Vacant Parliamentary Seats Dispute: Invoking Supreme Court is wrong - Justice Atuguba

Read Comments Comments (122)

• NDC Atubuga shut up 1 year ago

Enjoy your retirement with your 4 wives and numerous children. Your ideas are expired in modern Ghana.

• Noah 1 year ago

And court used less than 24 hrs to issue a political order. As if they have teamed up with NPP and already knew what they would do according to plan. This time around the Supreme Court should be made to know that they also ha ...

• VOLTA NO LONGER NDC WORLD BANK. 1 year ago

Its better for ndc atuguba to dwell in his hole.

• ME 1 year ago

NDC buffoons don't learn. That is why even in 2024 JDM's manifesto is enkokoh enkiti enkiti. LOSERS

• Yaw Nkansah 1 year ago

A case can be filed as URGENCY and due to it's nature can be dealt with quickly.

• joseph 1 year ago

They suspended an action and are now deliberating on it. This needs a fast intervention

• Doe 1 year ago

There is nothing wrong with 4 wives if he can afford it. Solomon , Saul etc who the bible said were much closer to zGod had several wives! At least he's not pretending to.br contented with one as you guys do but persistently ...

• Mary- Ho public toilet 1 year ago

Another one of them. By their words ye shall know them. These Togolese trokosi Ayigbes.

• Blue Pen 1 year ago

The fact that the Bible records a historical fact or event does not necessarily mean the Bible is prescribing that event or situation is a model or example.

The Bible faithfully records all kinds of historical facts and e ...

• Isaac Musah 1 year ago

The one wife idea was introduced by Paul, not Almighty God. Where in the Bible did God declare that we should marry only one wife? Your colleague is mocking someone who engages in a polygamous marriage and you find nothing wr ...

• yawa 1 year ago

Hello Musah,

Remember though that the bible is God's direct words to mankind and it was written through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. Paul could not have wriiten those letters without the inspiration of the Holy Spir ...

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 1 year ago

@Isaac Musah:
    “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness—2nd Timothy 3:16.

Every word in the Bible is written by God ...

• joseph 1 year ago

A VERY GOOD RESPONSE

• Emmanuel 1 year ago

Gen. 2:8. God did not create two partners for Adam. He created one woman for Adam

• Missionary Thomas 1 year ago

So Atuguba cannot repent. Is he still receiving tips from John Mahama? After all the mess he caused and the wounds he inflicted on our Nation for declaring Mahama president by the same Supreme Court panel he Chaired. He is n ...

• Kj 1 year ago

So the current SC judges are receiving tips from Akufo Addo

• Sarfo Bediako 1 year ago

Yes, from that Kwasia Akuffool Addo!

• NPP = NEW POISON PARTY 1 year ago

The Supreme Court is bastardising our jurisprudence. They rule on everything to favour NPP. Don't they know what is expected of them to be IMPARTIAL? Gertrude Torkornoo is worse than Anim Yeboah and Jones Dotse put together ...

• Anthony Adusei 1 year ago

Because NDC has never had a good case. They are a confused bunch of lazy criminals who cannot take their time to read. Intellectuals turn fools the moment they join NDC so they will always lose their case in court. They are o ...

• Sarfo Bediako 1 year ago

Do you mean Kwasia Akuffool Akuffool Addo?

• Sab 1 year ago

Illiterate fool, has the constitution also expired? Some of you just comment without thinking. He is talking about the constitution and laid down procedures. The constitution supersedes the courts and that imbecile Akufo Addo ...

• Useful Posts 1 year ago

Please, don't insult Atubiga, it is the fault of the wicked journalist who trying to implicate him here. I listened to the interview from beginning to the end. That journalist from Joynews who interviewed him pushed him and m ...

• Isaac 1 year ago

Yours is going to retire with a lot Serwa Bronis massaging his short but a BIG 'muscle'! Nppigs, you will always remain a backward people with your egocentric views!

• BB 1 year ago

Does he beg you for money to feed his family?

