The heart-wrenching story of how rampaging PNDC soldiers killed over 78 Kumasi residents in two days

Read Comments Comments (240)

• Miss Mae 1 year ago

In fact Ashanti’s can lie

• Socrates 1 year ago

They have started the propaganda again, and it always begins from Kumasi, what breads are these?

• Socrates 1 year ago

Hey!, wasn’t I the first to use Socrates on this platform? Anyways, I hand it over to you and now I hold the names: Imhotep, which is much respected than Socrates in terms of contributions to human society. I guess you are ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 1 year ago

THIS IS HOW WE GOT EVIL NDC WHICH IS STILL TORMENTING EVERYONE IN THIS COUNTRY. SHAMEFUL AND EVIL NDC!!!!!!’

• Qur'an is toilet paper 1 year ago

I spit on sick dog prophet mohammed. allah is a demon

• Rex 1 year ago

Npp propaganda, total rubbish, see where the news targets ( NDC vrs Kumasi people).Even a toddler can see through this class one mischief and propaganda, very infantile.

• THIS DIRTY PROPAGANDA WONT CHANGE ANYTHING. CLOSING DOWN THE BANKS AND HAIR CUTS HAVE KILLED THOUSANDS OF GHANAIANS 1 year ago

YOUR dirty propaganda will not change anything one month to elections. Your policies have sent thousands to their early graves. Millions have left in abject poverty and misery.

You are opposition bound and nothing will cha ...

• YSL 1 year ago

I remember the guy who out of self volition, stepped on a 33,000 volts high tension wire at Kasoa, simply because of hardship, i hadn't ever seen any such thing before, not even in movies, commiting suicide via stepping on a ...

• Abronye 1 year ago

If you want to understand that it's a true propaganda, see how they deliberately left some details like what happened to the soldier major or lieutenant they claim struggled with the policewoman and got shot, they didn't ment ...

• Divine Ninja of America 1 year ago

It a reason why any Ashanti persons who vote NDC or Mahama would curse themselves by ignorance

NDC is cursed by blood shedding and murders

I can suspect that John Mahama has even killed many within NDC just for power; Atta Mills, Amissah Arthur, JJ. Rawlings, Mark Woyongo and daughter of Koku Anyidoho, all with invisible EMF radiations of Directed Energy Weapons ...

• 1FISHERMAN 1 year ago

...how many Ghanaians were killed by Akuffo Addo and Bawumia to retain power in the 2020 elections. 8 innocent Ghanaians were killed so that Akuffo Addo and Bawumia will continue with their loot and scandalous ambulance sp ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 year ago

How many innocent Ghanaians were killed by Efo Jerry John Rawlings, Boakye Djan and the SOGAKOKPE MARAUDING MAFIA MANIACS AND MURDERERS as well as the Tsikatas. God will gravely punish them. Their families will not know no pe ...

• Apuuuuu!!! 1 year ago

You don't suspect Nana Addo rather when it comes to killings? J.B. Danquah and many more are the work of Nana Addo

When it comes to murders, the people we remember most are Efo Jeremiah John Rawlings and his murderous brigade. Mention the name of Rawlings everywhere in Africa and he is known for his brutal, violent, and murderous regimes. ...

• New York 1 year ago

Grow up Oldman Frank Agyena

• Napo and NPP Crooks 1 year ago

Frank you don't travel anywhere. Rawlings is a Hero everywhere in Africa his name is mentioned

• Bango 1 year ago

Mental case!

• Otumfour Nana 1 year ago

@Abronye ...Your stupidity has no end. Even if he died, was the military action of killing over 70 civilians justified? Ofui

• I REMEMBER HIS CASE PAA 1 year ago

KAMA also.had his money locked up due to NPP stealing. Truly the financial sector clean up has killed more people like never before. Bawumia is be blamed for his death

• Sheik 1 year ago

So GhanaWeb is run by Akuffo Addo and Bawumia, right?

NDC and stupidity

• Dungeon Master 1 year ago

@the real Socrates,

You are definitely right. Ghanaweb is replete with paid trolls in both the NPP and NDC polluting these pages with their paid messages. Instead of advocating for the greater good of the country, they are ...

Yes, that was some of the Devilish acts of the regimes of Efo Jeremiah John Rawlings. May they burn in the hottest part of Hell.

• No Nine, No Ten 1 year ago

You know that if Rawlings was to be alive you can't be misbehaving using the country as your toilet paper. Is that not reason why you people killed him and started the foolish things. You will all know your levels very soon

• Carlos 1 year ago

You can burn the sea to cool your temper

• Mr. No name 1 year ago

Your npp got people kill during the election and no one has even brought to justice and now you here taking nonsense

• Listowel 1 year ago

Npp de3 Gyimie. Sensing their defeat and their miserable end, they have started resorting to propaganda of tribal and religious politics. Npp will be cease to exist after 7th December. Nkwasiafoc People's Party. "It's about ...

• DotCom 1 year ago

This is why many of you are uneducated. You have been educated by idiots who were themselves fools. You think you can just write propaganda and call it history. Ghanaians won’t let uneducated people to rewrite their history ...

• Dr. Williams 1 year ago

It the People who are today in NPP who overthrew Nkrumah. NPP are more diabolical under ther Weed Somker leader.

• Bright 1 year ago

How old are you and what did you see at that time. Don't just followed blindly ok.

