1 year ago

Disprove what he said. You do not know that Anin Yeboah turned legal principles upside down in Gh with that election petition case.
    Today, the criminal jurisprudence in Gh is irrelevant because if the police shoot your siste ...

• Vacant seats 1 year ago

yes, the king of the law have spoken. When they were writing the constitution where were the CJ and the Attorney General.

• Lydia Jones 1 year ago

Firstly, The negative/insulting response to Mr. Tsikata's comment on the Supreme Court's ruling are unwarranted and unnecessary. He is entitled to his opinion, just as any one.

Secondly, (and this is interesting), Mr. Tsi ...

• Too many idiots in NDC 1 year ago

Tsatsu don’t engage in misrepresentation here. The majority leader did not go to the Supreme Court to ask for any reversal. The Majority leader went to the Supreme Court for interpretation and nothing else.

• Batre 1 year ago

And too many useless brain idiots fools are in NPP.

• Enyo 1 year ago

What is this so called legal luminary saying? How can the SC say a case that has to do with interpretation of the constitution lie exclusively with the high court? In any case has the Supreme Court even sat in the substantial ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

Don't come and display your folly here. If the issue is about interpretation, then why is the supreme Court ordering a stay of execution? They should simply go on and interpret. After the interpretation the aggrieved party ca ...

• Abraziaa 1 year ago

Ashanti's and shot memories they even have problematic decision only voting for npp MP's and their useless animals living in human form idiots akufo addo bawumia government

• MAWULI......Akasti 1 year ago

Political party lawyers and not lawyer...
    Why add statement to his name.....

I was Ndc ever since l joined Npp as if l moved from darkness to light...

Npp is the future

• Lozmob, Bantama Kumasi 1 year ago

The only legal luminary (legal asset) of Ghana. No size. Professor Professor Emeritus Tsatsu Tsikata (TT) who swims, baths, drinks the law. God bless this national asset.

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

As we speak,our country is divided into 2 groups,those who agree with the Chief Justice and those who disagree.
    The Supreme Court has not yet ruled on the Article 97 but has given us a hint that the affected 4 MPs should rem ...

• Small Town Joe 1 year ago

The foolishness in Ghana is becoming too much.

• Doc 1 year ago

Your Eminence Mr. Tsikata , these guys are engaging in clientelism . They are not doing law at all . You can sit themdown and lecture them about law but the fact is , they don’t care about the law . All they care is to sa ...

• Jodi FORSON 1 year ago

We have a notoriously clueless CJ and Supreme Court judges who can’t interpret laws just because they didn’t get there on merit!
    What a country!

• THE SHAMEFUL SUPREME COURT OF AKUFFO ADDO & GETRUDE TORKORNU 1 year ago

SUCH A SHAMEFUL OLD MEN AND WOMEN DESTROYING OUR FUTURE BUT WE WILL RESIST THESE FOOLS AND DEFENT OUR MOTHERLAND. NKWASIAFOUR BI MMAAA

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Ghanaians have to be careful of Ewes. The way they are always challenging Ghana constitution to favor the Ndc is very dangerous.

• Nii 1 year ago

The submission by Tsatsu, my senior MOBA is senseless?

• Carl 1 year ago

Yes, the LAW LORD has spoken any challenger, hahahaha

• BOY KOFI 1 year ago

Afenyo Markin and NPP didn't ran to Supreme Court for any interpretation,it's a sham.
    It's obvious,they want the Chief Justice to "ring the bell" to save them from humiliation.
    How can you ask for interpretation when you h ...

• Hannan 1 year ago

!!!! Welcome to the best sex dating site --- www.Hot4.eu

• Amanfour 1 year ago

I am surprised by this so called legal luminary. He is so partisan. I am not a lawyer, but the case before the Supreme Court is a matter of interpretation of a section of the Constitution. I believe the court has jurisdiction ...

• Joe 1 year ago

Nonsense. SC rulings supersedes all in any democracy

• This current chief justice is the worst 1 year ago

I believe she isn't up to the task. Probably never dreamt of being in that position. Try as much as possible to please the appointing authority.

• Joe Manu 1 year ago

This why Akufo addo brought her there, she's there for NPP. THE TIME WILL COME.

• ASANTE KUMASI 1 year ago

CJ IS VERY UGLY PAAAAA OOOOOO CHIMPANZEE JUST LIKE AKUFO ADDO. AM SCARED

• TRUTH 1 year ago

THE SOLUTION TO GHANA S WOES IS TO DO THE FOLLOWING:

Limit Presidential Powers*: Restrict the President's ability to appoint key officials, such as the Chief Justice, Electoral Commissioner, and Supreme Court Justices.

• AA 1 year ago

This is the difference between an intelligent man and things in skirt that use there vagina to gain position.

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Efo Tsatsu is trying to collect water after the rains have ceased.

• Paul 1 year ago

Please you lawyers should stop confusing us. From the Speaker's clarification during his press briefing, my question still is, did the three MPs cross carpet? If they did, which "carpet" did they cross. Did they really cross ...

• Asafa 1 year ago

Mrs. Chief Justice, please work on the LGBT Bill and stop causing confusions in Ghana politics. The Constitution is not NPP but people of Ghana. Let the President sign this bill than acting as if.

• ChimpanzeeFace 1 year ago

Once the sole pndc kangaroo courts Judge , now has the audacity to criticise our decent professionalism Judges. The time of and era of gruesome murder of
    Judges. Criminal Libel Laws and bulldozing of Akan businesses ar ...