• M.T 1 year ago

Justice Atuguba just explained the issue to himself but he went on explaining until he lost it. The NPP side knew exactly where to go under this circumstance. The speaker had already declared the seats vacant and the Supreme ...

• Chief 1 year ago

Struggling to make himself relevant. When you had your time, what did you do with it? Was it not pure politics?

• Nyenono 1 year ago

You make the day bro

• Atsu 1 year ago

Corrupt Atuguba should shut up who don’t know you took bribe from Go1 and pronounced him winner of 2012 elections

• Moshe 1 year ago

Be measure in what you say to the public. It is indecorum and unbecoming of a literate to make a sweepy statement to attack a person. Bring out your argument to counteract other's instead of making a recourse to insults. Is ...

• Doe 1 year ago

Tell you the place and family he comes from! Useless village popper!

• Dade 1 year ago

He comes from the north and what is special about being from the north? His family has value only to you trokosis. Of what importance or value is the name Atuguba to people in the interior? Maybe in his native north the name ...

• Game Changer 1 year ago

@Dade... At least Northners and trokosis have credibility to you ashanti N akyem apes. Kwaseato, your criminal group called NPP is now led by a Northner. Hehehehehe

• the Villager 1 year ago

Some stupid persons like Dade ought to be ignored, but with this mentality it is OK to tell him one thing, Mr. Dade go to the Law faculty at Legon and ask for Prof. Atuguba and see who he is. He is the cousin of tis Justice ...

• Evans 1 year ago

@Atsu,you and who "don't know" that Justice Atuguba took bribe to declare the NDC as winners of the 2012 elections;another NPP lie, I believe you and your people were witnesses to this transaction. Look, as for this time arou ...

• SC should be scrapped 1 year ago

We shall see after the elections. Corrupt SC Justices.

• JACK TORONTO 1 year ago

You can take over the Supreme court if your party wins the elections in forty years time.

• John,Tema 1 year ago

You study law for 100yrs if you're dishonest you can never any sensible judgement when a case is presented to.That is the problem with Ghanaians who practice law.

• Kk 1 year ago

Look at this NDC criminal who dubiously took the NPP victory away from them in the Supreme Court
    Get away with your nonsense. Next stand compete for the flagbearer slot for the ndc.

• Doe 1 year ago

Justice atugiba is 100% spot on. This statement comes from failures like you!

• Enam 1 year ago

Senior politician good morning

• Sethoo 1 year ago

A 25year old British or American lawyer is more intelligent than this Atuguba so he can't be a senior to many of us.

• Lopez 1 year ago

Justice Atuguba is part of the Ndc grand scheme to create confusion in Parliament just to thwart the government's economic plans. He's now showing his true colours as to why he ruled for Ndc during Npp's supreme court appeal ...

• Yaw 1 year ago

Government economic plans indeed! You have 8 years and had no plans now left with less than one month you claim to have plans? Tickle yourself and laugh! Idiots!

• Fuudian lomotey 1 year ago

Atukuba kwasia mpanin gyimiifoo like you and your mahama kwasiato ofui like you odwanfunu and your stupid mahama kromfoo. NDCFOO nkwasiafoo nkurasefoo akromfoo Agyimiifoo bullu bullu.

• Darko Amoah 1 year ago

LAWS MAY VARYING INTERPRETATIONS

In legal regimes of democracies, the Supreme courts are made up of a panel and cases are decided upon unanimously or by majority. Even at the apex of legal experts, opinions differ among la ...

• Ali 1 year ago

Well said Atuguba. It is only a political corrupt judicial which will see clear case of evidence of article 97 h want to give different interpretation tof the matter. Very dispointed to the supreme court.

• Agbeli 1 year ago

Atuguba says nothing wrong here he is in favour of the case going through the court system unlike the NDC's position that the Supreme Court has no jurisdiction over the workings of Parliament. So far as Atuguba is concerned, ...

• DD 1 year ago

Hon. Rt speaker is the one who invoked the constitution. And constitutional matters are dealt with at the Supreme Court. Justice Atukuba , please keep quiet. Your views are not the views of the Majority leader. Majority lead ...