• Opoku Nana 1 year ago

What about what is happening now ,the whole parliament 8s close them did ever hear this anywhere in the world ignorant people

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Socrates do not be surprised. Some people see themselves as inferior when they come across other's name. I use the name "Pelicles" and at times, I see others trying to use the same name. Don't give your name to anybody and le ...

• Samurai 1 year ago

I was using the name Chief but realised lately that someone else had started using it so I have changed it to Samurai. Millions of names available yet some people have to pirate others.

• THOSE EVIL MATEMEHO VAGABONDS AGAIN 1 year ago

Huuuuuuuu....... these are all TERRIBLE & SHAMELESS NPP ASANTE LIES...!!!!!! We Ghanaians thoroughly know all the nation-wrecking strategies that you dangerous and diabolical "mate meho" animals have been using over the years ...

• NDCfo) Ab)n paaa 1 year ago

You’re very ignorant like all NDCs. This is very true history of Ghana. Read good history books and you’ll be shocked to discover the horrible murder of Odiyifo Asare and others in Kumasi.

Don’t be blinded by stupid ...

• Queen 1 year ago

Even life news now is full of lies, then to talk of so-called history. How can you hold someone's personal novel as absolute truth.
    Use the brains God gave you for once.
    In any case a new JJ will be fully welcomed at this t ...

I think you are a disgruntled Anlo Ewe person because they are the ones who unconditionally accept and support the murderer Jeremiah John Rawlings, the Tsikatas, Awonors, the SOGAKOKPE Mafia tyrants who brought tribalism and ...

Who was the worst vagabond in Ghana? Was it not Efo Jeremiah John Rawlings whose father even disowned him when he went to London looking for him? Yes I mean that murderer who put Ghana on a stupendous crisis with his violent ...

• Osbon 1 year ago

History is history. We have moved on. But don't say it wasn't true. I am 71 years old and remember everything. My Uncle Bishop Jonas Asare of Harris Church who was returning from a an preaching trip was beaten by the soldiers ...

• Gahana 1 year ago

You see your life?
    An over 70 year old man talking as a 20 year old boy.
    You agree that it was a military era so what's your point?

Why didn't your Ashanti government hold Rawlings accountable to your so called claim???? ...

• Sheik 1 year ago

Gihana, did you really read the old man's post or are you dumb

• Acheampong Odeneho 1 year ago

71yr old on Ghanaweb? I was one of the Usher and chief security of that church. It's was a lie. The church members with the help of some thugs murdered the Major and bragged about it when criminals went into hiding in the ch ...

• Akos 1 year ago

I am tied of everything Asanteman and otumfour yet things never change there. Educated illiterates all over the place. Too loud. Wontumi and Napo alone are big disgrace.

• Dani 1 year ago

I another my auntie or uncle said story, EVERY foolishness of the npp always had kumasi in it. Remember Rawlings everywhere? 6am at kejetia, 6an at asawaase, 6am at manhyia and 6am at Adabraka.

• Abuu 1 year ago

I think you were born after the coup d'etat . small boy. Do you know Odifoɔ Asare ?

• Abuu 1 year ago

Do you know Odifoɔ Asare, Small boy 80s 90s born know nothing about this store.

• Asem 1 year ago

Most of them were born after the year 2000.

• Wise 1 year ago

NDC gate Ashantis since time memorial, this is a fact stop those comments.

• Sheik 1 year ago

So GhanaWeb is run by Akuffo Addo and Bawumia, right?

Mmoa

• Sadat 1 year ago

Stop reading stories from GhanaWeb because it's Npp website. You will never anything good about NDC here.

• Otumfour Nana 1 year ago

@Socrates.....wo y3 Kwasea pii. What propaganda? We are talking about an real incident that happened and you are saying propaganda....odwan

• JAIL BAGBIN NOW! 1 year ago

The Gospel truth behind why ndc is hated by Asantes! Its not any tribalism. It was the ndc which created a scene like Asantes and Voltarians are enemies so ndc can get a support base in Volta. These days they know Voltarians ...

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago

@ JAIL

BETWEEN 1979–2001, THE NDC KILLED THOUSANDS OF GHANAIANS. THEY STRIPPED WOMEN NAKED AND FLOGGED THEM IN THEIR PRIVATE PARTS, KILLED JUDGES,MILITARY OFFICERS AND NUMEROUS SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS OWNERS. THE NDC WAS FO ...

• Bobby Stones 1 year ago

You lost your marble, get help quick

• JAIL BAGBIN NOW! 1 year ago

@STEPHEN DONKOR NEW YORK, YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL! AFRC +PNDC =NDC, DONT NEED TO EXIST,. THEY ARE THE DEMONS WORKING AGAINST GHANA.

• WHO IS CAUSING VIOLENCE IN BAWKU 1 year ago

Who in our democratic times in 2020 elections and the last few days is ORCHESTRATING VIOLENCE IN BAWKU AND CLOSING COURTS IN THE ENTIRE UPPER EAST REGION as we speak...???
    Are we having military ru ...

• Atoapoma Abransamadu 1 year ago

Don't forget Rawlings overthrew a Democratically elected Liman's government in late 1981. Rawlings shouldn't be credited for the democracy we're running now!

• Yaw Kwab 1 year ago

PLS THIS IS A TRUE STORY AND NOT ANY LIE AS YOU THINK. ASK ANYONE ELDERLY IN KUMASI AND HE WILL TELL YOU MORE. YOUTH OF TODAY PLS TAKE TIME TO RESPOND TO STORIES AND STOP POLITICAL FANATICISM.

• Gahana 1 year ago

What has your so called true story got to do with the difficulties in your governments economy.
    The dollar is now ghc 17 to $1 ofui.

• Kojo 1 year ago

BUSIA AND AKUFFO ADDO'S FATHER IN 1969 KILLED 69 PEOPLE IN YENDI WHEN THEY SENT SOLDIERS TO ATTACK THE GBEWAA PALACE.

KUFOUR REGIME IN 2002 IN YENDI KILLED THE YA NAA AND 40 OF HIS FOLLOWERS.
    KUFOUR NPP IN 2004 KILLED IS ...

• Abuu 1 year ago

I think you were born after the coup d'etat . Small boy.

• Wise 1 year ago

NDC gate Ashantis since time memorial, this is a fact.

• Koliko 1 year ago

Ghana web is no longer a place to source credible news. It has become a propaganda bullhorn for the npp

• Kofi T 1 year ago

GHANAWEB...JANDAM WON'T WORK THIS TIME ROUND

• MODE3 GYIMII NOAA. ASHANTIS THEM FOOL.SAAA. ALL LIES LIES NO EVIDENCE 1 year ago

ASHANTIS GYIMII NKOOA AND LIES. NKURANSEFO)

• Bawumia Mutum Banza 1 year ago

So, is this what is left for the evil NPP, as their last push towards the electoral propaganda, lies?
    Do they believe these lies will change anyone's mind? So many lies have been told about Rawlings and his revolution, but w ...

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Ashantis doesn't fear anyone except God. So they will never never lie. I saw it myself. Odiyifo Asare was tied to back of a military truck to Kejetia roundabout. There he was asked to crawl. And he was shot dead and the body ...

• NAMELESS 1 year ago

This is a fabricated story full of lies by the antagonists of Ghana. GhanaWeb, what do you intend to achieve with this stupidity? Tell your paymasters that this lie cannot corrupt the minds of Ghanaians who are ready to dep ...

• TWEAA DC 1 year ago

THE MORE REASON YOU ARE CALLED 'NAMELESS'...AGYEI BOADI SHOUTED...PEOPLE WOULD GET LOST..AND PEOPLE REALLY DID GET LOST...BUT WHERE IS AGYEI BOADI NOW?...IS HE ALIVE OR DEAD?...A MISERABLE SOUL...TWEAA.

• Kwami 1 year ago

Hey Nameless, a fabricated story, then you were born after the revolution. I have newspaper clips showing soldiers pinning women and men on tables and been lashed. People went through hell with that stupid revolution that was ...

• NAMELESS 1 year ago

Uncle Kwami, the military government of PNDC was more democratic than this criminal NPP misgovernment of Mr Shortingo and Bawumliar. I was a child in Ghana then, but I remember how safe Ghana was. I could walk about in the ...

• NAMELESS 1 year ago

... I could walk about in the night in Accra without fear of criminal attacks.

• Kwami 1 year ago

Ghana was safe? It was the fear and l think none of your relatives were killed, harmed or disappeared. Our freedom was totally taken away from us. I remember l went to opera to watch a 12 oclock movie one day during that time ...

• NAMELESS 1 year ago

Uncle Kwami, Ghana was very safe. What just happened at Adabraka today was never heard of under PNDC. The killing of innocent people in Bawku by the stupid monster Mamprusi people empowered by the chief pathological liar wo ...

• Boss 1 year ago

That's why you are nameless. Instead of learning sense from our torturous past under military rule all you know is to insult elders. This is a true story, just that there may be exaggeration somewhere. Another Osofo Amoako wa ...

• NAMELESS 1 year ago

What do you expect the military whose bedrock is discipline to do when substandard creatures like you behave in uncultured way? Your hatred for discipline is evident in your uncivilised reaction. If you were sensible, you w ...

• Albert Einstein 1 year ago

It's very true. I was in Kumasi

• TWEAA DC 1 year ago

THE NDC (PNDC) WILL SUFFER FOR A VERY LONG, LONG TIME...SOME OF US SAW THE 'EYE HANN, EYE KANN' SLOGAN AND WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR WIFES MOTHERS AND SISTERS AT KAJETIA....KUMASI WOMEN MUST BE CAREFUL DEALING WITH NDC (PNDC)...T ...

• Ashantis with short memories only supports NDC 1 year ago

That’s why I said any ashanti who supports NDC must be the most ignorant fool ever. Traitors. The NDC are evil party and it is only the evil and ignorants people that follows them

• Apuuuuu!!! 1 year ago

They behave as if the revolution was only in Kumasi . What about Accra, where Mokola was pulled down and other regions. The revolution was in the right direction so who ever wrote this should off

• Queen 1 year ago

The way democracy in Ghana is going, we may many Ghanaians will welcome another coup.

• Wakkuffo Waddo 1 year ago

Hmm. Am sure Darko meant no harm. But did Joana wanted to disarm him and shot him in the process. ?
    It will definitely not end well. So the then Ashanti chief could not stop this and oversaw 78 akans allegedly missing or k ...

• Kiss legacy 1 year ago

Forget about this now NPP must go by 7th December, you are trying to tell the people of Asanti region not to vote for NDC.