• General 1 year ago

By is these news to hear this from you Atuguba? The most worse judgement ever in the history of Ghana was delivered by you Atuguba, where over voting was given another name by you called ballot stuffing and that was not wrong ...

• Chris 1 year ago

Time will tell. Will surely come back to us one day.

• WHICH OTHER COURT INTERPRETS CONSTITUTION 1 year ago

Atuguba don't come and annoy us again. Which other court is clothed with the power to interpret the constitution? The injunction was a consequential order to the substantive case. Are you saying that a complainant to 5he Supr ...

• Joko 1 year ago

The fact that Article 97 ( tenure of an MP) (g) and (h)( cross carpeting) is disputed says a lot about how low minded Ghanaians are . We are so dishonest and partisan that we have become idiots.

How can anybody think that ...

• Adom 1 year ago

Fa wo gyimie ko.

• Citizen8 1 year ago

Stealing the 2012 elections for Mahama by your corrupt judgement is worse. Dishonourable Judge

• Mr NiceGuy 1 year ago

Noble & Respected Justice Atuguba, God will grant you very long and healthy life. In 45 days time, order will put disorder to order. Then sanity will prevail. As predicted by several credible polls and surveys, this sanity sh ...

• Citizen8 1 year ago

Atuguba please nobody takes lessons on morality from a prostitute. Stealing the 2012 elections from Nana Addo to Mahama with your bogus and corrupt judgment is worse than this. Don't disturb our ears.

• Agyaaku 1 year ago

Good. That's how u see it like you did in the past. Sir, please enjoy your retirement.

• Nee 1 year ago

What else were Ghanaians expecting from this man?. The same.person who overlooked evidence in the election petition and used almost 10 minutes to deliver judgement for his ndc party.

• CRUSADER 1 year ago

WHO HAS EVER ASKED FOR YOUR OPINON?rawlings'ass licker! Are you not of the same soup?learned but fool lot,isn't it better you swallow your opinon,Gh dont want it! Shaaame!

• Konkontibaa 1 year ago

Now I understand why some disgruntled soldiers take advantage and overthrow democratic governments, foooools calling themselves law makers

• Red 1 year ago

Look at his wicked face . Nobody takes you serious bcos we know you want to be speaker of parliament
    Ent

• Patriot 1 year ago

The importance of Justice Atuguba's statement is being lost with all the venom against his comments. What's important is that he did not say the Judiciary has no mandate to hear this case, as is their right to resolve constit ...

• Tom 1 year ago

illiterate akuffo addo justices at the supreme court…what a joke and a jerk president….

• Kwadwo 1 year ago

Noa, an ExParte is urgently dealth with per the law, pls.

• God have mercy on Ghana 1 year ago

So we all now understand that the Supreme Court of the Republic of Ghana has now become a place of refuge for the NPP whenever they want to have their way in any situation. God have mercy on Ghana and grant us peace

Panyin kwasiaaaaaaaaaa

• Menipa 1 year ago

Misquoting
    I listen to him.. He kept changing his stand between lines and now we ve this headline. He admitted nothing wrong but share his opinion as a politician

• Vincent Antwi Adjei 1 year ago

Even in your retirement you are still biased and showing your true political colours. You are not wiser than the 5 member panel who made the order. We will never forget your abysmal four minutes rulling in the election petiti ...

• kwame 1 year ago

he is wiser than your entire family including that your chimpanzee president.

• Joseph Danquah 1 year ago

Of course no fair-minded Ghanaian would expect anything different from Justice Atugbiga, an apparent staunch supporter of NDC, who in spite of all the solid evidence adduced at the election petition trial in 2012, whent ahead ...

• Kwesi 1 year ago

Ghanaians should listen to the wise counsel by JSC Atuguba. Article 97 is written in plain English and doesn't need any interpretations whatsoever. Therefore Alexander Afenyo-Markin should NOT have gone to the SC.
    The case r ...