• Who in his right senses would vote for dumsor incompetent Mahama 1 year ago

Only a fool I repeat only a fool with no conscience would vote for NDC John Mahama.

• Bastie Tutu Asantefournhyinaahene 1 year ago

Don’t you know they’re GHASANTEWEB? …

• Abena 1 year ago

When it is against them, we say they can lie but when it's the opposite we say they are the enemies of the state. Who doesn't know this history in kumasi? Anyone born before 1988 knows this history in kumasi
    NDC should just ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

Certainly a fallacy and never true. What a mischievous attempt as always by bigots to cause disaffection.

• AB 1 year ago

It wasn't the residents of Kumasi alone who suffered some of these atrocities and that is why Kuffour set up the Truth and Reconciliation commission to calm nerves. I am therefore wondering what this piece is seeking to achie ...

• John Vince Cofie 1 year ago

Thanks AB. Just been wondering where this is coming from at this time. Whoever wrote this will be 'Lot's wife'. Diversionary tactic at it's best. Anyway this cannot save NPP in Ashanti . Ashanti, and for that matter Ghana, ha ...

• Gahana 1 year ago

Why didn't Kuffuor hold Rawlings to that???
    You guys are very shameful.

• Your stupidity knows no bounds 1 year ago

Kufour couldn't prosecute Rawlings, Tsikata, and their killers because of the Indemnity clause they smuggled into the constitution. You are so retarded not to know this

• NO INTEGRITY! DOUBLE STANDARDS 1 year ago

jandam agenda

• Nzema K 1 year ago

Before his demise JJR was the Npp co chairman, No Volta chief or NDC big man was allowed at JJR Funeral so what's the issue here.

• The Spear 1 year ago

He wasn't NPP! He was just friend of the "that very short man."

Akufo-Addo, before being President, went to beg JJ at his office for forgiveness and prayed for his support. You know why they didn't see eye to eye, isn't i ...

• TWEAA DC 1 year ago

KILLING?...THE NO.1 CULTURE OF NDC...JOHN FORD AIRBUS MAHAMA HAS SAID IT...WHEN IT COMES TO VIOLENCE, NOBODY CAN BEAT THE NDC...SAID BY JOHN FORD AIRBUS MAHAMA...TWEAA.

• Kwame Osei-Bonsu 1 year ago

What do you mean by PNDC soldiers? Were they not the Ghana military? What kind of stupid journalism is this? The author, the editor, the chief auditor, and everyone who reviewed this before it was published are all e-diots!

• What’s good for one goose is……!!! 1 year ago

lol!! Why this story now? Eh!! ghanaweb under new political ownership so the party propaganda has started. We the people of Ghana are not dissuaded by these history lessons. We shall surely vote NPP out. Walahi!!
    Bring in n ...

• Americans still mourn their lost ones in 9/11 attack. 1 year ago

Ashantis should make a holiday every year to mourn these evil NDC atrocite against the Ashantis. Rawlings and his evil cult party should never ever come to power again.

• Boss 1 year ago

Why not now? When else? Those of you who want to fool and drive the military back into politics. Those of you who are calling for war! These stories are even small in a civil war.

• GHANAWEB IS NOW OWNED BY AN NPP MINISTER. CHECK THE RECORD. GHANAWEB IS NO LONGER GOING TO BE THE OBJECTIVE MEDIA YOU KNOW 1 year ago

GHANAWEB IS no longer the objective news portal you know. It has been bought by NPP. It is now going to br their mouthpiece

• Citizen 1 year ago

Spare us this. The country has since oved on. Rawlings ruled for close to 2 decades, handed over to Kuffour, who supervised a national reconciliatory exercise, Rawlings died over a decade after this, and was given a state bur ...

• Ghanaman 1 year ago

Fabricated, concocted, twisted narrative of the Odiifo Asare incident
    If Kumasi people think NPPIGS should remain in power, leave them to it. After all, they think Wuntomi is intelligent.

• kwaku-holland 1 year ago

Ei! P-NDC never again!!

• Solomon London 1 year ago

What is the meaning of all this ? is because we are in the election year you want to remember the people of kumasi about NDC. those are some of the AKURASESEM you people don't want to stop,

• Americans still mourn their lost ones in 9/11 attack. 1 year ago

We don’t have short memories. We still remember our love ones you evil NDC killed in Kumasi just 42 yrs ago like Americans remember their lost love ones in 9/11 attack,

Don’t you know they’re GHASANTEWEB?

• Fools hate the truth 1 year ago

The narration is the gospel truth and I personally witnessed somebody being shot right in front of me at kejetia by a trigger happy soldier for no wrong done. I had to quickly board a taxi home and abandon proceeding to my wo ...

• The Spear 1 year ago

You ARE the first fool.

If, for a stupid lie, you want the thief bandit Akufo-Addo to remain president and have Ashanti Region (Recently declared the poorest in Ghana) to remain stagnant in the filth, is your own headache ...

• Any Akan especially Ashanti who supports NDC should be killed 1 year ago

Ignorant Ashantis and their Akan brothers who supports NDC are traitors. They’re the enemy within and should be killed. 1982 is just 42 years ago and we still have foolish Akans who follows these demonic Ayigbe NDC party w ...