• WHY NPP 1 year ago

I always say every thing that has beginning has ending. NPP can rule Ghana 10000 years, one day they would leave. Ghanaians are watching and listening. NPP is in EC and all the Ghanaian institutions but as iddi amin, gaddafi, ...

• JJ 1 year ago

Atuguba ooooh how. you are becoming more useless and too political.
    You used 5 minutes to pronounce Mahama President.

• ZUZA 1 year ago

Another senile old goat. This whole brouhaha stems from wrongful or otherwise interpretations of provisions in the constitution. Which body is mandated to interpret the constitution. It’s the Supreme Court and not the High ...

• Andrews 1 year ago

Gyimifor

• Street Lawyer 1 year ago

So this is the kind of garbage the journalists have been churning out for us on this platform? Imagine I didn't have the chance to watch the interview from beginning to the end, I would have been misled by the caption of this ...

• Street Lawyer 1 year ago

So this is the kind of garbage the journalists have been churning out for us on this platform? Imagine I didn't have the chance to watch the interview from beginning to the end, I would have been misled by the caption of this ...

• Citizen8 1 year ago

@Street Lawyer, the answer to the question you posed in the last sentence of your comment is found in the simple fact that most, if not all of, our journalists aren't intelligent enough. They don't educate themselves on issue ...

• Yaw 1 year ago

after taking bribes to declare Mahama as president in the election dispute, he won't keep quiet to enjoy his pension. Corrupt and untrustworthy judge.

• Nii 1 year ago

Was pre determined

• Russian best hazcker good best Bank deals 1 year ago

: Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• Maaka maaka 1 year ago

Why didn't the supreme court refers them back to the high court as you are saying.

• TomTom 1 year ago

This man is double tongued person. If he was an ordinary person, I would have understood but a former Justice? Please, don't lower yourself because of politics.

• Corrupt Justice Atuguba 1 year ago

His Partisan mindset deprives him of any decent legal opinion

• Eric prebi 1 year ago

You don’t need to talk about this because because of your position as justice of higher court

• FTT 1 year ago

What did you say in 2013 election petition, please keep quiet and allow Supreme Court to do their work

• Koa 1 year ago

If care and unity is not taken the minority will take political power from the majority. I'm afraid the way things are running in this country and they are the loudest

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Fellow Ghanaians,be cautious when affiliating yourselves with NDC,no matter your stature and position in society they will make you look like a fool and nonentity,see what they’ve done to Bagbin and Atuguba with his eyes wi ...

• Nana 1 year ago

He did that for the clear interpretation of the Constitutional Law being applied and I don’t see anything wrong with that.

• James 1 year ago

When you were there you never said anything like that. You are now showing your party colours.

• Yaw Nkansah 1 year ago

Look at you.Are you not ashamed of yourself?

• Alhaji Alhaj 1 year ago

Was it not this justice Atuguba who after eight months of elections petition used only two minutes to pass judgment in favour of NDC for which reason his nephew was rewarded with position of Executive secretary ...

• Wiser 1 year ago

The Nppigs are not matured. They start to insult somebody's parents and they get barrage of insults on their Lilliput in return!

• KAMPOT 1 year ago

This rusticated nut who collected his US$5 million bribe from Manhyia to deliver a verdict for Mahama is talking nonsense again.

• joseph 1 year ago

what difference does it make??????

• Abuu 1 year ago

The bitterness in this man heart is too much because he was thinking he will get the opportunity to become the chief justice. You can kill your self.

• NDC 1 year ago

Look at another black cat from NDC talking.

• Kwasi 1 year ago

What else should we expect from you?

• Stephen 1 year ago

Thanks for opinion. Opinions are like noses, everyone has one. I respect you for your opinion. The speaker did not receive a letter of resignation from any of them. Again the political parties did not write to him. In fact th ...

• Zion lion 1 year ago

I am not a lawyer but to my opinion, afenyo must be punished by parliament for not regarding parliamentary standing orders.He is in the best position to understand separation of powers.

• SOA 1 year ago

I have now understood issues concerning our politics in Ghana. It’s all about interest. You just left office and you disagreed with the decisions by your own colleagues.God saves Ghana

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

We remember you so well, Atguba. You were never among the brilliant and brightest judges in the apex court.