• Gaskia 1 year ago

So the church can beat up a military man, a police woman attempts to disarm him, shooting him in the process, and they'll go free? Tell me in which regime this happen and there'll be no severe repercussions?

• Sul 1 year ago

SO WHAT SHOULD WE DO

• Boss 1 year ago

Wise up and stop calling for military takeovers.

• Sirsey 1 year ago

What has this story got to do with our democracy today?

• Ghana 1 year ago

Ghanaweb is just doing the bidding of the Npp..

• Osei mensah bonsu 1 year ago

Nana addo under civilian rule has killed more than thousand. So forget

• Mental charter 1 year ago

Some events will not occur again...... can we move on

• Wise one 1 year ago

Rawlings should have killed all the Ashanti, bastards and dogs. These Ashanti pigs are the most corrupt criminals in Ghana.
    They are fraudsters, scammers, thieves, cheats and robbers who are always ready to make dirty mo ...

• Koo Boare 1 year ago

Eii people can tell liesooo.one of the officers who supervised the killing of osofo asare is an asante who is alive now living in accra .let us get the facts right.

• Mike O 1 year ago

I have always advocated for the subject "History of Ghana", to be made compulsory and taught at all levels of our educational system. If we fail to do so, sectarian interest will take advantage of the vulnerability of our cit ...

• Boss 1 year ago

A good and timely reminder to Ghanaians praying for coups d'etat in Ghana. They didn't witness it. They were either not born or yoo young to see it. There may be exegeration in this story but it did happen. Shut up I you were ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

This military has really hurt alot of people before!!!!

• Adanko Deka 1 year ago

THAT IS THE FOUNDATION OF THE NDC, THE PARTY OF VIOLENCE. GHANAIANS KNOW THEIR HISTORY. WE WILL FORGIVE THEM, BUT WE WILL NEVER FORGET.

• Kofi 1 year ago

I am Asante and will never look at some of these things to vote, our pockets are not doing well if u don't know

• Yaw Asare 1 year ago

Ghanaweb, you're a disgrace to Journalism. WHY on earth would you bring such concocted publications att this sensitive period of our nation? You folks are EVIL.

• Boss 1 year ago

Kwasiakwa! Just search Google and you will see a lot wetten about this story, and even see the burning body of Odiyifo Asare. His wife is still alive. Be wise and learn out bitter history under military rule and stop calling ...

• NDCfo) Ab)n paaa 1 year ago

Never again.

• Napo and NPP Crooks 1 year ago

If Ghanaians were a little wise, Ghana won't roll backwards like this. Ghana is full of corruption, indiscipline, laziness, lesser fais.
    I miss Rawlings and his Generals. Discipline and accountability has left Ghana. Corrup ...

• Boss 1 year ago

Who told you there was no corruption under PNDC and Rawlings rule? Are you stupid or something?

• Nuwaay 1 year ago

Trying to influence that JJ regime is same like NDC. What is so painful that, there's peace in GH but no peace in our packet.

• Citizen8 1 year ago

This is just one of the countless roots of NDC. Violence is their cup of tea. They haven't changed one bit over the years.

• JOE WISE 1 year ago

NDC as a party should be abolished and declared as a terrorist group, they still harbour evil intent against Ghana and particularly Asantes, thank God we live in a different era, if anyone tries such attacks on Asantes, Ghan ...

• Kobina Boafo 1 year ago

The peasant Rawlings assumed power together with his greedy and hungry incorrigibles and destroyed the foundation of Ghana. Ghana is yet to recover from his era of greed, indiscipline, envy, murder and wanton destruction.

• STUPID; 1 year ago

IT IA ABOUT THE ECONOMY , STUPID

• Wise 1 year ago

NDC gate Ashantis since time memorial

• Busiah 1 year ago

JJ was bad person and taught Others too.

• KWAO LAWYER 1 year ago

They use this to fool Ashantis,,,,,fools

• Ashantis 1 year ago

I am an asante and these are all lies

• True story 1 year ago

Very true story but forgivenesses through JAKS reconciliation brought that anger and resentment towards AFRC/PNDC down a very little.Apart from that so many houses were seized from their owners including my very own manager ...

• Obaa Yaa 1 year ago

I remember the days of terror, the curfews, the firing squads, murder of the Judges, demolition of the Makola market, now Rawlings park and many, many more!! Those were really dark days in Ghana.

• Jomay 1 year ago

Stupid write up from borlaWeb

They have started their tribal thing again. GhanaWeb nie Gyemiii nie

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 1 year ago

HOW I WISH HE REVISITS THIS ON OUR LEADERS ONCE AGAIN. GET OUT AND FILL POTHOLES . WE ARE NOW GETTING THE REASON WHY GHANA ISNT PROGRESSING. RAWLINGS WILL FOREVER BE REMEMBERED.

• Opuni 1 year ago

The soldiers should have done more.

• SIMANCO 1 year ago

False news just to cause violence this election period. Ghana is a peaceful country and no one should fun this sort of propaganda to create violence and division.

• The Voltarian 1 year ago

Another Kwaku Anansi story from the Mate Meho forest people.

• Very good 1 year ago

Hopefully the M P daughter of the later criminal Rawlings will now have a better idea who her so called sweet beloved father was. Hopefully she will stop the ignorant praises of him .
    She should check out what happened at a ...

• No Nine, No Ten 1 year ago

Stop this criminal act here. This lies you are telling here thinking it will change an ordinary Ghanaians mind will not help you. Nothing like that ever happened in that part of the country, you are not the only person who kn ...

• Akwasi 1 year ago

Why this time, ghanaweb should stop the NPP propaganda, they have already lost the election, NDC will win.

• Queen 1 year ago

Yet Akkufo Addo became his best friend and in his demented brain decided to copy his leadership skills.

• General 1 year ago

May their blood fall on the benefiters of that regime

• Jay Z 1 year ago

Npp lies lies lies evil people party that is what they are good at lies evils who hate the progress of this nation and ponder upon the weak minded people , no wise and literate will ever vote for Npp animals stupid fools evil ...

• Baafi 1 year ago

Those criminals even tried to bomb the Manhyia Palace by sending two fighter jets, thanks to God and Nananom both crashed killing their pilots. Asantes don’t have shot memories

• WHO IS CAUSING VIOLENCE IN BAWKU 1 year ago

Who in our
    At least, WE ENJOY OUR DEMOCRACY TODAY THANKS TO THE VERY SAME ONLY MILITARY RULER ( PNDC ) IN THE HISTORY OF THIS COUNTRY.,,,

• Toko 1 year ago

Oh NPP, what at all are you guys looking for, you've make alot of money by destroying the nation, but yet still trying to convince Ghanaians with untrue histories.

• NPP IS CAUSING VIOLENCE IN BAWKU 1 year ago

Who in our democratic times in 2020 elections and the last few days is ORCHESTRATING VIOLENCE IN BAWKU AND CLOSING COURTS IN THE ENTIRE UPPER EAST REGION as we speak...???
    Are we having military ru ...

• Nana osei@KUMASI 1 year ago

ALL BE FAKE !!!! IS IT YOUR GRAND MUM WHO BURRIED THEM????????????

• Carlos 1 year ago

There is no smoke without fire, what was their offence

• Siaaa 1 year ago

Elections format...

• THINK TWICE. 1 year ago

NAPO has paid you to release this nonsense.

• Kay.... 1 year ago

masa des stupid propaganda stories will nt let the good people of kumasi change their minds to vote for dis koliko veep ooooo.....why can't u guys understand dat ur npp govt has failed big time... nothing will change people's ...

• You can't overcome them..cry all u can 1 year ago

They have been industrious and positive than many of us remaining tribe..don't evy them..let's work together to build ghana and stop this nonsense as foreigners like Chinese and Lebanese take over ghana. While we fight they a ...

• Ola 1 year ago

Ghanaweb npp people's don't trust them

• Afro Moses 1 year ago

The truth hurts and evil supporters attacking the writers calling propaganda but he did not include the killing of three judges and an Army officer and not satisfied they burn their bodies beyond recognition.This is not surpr ...

• Bawuliar 1 year ago

Don't know who brought this write up and what it seeks to achieve but note all the names of the perpetrators
    It's your own akan people

• Kwabena 1 year ago

What is the motive of this write up, and what shows it was sanctioned by JJ? As much as I may not support those excess then and now, why I we doing this to ourselves because of TRIBAL Politics

• Me 1 year ago

It is all a big fat lie. Keep living in a fools paradise and not remove the vale of ignorance that has clouded your thoughts and continue to impoverish you and the generation writing and reading such falsehood. Kumasi and Ash ...

• Agnes 1 year ago

Hmmm, the revolution affected every body in Ghana and not one region

• Papa 1 year ago

Agenda setting news. Remember Rawlings at the time of his death was with the Npp.

• NPP is opposition bound 1 year ago

No wonder NPP’s Ayew Afriyie now owns Ghanaweb.. they have sold everything owned by the state to themselves… ghanaweb will definitely be taken back

• SEAMAN IN TORONTO CANADA 1 year ago

Those of you writing all the nonsense about the PNDC/NDC don’t you forget that your almighty J.A. Kuffour was a full member.If Ashanti’s were killed in Kumasi it was your Kuffour who organized that. Period.

• Asantehene 1 year ago

It is because the Ghana armed forces is now a toothless entity made up of party soldiers, that is the only reason why this useless government is still in power. NPP 's bad governance is just a reenactment of what led to milit ...

• Kwame Angel 1 year ago

Evil men, parding today as democrats.Their evil deeds shall follow them.

• NDC is FILTH 1 year ago

This is PNDC / NDC for you. They are the devil’s children and grandchildren. Rawlings the Ayigbe butcher was happy about this.

• Asem 1 year ago

Those babies who have beencalling for coup detat should take note. They will be the first casualties. Idiots

• CHIMPANZEE PRESIDENT 1 year ago

I HAVE SAID TIME AND AGAIN,NO ONE SHOULD FOLLOW GHANAWEB..BAWUMIA THE CRIMINAL HAS BOUGHT THIS SITE..ITS PART OF THEIR PROPAGANDA MACHINERY

• Ben 1 year ago

JamDam agu

• Mr. No name 1 year ago

Ghana web don’t be political bigot, that’s why now people are concerned about your reputation and reporting about the past government.
    Is it because now NPP own this platform?.
    Shame. Where our country is going now is ...

Don’t you know they’re GHASANTEWEB? ….

• Basabasa 1 year ago

This whole story has been twisted, but remember DDEP, closer of banks, cedi rate to dollar now, e levy, gallon of petrol, cost of lpg gas, the list goes on and on, stop reminding us of past things which doesn't add up to our ...