• Tuga 1 year ago

This man is beating about the bush.The Supreme Court shall have the final say in this issue. So NDC Atuguba don’t disgrace yourself

• K. P. U S of A 1 year ago

You are a retired Supreme Court Justice so you don't speak on certain matters to throw the current ones under the bus. If the ruling had come from the high court's, NDC would also quickly appeal to the Supreme Court for inter ...

• Cc 1 year ago

Imagine this as a lawyer

• Kubut3 1 year ago

We all know ATUGUBA is on the payroll of the NDC. I HOPE Akuffo Addo recruited a lot of his people into the military, like Rawlings and Mahama did. If he didn't the NDC SOLDIERS WILL KICK HIM OUT WHEN THEY LOSE THE ELECTIONS ...

• Hmmm 1 year ago

Why won't be wrong for you

• Nana 1 year ago

This matter has nothing to do with vacation of seats. That is Mr. Bagbin's own misinterpretation of the situation. What is at stake here is that misinterpretation and misapplicagion of the constitution. To that extent, the Su ...

• Please Parliament Don't Fight 1 year ago

Papa Daps!
    Eeeiii Justice Atuguba, have you soon forgotten your law concerning the interpretation of an Article in a Constitution? It's only the Supreme Court that has the power to interpretation the Constitution. What's ha ...

• Musa 1 year ago

The SC has not interpreted the law yet. They have just suspended the ruling bcos they claim to be busy with other stuff. They indeed cannot interpret in favour of NPP bcos article 97 is very clear. This is the reason why the ...

• Mash Cody 1 year ago

If going to supreme court with this case is wrong, why didn't the supreme court refer the case back to the High Court. The Apex court saw it reaspnable to handle the case inorder not to prolong it. Because when case goes to t ...

• Mash Cody 1 year ago

I haven't read that part of the constitution but for going supreme court, there's nothing wrong about that. Afenyo Markin is right The laws are interpreted by the Judiciary and the parliament. So if legislature is not able to ...

• Enyo 1 year ago

Old learned man, the invocation of the SC has to do with constitutional interpretation!! Your NDC spectacle is clouding your judgement!!

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Atubuga is showing his true colors, first as a die-hard NDC fool and second, he is a typical fool who does not respect the position as a retired CJ. How many of those retired CJ's have commented on the issue other him?

Atu ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 1 year ago

The NPP took the case to the Supreme Court because they know that the Supreme Court is the judicial arm of the NPP and that it will rule in its favour and it did exactly that. The Supreme Court should have referred the case ...

• OLDTIMER 1 year ago

Do this former SC judge supports political mischief in a straight jacket of the law??? These are the educated that are uneducated There should be no SC discretion if it sees an emergency that will undermine the running of the ...

• Nene 1 year ago

Some Ghanaians if an issue is against them, then it's bad.if it favours them is good.

• Nene 1 year ago

If a middle school leaver like me can read article 97 g and h in a simple English language and understand it and unless a supreme court of Ghana interpreted it, then Ghana has a serious problem.

• Nyenono 1 year ago

Masa going to the high Court first before high Court refers
    it to Supreme Court is an optional of which that decision lies in the bossom of the plaintiff. The constitution did not forcely stipulate that for the records. ...

• Ghanaba 1 year ago

Atuguba is still talking this is not 2012,why can’t he retire peacefully.

• Asem 1 year ago

Atuguba you are a disgrace, you were right to give victory to John mahama as E.C. accepted illegality in voting results which proof mahama didn't have 50+1 votes.

• Twum Barima 1 year ago

PLEASE MY QUESTION IS, WHAT DOES THE CONSTITUTION OF THE PARTIES SAY WHEN A MEMBER GOES INDEPENDENT. THE MEMBER AUTOMATICALLY LOOSES HIS MEMBERSHIP. THIS BROUHAHA IS NEEDLESS. THE FEAR OF BEING THE MINORITY IS THE PROBLEM. ...