• Are you Surprise? 1 year ago

Firstly, for those who may not be aware, GhanaWeb is now owned by an NPP affiliate. The original German proprietor sold the platform to this individual, effectively transforming it into a powerful tool for propaganda. While I ...

• Listowel Lawson 1 year ago

Total rubbish in the form of propaganda to incite Ashantis against the NDC.
    The diversionary tactics would not work this time around. Ghanaians are wide awake.

Don’t you know they’re GHASANTEWEB?

• Nii 1 year ago

All these NPP antics will not hold.

Asantefour mmoa. Your sister Nana Konadu planned this

• Kojo 1 year ago

PNDC was a brutal regime.

• Bawumia is the most useless polititrician ever 1 year ago

Rawlings was right about the Judges. Now we see where we misled ourselves with imbeciles as leaders. After killing Rawlings they are now using propaganda against those of us who had nothing to do with it

• Matthias from London 1 year ago

Propaganda! It’s getting to election so they have started again. Which of the current NDC was part of the military who did that? And can we also say Nana Addo and Bawumia mastermind the killings of the Bawko people just thi ...

• Digital champion 1 year ago

That is the evil Rawlings committed in the name of revolution, only to enrich himself. But we say never again. Those who think you are entitled to enslave others, revise your notes. It's never gonna happen again.

• Ayakama John Mahama 1 year ago

Everybody knows the very chemistry of the NDC people, you

• Miagy Soft 1 year ago

The loosing NPP at it, your still loosing the 2024 election, we dont give a hoot this story certainly not true

• +Jojo 1 year ago

Today's youth who read nothing apart from their school textbooks need to read this book to acquire more knowledge about what the older folks went through during JJ's cacophonous revolution & June 4.

• ObuasiMan 1 year ago

Is warrant officer adjei Boadi alive or dead?

• Listowel 1 year ago

Npp de3 Gyimie. Sensing their defeat and their miserable end, they have started resorting to propaganda of tribal and religious politics. Npp will be cease to exist after 7th December. Nkwasiafoc People's Party. "It's about ...

• Ohene, Langley Virginia 1 year ago

78 is too small. The soldiers should have killed 200

• Ataa Dade Gbudugban 1 year ago

Why did the Police woman attempt to disarm the Major, a trained officer & a superior? Your story is twisted & lacks merit. Get both sides of the story & come again. Don't twist history fir Political pitance

• Dede 12 months ago

Because he opened fire on her while she was at church, you imbecile.

• Roy 1 year ago

Always Ghanaweb is used as a media portal for nonsensical propaganda to bring Ghana down. This time it will not work. We have move ahead of this cheap politics

• Danqua Dombo Busia Liars and Bombers We See You 1 year ago

NPP punishment is set Dec 7 the cane is in the kerosene.
    Fia Fia

• Alan 1 year ago

Those tribal bigots deserved whatever the soldiers served them. Today, we still see the hypocrisy of their tribesmen. See how they have embarrassed even the previously respected Supreme Court of Ghana

• Mantse 1 year ago

Aba, ghanaweb this is a no no at this time when everyone is talking about peace to reconcile the country, you are here inciting people emotions. This editorial discretion is below the belt. We have only one Ghana. Let give pe ...

• Dani 1 year ago

Another twisted history and false narrative of an incancetrant behavior on the part of separative ,non-inclusive citizenry that led to an otherwise avoidable catastrophic events. Can't we for once depart from falsehood and bu ...

• Kontor 1 year ago

See the propaganda oooooo all this won't work, you the guys have failed and that's your record.

• KY 1 year ago

So what is the essence of this story?? What do you want to achieve with this NPPweb

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

Where are all the bloodthirsty boys scouts in borrowed uniforms now? Most of them ended up either dead, mentally unstable or simply unfit to be referred to as human beings. Karma exacted its wrath upon all of those bastards, ...

• CARLOS 1 year ago

Hey truth be told,JJ did not order those stupid soldiers to do that. The lawlessness started when they heard of the shooting of the Captain.This had NOTHING to do with Jerry.

• Arab 1 year ago

So what should we do with this stupid ananse story nkwaseasem sei

• Obi 1 year ago

A VERY EVIL PARTY CALLED NDC, FOUNDED BY EVIL RAWLINS AND HIS GANG. THE LOOT AND SHARE PARTY, NDC

• Opesaw 1 year ago

NDC, the most CORRUPT, BOGUS government in Africa, wants to come back again. NEVER will Ghanaians make such a mistake again. NDC, the double salary thieves

• Dr. Williams 1 year ago

Very stupid Article. What is the agenda behind this Article. Let the NPP continue to fool. This might happen again. If you suppress people the will take action. They went to excile and has come back with their dubious agenda. ...

• Tk should Christians vote NDC? Hell no 1 year ago

This stupid party ndc and root of evil Rawlings , stupid never again , rot in hell ndc for your brutalities , guys won’t be short memory as mahama always say, we remember paa , bloodthirsty ndc , I’ll be disappointed if a ...

• pa 1 year ago

Useless ndc people you see where your satanic root come from.
    Useless party

• AK 1 year ago

All these stupidity was supervised by JJ Rawlings. He turned round to form NDC and people expect us to follow this blood stained party.

• SS 1 year ago

AK you are a fool. I wish you died in the revolution. Moron how come you never talked about this when JJ was alive, and how come you were the only one who knew this happened? Some of you are just mad men who have been hearing ...

• Ghanaba KK 1 year ago

Please where is the evidence that Rawlings ordered the action to the congregation out of the church.
    Was it the only church in Kumasi?
    Who sent Major Darko......? Did he open fire first or Officer Joanna triggered the even ...

• Ghanaba KK 1 year ago

Why this time? WICKED NPP PROPAGANDA AND DEFINITELY TRYING TO DESTROY THE NATION GHANA. WHY CREATE DIVISIONS JUST TO SHAMELESSLY WIN AN ELECTION AND RULE OVER A DIVIDED NATION?. NPP YOU'RE DEMONIC AND NATION WRECKERS.

• Zantoo 1 year ago

Nonsense, as if we were not alive during the revolution. What you described over here is what should have happened to you during the revolution. In all honesty if many of the morons who are looking and destroying the nation w ...

• Kwaky 1 year ago

The daughter of this evil man is an MP in Ghana.Surely justice will one day prevail.He died like a goat.

• Okyere J. 1 year ago

Kwaky, you are the evil one here. Rawlings was in Accra resting. It was your own kinsman the Major who took matter into his own hand. Leave Rawlings out. Blame that harlot police officer who wanted to show off for her congreg ...

• Hannan 1 year ago

~~~~ Welcome to the best sex dating site -- www.Hot4.eu

• AB 1 year ago

After shooting indiscriminately in Kejetia, 78 members of the church or public were killed.
    Rawlings instructed them juxtaposed with Joanna attempted to disarm the Major and the gun was shot hitting Joanna and the driver of ...

• Batule 1 year ago

PROPAGANDA and the Elephant leaves a lot of Stinky Shitt on its way.

• Ex-serviceman 1 year ago

I have never liked JJ let the blood flow Cannibals. You must be young and evils to like selfish self-centred backward prostitue son. He killed for his family not Ghana. Hell is empty all the evil people live in Ghana.

• Ex-serviceman 1 year ago

AFRC PNDC NDC MEDIEVAL MURDERERS. Pure Cannibals. The couldn't do the same in Volta Region with his evil family and got away with that. Could he?

• Bright 1 year ago

Who told you Rawlings was the head of the military? Bogus publication just because npp is loosing this election so that the Ashantis will take a stance.

• New Jersey 1 year ago

Mr. Writer asked yourself first what they have done wrong to have them killed. The killers are not crazy stop that your senseless propaganda.

• Samus 1 year ago

It was far better in Ghana before these fools came with their stupid revolution. The number of people killed that day was more than 78
    The people who committed these crimes are burning in hell.

• Okyere J. 1 year ago

So according to this stupid story, Rawlings was all over places leading the soldiers to massacre the church members while at the same time in Accra murdering other people, simultaneously after Aflao killing smugglers. Ghanaia ...

• Amanor USA 1 year ago

I know the wife and children of the prophet and it is sad but we need Soldiers like that who do not take bribes to stop galamsey just one week.

• KKN 1 year ago

STUPID GHANAWEB HOW MUCH WHERE YOU PAID TO PUBLISH THIS LYE

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

Ashantis and the akans are Nation wreckers. The truth be told. The Akans are Ghana's problem. They Greedy Basturds Piiaaaooooo. That's the fact, but not all though. Some few might be out of the hook.
    I can swear by my life ...

• Yaw 1 year ago

Propaganda or no propaganda it is a fact. This is why any party with links to AFRC, PDC, PNDC and NDC will NEVER make it in Ashanti Region and more particularly in Kumasi. If you don’t get it that’s your business.

• Achakanapaya 1 year ago

What brought the coup ?
    JJ Rawlings was not the first to stage a coup.
    The greedy Basturds started it with the over throw of Ghana's first President.
    Coup in Ghana is nothing new, the mother of all Coups is on the way.
    G ...

• I REMEMBER HIS CASE PAA 1 year ago

Whatever happened during JJs era was not done by JM, This propaganda will not work because JM is not an ewe. Many died in kumasi beyond this figure 78 and were slaughtered like frogs including firing squad. Indeed JJ was wick ...

• Prince Farmer 1 year ago

It was revolutionary times, the church were asked to go and filled potholes instead refused and shot a major soldier in charge. What exactly were these Kumasi tugs expecting back. Trust me, if truly it was revolutionary times ...

• Yiadom 1 year ago

Who ever says this story is a propaganda, I pray that you suffer as those afflicted by violence, you are laughing at people's suffering.

• NanaB 1 year ago

What's the meaning of this nonsense? We asantes ain't fool ok.... you target asantes with propaganda always

• ISSAH Mohammed Ikilil.(Ibn-Trawaray) 1 year ago

There is the side of the UP, when Baffour Akoto decided to rebel against Kwame Nkrumah's CPP. PREGNANT WOMEN were shot dead. The same people planted bombs at vantage points to kill Nkrumah and they ended up murdering innocen ...

• ISSAH Mohammed Ikilil.(Ibn-Trawaray) 1 year ago

There is the side of the UP, when Baffour Akoto decided to rebel against Kwame Nkrumah's CPP. PREGNANT WOMEN were shot dead. The same people planted bombs at vantage points to kill Nkrumah and they ended up murdering innocen ...

• bisa 1 year ago

you only bring up this news whenever its election